forever blue and white
Jun 17 2008, 16:06
first post guys as i only stumbled acroos this forum while bored at work one night.cracking banter i have read so far on all forums.
was just wandering what all you guys who watch the juniors have ever had a favourite away day that sticks out?
i have a few probably the best was a few years ago at arbroath sc in the scottish cup watchin my team the er quite pi-ss poor kilsyth rangers

on the beer all day and takin a carry out in from the co-op across the road to basically a public park.
and when we scored in the last minute at lugar to get a draw then won the league v peasy the following week was memorable
any other hazy away days from you guys?
Largs away next season should be fun.
also troon.anywhere near the seaside for me.
Sam_Jambo14
Jun 17 2008, 17:00
Away at Troon and Clydebank in the cup this year were pretty good, but i always like going to Whitburn the best.
I froze my balls off at Tayport this year though. It was feckin freezin that day!
Tayport in the Scottish a couple of years back was great. Finished 1-1, but got that pished I thought we'd been beat
QUOTE (Sam_Jambo14 @ Jun 17 2008, 18:00)

Away at Troon and Clydebank in the cup this year were pretty good, but i always like going to Whitburn the best.
It was a good day out when we played you at your ground.Your brass band was top notch
Arthurlie1981
Jun 17 2008, 18:19
Always love going to newlandsfield, but in terms of great away days, we went to glenrothes in the scottish this year, alothough we were shocking and got knocked out we were already pissed having left at 9am and after finishing the carry out before 12 going to a local pub to watch the footie on the telly. Very poor performance but great day out.
forever blue and white
Jun 17 2008, 18:29
could be a few drunken days out for me next season as theres a lot of ayrshire teams in the diddy league the mighty kr have been relegated into. where i stay now.
closest being annbank 3 miles away bit of a shit hole of a ground though
troon 2 minutes walk from there train station (good gowf courses there though)
maybole dump of a ground but can get the train out of there sharppish
and any kirky rob roy fans hope you get relegated as you think your the big cheese with your sell out to the brickie it was fook all to do with your social club being robbed blind,common knowledge.
Girvan was good, so was Troon. Can't even remember which year it was but the game at Auchinleck in the late 80s was a belter.
the trialist
Jun 17 2008, 20:13
dalry away in the scottish cup in 95 now that was an eventful day arbroath sc as well great wee chippie right across from the park
Legends of Gaeldom
Jun 17 2008, 22:55
Largs at Musselburgh a few years back (3-0) was a great win, not best trip in any way, but good result when the bookies were against us. No legendary seaside trecks recently (us being from Largs... obviously), Sauchie (not because its the seaside... it isn't) would have been a good day out to a nice wee park had we not lost 3-0... 10 years back we went up to Aberdeen to play Banks O' Dee, a rank rotten Largs team won 1-0 through Frank Morrison (if I remember correctly), was a good day out for an 8-year-old at the time. Having Kirkie Rob Roy COME to Largs in 2001 (and gubbing them) in the Scottish Cup Fifth Round was a great day in an exciting season. We need a treck up north again for a good day out.
scroteface
Jun 18 2008, 00:31
Coltness United - West of Scotland Cup - 2nd Round Replay - April 1991.
Five months after the first round match. Drew the first game at Barrfields 2-2. Sang for the whole game in a rickety falling down stand. In fact we continued singing throughout the half time interval despite being beaten at the time. Eventually won 4-2.....Boag (30 goals that season), Quigg (future manager), Lovering (future manager) and Wilson. I'm sure you could look out to the ground from a hole in the toilet wall as I think I was still singing while peeing. Those were the days. Could have done with the Boagie Man last season (the one that's just about to end I mean). Went on to win the cup that year.
Another great away day was Bo'ness in 1989 - can't remember much about it. Do remember someone getting stabbed on the bus on the way back. Nice bunch of folks went back then. Actually, I think we'd quite a few buses through that day - changed days. Humped 5-1 and Lovering was banned for the rest of the season after jumping the wall into the crowd or something daft like that. I remember two policemen coming up to me and saying "You can't drink that here". So I left them and went to another part of the ground. Same two policemen approached me again and said "I thought we told you that you couldn't drink that here". They weren't impressed with my reply of "You said I couldn't drink it over there - you never said feck all about drinking it here".
Ginger ninja
Jun 18 2008, 05:24
Largs for me. Great wee day out that had everything. Try buying a pint there though

They only have local pubs for local people
forever blue and white
Jun 18 2008, 06:29
and any kirky rob roy fans hope you get relegated as you think your the big cheese with your sell out to the brickie it was fook all to do with your social club being robbed blind,common knowledge.
sorry guys that comment wasnt written by me someone at the wind up,apoligies to all rob roy fans
QUOTE (HTG @ Jun 17 2008, 19:48)

