Full Version: Let Peace Break Out....
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
The ghost of Jim Morton
Now I know that I am not known for my pleasantries towards our friends from down the river but I wonder if we could perhaps have one thread where we can talk about things in a grown up and cordial manner without resorting to the usual insults,backing biting and down right abuse.
Nearly every thread goes that way and there are enough of them on the go to meet the needs of fans who feel thats all they want to do.Is this possible???
I,d love to give it a go.So come on guys and girls lets see if we can be mature and talk to each other like adults.( And don,t prove the doubters right by starting off with a f**k-off Saints/Dundee type post)

After all we're all football fans... smile.gif
CC 33
f**k OFF
silvery tay
QUOTE (CC 33 @ Jun 19 2008, 17:49) *
f**k OFF

F**K OFF biggrin.gif

Szamo's_Ammo
I doubt any Dundee fans will notice this thread. They really don't care y'know.
DeeJay35
Well said Jim Bob!

Not all of us are windup merchants on here. Just passionate about our football team and want them to do well. I personally dont hate any football team, including our nearest neighbours.

By the way, Who the f**k is James Morton! tongue.gif

silvery tay
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Jun 19 2008, 17:52) *

And you can f**k ana'
jjacko8
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 19 2008, 17:54) *
And you can f**k ana'

EH!
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jun 19 2008, 17:53) *
Well said Jim Bob!

Not all of us are windup merchants on here. Just passionate about our football team and want them to do well. I personally dont hate any football team, including our nearest neighbours.

By the way, Who the f**k is James Morton! tongue.gif

He,s a Dundonian( Something I only found out very recently).Played for Saints in the 80,s

Great Player.......
The ghost of Jim Morton
a bit of a poor show from the usual suspects but I forgive them and feel nothing but love for them today
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Jun 19 2008, 17:52) *

Be nice now smile.gif
VitalDees
Hello dearest friends. wub.gif

The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Jun 19 2008, 18:23) *

thats the spirit smile.gif
Juan Sara
Any plans for the weekend smile.gif

Being serious...happy with the new signings?

The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 19 2008, 19:23) *
Any plans for the weekend smile.gif

Being serious...happy with the new signings?

We desperately need a left back and with Dixon looking like joining the camel jockeys I,m a bit concerned as there doesn't seem to be any names being banded about,but I reckon McInnes must have something up his designer sleeve...Elsewhere I,m delighted.Morris could turn out to be one of those insperational signings that happen every now and then.( or he could revert to type and end up getting kicked out).Craig was a great addition.Swankie and Miller.We'll have to wait and see...What about your guys???
GROOVE
ah yes, good evening dundee fans. you really are a fine bunch of individuals despite your hatred towards us.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 19 2008, 19:33) *
We desperately need a left back and with Dixon looking like joining the camel jockeys I,m a bit concerned as there doesn't seem to be any names being banded about,but I reckon McInnes must have something up his designer sleeve...Elsewhere I,m delighted.Morris could turn out to be one of those insperational signings that happen every now and then.( or he could revert to type and end up getting kicked out).Craig was a great addition.Swankie and Miller.We'll have to wait and see...What about your guys???

Apart from Young who'll be on alot of money and will do f**k all I'm happy with how we've done. Gilhaney will be a great replacement for Swanks and from what I've heard/seen McKeown will do the job, not too sure how Paton will do with being on the bench for half a season.
yangus
I bring love and peace
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 19 2008, 19:38) *
Apart from Young who'll be on alot of money and will do f**k all I'm happy with how we've done. Gilhaney will be a great replacement for Swanks and from what I've heard/seen McKeown will do the job, not too sure how Paton will do with being on the bench for half a season.

I cannae wait for it to start,I,m confident we have the team to do it,but then again I,m like that every bloody year.I honestly think it will be a great season and I,m sure that there will be more than Saints and Dundee at the business end of the table.Surely the Pars can,t be as poor as last time.I think Thistle and QoS will take points off the fancied teams.Home form will be important.Any team that wins most of their home games and doesn,t lose many away will not be far away ...
silvery tay
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 19 2008, 18:06) *
a bit of a poor show from the usual suspects but I forgive them and feel nothing but love for them today

oops.gif Please forgive my earlier outburst i have now mellowed after a few drams of my favourite tipple 10yr old Macallan a truly magnificent whisky.greetings and all the best to the fine and upstanding residents of the fair city. smile.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 19 2008, 19:51) *
oops.gif Please forgive my earlier outburst i have now mellowed after a few drams of my favourite tipple 10yr old Macallan a truly magnificent whisky.greetings and all the best to the fine and upstanding residents of the fair city. smile.gif

