Livi 293
Jun 17 2008, 12:03
Can't see it elsewhere on here...
BBCLFC OS
Swampy
Jun 17 2008, 12:07
Just like Jim Leishman's latter days at Dunfermline, this can't fail!
SALTHILLCLYDE
Jun 17 2008, 13:54
I've worked in his house and his wifes a halfwit,so might not be a good appointment.
Hoochthedrummer
Jun 17 2008, 15:32
QUOTE (SALTHILLCLYDE @ Jun 17 2008, 14:54)

I've worked in his house and his wifes a halfwit,so might not be a good appointment.
because that's going to have a huge impact on the football side of things....
port-ton
Jun 17 2008, 15:38
QUOTE (Hoochthedrummer @ Jun 17 2008, 16:32)

because that's going to have a huge impact on the football side of things....
of course it does, and the fact Salthillclyde worked in his house also proves to me that it might not be the best appointment.
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jun 17 2008, 16:38)

of course it does, and the fact Salthillclyde worked in his house also proves to me that it might not be the best appointment.
You're right ! The fact that Davie Hay employed a numpty to clean his toilets means we're doomed !
Larbert_Par
Jun 18 2008, 10:00
*prays for the installation of Billy Driftwood in first team coaching capacity at Almondvale*
The Arch
Jun 18 2008, 10:05
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Jun 18 2008, 11:00)

*prays for the installation of Billy Driftwood in first team coaching capacity at Almondvale*
I don't think a member of coaching staff has ever been more connected to unsuccessful managers. He must have been sacked at least 3 or 4 times in the last 5 to 6 years.
Larbert_Par
Jun 18 2008, 10:12
QUOTE (The Arch @ Jun 18 2008, 11:05)

I don't think a member of coaching staff has ever been more connected to unsuccessful managers. He must have been sacked at least 3 or 4 times in the last 5 to 6 years.
Aye.
When he was manager at Dundee Utd, we beat them on the second last day at Tannadice which effectively won the league. His team, which had the likes of Pressley, Dailly, Brewster, Winters and McSwegan all playing, resorted to long hopeful punts upfield.
Tactical nous is not his strong point. Indeed, this seems to be the best thing he can do.
The Arch
Jun 18 2008, 10:18
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Jun 18 2008, 11:12)

Tactical nous is not his strong point. Indeed, this seems to be the best thing he can do.

He's stole that from the Derek Whyte managerial handbook.
Viva La Livi
Jun 18 2008, 11:05
god and to think he brought us a trophy, sack him immediatly!
QUOTE (Viva La Livi @ Jun 18 2008, 12:05)

god and to think he brought us a trophy, sack him immediatly!
Exactly ! Just because he won trophies at provincial clubs like Motherwell & Livi, as well as in Norway means he obviously isn't up to the task

Hay must go !

OK, he was a disaster at EEP but Mourinho would have a hard job in that shithole
Larbert_Par
Jun 18 2008, 21:11
QUOTE (MCL @ Jun 18 2008, 20:42)

Exactly ! Just because he won trophies at provincial clubs like Motherwell & Livi, as well as in Norway means he obviously isn't up to the task

Hay must go !

OK, he was a disaster at EEP but Mourinho would have a hard job in that shithole

He was also an absolute disaster at St Mirren.
He took a squad that finished 4th in the SPL to the brink of relegation within a season. Absolutely fantastic
For what he did at my club, I will always look upon Hay, Driftwood and Hegarty as utterly useless.
Frank Booth
Jun 18 2008, 21:14
I'm going to stand as a councillor in Renfrewshire on a single issue mandate.
That is...
I propose that if Davie Hay is sighted anywhere within the boundaries of Renfrewshire then anyone, not just St. Mirren fans, should be allowed to give him one boot in the baws free, with absolute impunity.
strathbrock
Jun 18 2008, 21:30
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Jun 18 2008, 22:11)

He took a squad that finished 4th in the SPL to the brink of relegation within a season. Absolutely fantastic

And 3 managers later remind me of where you are.
Livi 293
Jun 18 2008, 21:42
Although I don't feel I could defend Hay's record at the Pars, not having watched it week in week out, it is not without the realms of possibility that Dunfermline were at the time at the beginning of, and to much extent still are, on a downward spiral akin to ours, and Hay arrived at the wrong time, partly contributing to the demise. At the time, the Pars had not yet felt the effect of over spending that clubs like ourselves, Dundee and others already had. For example, I don't know if many managers at all could have kept us in the SPL post administration.
Of course, he could just have been a disaster. And I wouldn't want to try and "tell" other supporters about a situation at they're club. I know too well what it is like to be told John Robertson is actually a good manager and great guy, and was just unlucky at Almondvale. I didn't watch Dunfermline often enough to form a proper opinion.
Ultimately, Davie Hay and Livingston just 'clicked' a few years ago, and I think his presence will lift morale, remind us of good times and offer vital Scottish experience and support to Landi as he accustomises to the SFL.
Larbert_Par
Jun 18 2008, 22:00
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Jun 18 2008, 22:30)

And 3 managers later remind me of where you are.

