Full Version: Your Favourite Game Of Last Season?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
danelder89
As the title says, what were your favourite, and your least favourite games of last season?

Favourite - The 3-2 win against Cowdenbeath at Starks Park, we were 2-0 up but Fahey scored an O.G. before half-time then they levelled after the break, after piling on pressure for the whole second half Davo popped up with a thumping volley inside the box to win it for us with 10 minutes left biggrin.gif

Least Favourite - I have 2 that I can't decide between: The 1-0 loss to Cowdenbeath at Central Park, Davo missed a penalty, enough said sad.gif And the 1-0 loss away to Peterhead when we failed to even get a shot on target unsure.gif

bsd
Favourite - 8th December. Beating Ross County 3-1 at the Recs. The best performance I saw from us last season.

Least Favourite - 8th December. Beating RC etc. Fractured my ankle whilst celebrating the 3rd goal.
No8.
Has to be the Queens Park V Raith Rovers 5-2 game. It had everything including a hysterical moment when Rovers took the piss and managed to string about 30 passes together and it finished with a pass back to Fahey which bobbled over his foot and hit the inside of the post. Penalties,Sending off and some cracking goals. Not only the best game of last season but the most entertaining game i have been to in quite a few years.
Michael W
Favourite - I really enjoyed our opening day victory at Airdrie. Made a great change winning the opening game for once. I also thought we played quite well that day.

Least favourite(s) - Despite a large amount of games I did not enjoy, I'm going for both the play-off fixtures. I thought the second game was quite good, but take into account what was at stake, and it's a no-brainer for me that these were our worst. The Fahey/Davidson clangers were just unforgivable in a game of that magnitude.
Mel Hutchwright
Favourite ~ The 2 - 1 (aet) win against Cowden in the second leg of the play off semi at Central Park. After we'd been totally dominant for the entirity of the 2nd half, Cowden scored completely against the run of play to go 2-1 up on aggregate, and I really thought that would be that and an act of daylight robbery was about to occur. However, we rallied well and with 7 minutes to go Roddy Black scored to take it into extra time. Again we dominated and with 5 minutes to go until penalties, Raeside's looping header dropped gloriously into the net to put us ahead. These 5 minutes passed interminably it's fair to say.

Least Favourite~ The 1 nil home win against Stenny. It was actually an important win for us, but it was a really ugly game of football settled by a penalty, and the atmosphere amongst the Arbroath support was downright unpleasant. I don't think I've left a game that we've actually won feeling so dispirited. A horrible day.
Feed The Dunn
Favourite game has to be the 4-2 away win to Cowdenbeath.

Least favourite was either the 5-2 defeat to Raith or the 3-2 loss to Airdrie.

Stevo Fife
Favourite - away win at Stranraer which effectively clinched us the league. Superb performance from the boys on and off the park.

Least favourite - has to be 2-0 defeat at home to Arbroath at new year. Never experienced bitter cold like that in my puff. Plus we got gubbed.
Wild Rover
Think my best had to be close between two... 5-2 against queens park at hampden - for the sheer cheekyness.... us 2-0 up n bring back to 2-2 n start singing 2-0 n u fcuked it up for us to score three n sing bak 2-2 n u fcuked it up lol the heard more noise at a funeral that from home end lol !!

Or Beating county up there 3-2 ( the 2nd time tongue.gif ) 2 down great goals n well drinkin from nine n free train up for me smile.gif

worst game had to be airdrie in play off at home , so up for it team let us down with two stupid goals n i though we matched them most the game !!

Gall09
QUOTE (Feed The Dunn @ Jun 18 2008, 23:41) *
Favourite game has to be the 4-2 away win to Cowdenbeath.

Certainly the most important game of the season, but seeing as i wasn't there can't pick it as my favourite.

Beating Ayr 3-2 at Somerset at the start of the season is well up there. I really thought we were brilliant that day, particularly our right side of Paton and Trouten who ran them ragged.
Looked to have blown it when they equalised but rallied till the last minute when Trouten scuffed a shot into the bottom corner. Bedlam. Quality picture of the celebrations somewhere too.

Also the 3-2 home win over Ross County. Robert Dunn scored for f@ck sake! tongue.gif. Every player worked their arse off that day, and our second goal by Stevie Canning was counter-attacking that the Dutch would have been proud of.

Least favourite:

Any game against Airdrie, particularly the 3-2 (i'm noticing a pattern here) defeat at Broomfield after being 2 up.

And another game that left me totally gutted was the 3-2 (i know) defeat away to Ross County. The celebrations when Trouten equalised that day were some of the loudest i've experienced following Queen's. Every person in the stand (even the usually reserved) just seemed to go nuts. Only for Paul Lawson to skelp a 35 yard volley into the top corner in the last minute.

