Gypsy till I die
http://www.clydefc.co.uk/news/2008/06/19/2763/

jagtastic
Sounds good, will be a great facility for the community when it's finished
Allstars #9
Glad my cooncil tax can help out
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Gypsy till I die @ Jun 20 2008, 10:28) *

I suppose the only benefit to us lot and away fans is that hopefully it'll break the wind a bit - stop us having to listen to all the wussies whining about the cold. rolleyes.gif
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Allstars #9 @ Jun 20 2008, 10:34) *
Glad my cooncil tax can help out

for once we wont have to listen to other supporters of other NLC based teams telling us they are paying their council tax for a facility for Clyde - basically as Jagtastic points out it is a community facility and pretty much hee haw to do with Clyde
Miles Brookeson
Why Bother?
Deestruction
What a waste of council tax, we paid for your stand, we paid for your stand.

Expect that a plenty when it being built / is done.

I think it's cool etc and a good idea etc as it saves clubs money while providing resources for everyone.
EastFootball
Is it even going to be a stand?

Or just a building at the end? huh.gif
Deestruction
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jun 20 2008, 11:04) *

I'm assuming it'll be a stand as just having a wall at the back of the goal would be like errrmmm, having a wall behind the goals.
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jun 20 2008, 11:04) *

Just a building at the end - no stand (Hence my comment about having hee haw to do with Clyde, in fact the development will take space in the overflow car park, so I suppose it is a bit of a pest.
Deestruction
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Jun 20 2008, 11:07) *
Just a building at the end - no stand (Hence my comment about having hee haw to do with Clyde, in fact the development will take space in the overflow car park, so I suppose it is a bit of a pest.

So WTF does it really have to do with Clyde? huh.gif
EastFootball
So really, Broadwood isn't being completed... huh.gif
Gypsy till I die
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jun 20 2008, 11:15) *
So really, Broadwood isn't being completed... huh.gif

It is being completed...kind of. They're building this instead of a further stand.
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Deestruction @ Jun 20 2008, 11:09) *
So WTF does it really have to do with Clyde? huh.gif

Nothing directly. I suppose the only benefit (apart from the wind break) is that there will generally be more facilities and folk around the stadium who generally wouldnt be there and perhaps may encourage some interest, which is a pretty tenous benefit, admittedly
Deestruction
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Jun 20 2008, 11:20) *
Nothing directly. I suppose the only benefit (apart from the wind break) is that there will generally be more facilities and folk around the stadium who generally wouldnt be there and perhaps may encourage some interest, which is a pretty tenous benefit, admittedly

And a catastrophically ugly wall behind the goals which will restrict the building of a stand there possibly?
Günther
QUOTE (Deestruction @ Jun 20 2008, 11:26) *
And a catastrophically ugly wall behind the goals which will restrict the building of a stand there possibly?

To be honest, I don't think we ever will need another stand there. It'll just go unused like the stand behind the other goal.
Quite happy that something eventually is getting built there. What would be shithot though is if they build a Small Terrace onto the wall like Ross Countys. Something like that should cost much I'd hope and would be fuckin' brilliant!
Pride Of The Clyde
Fcuk watching the game from behind the goals.
I really hate having to watch a game from behind the goals.
LiviClyde
QUOTE (Pride Of The Clyde @ Jun 20 2008, 11:59) *
Fcuk watching the game from behind the goals.

I second that emotion!

Nor do I care much for standing these days - I'm getting too old for it!
north_west_L52
Yes thatsthe way to go . . .

Clyde fc chairman - Yes , our home end (yes end as one doesnt even get used due to crappy support) doesnt even get half filled . . . . you know what. . . lets make it BIGGER!!!!

brillient idea smile.gif
EastFootball
If it's a choice between behind the goals or behind pillars, the goals win hands down.

That's why I sit in the Bobby Cox at Dens.
The Arch
QUOTE (Pride Of The Clyde @ Jun 20 2008, 11:59) *

Do Clyde fans ever sit in the stand behind the goals? I've been to all the Thistle Clyde games in recent years, since Jamie Mitchell tore us apart, and can't remember anyone ever being behind that goal.
Pride Of The Clyde
QUOTE (The Arch @ Jun 20 2008, 12:41) *
Do Clyde fans ever sit in the stand behind the goals? I've been to all the Thistle Clyde games in recent years, since Jamie Mitchell tore us apart, and can't remember anyone ever being behind that goal.

It only ever used as an overspill from the two stands or for big games.
It has not been used very often.
Guttenberg
My only concern about is that by building such a facility on the site increases its value and therefore makes it increasingly unlikely that Clyde will be in a position to buy the stadium, or that the council would be willing to sell it. As we all know, not owning Broadwood has been one of the key reasons for the clubs recent financial contraints, and will continue to be lost source of vital potential revenue for as long as it stays in council ownership.

Saying that though, if it stops the wind......
Borussia
The wind comes usually from behind the away stand, and if they could fill the corner in between the end stand and away stand, that would be more beneficial. Most of our weather comes from the south west.

I would prefer the view as it is to some kind of office block containing sports facilities, however, if it means that the income to NLC is greater, does that mean our rates will be going down? Or is it a triple whammy where the ground looks worse, if Clyde were ever to progress to the SPL our crowds would be restricted to 8000 and there is absolutely no financial benefit to Clyde?

It's NLC's to do with as they like, so I have no real argument about that. But why then put it on the Clyde site if there's no benefit to the Club?

Guttenberg
QUOTE (Borussia @ Jun 20 2008, 13:05) *
But why then put it on the Clyde site if there's no benefit to the Club?

