SuperTommy
Jun 18 2008, 10:56
This section of Pie and Bovril is going downhill recently. The first division section is suffering badly from lack of football. The arguments between Dundee and St. Johnstone fans or Dundee and United fans are popping up all over the shop. We've now reached the point where in one topic two fans are arguing if it's worse to sing songs about some one with cancer or to dish out racist abuse.
If it's not these stupid arguments interrupting or taking over threads it is a couple of posters who think it's funny/smart to post pictures in every thread and make each topic harder to read or have any real interest in them.
I used to only really come into this section of the site but now i only come in for a quick read and most of the topics are destroyed by people either having a dig at each other.
People might say it's just banter but it's shit banter in my view.
Roll on the season so we can have some real discussion and not this my dad is bigger than your dad shite.
/Rant
David W
Jun 18 2008, 11:00
It's the same every pre-season.
Viva La Livi
Jun 18 2008, 11:02
can't wait for the season and when i can get my season ticket but otherwise your right tommy
EastFootball
Jun 18 2008, 11:04
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 18 2008, 11:56)

We've now reached the point where in one topic two fans are arguing if it's worse to sing songs about some one with cancer or to dish out racist abuse.
Well that's wrong for a start.
dee_62
Jun 18 2008, 11:05
Couldn't agree more. The 1st division forum used to be on my favourite list but I now find myself on the General nonsense forum more and more. (at least you know what you're going to get there!)
(edit for spelling!)
josecomehome
Jun 18 2008, 11:06
Aye- the best team ever to grace this division has left. Always going to go downhill after that. Sorry guys. You'll have St. Mirren fans to liven things up after next season. Until then- just stick with it and talk about how class the Accies were last season and how you envy them.
Bye.
Miles Brookeson
Jun 18 2008, 11:15

This section of Pie and Bovril is going downhill recently. The first division section is suffering badly from lack of football. The arguments between Dundee and St. Johnstone fans or Dundee and United fans are popping up all over the shop. We've now reached the point where in one topic two fans are arguing if it's worse to sing songs about some one with cancer or to dish out racist abuse.
If it's not these stupid arguments interrupting or taking over threads it is a couple of posters who think it's funny/smart to post pictures in every thread and make each topic harder to read or have any real interest in them.
I used to only really come into this section of the site but now i only come in for a quick read and most of the topics are destroyed by people either having a dig at each other.
Roll on the season so we can have some real discussion and not this my dad is bigger than your dad shite.
/Rant
I agree
BRING BACK MR ROBERTS!!!
revolvingduck
Jun 18 2008, 11:25
General Nonsense I have been found mostly also
lyle be back
Jun 18 2008, 11:29
As a Dundee fan you obviously missed the sparkling banter that used to pass between Falkirk and St Mirren fans when both of those teams were in the 1st.
Its always a bit quiet in pre-season, which means that the topics tend to be a bit more tedious.
Miles - I don't want your alias Mr Roberts back. I want your previous alias John McVeigh back!!!
SavotheGreat
Jun 18 2008, 11:51

/Rant
Fresh air, much?
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 11:57

/Rant
Has Super Tommy reached the summit or can anyone find the even higher moral high ground?
Let's be honest here. The decline of the First Division forum coincided with the influx of Dundee fans that last season's title challenge resulted in.
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 12:11
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 18 2008, 13:09)

Let's be honest here. The decline of the First Division forum coincided with the influx of Dundee fans that last season's title challenge resulted in.

- aye its dundee fans "fault"
I always look forward to your high quality postings Nizzy

/Rant
a boring post about boring posts oh how ironic
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 13:11)

Aye, your rants about 'potato head' are the stuff of legend. Apart from your topics regarding Mr Roberts (which always seem to backfire on you), your posts slagging off Eddie T and the occasionally amusing girly fit, what exactly do
you bring to this board Insight?
Fife Saint
Jun 18 2008, 12:15
I'm sure a St Johnstone fan could come up with a better reason for this forum going to the dogs. We have better facilities blah blah blah....
SavotheGreat
Jun 18 2008, 12:16

At what point in time did you turn into a wind-up merchant?
Miles Brookeson
Jun 18 2008, 12:17
QUOTE (lyle be back @ Jun 18 2008, 12:29)

Miles - I don't want your alias Mr Roberts back.
Can't happen because it's not me.
QUOTE (lyle be back @ Jun 18 2008, 12:29)

I want your previous alias John McVeigh back!!!
Can't happen for legal reasons.
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jun 18 2008, 13:16)

At what point in time did you turn into a wind-up merchant?
Oh, round about the time Dundee's title challenge resulted in a influx of fu
cktards to the board.
SavotheGreat
Jun 18 2008, 12:19
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 18 2008, 13:17)

Oh, round about the time Dundee's title challenge resulted in a influx of fucktards to the board.
Good stuff. Just wanted to set a date on it.
SavotheGreat
Jun 18 2008, 12:20
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 13:11)

- aye its dundee fans "fault"

Are you still not speaking to me Insight?
SaintSam
Jun 18 2008, 12:58
Idiots like Silvery Tay are to thank for this board being rubbish this pre-season.

two fans are arguing if it's worse to sing songs about some one with cancer or to dish out racist abuse.
Debate is terrible isnt it.
Just for the record, which do you think is worse?????
Fife Saint
Jun 18 2008, 13:03
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jun 18 2008, 13:58)

Idiots like Silvery Tay are to thank for this board being rubbish this pre-season.
I actually think he is quite cute and cuddly. Like a small puppy that keeps running into a glass patio door not realising it is actually closed.
Oh ST you silly billy.