Cannae wait till next season.

Father Barrys Sign (Top Half)
Favourite game of last season was probably the 2-1 play-off semi final victory over Clyde. A decent sized crowd, with a great atmosphere under the floodlights. Alloa were brilliant that night, and deserved the victory. Close second would be the aforementioned 3-1 win over Ross County.

I missed the 6-0 humping by Airdrie at home, and the 6-1 defeat by County up at Dingwall, so my least favourite game was the 4-0 home defeat by Brechin over the festive period. My brother-in-law was over for Christmas, so I "treated" him to a match at the Recs, gave him all the chat about Alloa having a great home record, really turned it around this season etc etc and we got royally pumped that day. He'll never believe anything I tell him again.
MonTheRovers!!
Favourites - Both games up at Dingwall

Least Favourites - The 1st play-off against Airdire game and any game that happened in February.
Monster
Favourite: none

Worst: Most of them.
renton
Favourite has to be the second game up at Dingwall, great day out combined with some superb goals, coming from begind to win. drama, shock, victory and alcohol. 'nuff said.

Least favourite, 2-0 defeat to Alloa away, it was just dismal and has stuck in my head.
Whistle Blower
Favourite: Clyde away, FFS even Andy Todd had a great game

Least Favourite: Ayr 1-0 Away, last minute winner, playing against 10 men for 50 minutes just isn't good enough.

doulikefish
fav-the 2 last minute stonewall penaltys game v ayr
least-any of the ross county games
CALDERON
Favourite - 3-2 away to County, the first time. Exciting game where we JUST won it.

Worst - So many to choose from. 1-0 At Cowden where Davidson cost us the game. The two County games at home were massive dissapointments, both games away to Alloa, both at home to Queens Park, that game at the Glebe which saw us 2 down after a minute, the game away to Peterhead where we registered one effort at all, a Craig Winter header which went about 10 yards wide.

kilgour11
Favourite - Motherwell game or QP away (5-2)

Least Favourite - The first play-off game
utdtillidie
Favourite - Raith away 2-1 Williams two wonder goals biggrin.gif

Least Favourite - Pretty much every home game sad.gif
The American
Faveourite has to be the 1-2 game up in elgin, Chants of " top of the league, your having a laugh" by the Elgin fans, as paul stewart slots home in the last minute biggrin.gif .

Least faveourite would have to be the 2-1 defeat to stenny away. mad.gif
Feed The Dunn
QUOTE (Gall09 @ Jun 19 2008, 01:23) *
Also the 3-2 home win over Ross County. Robert Dunn scored for f@ck sake! tongue.gif . Every player worked their arse off that day, and our second goal by Stevie Canning was counter-attacking that the Dutch would have been proud of.

The Ross County win is definetely up there, but I picked the Cowden game because of how important it was for our survival, and the fact we only had 10 men for 50 minutes.

And I was going to say any defeat to Airdrie as well, but that one stood out... rip.gif
Waspie
Favourite was probably the 3-1 win over Ross County at the Recs in December, an excellent Alloa performance. At that stage of the season we were flying, starting games at a great tempo and attacking teams with pace down the flanks. Did it to Raith at the Recs a few weeks earlier.

Least favourite was the 6-0 defeat against Airdrie, a meek performance on what was a big day for the club. The 6-1 defeat at Dingwall was also dire for similar reasons to those mentioned by Father Barry. My brother in law was over from Canada and after years of being bored by me about Alloa he came along to see a game. Cue a pathetic gutless performance which could have been worse than 6-1. That was the 7th defeat in 8 games and I thought we were heading for 9th at that point. Team did well to turn it around and only lose 1 more league game after that.

Most memorable game has to be Broadwood though. Great highs and terrible lows all inside 3 hours!
P.C
Probably the St.Johnstone game at Starks, fanstastic game with one of the best atmospheres in a good wee while

worst has to be the last Brechin away game, 2 goals down before we even started singing mad.gif
Ricoh
My favourite was the 3-0 away victory against Clyde with a wonder strike from "flatter to deceive" Carcary"
Least favourite- numerous crap home performances, particularly when I left early when we were 3-0 down I think to Ayr and Hislop scored twice in the last few minutes.
Monster
QUOTE (Ricoh @ Jun 19 2008, 15:30) *
My favourite was the 3-0 away victory against Clyde with a wonder strike from "flatter to deceive" Carcary"
Least favourite- numerous crap home performances, particularly when I left early when we were 3-0 down I think to Ayr and Hislop scored twice in the last few minutes.

The_twa_hoops will be all over you for that one. Apparently despite being three goals up and hitting the woodwork three times as well, Rovers were all over us and should have won easily. laugh.gif
Paco
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Jun 18 2008, 22:56) *
As the title says, what were your favourite, and your least favourite games of last season?

