Full Version: Supporters Clubs
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
marf-1870
Just in from our AGM tonight. Things don't look to good for next season due to things like fuel prices and all that pish. Disapointing news that we're only runing a bus to nine or so of the away games this season due to a big rise in costs. Will be a few train days away I think and two weekends at Peterhead which will never be cheap but don't do Saturdays without Stranraer games. Will be strange as for a good few years the bus has run to every Saturday away game. Credit had to be given to the personel who run the club for there continued good work.

Just wondering if any other clubs are in a similar position this year.
Republic_Of_Scotland
If your official supporters club are struggling, why not do what we did 14 years ago and start your own? We are well established and well known at away grounds. We have our own awards ceremonies at the end of the season for our Raith Rovers POTY, inaugurate a former player or manager into our hall of legends, as well as our own awards. We have our own website and football teams (11s and 7s) and play other supporters teams in friendlies, as well as enter teams into tourneys like P&B. We run fundraisers for RRFC like race nights. We even have our own leisure wear and other merchandise! We go to the same pubs at away games, and have a good rapport with the owners, where they put on food and transport to the games for us. We are growing in numbers all the time, and despite a few other individual faceless Rovers 'fans' who like nothing better than to put us down and invent/twist stories about us, we are thriving and have a good reputation with both Raith Rovers FC and supporters of other teams in Div 1 and 2.
It has taken 14 years to get to where we are now, but surely other supporters could get together at their clubs and set up their own unnoficial groups?

By the way, we are Fifes Finest Supporters Club. Clicky.
rw89
QUOTE (Republic_Of_Scotland @ Jun 16 2008, 22:16) *
If your official supporters club are struggling, why not do what we did 14 years ago and start your own? We are well established and well known at away grounds. We have our own awards ceremonies at the end of the season for our Raith Rovers POTY, inaugurate a former player or manager into our hall of legends, as well as our own awards. We have our own website and football teams (11s and 7s) and play other supporters teams in friendlies, as well as enter teams into tourneys like P&B. We run fundraisers for RRFC like race nights. We even have our own leisure wear and other merchandise! We go to the same pubs at away games, and have a good rapport with the owners, where they put on food and transport to the games for us. We are growing in numbers all the time, and despite a few other individual faceless Rovers 'fans' who like nothing better than to put us down and invent/twist stories about us, we are thriving and have a good reputation with both Raith Rovers FC and supporters of other teams in Div 1 and 2.
It has taken 14 years to get to where we are now, but surely other supporters could get together at their clubs and set up their own unnoficial groups?

...And you missed the Russian's favourite flag! tongue.gif
Republic_Of_Scotland
LOL
Oh aye, and for The Russians benefit, we spent £50,000 on a 2' * 2' flag......... tongue.gif

Shibuya
You spent how much?
BIGQ FAE KDY
£924 dry.gif
the_russian
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Jun 17 2008, 00:28) *
£924 dry.gif

Oh how I laugh laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Monster
You laugh to hide your jealousy.

The Fife Gr£tna couldn't sustain a supporters club with the membership of Fife's Finest. You'd need to have some supporters first.
Whistle Blower
We are growing in numbers all the time, and despite a few other individual faceless Rovers 'fans' who like nothing better than to put us down and invent/twist stories about us,

I would love it if you guys found out who the detractors really were
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Monster @ Jun 17 2008, 09:30) *

The Fife Gr£tna couldn't sustain a supporters club with the membership of Fife's Finest. You'd need to have some supporters first.

Monster = Raith Rovers champion suck up boy.
Monster
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Jun 17 2008, 09:35) *
Monster = Raith Rovers champion suck up boy.

Yeah, I'm sure the_twa_brain_cells would agree. rolleyes.gif

You mistake 'sucking up' for 'stating the obvious'. You had 400 less folk at your title celebration than we have for the run of the mill home pumpings by nothing teams.

Severus Snape
lol "East Fife"
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Monster @ Jun 17 2008, 09:43) *
Yeah, I'm sure the_twa_brain_cells would agree. rolleyes.gif

You mistake 'sucking up' for 'stating the obvious'. You had 400 less folk at your title celebration than we have for the run of the mill home pumpings by nothing teams.

Can of worms as usual, but i think its fair to say the title celebration game was a full house, as were many other games last season.
Read into that what you will.
Its no secret and has ben mentioned many times before by (non sexually) frustrated supporters on the AFTN forum.
Our turnstiles need calibrating cool.gif

Cue usual corruption and Gretna comments from the numpties.

