Full Version: Stadium Not Exactly Imminent Then..
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
davidkennedyshand
Not sounding too great..again

http://www.theherald.co.uk/search/display....yr_sees_red.php
Monster
It's odd to read something which isn't propaganda from The Ayrshire Post.

Looks like it's the council that are to blame for the delays, but it's not exactly a new thing, SAC dragging their feet, is it?
davidkennedyshand
Either the council or Barrat trying to cram in as many houses as possible

You just get the feeling its all going a bit Pete Tong. sad.gif

Still theres always the possible bonus of another season at Somerset and completing 100 years there.Thats the only decent thing i can think of just now.

It does make you think though that if we don't go up this season we're gonna have to make cuts to the squad again if we're losing money.
Whistle Blower
I honestly can't believe it, I had my name down for one of those lovely corporate boxes as well rolleyes.gif
doulikefish
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jun 19 2008, 11:05) *
I honestly can't believe it, I had my name down for one of those lovely corporate boxes as well rolleyes.gif

think of all the scroungers and the cheap cooncil hoosing that they might miss out on wink.gif
kilgour11
HA

HA

HA
Severus Snape
I'll build it myself out of lego and K-NEX. Easy!
utdtillidie
Didnt fancy sitting in a souless one stand 'stadium' anyway. dry.gif
ZCARS
QUOTE (utdtillidie @ Jun 19 2008, 12:36) *

i couldnt
agree more
Paco

Is it only supposed to be a one-sided 'stadium'?

f**k that for a laugh! Hopefully you stay at Somerset for a wee while longer...
D.Armour Appreciation Society
QUOTE (Paco @ Jun 19 2008, 15:38) *
Is it only supposed to be a one-sided 'stadium'?

f**k that for a laugh! Hopefully you stay at Somerset for a wee while longer...

.........HERETIC
Paisley Plumber

Aye snap .... and being miles from decent pre-match pubs.
RedEd
QUOTE (Monster @ Jun 19 2008, 10:13) *
It's odd to read something which isn't propaganda from The Ayrshire Post.

Looks like it's the council that are to blame for the delays, but it's not exactly a new thing, SAC dragging their feet, is it?

Since when did you subscribe to the gospel according to AUFC Neil?
Monster
QUOTE (RedEd @ Jun 19 2008, 23:00) *
Since when did you subscribe to the gospel according to AUFC Neil?

They're everywhere.

Don't go home.

Run Eddie, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!
stuart.
Are Barrat's shares not down about 75% or something just now? Is there a chance of them pulling out this deal?

I quite fancy a flat on that site in a year or 2 come to think of it.
Shibuya
I have a bad feeling that they will pull out of the deal. That, or the project will be shelved until production costs decrease and the markets recover.
Cliche Guevara
I suspect the conditional sale of Somerset was a binding contract. As soon as the council give the final go-ahead the club will commission the contractor to build the stadium (not Barratt).

I reckon the fortunes of AUFC are no longer linked to those of Barratt.
Ever the Optimist
I have a bad feeling that they will pull out of the deal. That, or the project will be shelved until production costs decrease and the markets recover.

Surely if the second is to be the case then it wouldn't affect us in any way as the deal to buy the land has been done. If the former were the case then I would worry.

What we don't know is what exactly has been signed. If we already have the money for the land then we have nothing to worry about, except the coonsil dragging their feet.

Unless I am missing something the ins and outs of the deal with Barrat isn't public knowledge. The only thing that I was aware of was that Barrats wouldn't start building until we were ready to move. That doesn't necessarily mean that we haven't sold the land. It would be incredibly short sighted and stupid if the club were to sell the ground before we had planning permission...cue abuse of the Camerons.

Alternatively...have we done an Air-der-ee?

Now I am only saying it as I am seeing it, and others may know substantially more than me, but IMO there is a hell of a lot of panic at the moment. Perhaps that panic is justified, but just because you read things in the papers, it doesn't make it true.

Just because Barrats share price has plunged doesn't mean they are going to go bust. It only means they are not a good investment at the moment.

I'm not saying I am completely comfortable with the situation, but surely all this talk can only be bad. We all know that the journalists trawl these sites for their stories so surely a little bit of calm is needed otherwise well be reading in the Daily Retard all about Ayr United land deal is dead, Barrats are going bust because of it, Camerons have Asset stripped AUFC etc, etc pretty much make up what you like, and it'll be in the papers soon enough.