Favourite - The 3-2 win against Cowdenbeath at Starks Park, we were 2-0 up but Fahey scored an O.G. before half-time then they levelled after the break, after piling on pressure for the whole second half Davo popped up with a thumping volley inside the box to win it for us with 10 minutes left biggrin.gif

Least Favourite - I have 2 that I can't decide between: The 1-0 loss to Cowdenbeath at Central Park, Davo missed a penalty, enough said sad.gif And the 1-0 loss away to Peterhead when we failed to even get a shot on target unsure.gif

Seriously, are you his boyfriend? tongue.gif I can understand liking a player, but that's a step too far...

Favourite- I'd go for the first game of the season victory over Airdrie as well. Had a great day out, and we managed to win the first game of the season away to a full-time title favourite. Great start! I've no doubt this would be different if I got to more away games though.

Least Favourite- The horrific 3-2 defeat at Brechin narrowly misses out due to me missing the first two Brechin goals, and also had the saving grace of a chippy on the way home- the Airdrie home leg wins it. I was completely devastated, because we (deservedly) lost 2-0 despite Airdrie not creating a chance. Go figure. blink.gif
Severus Snape
Favourite - Will have to think about that one, due to none standing out.

Worst - the 0-0 draw with Airdrie.
Cliche Guevara
fav-the 2 last minute stonewall penaltys game v ayr

Please don't do that!

crying.gif
danelder89
QUOTE (Paco @ Jun 19 2008, 15:49) *
Seriously, are you his boyfriend? tongue.gif I can understand liking a player, but that's a step too far...

laugh.gif No. Nothing wrong with having a favourite player at the club you support is there smile.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
best game was the 3-2 win at Dingwall first time round, when we were still title hopefuls - altho we played better in the second game up there we were well out of things by then

worst of many bad performances was the boxing day defeat at Berwick - not only was it a shite game, shite stadium, shite weather and a shite journey, thats when we knew for certain we were a shite team
Cliche Guevara
That's when you knew for certain wink.gif
lzreid
Favourite - 5-2 win at Hampden. Everything you could ask for in a game including probably the only time I'll see the Rovers score 5 at Hampden (or in fact in the greater glasgow area).

Worst - home leg against Airdrie in the play offs. Awful goalkeeping from a player I spent all season defending and the final gutless performance of a poor season. I phoned in sick for that game.
Scottydog
3-2 win at Dingwall 2nd time around (I missed the 1st one through work).
2-0 down come back to win with 3 great goals play the league leaders/winners off the park on their own midden and get a good laugh at our own pisssssed up numpties that threw away their scarves at 2-0 down and went back t'pub, only to miss a great revival and win.

Carlesberg don't do football away days.......
Ricoh
Shit! I forgot about the Berwick game. Somehow I had managed to erase all traces of it from my memory banks. I wonder why? I was there as my wife's parents are only 10 minutes down the road and we were bringing them festive greetings. I accept that this was indeed the worst and much worse than the Ayr game I cited previously.
Yoss
I'm trying to think. The challenge cup game against St Johnstone was quite entertaining, and I saw a Dundee v Livingston league cup tie with some absolutely belting goals, that also went to penalties.

The 5-2 at Hampden and the (first) win at Dingwall (I missed the second one) were both good fun from a partisan perspective.

And I have to doff my cap to Alex Williams, whose brace will live long in the memory, even if the game was otherwise unmemorable.
Andy.C
QUOTE (Yoss @ Jun 21 2008, 00:13) *
And I have to doff my cap to Alex Williams, whose brace will live long in the memory, even if the game was otherwise unmemorable.

I honestly dont think I'll see a better goal than Williams' second in my lifetime.

Unbelievable goal!
Yoss
See, I rate the first one higher.

(Although I have seen better goals than both elsewhere in the past, I reckon. Not for a while though, and not two scored by the same player in the same game.)
Andy.C
QUOTE (Yoss @ Jun 21 2008, 00:59) *
See, I rate the first one higher.

(Although I have seen better goals than both elsewhere in the past, I reckon. Not for a while though, and not two scored by the same player in the same game.)

I only saw the first of his double online. The second I was standing up clapping like anything.
Yoss
The video clip on the Raith site doesn't show the whole of the first one, it started on the edge of their own penalty area and there were a series of quick passes from one end of the field to the other, all of them hit first time, and then the chip, also hit first time. Technically it was much better, imho, the second one was brilliant but it was just a one-off strike.
Andy.C
QUOTE (Yoss @ Jun 21 2008, 01:13) *
The video clip on the Raith site doesn't show the whole of the first one, it started on the edge of their own penalty area and there were a series of quick passes from one end of the field to the other, all of them hit first time, and then the chip, also hit first time. Technically it was much better, imho, the second one was brilliant but it was just a one-off strike.