I imagine that if we turned up for pre-season friendlies/first game of the season and saw JCBs and bulldozers in the overflow car park, we would be slightly concerned as to what was going on at 'our' stadium! I guess this is the clubs way of letting you know.
The Umbrella
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jun 20 2008, 11:39) *
To be honest, I don't think we ever will need another stand there. It'll just go unused like the stand behind the other goal.
Quite happy that something eventually is getting built there. What would be shithot though is if they build a Small Terrace onto the wall like Ross Countys. Something like that should cost much I'd hope and would be fuckin' brilliant!

How do you get a hold of the badges in your signature?

If I wanted say Clyde, Fiorentina, Real Betis and Leeds Utd how would I go about it?
Sao Paulo
Clyde have actually been attempting to take part ownership of the stadium as was mentioned at the previous forum and I believe attempts are still on going.
Miles Brookeson
QUOTE (The Umbrella @ Jun 20 2008, 13:44) *
How do you get a hold of the badges in your signature?

If I wanted say Clyde, Fiorentina, Real Betis and Leeds Utd how would I go about it?

Fuxake..

Show Div where you've had your shaved head tattooed with a Union Jack and he'll sort it out for you.
Miles Brookeson
QUOTE (Sao Paulo @ Jun 20 2008, 14:04) *
Clyde have actually been attempting to take part ownership of the stadium as was mentioned at the previous forum and I believe attempts are still on going.

blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif What the f**k money do you have to buy anything???

not content with repeatedly failing on your minimal rent payments to the point you have to constantly re-write the contract, you want the Council to just GIVE you part ownership of the Stadium???

Away back to your Crack pipe. rolleyes.gif
Sao Paulo
You win as always Miles. rolleyes.gif

*Resumes smoking*
Borussia
QUOTE (Sao Paulo @ Jun 20 2008, 14:04) *

True, but there's still a lot of negotiating to go over getting the dugouts rolleyes.gif
The Umbrella
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Jun 20 2008, 14:04) *
Fuxake..

Show Div where you've had your shaved head tattooed with a Union Jack and he'll sort it out for you.

Surely Clyde are known as the wee Celtic , no? rolleyes.gif

Fiorentina and Real Betis - two ofthe biggest loyalist clubs in Latin Europe!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
The Umbrella
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Jun 20 2008, 14:08) *
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif What the f**k money do you have to buy anything???

not content with repeatedly failing on your minimal rent payments to the point you have to constantly re-write the contract, you want the Council to just GIVE you part ownership of the Stadium???

Away back to your Crack pipe. rolleyes.gif

But it would stop that Falkirk supporting dobber moaning about his council tax subsidy! What was his name again?

On second thoughts, maybe he was a pre-cursor to John McVeigh, Mr Roberts and all the other aliases!!
Miles Brookeson
QUOTE (The Umbrella @ Jun 20 2008, 15:28) *
Surely Clyde are known as the wee Celtic , no? rolleyes.gif

Aye, Brown, Gorum, Roberts, Albertz, Laudrup and Dougie Bell are all closet bead-shuffers aren't they. rolleyes.gif
The Umbrella
Well the bead shufflers employed Auld, Simpson, Wallace, Gemmell , Murdoch and Lennox to win the European Cup, so being an employee doesn't much influence the more senior and powerful elements of a club does it? ohmy.gif
sonofjenova
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Jun 20 2008, 10:51) *
Why Bother?

The two storey building, located at the North end of the stadium, will provide a multi-purpose sports hall, conditioning gym, dance studio, martial arts dojo, children's play area, kids zone, café and two synthetic seven-a-side pitches.

I'd imagine they'd "bother" with it to provide a facility with which the local community can play sports, be conditioned, dance, perform martial arts, let kids play, eat or play seven-a-side football rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Jun 20 2008, 12:38) *
Yes thatsthe way to go . . .

Clyde fc chairman - Yes , our home end (yes end as one doesnt even get used due to crappy support) doesnt even get half filled . . . . you know what. . . lets make it BIGGER!!!!

brillient idea smile.gif

You didn't even read the link, did you? Suppose reading is a big ask from you though.
chico
shite news, can't call it the cummernauld wind tunnel any longer. pish.
gypoarmy
QUOTE (chico @ Jun 20 2008, 21:17) *
shite news, can't call it the cummernauld wind tunnel any longer. pish.

I know sad.gif

tongue.gif
jester
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Jun 20 2008, 11:07) *

You mean the rutted dirt at the back surely?
Sao Paulo
The overflow which was just weed ridden Hardcore from a builders merchants'.

There's currently no activity behind the goals at Broadwood. There is however a fence now erected around the 'overflow' and there have been several JCBs flattening & excavating the land there in the last week. There was also activity beside the away car park in the large ditch before the edge of the loch. It was dug out, flattened off and there was something water/plumbing related done to it by the looks of things. That work has now finished. I'm not sure if these are/were related projects?

The website says this work is taking place at the north end of the stadium (i.e. behind the goals) but how well will a two storey sports facility deflect the wind really?
Broon_100
Quite pleased about this. The area arround Broadwood is growing all the time. I just recently moved here and its a really good area. This new facility looks to be a great addition and is making the stadium a core part of the community. Clyde fans should be pleased about this, the more people from the surrounding area that use the stadium the more people who are likely to drop in on a Saturday. As a Saints fan, I wouldn't even if I was paid but at least I get two 'home' games a season.

Maybe they could do a deal with gym membership holders where they get a discount of a season ticket etc.

Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (jester @ Jun 21 2008, 00:15) *
You mean the rutted dirt at the back surely?

No.