previously I would have attempted to make a joke regarding you and a 10 year old ,but I too, am mellow, and will desist from such churlish behaviour. wink.gif
Bugsy
My uncle from Perth bought me a Saints top when I was a young lad - thinking I would appreciate any football top - and I've never thrown it away.... hypocrite.gif
silvery tay
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 19 2008, 19:55) *
previously I would have attempted to make a joke regarding you and a 10 year old ,but I too, am mellow, and will desist from such churlish behaviour. wink.gif

biggrin.gif LOL
Juan Sara
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 19 2008, 19:49) *
I cannae wait for it to start,I,m confident we have the team to do it,but then again I,m like that every bloody year.I honestly think it will be a great season and I,m sure that there will be more than Saints and Dundee at the business end of the table.Surely the Pars can,t be as poor as last time.I think Thistle and QoS will take points off the fancied teams.Home form will be important.Any team that wins most of their home games and doesn,t lose many away will not be far away ...

I think after a few months we'll have the same senario as last season either Dundee or Saints a few points ahead with the other breathing down their neck all season.

I think Dunfermline will be like Saints last season and us the season before, still a chance but a wee bit behind.
DeeJay35

Ah ffs....Get a room! rolleyes.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
sainteesean

You Sir, Are a Gentelman and a scholar.
Fife Saint
This is great. Why didn't we think of this last pre-season? xx
EastFootball
What a nice thread wub.gif
sainteesean
i love each and every one of you

and i expecially love youre fantastic manager Ale....

nope sorry, cant do it sad.gif
dundeebarry
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 19 2008, 17:41) *
Now I know that I am not known for my pleasantries towards our friends from down the river but I wonder if we could perhaps have one thread where we can talk about things in a grown up and cordial manner without resorting to the usual insults,backing biting and down right abuse.
Nearly every thread goes that way and there are enough of them on the go to meet the needs of fans who feel thats all they want to do.Is this possible???
I,d love to give it a go.So come on guys and girls lets see if we can be mature and talk to each other like adults.( And don,t prove the doubters right by starting off with a f**k-off Saints/Dundee type post)

After all we're all football fans... smile.gif

Good post from Ghostie. Let's spread the love y'all.

A good mate of mine is a born and bred Perth Saintee. In true football fan style we rip the pish out of each other at every opportunity, but it's always in the good spirit of banter. A mutual respect underpins our frothing "7 fucking 2 coag!" and "You've won f**k all fermer!" slagging matches. As it should be.

Life's too short folks. We're all in this 1st Division hole together. Love thy neighbour. Be thankfull for his cattle rearing or drug procuring abilities. Together we can work it out. Let us give praise to Alan Main and wish Gavin Swankie well. Let us stand up and say "Yes! The coags deserved that last minute winner!".

We stand united as Tayside's representatives in this division. f**k all those weedgie bams and teams from obscure places!

There is some irony in the fact I type this while sitting in a seat I ripped out of McDiarmid last season, but if there's an amnesty of some description I'll happily hand it back to Geoff Brown personally and congratulate him on a fine job running his football team.
sainteesean
QUOTE (dundeebarry @ Jun 20 2008, 01:52) *
There is some irony in the fact I type this while sitting in a seat I ripped out of McDiarmid last season, but if there's an amnesty of some description I'll happily hand it back to Geoff Brown personally and congratulate him on a fine job running his football team.

I....

shall resist commenting dry.gif biggrin.gif rolleyes.gif
EdinburghLivi
sad.gif I miss the bitch fighting.
WendyWho?
In the old days I might've thrown the odd handful of coppers or the occasional bar of soap over the Dens segregation fence and laughed while rat-like Derry children scrabbled to pick up the loose change from among the dog-ends and puddles of fetid urine, but I can honestly say I bear no genuine malice toward any coag. I work in a building full of them and despite their appalling upbringings they are, to a man, gentlemen.

All the vitriol and bile's just banter. It's slack vitriol, slack bile. It means nothing.

Tonight, when I stop by the Phoenix, I'll ask everyone whether they're a Dee and anyone who has the courage and confidence to admit it will receive a big hug and lots of genuine sympathy. Love.
Deestruction
QUOTE (WendyWho? @ Jun 20 2008, 10:34) *
In the old days I might've thrown the odd handful of coppers, or the occasional bar of soap over the Dens segregation fence and laughed while rat like Derry children scrabbled to pick up the loose change from among the dog-ends and puddles of fetid urine, but I can honestly say I bear no genuine malice toward any coag. I work in a building full of them and despite their appalling upbringings they are, to a man, gentlemen.

All the vitriol and bile's just banter. It's slack vitriol, slack bile. It means nothing.

Tonight, when I stop by the Phoenix, I'll ask everyone whether they're a Dee and anyone who has the courage and confidence to admit it will receive a big hug and lots of genuine sympathy. Love.