Under Leishman and Kenny, the club was utterly skint and had lost influential players. We were not the force we were when Hay took over. Perhaps expectation levels were too high, I don't know, but the appointment just didn't work.
Hay still had the vast majority of a talented squad, and he made a complete hash of the job.
I'm not doubting the job he did at Livingston, hence why he got our job in the first place, but it was a disasterous appointment. The football I'd seen his Livi team play was in complete contrast to the way his Pars team played- ie, even though we had a squad of talented footballers, we deployed the hopeful punt up the park tactic.
I don't dislike him on a personal level as I met him and he was nothing but pleasant but, to me, he was nothing short of a bad manager.
I remember the first time I watched Hay's Dunfermline team (including Brewster, Hunt, Nicholson and Skerla) and within five minutes I looked over at my Dad, who looked like he was thinking the same thing as me; and said "we are going down this season.
From an accomplished top six team who played some great passing football to a kick and rush team with players getting played out of position overnight.
Hay was a disaster.
Larbert_Par
Jun 18 2008, 22:25
In the first league game with Dundee Utd at home, we did totally dominate and lost an equaliser with 13 to go.
But after the scramble in Iceland, I went up to Pittodrie for the Inverness game and we were so comprehensively outplayed and well beaten. That for me was the sign of things to come.
I think that was the same game where after the game Nipper said "If we play like that every week we will get relegated"
And eventually he was right.
Larbert_Par
Jun 18 2008, 22:34
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jun 18 2008, 23:32)

I think that was the same game where after the game Nipper said "If we play like that every week we will get relegated"
And eventually he was right.
Aye.
We were totally clueless and passed off the park. I remember Juanjo in particular giving us a really torrid afternoon.
strathbrock
Jun 18 2008, 22:47
So what you are saying is that the gradual decline of Dunfermline FC since the days of the high spending Jimmy Calderwood is the fault of Davie Hay who was at the club for less than a season. Within weeks of Hay taking over his team were without the striking partnership of Crawford and Brewster whose combined efforts were the reason you got to 4th in the league. Nothing much changed when Leishman took over from Hay and after being hailed as the best thing since sliced bread for getting you to a cup final Kenny was badly let down by a group of players who decided they were bigger than him. Look at your dressing room if you want to find scape goats.
Larbert_Par
Jun 18 2008, 23:07
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Jun 18 2008, 23:47)

So what you are saying is that the gradual decline of Dunfermline FC since the days of the high spending Jimmy Calderwood is the fault of Davie Hay who was at the club for less than a season. Within weeks of Hay taking over his team were without the striking partnership of Crawford and Brewster whose combined efforts were the reason you got to 4th in the league. Nothing much changed when Leishman took over from Hay and after being hailed as the best thing since sliced bread for getting you to a cup final Kenny was badly let down by a group of players who decided they were bigger than him. Look at your dressing room if you want to find scape goats.
Where did I say that? I am saying, given the side Hay had at his disposal, he did a bad job. Leishman and Kenny weren't great ultimately either, but the squads they had in the main were not as good as the one Hay had. Crawford and Bullen aside, he inherited our best squad since the 60s and transformed them into relegation certanties until he was punted.
I watched Dunfermline all throughout that season, and the way we played under Hay with the players he had was extremely poor. He also signed dross like Gjorgi Hristov and Jesper Christiansen.
Of course the players are culpable, but so is the management team. Hay was a disaster at Dunfermline, and lord only knows where we'd have been if we didn't get rid after we went bottom of the league with 3 games to go.
Uncle Scan
Jun 19 2008, 10:11
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Jun 18 2008, 21:14)