Unless of course it's all true then start to panic bounce2.gif

lzreid
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jun 19 2008, 11:05) *

Fucking glory hunting traitor.
davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Jun 20 2008, 09:03) *
Now I am only saying it as I am seeing it, and others may know substantially more than me, but IMO there is a hell of a lot of panic at the moment. Perhaps that panic is justified, but just because you read things in the papers, it doesn't make it true.

Where are all of the stories coming from though?
They've been common knowledge around Ayr for a wee while now as have a few other stories that haven't made it into the paper.

My main worry is the way the cost of building has gone up and it was quoted at around £15 million for the whole development before that price rise.The price rise is only for the steel according to that article.What else has went up along with it?Other costs may arise if building starts.

I just don't see how we can finance this thing without putting ourselves in serious danger.It's an ambitious idea..if it comes off.If it doesn't and something goes wrong..will we have a club?
Cliche Guevara
Reading the article Lachlan seemed to be suggesting that the cost of the entire project has increased by £2 million. He then mentioned the cost of steel going up as being a contributory factor. I don't think it read as being the sole factor.

He may also have been taking a bit of licence with the £2 million figure in order to try and place a bit more pressure on the council.

It seems to be that we will only start phase two and phase three when the finance is already in place, therefore I don't think the club are going to be placed in a precarious position at any point. If the finance is not in place the phase doesn't get started - simple as that!

I think there's too much talk about Barratt. We have agreed a conditional sale of the land, the condition being all required planning permission is obtained. The article quotes that when final planning permission is obtained the finance is released. That suggests it's sitting aside somewhere as part of a contract.

davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Jun 20 2008, 13:25) *
I think there's too much talk about Barratt. We have agreed a conditional sale of the land, the condition being all required planning permission is obtained. The article quotes that when final planning permission is obtained the finance is released. That suggests it's sitting aside somewhere as part of a contract.

Yeah we knew the money was there for the first bit when the bit of land at Heathfield was sold for housing along with Somerset.

What i'm wondering is if this finance will cover any additional costs like the £2 million(accurate or not)rise in cost and any further costs that may come up while Phase I is going up.Maybe you're right and the figure quoted wasn't just for the steel but included other stuff.

In fact i hope you are right.
onejamesgrady
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Jun 20 2008, 13:25) *

So why haven't the club come out and said something along those lines to dispel all the scaremongering?
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (lzreid @ Jun 20 2008, 09:15) *
Fucking glory hunting traitor.

It was an investment for my son, so he could follow his local team.
D.Armour Appreciation Society
QUOTE (onejamesgrady @ Jun 20 2008, 14:33) *
So why haven't the club come out and said something along those lines to dispel all the scaremongering?

Because they're trying to forge ahead with our final season at Somerset Park, sell Season Tickets, Buy Players, a 'New Begininng' and yet, all we get, are a group of HERETICS who think they know better.
onejamesgrady
I hear the latest money-making scheme will involve planting a stake in the centre circle at Somerset at which we will all be burned.

True believers will be charged 50 quid a time to watch. Must be able to knit.

That should raise, well, 50 quid.
Tam_O_Shanter
If yesterdays story was in any way an attempt by the club to head off difficult questions being asked by shareholders at next weeks AGM, then they have as usual, made an arse of it. All they have managed to do is reveal some facts that they have been trying to keep quiet for a number of months.

No doubt the average shareholde will be more concerned about whether were going to play 4-5-1 at home next season, rather than looking at the financial shambles the club is in, and how it's goint to finance a £15 million and rising stadium project.

The worst ever attempt at smoke and mirrors I have seen in a long time.
Iain
QUOTE (Tam_O_Shanter @ Jun 20 2008, 14:59) *

So is it the worst ever or the worst you have seen in a long time? It cannot be both!
Tam_O_Shanter
QUOTE (Iain @ Jun 20 2008, 15:40) *
So is it the worst ever or the worst you have seen in a long time? It cannot be both!

I'm far too outraged to make up my mind.

4-5-1, 4-3-3 or 4-4-2?
Monster
If yesterdays story was in any way an attempt by the club to head off difficult questions being asked by shareholders at next weeks AGM, then they have as usual, made an arse of it. All they have managed to do is reveal some facts that they have been trying to keep quiet for a number of months.