Severussnonutts - lol is for kiddies. Go work that one out at breaktime.
Severus Snape
I'll take the EF hooligans in combat at breaktime.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Severus Snape @ Jun 17 2008, 10:39) *
I'll take the EF hooligans in combat at breaktime.

Bless you child. wink.gif
Severus Snape
Thank you Stevo Fife.
davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Jun 17 2008, 10:37) *
Cue usual corruption and Gretna comments from the numpties

I'll start it off

Corruption...mumble mumble grumble Gr£tna snipe snipe complain.

F*ckin Ch£ats growl snarl down the pan grrrrrr
the_russian
QUOTE (Monster @ Jun 17 2008, 09:30) *

I don't know why you play the crowd w**k card, no team in Div2 or 3 has attendance figures to be proud of.
Monster
QUOTE (the_russian @ Jun 17 2008, 12:18) *
I don't know why you play the crowd w**k card, no team in Div2 or 3 has attendance figures to be proud of.

Why do you play the flag w**k thing?

wink.gif
Whistle Blower

I used to have a wank sock, but a wank flag is just showing off.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jun 17 2008, 13:02) *
I used to have a w**k sock, but a w**k flag is just showing off.

the_russian
QUOTE (Monster @ Jun 17 2008, 12:32) *

wink.gif

I'm simple, and it amuses me.

QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jun 17 2008, 13:02) *
I used to have a w**k sock, but a w**k flag is just showing off.

loyal-blue

Sounds like a good idea!
We were thinking about this!
Only problems would be transport...
Don't know where to hire a minibus or whatever!
Any advice in getting this kind of thing set up?
marf-1870
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Jun 17 2008, 15:30) *
Sounds like a good idea!

It is what is in place at the moment. Just a group of supporters who run the club. As far as I know it is unofficial and the club don't have anything to do with it. The people who run the bus are just supporters but take alot of time out to arange buses supporters dances and so on.
loyal-blue
I was assuming that the Raith Rovers fans have this group aswell as an unofficial supporters bus! Maybe not though!
marf-1870
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Jun 17 2008, 15:47) *
I was assuming that the Raith Rovers fans have this group aswell as an unofficial supporters bus! Maybe not though!

It's a bit different though. Raith are a bigger club with a much bigger fan base than Stranraer. To run two different groups from the town both partys would be losing out money wise.
Jimmy MCcabe
Loyal Blue think before you write, the problem is the price of fuel and the distance involved with Stranraer being out on a limb geographically. The supporters Club is just that and any other group-regardless of what you call yourself would have the same problem. Take a look in any garage, fuel prices have rocketed making it very hard to keep prices per head down to an acceptable level.
Monster
Hire a 16 seater and fill with diesel.

Even from Stranraer you can do it for around £12 a pink-eyed, white haired head.
Wildrover
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Jun 17 2008, 16:30) *
Sounds like a good idea!

It's a real pity this has fallen at the first hurdle, can't think where you could hire a mini-bus, perhaps some of the boards better travelled members could advise?
Republic_Of_Scotland
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Jun 17 2008, 16:30) *
Sounds like a good idea!

We use a local company which hires us usually two 16 seaters, but if we have a need, we could get another 15 or an 8 seater too. If it's any guide, it usually costs us £14 to Stranraer or Peterheid per head (assuming the bus is full) from Kirkcaldy, £10 to Ayr and Stirling for example . Ideally, you would find a local company. Otherwise, why not put money together and buy a second hand transit minibus of 12 seats for example? You could get one reasonably priced. A 12 seater decent Transit on say a T plate should be around £1200-£1500. I'm sure if it means you getting to games, your guys will pay out around £100. You will always have the bus too, so it would be a good investment. Only thing would be nominating a driver and insurance/ highway robbery. I'm sure if you went to our site and emailed our site administrator or a commitee member, they would give you advice on how to start things rolling with your own setup. We still get things wrong, but we are only human, and it is always a learning process. cool.gif
MonTheRovers!!