I'm going to stand as a councillor in Renfrewshire on a single issue mandate.
That is...
I propose that if Davie Hay is sighted anywhere within the boundaries of Renfrewshire then anyone, not just St. Mirren fans, should be allowed to give him one boot in the baws free, with absolute impunity.
Just one boot. Made a right mug of us and lined his pockets big time.
SteamingparBoz
Jun 19 2008, 13:11
It is Hays fault that our decline was so sudden. He didn't give a hoot about our club and was captured laughing on the phone to a freind at half time during a home game against Celtic in which we were 3-0 down.
He is a walking arsehole and I demand 12 points from Livingston this season as minimal payback for the shite we had to watch.
If Kirkwood joins Livingston, they'll go down.
Viva La Livi
Jun 19 2008, 13:21
my season ticket will be destroyed if Kirkwood joins, but hay will do a good job hopefully and i felt sorry for dunfermline when kenny was in charge
He is a walking arsehole
el bawbag
Jun 19 2008, 15:21
have i missed something because i can see nothing anywhere other than a throw-away line on here linking us to kirkwood. I suspect Landi will want to bring in his own staff.
washsacks
Jun 19 2008, 15:29
QUOTE (SteamingparBoz @ Jun 19 2008, 14:11)

It is Hays fault that our decline was so sudden. He didn't give a hoot about our club and was captured laughing on the phone to a freind at half time during a home game against Celtic in which we were 3-0 down.
Spotted by who?He would of been in the dressing room at half time also.
I would make look at the bigger picture and blame his bestest buddy old pal who recommended him in the first place, but then again, that would make to much sense.
Grant228
Jun 19 2008, 23:46
[/quote]
We from 4th place to relegation in a season..his fault.
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Jun 18 2008, 23:47)

We can only thank god for that.
QUOTE (washsacks @ Jun 19 2008, 16:29)

Spotted by who?He would of been in the dressing room at half time also.
I would make look at the bigger picture and blame his bestest buddy old pal who recommended him in the first place, but then again, that would make to much sense.
He should have been in the dugout during the game but he wasn't.
Wtf is it with you and Leishman its pathetic
Hay needed to sit further back as he had vision problems.
Leishman has been a bit of a disaster too, he brought in Hay and I have heard terrible things about the way he has treated players.
He isn't god by any means in my eyes, not any more.
washsacks
Jun 20 2008, 12:19
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Jun 20 2008, 00:46)

We from 4th place to relegation in a season..his fault.
We can only thank god for that.
Wtf is it with you and Leishman its patheticAm not arguing with a 12 year old.
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jun 20 2008, 12:16)

Hay needed to sit further back as he had vision problems.
Leishman has been a bit of a disaster too, he brought in Hay and I have heard terrible things about the way he has treated players.
He isn't god by any means in my eyes, not any more.
Finally we agree on something.We should mark this date.
Leishman has been a complete and utter disaster, whatever way you look at it. He was brought back to "put bums on seats", has accomplished that goal?
Grant228
Jun 20 2008, 16:27
QUOTE (washsacks @ Jun 20 2008, 13:19)

Am not arguing with a 12 year old.
Leishman has been a complete and utter disaster, whatever way you look at it. He was brought back to "put bums on seats", has accomplished that goal?
Its a good job I'm not 12 then.
And yes he has he goes around primary schools getting youngsters going to games he also gets sponsors just because you don't know what he is doing 24/7 doesn't mean he is doing nothing.
EdinburghLivi
Jun 21 2008, 08:39
Davie Hay now confirms that he will be a consultant to both the management team and the board.
InterviewAudio
Grant228
Jun 21 2008, 19:28
Relegation confirmed for Livi then...
EdinburghLivi
Jun 21 2008, 20:16
What part of the interview gave you that idea

?
I see the new owners are targetting a return to the SPL by the 2010/2011 season. Ambitious.
EdinburghLivi
Jun 21 2008, 22:51
I think we actually do have the foundations in place for an S.P.L return in the near future (perhaps not 2 seasons but I think within the next 5 years). A solid youth set-up, a great stadium and a experienced figure-head of Davie Hay as a consultant. If we get a decent squad by the beginning of the season and Landi turns out to be a good manager, we could seriously be in the top 3 or 4. Personally for me, I wouldn't mind a mid-table finish.
As you said, ambitious but not entirely impossible.
Fast_Action
Jun 21 2008, 22:56
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 21 2008, 23:51)

I think we actually do have the foundations in place for an S.P.L return in the near future (perhaps not 2 seasons but I think within the next 5 years). A solid youth set-up, a great stadium and a experienced figure-head of Davie Hay as a consultant. If we get a decent squad by the beginning of the season and Landi turns out to be a good manager, we could seriously be in the top 3 or 4. Personally for me, I wouldn't mind a mid-table finish.
As you said, ambitious but not entirely impossible.
This would be another of your bold predications then?
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 21 2008, 23:51)

I think we actually do have the foundations in place for an S.P.L return in the near future (perhaps not 2 seasons but I think within the next 5 years). A solid youth set-up, a great stadium and a experienced figure-head of Davie Hay as a consultant.
I noticed in The Scotsman's article that Davie said he'll be working with the club on a part-time basis. Do you have any idea how many hours a week this will entail, or will he simply be pulled in to run the rule over potential new players?
If I remember correctly, you had a director of football at the start of last season who left not long after the action had begun. What were the reasons behind that? Can anyone actually think of a situation where a manager with a director of football working above him has worked, and has not led to tension?
EdinburghLivi
Jun 21 2008, 23:09
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Jun 21 2008, 23:56)

This would be another of your bold predications then?