No doubt the average shareholde will be more concerned about whether were going to play 4-5-1 at home next season, rather than looking at the financial shambles the club is in, and how it's goint to finance a £15 million and rising stadium project.

It's the councils fault.
Whistle Blower

ohmy.gif
Do you guys get an AGM every year ?
lzreid
QUOTE (Tam_O_Shanter @ Jun 20 2008, 15:42) *
I'm far too outraged to make up my mind.

4-5-1, 4-3-3 or 4-4-2?

4-3-3 surely?
GoRdY_b
QUOTE (lzreid @ Jun 20 2008, 15:53) *
4-3-3 surely?

Aye, four in the boardroom twiddling their thumbs, 3 in the council offices doing not much more and 3 on the imminent building site drunk in charge of their drawing board.
Cliche Guevara

Maybe because they don't want to talk to you and your mates wink.gif

Nah, I'm not being flippant just trying to bring a bit of balance. I really hope this goes ahead but the longer it lingers the more nervous I get. Too many people are assuming it's a disaster though, I reckon, without presenting any facts.
onejamesgrady
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Jun 20 2008, 17:23) *
Maybe because they don't want to talk to you and your mates wink.gif

ohmy.gif

Don't need to. A wee statement on the official site would do

QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Jun 20 2008, 17:23) *
Too many people are assuming it's a disaster though, I reckon, without presenting any facts.

You could turn that on its head and say facts are in short supply from the other side of the fence also

Iain
Who needs facts when we can just make stuff up?
Jimmy MCcabe
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jun 20 2008, 15:48) *
ohmy.gif
Do you guys get an AGM every year ?

laugh.gif Aye very good Whistle Blower.
Bairn 4 Life
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Jun 19 2008, 10:12) *

sounds to me like typical politicians dragging there fucking heels as always and just making excuses. they always drag things out and take longer than what is necessary soley because they want to benefit from the deal. what wankers mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif they should stop fucking about and let the club get on with it. hope you guys get the new stadium. only been to ayr once back in 2002/03 season on the first game of the season like us with brockville yous need a new stadium so sooner rather than later the club will have a new home
Monster
Click to view attachment

Preparations already underway for the Ayr United AGM on Wednesday.
Digital Exile
QUOTE (Monster @ Jun 23 2008, 17:00) *
Click to view attachment

Preparations already underway for the Ayr United AGM on Wednesday.

I just hope that the latest signing at Somerset isn't a Witchfinder General... he'll be a busy man.

onejamesgrady
QUOTE (Bairn 4 Life @ Jun 23 2008, 16:55) *
sounds to me like typical politicians dragging there fucking heels as always and just making excuses. they always drag things out and take longer than what is necessary soley because they want to benefit from the deal. what wankers mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif they should stop fucking about and let the club get on with it.

I'm sure our chairman will be delighted to hear you took the story that way and will be hoping many more did the same.

Unfortunately, few of them will be Ayr fans as most of us know what you assume is actually b*llocks

Also, maybe you could explain how the council will "benefit from the deal"?

I'd love to pass it on to them as maybe it could help bring our council tax down thumbup2.gif
Monster
QUOTE (onejamesgrady @ Jun 24 2008, 22:26) *
I'm sure our chairman will be delighted to hear you took the story that way and will be hoping many more did the same.

Unfortunately, few of them will be Ayr fans as most of us know what you assume is actually b*llocks

I think you overestimate the intelligence of many Ayr fans. I get the impression they think all is well. wacko.gif
onejamesgrady
QUOTE (Monster @ Jun 25 2008, 09:06) *
I think you overestimate the intelligence of many Ayr fans. I get the impression they think all is well. wacko.gif

More and more seem to be realising it isn't, Monster.

The way the board are going, they'll manage to convince everybody of that sooner or later.
Actionaufc
I heard the council were meant to be giving ayr the final drawings/approval on thursday there, anyone heard anything?
davidkennedyshand
Yup heard the same
Monster
I heard the cheeky sheep man was coming from blooperland with his fantasy chequebook and wonderful intentions in order to build us a hover-stadium that will glide gently over Heathfield as spry as a falcon.

HuzzaH!!!
davidkennedyshand
I hear he also has Gretnas old April Fool story plans of a floating stadium off shore seeing as we're building on the old Newton Loch site.