I'll nip over from the Nether in tae the Phoenix to see ya love. wub.gif I just want the free hug.
WendyWho?
Fire on good sir. I'll be the 6'4" skinhead built like a brick shithouse. Don't say anything, just walk straight up and hug me tight. :-p
dundeebarry
QUOTE (WendyWho? @ Jun 20 2008, 10:34) *
In the old days I might've thrown the odd handful of coppers or the occasional bar of soap over the Dens segregation fence and laughed while rat-like Derry children scrabbled to pick up the loose change from among the dog-ends and puddles of fetid urine, but I can honestly say I bear no genuine malice toward any coag. I work in a building full of them and despite their appalling upbringings they are, to a man, gentlemen.

Damn it, I was in the Phoenix last night watching the Germany game. I could have done with a hug and some sympathy.

Och well.
Deestruction
QUOTE (WendyWho? @ Jun 20 2008, 11:41) *
Fire on good sir. I'll be the 6'4" skinhead built like a brick shithouse. Don't say anything, just walk straight up and hug me tight. :-p

I'll be the black bodybuilder wearing a yellow work-mans jacket and helmet. wub.gif
WendyWho?
QUOTE (dundeebarry @ Jun 20 2008, 12:04) *
Damn it, I was in the Phoenix last night watching the Germany game. I could have done with a hug and some sympathy.

Och well.

So was I. We're like two ships passing in the night.
nelsjfc
Pheonix seems to be the pub of choice of the P & B website, one of the main things i misss about living in Dundee! Used to meet my old man in there often as he works just down from it. Excellent drink, excellent food, excellent pub.

As for the nether, what on earth have they done to the inside of that place!?! Used to enjoy it there despite the awful pints, and the minging toilets. used to know a large chunk of the staff in there by name, but knew nobody last time i was in.
dundeebarry
QUOTE (WendyWho? @ Jun 20 2008, 12:45) *
So was I. We're like two ships passing in the night.

Small world WendyWho, small world. I'm feeling a tad fragile today after going to the Phoenix at 6pm straight from work until after the game.

A fine boozer so it is.
robosaintee
This, fine sirs, is what i have been waiting for.

An excuse to show the feelings of love I have always harboured towards the fine city of Dunde and it's fine citizens, which have always been lingering deep down in the pit of my soul!

TAYSIDE FOREVER! wub.gif

May i be the first to prupose a merger!? Together, we can overtake the old firm!
DeeJay35
QUOTE (robosaintee @ Jun 20 2008, 13:50) *
May i be the first to prupose a merger!? Together, we can overtake the old firm!

Erm.....Youve took that to far! mad.gif

The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (dundeebarry @ Jun 20 2008, 01:52) *
Good post from Ghostie. Let's spread the love y'all.

A good mate of mine is a born and bred Perth Saintee. In true football fan style we rip the pish out of each other at every opportunity, but it's always in the good spirit of banter. A mutual respect underpins our frothing "7 fucking 2 coag!" and "You've won f**k all fermer!" slagging matches. As it should be.

Life's too short folks. We're all in this 1st Division hole together. Love thy neighbour. Be thankfull for his cattle rearing or drug procuring abilities. Together we can work it out. Let us give praise to Alan Main and wish Gavin Swankie well. Let us stand up and say "Yes! The coags deserved that last minute winner!".

We stand united as Tayside's representatives in this division. f**k all those weedgie bams and teams from obscure places!

Yeah man!!!! I totally agree.If we feel we need to have a rant and a dig,lets rip the pish out of the likes of Airdrie,Clyde,Partick ,Livi and Morton...They're all worthy of some joint abuse,especially those Broadwood minks laugh.gif
DeeJay35
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 20 2008, 15:02) *
Yeah man!!!! I totally agree.If we feel we need to have a rant and a dig,lets rip the pish out of the likes of Airdrie,Clyde,Partick ,Livi and Morton...They're all worthy of some joint abuse,especially those Broadwood minks laugh.gif

So basically the rest of the 1st division then? tongue.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jun 20 2008, 17:17) *

So basically the rest of the 1st division then? tongue.gif

No not them all.I have only good thoughts about Ross County,QoS are a decent bunch and Dunfermline fans on P&B are mostly rational thinkers with no axe to grind( although that might change as the season progresses)....

So it,s just the skanky 5 tongue.gif ..... biggrin.gif
Oh!!! and I would never sicken of slagging St.Mirren(SPL for now) laugh.gif
alberto
good topic Jimbo LOL
O'Rourke
Nicest thing I can say is that Dundee FC are the second biggest club on their street.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 20 2008, 20:05) *
Nicest thing I can say is that Dundee FC are the second biggest club on their street.

Now now,comments like that have no place on this thread my good man.There are other places you can post that sort of comment.This is a sarcasm free zone and has been working well up to now so lets keep it that way please smile.gif wink.gif