Look at us, we made a band!! rolleyes.gif
loyal-blue
Thing is we are all relatively young. Our oldest - "would be" member would be 19!
The rest around 16!
Republic_Of_Scotland
Hmm, you would need someone over 25 to drive for insurance purposes.........
Dobbins
Theres a fun day coming up why not get blue army together and try and raise some money to help the supporters club a sure some of yous could come up with some ideas
MonTheRovers!!
Or here's a plan, why not just join the official supporters club? Then you can fund your club directly, instead of through a profitable organisation rolleyes.gif

If you are already members of it, then, as Dobbins says, have a whip round and the like at the fun day and get a few more folk to join up.
Rovers_Lad
We go to the same pubs at away games, and have a good rapport with the owners, where they put on food and transport to the games for us. We are growing in numbers all the time, and despite a few other individual faceless Rovers 'fans' who like nothing better than to put us down and invent/twist stories about us,

Justified on a few occassions
marf-1870
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jun 19 2008, 18:15) *
Or here's a plan, why not just join the official supporters club? Then you can fund your club directly, instead of through a profitable organisation rolleyes.gif

If you are already members of it, then, as Dobbins says, have a whip round and the like at the fun day and get a few more folk to join up.

Unfortunitly there is no club to join.
Republic_Of_Scotland
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jun 19 2008, 19:15) *

Get your facts right dickhead. All moneys raised through us goes to Raith Rovers FC. For taxation purposes, it has to go by various means so that RRFC get the full benefit and not the tax man. rolleyes.gif

As a matter of fact, we have been funding RRFC to the tune of around £10,000 per season since the buy out. We have also funded the wages of a player brought in last season.
Republic_Of_Scotland
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Jun 19 2008, 19:25) *
Justified on a few occassions

And your proof of this is...............? rolleyes.gif
the_russian
QUOTE (Republic_Of_Scotland @ Jun 19 2008, 20:38) *
Get your facts right dickhead. All moneys raised through us goes to Raith Rovers FC.

I don't mean to use the F word.... but £1000 went on a flag.
Republic_Of_Scotland
QUOTE (the_russian @ Jun 19 2008, 20:41) *
I don't mean to use the F word.... but £1000 went on a flag.

WRONG that was our members OWN money raised specifically for that from our own pockets.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Republic_Of_Scotland @ Jun 19 2008, 20:38) *
Get your facts right dickhead. All moneys raised through us goes to Raith Rovers FC. For taxation purposes, it has to go by various means so that RRFC get the full benefit and not the tax man. rolleyes.gif

As a matter of fact, we have been funding RRFC to the tune of around £10,000 per season since the buy out. We have also funded the wages of a player brought in last season.

Fancy changing your name back to RaithSaltire yet? Or do too many folk think your a complete and utter fud under that banner.

Check the wankfest.
Cliche Guevara
What's with the fascist salutes Fife's Finest? I thought I was looking at an Airdrie site there for a moment.

Fife's Finest - F*cking Fascist! Clicky
Republic_Of_Scotland
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jun 19 2008, 20:47) *
Fancy changing your name back to RaithSaltire yet? Or do too many folk think your a complete and utter fud under that banner.

Check the wankfest.

Wrong again twat. You are the fud by the way. You find nothing better to do than to slag off guys who do everything for YOUR club, whilst you sit typing shit about us with your tiny cock in your hand no doubt jacking off. Now it's past your bedtime child, so do us all a favour and f**k off if you have not got a positive input to give the topic.
the_russian
QUOTE (Republic_Of_Scotland @ Jun 19 2008, 20:52) *
Wrong again twat. You are the fud by the way. You find nothing better to do than to slag off guys who do everything for YOUR club, whilst you sit typing shit about us with your tiny cock in your hand no doubt jacking off. Now it's past your bedtime child, so do us all a favour and f**k off if you have not got a positive input to give the topic.

How can you accuse anyone of not having a positive input when you say things like "you sit typing shit about us with your tiny cock in your hand no doubt jacking off". You sound like a complete moron.

Isn't it about time you tried a one man invasion of England with your kilt and claymore, and probably get run over by an Eddie Stobart lorry as you come running down the M6 shouting "Freeeeeeeeeeedom!!!!"
MonTheRovers!!

As the_russian says, pot kettle black.
Stevo Fife
Thats what we like to see. The Raith boys fighting amongst themselves.
Harmony in the camp eh. cool.gif
MonTheRovers!!
We just don't have very much in common, tbh.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jun 19 2008, 21:58) *
We just don't have very much in common, tbh.

No shit ;)
Monster

IT'S OOOOOORRRR OIL!!!!!!!!!!!!