Your probably not far wrong with that.

/Rant
Thank f**k its not just me thats noticed it.
SuperTommy
Jun 18 2008, 13:49
QUOTE (7-2 @ Jun 18 2008, 13:59)

Debate is terrible isnt it.
Just for the record, which do you think is worse?????
Most of the pish isn't a debate though - "We've won money trophies than you" replied with "We're in the SPL" then back to "Aye, but we've won more trophies" It's just drivel.
Which do i think is worse? The Eddie song by far. The 'racist' song is stupid but there is no harm meant by it. Why would there be? He's one of their better players. I've seen the Eddie song sung at matches and it's a disgrace i couldn't care less the guy is involved with United it's not something to joke about or laugh about in my view.
yangus
Jun 18 2008, 15:49
need alot more signins or something nothingelse to talk about hence the arguments
Miles Brookeson
Jun 18 2008, 16:21
COME BACK MR ROBERTS THIS FORUM IS SHIT WITHOUT YOU!!!!
Juan Sara
Jun 18 2008, 16:39
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Jun 18 2008, 12:15)

I agree
BRING BACK MR ROBERTS!!!
Well go sign in as him, surely you're not that thick?
Mr Roberts
Jun 18 2008, 16:41
QUOTE (yangus @ Jun 18 2008, 16:49)

need alot more signins or something nothingelse to talk about hence the arguments
If there's nothing to talk about then it shouldn't be too hard to shut the fu
ck up. we could always talk about dundee's financial position, that always seems to generate a mass debate.
Juan Sara
Jun 18 2008, 16:44
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jun 18 2008, 17:41)

If there's nothing to talk about then it shouldn't be too hard to shut the f**k up. we could always talk about dundee's financial position, that always seems to generate a mass debate.
I'm sure you mass-debate over Dundee alot.
Mr Roberts
Jun 18 2008, 16:48
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 18 2008, 17:44)

I'm sure you mass-debate over Dundee alot.
Wow, you adopted my joke as your own. i've clearly underestimated dundee's fans. intellectual heavyweights to a man. even the ones that get caught out as obvious aliases.
EastFootball
Jun 18 2008, 16:50
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jun 18 2008, 17:48)

Wow, you adopted my joke as your own. i've clearly underestimated dundee's fans. intellectual heavyweights to a man. even the ones that get caught out as obvious aliases.
f**k off Miles you tedious c**t
Mr Roberts
Jun 18 2008, 16:54
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jun 18 2008, 17:50)

f**k off Miles you tedious c**t
You couldn't be more wrong, despite the fact you appear to be one of the more cerebral dundee posters.
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:00
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 18 2008, 13:15)

Aye, your rants about 'potato head' are the stuff of legend. Apart from your topics regarding Mr Roberts (which always seem to backfire on you), your posts slagging off Eddie T and the occasionally amusing girly fit, what exactly do you bring to this board Insight?
Haha - what a sanctimonious p***k you really are!!
What type of contriibution do i need - this aint the fecking "Scotsman" - more like the Sunday Sport.
So for all our amusement - what exactly do you bring sir - and i want chapter and verse of your very own brand of trumpet blowing.
And oh aye - Mr Roberts has the upper hand on me LMFAO
Mr Roberts
Jun 18 2008, 17:01
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 18:00)

And oh aye - Mr Roberts has the upper hand on me LMFAO

say it often enough and you'll believe it baby.
I'm still waiting for your response on the 'dedication' thread. all your topic did was allow me the opportunity the rip the piss out of you.
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:02
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 18 2008, 14:49)

Most of the pish isn't a debate though - "We've won money trophies than you" replied with "We're in the SPL" then back to "Aye, but we've won more trophies" It's just drivel.
Which do i think is worse? The Eddie song by far. The 'racist' song is stupid but there is no harm meant by it. Why would there be? He's one of their better players. I've seen the Eddie song sung at matches and it's a disgrace i couldn't care less the guy is involved with United it's not something to joke about or laugh about in my view.
My oh my - taking the United issue out of the equation - you really think its acceptable ("no harm meant by it) - chanting about a black player's teeth shining in the dark?
Mr Roberts
Jun 18 2008, 17:04
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 18:02)

My oh my - taking the United issue out of the equation - you really think its acceptable ("no harm meant by it) - chanting about a black player's teeth shining in the dark?
racists and bigots. whatever next? shit, I forgot, dundee was recently named scotland's 'most intelligent city'. now there WAS a surprise!
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:04
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jun 18 2008, 18:01)

say it often enough and you'll believe it baby.
I'm still waiting for your response on the 'dedication' thread. all your topic did was allow me the opportunity the rip the piss out of you.
Ermmmmmmmm................what dedication thread?
When are we closing this year by the way - next defeat or has your source at Hamilton not decided
SuperTommy
Jun 18 2008, 17:05
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 18:02)