Does sound like a belter.

The technique displayed for the second was fantastic. Much better than Zidanes famous goal in the Champions league final in my opinion.
Big can of worms here Yoss. Individual brilliance or excellently executed teamwork?

Paisley Plumber
Mine's the QP game at Somerset in January (3-1 Ayr win). After having previously repeatedly paid to watch such substandard rubbish under the two Rabs, it was a joy to see the 'team' mesh together for once. Apart from young Stevenson throwing his toys out the pram at the end and getting sent off and the odd blob here and there of course, it was by far and away the best day out I've had at Somerset in quite a while. I know this is not saying much but, I don't get up to as many games as I want and that was the first victory I'd seen in a couple of years believe it or not. So sad or not, that's my highlight of the season.
callum-ayr
best...........christ dono about the in terms of day out first away game at berwick hitting the pubs at 11 laugh.gif but in terms of game has to be when we beat queens park at home 3-1

worst .....this is the difficult one there is so many but cowden away 2-0 was effortless from all players
No8.
Seriously lack of Stirling Albion supporters on this thread...Surely their time in the 1st Division couldn't have been all bad? tongue.gif
Ever the Optimist
My favourite game that I was at, was the 3-1 win at Hampden at the tail end of the season. It was some of the best football I have seen from an Ayr team in years, and as footballing days out go it ranked up there as well. You know how it is when us townies come to the big smoke.

Worst take your pick really. Most games I saw last year were woeful as has been pointed out already by us honestmen/women. However particularly bad were Cowdenbeath (1-4) and Brechin (0-3)

It's good to see the Rovers fans raving about Williams' goals at SP. It's what sets us apart from the glory hunters that disappear to Glasgow every fortnight(and no I'm not talking about Partick Thistle fans unsure.gif ), ie we appreciate good football, whether it comes from our team or not, and we are big enough to admit it. I didn't witness that game in the flesh, but they were two of the best goals I have ever seen in Scottish Football, albeit on the net.

I heard a rumour that our esteemed(ahem!) prime minister, Gordon Brown said in the boardroom after the game, he no longer considers Gascoignes' heartbreaker against Scotland in 1996 to be his favourite ever. OK I'm lying but he should have done.
effc2008
I actually live my life back-to-front so I don't know what my fav game of last season will be, but my fav game of next season was definitely beating the Rovers at Stark's Park on the 3rd of January.
lzreid
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Jun 21 2008, 12:05) *
My favourite game that I was at, was the 3-1 win at Hampden at the tail end of the season. It was some of the best football I have seen from an Ayr team in years, and as footballing days out go it ranked up there as well. You know how it is when us townies come to the big smoke.

Worst take your pick really. Most games I saw last year were woeful as has been pointed out already by us honestmen/women. However particularly bad were Cowdenbeath (1-4) and Brechin (0-3)

It's good to see the Rovers fans raving about Williams' goals at SP. It's what sets us apart from the glory hunters that disappear to Glasgow every fortnight(and no I'm not talking about Partick Thistle fans unsure.gif ), ie we appreciate good football, whether it comes from our team or not, and we are big enough to admit it. I didn't witness that game in the flesh, but they were two of the best goals I have ever seen in Scottish Football, albeit on the net.

I heard a rumour that our esteemed(ahem!) prime minister, Gordon Brown said in the boardroom after the game, he no longer considers Gascoignes' heartbreaker against Scotland in 1996 to be his favourite ever. OK I'm lying but he should have done.

I too completely concur, the two goals were stunning, the first one was my 'favourite' and if I hadn't been too busy swearing at our defenders -with very little justification- at the time I might well have applauded.
AllanJM
QUOTE (effc2008 @ Jun 21 2008, 13:01) *
I actually live my life back-to-front so I don't know what my fav game of last season will be, but my fav game of next season was definitely beating the Rovers at Stark's Park on the 3rd of January.

God.....it's me AllanJM.....I'm not normally a praying man but please give me the opportunity of laughing when these words come back to haunt this poor disillusioned person.

P.S. Don't let these words come back to haunt me.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Jun 21 2008, 12:05) *

Yea, credit where its due, we had no answer to William's goals. If the Dutch or Italians had scored them at Euro 08 folk would have raved about them.
Monster
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Jun 21 2008, 19:16) *
Yea, credit where its due, we had no answer to William's goals. If the Dutch or Italians had scored them at Euro 08 folk would have raved about them.

CODE
We played you off the park you lucky c***s!
Yoss
We did too.
an86
Favourite- Ayr away. Troutens last minute winner, great celebrations.

Worst- Shire awat in the Challenge Cup. We lost 1-0, nuff said.