It was CRM's fault, honest
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 21 2008, 23:58)

I noticed in The Scotsman's article that Davie said he'll be working with the club on a part-time basis. Do you have any idea how many hours a week this will entail, or will he simply be pulled in to run the rule over potential new players?
If I remember correctly, you had a director of football at the start of last season who left not long after the action had begun. What were the reasons behind that? Can anyone actually think of a situation where a manager with a director of football working above him has worked, and has not led to tension?
I wouldn't expect him to work full-time since he past retiring age. Not sure completely what he will be doing during the week but he has said he'll be there every matchday which can only be good.
Our DOF last season left to manage a club in his native Poland. He actually did not bad and brought Pesir to the club who was influential to our good form around November last year.
In this case however, Hay has also said that he will only be there to consult and not to interfere. He actually turned down the chance to manage us again which basically proves that theory.
I know it's a lot of "he says this" etc. but for the past few months that has been all we have got to go on. It's been highly frusrating not only being basically shut out but eventually being lied to by Pearse Flynn.
So, basically, he has no clearly definable job role.
strathbrock
Jun 21 2008, 23:19
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 22 2008, 00:11)

So, basically, he has no clearly definable job role.
I'd saythat's about right. But to be honest I can live with that. Maybe if we had had someone with Hay's knowledge of how Scottish football operates to call on we wouldn't have been sacking managers every few months, driving away decent players and in constant litigation with the world.
Reynard
Jun 22 2008, 07:44
Davie Hay is a fucking c**t
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Jun 22 2008, 00:19)

I'd saythat's about right. But to be honest I can live with that.
No offfence Strathy, but your easy pleased. How can you evaluate the performance of a man that has no job description? It looks to me, and I could be completely wrong, that Hay's simply a front for your new owners. I'd suggest they've looked at Anelka's time at Raith, learned from that, and are utilising the persona of a man they know will tug on your emotional heart strings.
His role seems to have no real substance. I'd keep a close eye on what the new lads were up to, if I were you, and not allow the appointment of Hay to act as a smokescreen.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Jun 22 2008, 10:43
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 22 2008, 09:00)

No offfence Strathy, but your easy pleased. How can you evaluate the performance of a man that has no job description? It looks to me, and I could be completely wrong, that Hay's simply a front for your new owners. I'd suggest they've looked at Anelka's time at Raith, learned from that, and are utilising the persona of a man they know will tug on your emotional heart strings.
His role seems to have no real substance. I'd keep a close eye on what the new lads were up to, if I were you, and not allow the appointment of Hay to act as a smokescreen.
Agents Strathbrock and Demon Drawer will be dispatched immediately to Almondvale to keep a close eye on them. Thanks for your concern.
I find myself agreeing with you. The whole Hay thing seems to be founded on basic PR principles. If the consumer is unsure and confused, wrap your product up in something familiar and cuddly to keep them onside. His role is publicly undefined although what he actually does may be constructive and useful, we may never know.
Edinburgh Livi you however are getting carried away with the hype. We all dream about being title challengers but let's wait until we've signed the Italian under-21 team before we start shouting about it
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Jun 22 2008, 11:43)

I find myself agreeing with you.
I felt the earth move.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Jun 22 2008, 11:03
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 22 2008, 11:56)

I felt the earth move.

Don't get carried away!!
strathbrock
Jun 22 2008, 11:24
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 22 2008, 09:00)

No offfence Strathy, but your easy pleased.
After the 4 years we've had under P Flynn we are inclined to clutch at straws round these parts.
Stella DA I have my deerstalker hat and magnifying glass at the ready waiting for the signal to go in for futher information.
tam the bud
Jun 22 2008, 15:24
I hate the man so much for what he did to my team

every player that he signed for the saints played with celtic at some point in their career. He f***ed off at the end of the season and left us with a team full of ex celts on big wages and long contracts. You only had to walk down love st with a celtic top on and the c*** would have been out to sign you. He used to own a bar in Paisley but he fucked that up as well.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.