Girvan was good, so was Troon. Can't even remember which year it was but the game at Auchinleck in the late 80s was a belter.
88/89 season
Largs away on 1st day of last season 1-1
Broxburn away in Scottish few years back 1-1
Yoker away last season 2-2
Cambuslang away last season 2-1
Various reasons for these 4, but Broxburn was a good one
gingerblastie
Jun 24 2008, 16:28
QUOTE (forever blue and white @ Jun 17 2008, 19:29)

could be a few drunken days out for me next season as theres a lot of ayrshire teams in the diddy league the mighty kr have been relegated into. where i stay now.
closest being annbank 3 miles away bit of a shit hole of a ground though
troon 2 minutes walk from there train station (good gowf courses there though)
maybole dump of a ground but can get the train out of there sharppish
can you state who the mighty kr thats only 3miles from annbank are mate
Delboy
Jun 24 2008, 17:41
Well theres been many !
Ellon away in teh scottish about 2 years ago. We won 4-3
Aberdeen lads Club, another good day
Hill O Beith, full scale riot in teh social club, not so good lol
Maryhill 3 years ago in the Quarter of the scottish
Petershill in the West 3 years ago was the best day for me.
We won 3-1 and it was a very good day.
gingerblastie
Jun 25 2008, 13:02
QUOTE (Delboy @ Jun 24 2008, 18:41)

Well theres been many !
Ellon away in teh scottish about 2 years ago. We won 4-3
Aberdeen lads Club, another good day
Hill O Beith, full scale riot in teh social club, not so good lol
Maryhill 3 years ago in the Quarter of the scottish
Petershill in the West 3 years ago was the best day for me.
We won 3-1 and it was a very good day.
dellboy these were all class days out and as you said to many to mention.. my opinion is every away day with the blasties is a superb day but thats due to our amazing away support which many have.nt got.. my personal favorite.s are inverurie loco.s and forres the crazy 8 in the setting off times always work a treat.. another cracker is gotta be montrose roselea although we got beat ill never forget getting dropped off about 6 mile from the park(oh its only a 5 min walk aye right''
Bellahouston Treelover
Jun 26 2008, 00:05
QUOTE (gingerblastie @ Jun 24 2008, 17:28)

can you state who the mighty kr thats only 3miles from annbank are mate
I'd understood him to be a Kilsyth Rangers supporter now living in Ayrshire.
gingerblastie
Jun 26 2008, 12:46
QUOTE (Bellahouston Treelover @ Jun 26 2008, 01:05)

I'd understood him to be a Kilsyth Rangers supporter now living in Ayrshire.
thought so now this brings me to point out that the diddy league he.s on about is where his team should be .remember this diddy league has the west champions in it..cant wait to see kilsyth struggle away in the diddy league now..
Delboy
Jun 26 2008, 12:54
Ahh Montrose. I was only a young wan then. Still cler as a bell but

The Forfar Bridies anaw

Wee Pat fillin his pockets way them anaw

Diddy league you say, Weel see about that when you visit Valefeild
Watson
Jun 26 2008, 18:58
With Highland League side Fraserburgh going over to Ireland for pre-season was fantastic playing (well the team were not me) Bangor City and Ballyclare Comrades superb weekend.
Junior football with Maud JFC any away day is superb. Scottish cup games are always a great day only problem is we have only had 1 away tie since we came back in to the Juniors and that was to Thornton Hibs last season. Plenty of great days at home in the Scottish maybe not the result's though.
03/04 H CULTER L 1-4
04/05 H RUTHERGLEN GLENCAIRN L 1-2
05/06 H EAST KILBRIDE THISTLE L 0-2
06/07 H KIRKINTILLOCH ROB ROY L 0-1
07/08 H CAMBUSLANG RANGERS W 3-2
H HILLHEAD W 5-0
A THORNTON HIBS L 1-2
pumphy_man
Jul 5 2008, 10:25
Whitburn for the pies and Harthill for the cheap booze
the trialist
Jul 5 2008, 15:46
QUOTE (pumphy_man @ Jul 5 2008, 11:25)

Whitburn for the pies and Harthill for the cheap booze
you must not have any tastebuds if you rate the pies at whitburn they are unedible most of the time
beith19
Jul 11 2008, 09:52
Away at Aberdeen Bon Accord in the Scottish mid to late 90s. Down 3-0 at half time with a striker stretchered and down to 10. Right after the break down to 9. Won 4-3 with the final goal at about the 85th minute stage and then what seemed like the longest amount of injury time ever.
A few other ones up North and out east but that was definitely the pick of the bunch.
Towser's Mate
Jul 11 2008, 14:17
QUOTE (beith19 @ Jul 11 2008, 10:52)

Away at Aberdeen Bon Accord in the Scottish mid to late 90s. Down 3-0 at half time with a striker stretchered and down to 10. Right after the break down to 9. Won 4-3 with the final goal at about the 85th minute stage and then what seemed like the longest amount of injury time ever.
A few other ones up North and out east but that was definitely the pick of the bunch.
You don't have many games to pick from compared to you local rivals do you???
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.