It's not really no but it's already been pointed out that United fans tut tuted it and the lyrics were changed.
To me it's no different to singing "He's big, he's black, he keeps it out the sack, Kelvin Jack, Kelvin Jack" that was sung on many an away day by our fans in our first season down.
Mr Roberts
Jun 18 2008, 17:09
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 18:04)

Ermmmmmmmm................what dedication thread?
When are we closing this year by the way - next defeat or has your source at Hamilton not decided

ignore it enough and it'll disappear baby.
when are you closing? judging by your username, you'll have enough 'insight' to realise that your club is ignoring its perilous finacial position - which caused one of your high heid yins to make a statement about the clubs full-time status - in a desperate push for promotion.
now, given their off-field activities, this is something st johnstone can sustain, but it's the opposite for dundee. if i remember correctly, a thread was started not that long ago in which a number of dundee fans voiced their concerns about this strategy. surely it must be of concern to a passionate fans uch as yourself?
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:12
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 18 2008, 18:05)

It's not really no but it's already been pointed out that United fans tut tuted it and the lyrics were changed.
To me it's no different to singing "He's big, he's black, he keeps it out the sack, Kelvin Jack, Kelvin Jack" that was sung on many an away day by our fans in our first season down.
I can categorically say that i NEVER heard such a song home or away..........think you maybe on the worng buses mate.
But as for racist abuse beiing harmless and ok for being tut tuted..................tut tut that you can adopt such an ignorant attitude. And i'd hope you challenged that boloocks of a song allegedly sang at Jack instead of embracing it.
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:13
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jun 18 2008, 18:09)

ignore it enough and it'll disappear baby.
when are you closing? judging by your username, you'll have enough 'insight' to realise that your club is ignoring its perilous finacial position - which caused one of your high heid yins to make a statement about the clubs full-time status - in a desperate push for promotion.
now, given their off-field activities, this is something st johnstone can sustain, but it's the opposite for dundee. if i remember correctly, a thread was started not that long ago in which a number of dundee fans voiced their concerns about this strategy. surely it must be of concern to a passionate fans uch as yourself?
Facts please rtaher than glib remarks and innuendo - how the feck do you know our financial position and not even your (always wrong) "mole" can have that information
SuperTommy
Jun 18 2008, 17:18
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 18:12)

I can categorically say that i NEVER heard such a song home or away..........think you maybe on the worng buses mate.
But as for racist abuse beiing harmless and ok for being tut tuted..................tut tut that you can adopt such an ignorant attitude. And i'd hope you challenged that boloocks of a song allegedly sang at Jack instead of embracing it.
I'm not in the fans for the majority of games so therefore had no chance to challenge the song. I don't travel on any buses. This song was sung in grounds during matches.
As for the United thing. I have already said i believe there was no harm meant by it, it got pointed out and the lyric was removed. Compare that to the Eddie song that has clear intent to offend.
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:24
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 18 2008, 18:18)

I'm not in the fans for the majority of games so therefore had no chance to challenge the song. I don't travel on any buses. This song was sung in grounds during matches.
As for the United thing. I have already said i believe there was no harm meant by it, it got pointed out and the lyric was removed. Compare that to the Eddie song that has clear intent to offend.
So did you challenge anyone at matches with your displeasure? Its incumbent on us all and still i never heard such a ridiculous song.
The ET song is indefensible also..................pity he is such a kunt or i would have got worked up more about that also.
SuperTommy
Jun 18 2008, 17:27
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 18 2008, 18:24)

So did you challenge anyone at matches with your displeasure?
I already pointed out i'm not in with the fans for the majority of games.
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:40
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 18 2008, 18:27)

I already pointed out i'm not in with the fans for the majority of games.
Without wishing to labour the point - you weren't in with the fans (whatever that means - board/hospitality?) for the majority - you were in for some games albeit a minority of games. Also if you heard such songs - regardless of where you were - i assume you reported them to the nearest police/steward/dundee fc?
EdinburghLivi
Jun 18 2008, 17:43
I'll admit I've expected some more controvesy from the Airdrie fans but I don't think it's gone downhill. To be honest, with the Euros on you couldn't really expect much more than what is currently happening. Not shit, just a lack of material.
I'll agree with Niz's sentiments about this forum getting more shit with the influx of Dundee fans though. There are some decent posters from their club but those arseholes just make their whole club's support look like morons.
Insight
Jun 18 2008, 17:46
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 18 2008, 18:43)

I'll admit I've expected some more controvesy from the Airdrie fans but I don't think it's gone downhill. To be honest, with the Euros on you couldn't really expect much more than what is currently happening. Not shit, just a lack of material.
I'll agree with Niz's sentiments about this forum getting more shit with the influx of Dundee fans though. There are some decent posters from their club but those arseholes just make their whole club's support look like morons.
Ach well at least there won't be an influx of livvy fans
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.