Full Version: Surely This Cant Still Hurt 46 Years On
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
jimmydfc1893
this link is my grandads fav game in his long life supporting the dees and the reason why st johnstone are still bitter an amazing 46 years later  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5UXyNgcFD0 quite enjoyable i think
Dunning1874
No, Dundee fans couldn't care about St. Johnstone at all. rolleyes.gif
Kyle
The number of threads started by dundee fans about St Johnstone, a team they supposedly don't care about, is astonishing.

Get a life laugh.gif
Juan Sara
46 years 1 month and 49 days actually.
die hard doonhamer
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 16 2008, 17:13) *

laugh.gif would it not be 46 years, 2months, 19 days? tongue.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (die hard doonhamer @ Jun 16 2008, 17:17) *
laugh.gif would it not be 46 years, 2months, 19 days? tongue.gif

Yeh I was testing you sad.gif
Johnstoun
The Danish invasion of 600AD still really gets on my tits too.
Fife Saint
Great to see that footage. 20 years before i was born but your heritage ought to be important you considering your future is fairly bleak.
silvery tay
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 16 2008, 17:13) *

biggrin.gif A beautiful sunny day and as a 9yr old one i will never ever forget , the noise when Dundee took to the pitch at Muirton was incredible ,and when Gillie started working his magic the volume was turned up to ear splitting volume,the final whistle brought scenes of mayhem never ever witnessed in Perth,my grandad was as drunk as a skunk for aboot 4 days and my dad went awol for 2 days.A street party in Provy road on the Sunday carried on through Monday schools were deserted and Bombay Mondays were taken by a major part of the male population ,took hame i big chunk o' Muirton turf tae rolleyes.gif
SJFC1884
you boys need to get a grip. dundee really do remind me of england. for f**k sake what have use done since????

wanks
O'Rourke
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 16 2008, 17:59) *
biggrin.gif A beautiful sunny day and as a 9yr old one i will never ever forget , the noise when Dundee took to the pitch at Muirton was incredible ,and when Gillie started working his magic the volume was turned up to ear splitting volume,the final whistle brought scenes of mayhem never ever witnessed in Perth,my grandad was as drunk as a skunk for aboot 4 days and my dad went awol for 2 days.A street party in Provy road on the Sunday carried on through Monday schools were deserted and Bombay Mondays were taken by a major part of the male population ,took hame i big chunk o' Muirton turf tae rolleyes.gif

Hovis moment! By heck we can't have been very good five decades ago. biggrin.gif
Mr Roberts
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 16 2008, 18:21) *
you boys need to get a grip. dundee really do remind me of england. for f**k sake what have use done since????

Sang some sectarian songs, ran up a pile of debt and been collectively thick, while being Tayside's third team.
SJFC1884
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jun 16 2008, 18:26) *
Sang some sectarian songs, ran up a pile of debt and been collectively thick, while being Tayside's third team.

haha. top class that was fucking great. wil be good to see what your going to get now.
jupe1407
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 16 2008, 18:39) *
haha. top class that was fucking great. wil be good to see what your going to get now.

An exceptionally thorough rimming from yourself it would seem.
Juan Sara

wanks

Well since then we have reached the European Cup semi finals and won the league cup. Tell me what have St. Johnstone done since ...emmmm the big bang?
Insight

AND THEN SHUT DOWN MARCH 2008..........................ERMMMMMMMM............NO WE WEREN'T .

LEST WE NEVER FORGET ANYTHING THIS COCK TELLS US.
SJFC1884
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 16 2008, 19:02) *
Well since then we have reached the European Cup semi finals and won the league cup. Tell me what have St. Johnstone done since ...emmmm the big bang?

right then tell me this..... why do use go on bout 62 all the time (like england an 66) to st johnstone fans if use dont give a f**k about us. on this why is there so many threads about st johnstone from dundee fans if you dont care about us??? do you wish you were a saintee??? you wanna be like savo an swankie??
silvery tay

biggrin.gif BIG PWIK ALERT
silvery tay

wanks

rolleyes.gif Bitter lemon with that sir ?
silvery tay
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 16 2008, 18:25) *
Hovis moment! By heck we can't have been very good five decades ago. biggrin.gif

biggrin.gif Lets be brutal you were shyte then and have been shyte since........glad to clear that up for you rolleyes.gif
silvery tay
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 16 2008, 19:26) *
right then tell me this..... why do use go on bout 62 all the time (like england an 66) to st johnstone fans if use dont give a f**k about us. on this why is there so many threads about st johnstone from dundee fans if you dont care about us??? do you wish you were a saintee??? you wanna be like savo an swankie??

LOL BE like Savo and Wankie Dee rejects .......not good enough simple as ............PS Get tae f**k ya wee note biggrin.gif
7-2
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 16 2008, 17:59) *
biggrin.gif A beautiful sunny day and as a 9yr old one i will never ever forget rolleyes.gif

You are a 55 year old???!!! That is amazing. I had you down as at school or a student at most. I just cant believe this one!
Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (7-2 @ Jun 16 2008, 19:48) *
You are a 55 year old???!!! That is amazing. I had you down as at school or a student at most. I just cant believe this one!

I don't know anyone over the age of 50 that can turn the sound up on the TV without assistance, never mind work a computer. I'm impressed.
SJFC1884
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 16 2008, 19:41) *
LOL BE like Savo and Wankie Dee rejects .......not good enough simple as ............PS Get tae f**k ya wee note biggrin.gif

well if thats what you think they are then ok... they must be like you then cos the last time a was in dundee use were all rejects now away an get your hits for the week ya poofy p***k
VitalDees
They will always be hurting. laugh.gif

Juan Sara
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 16 2008, 19:26) *

Savo the Dundee fan you mean?

Emmm I don't go on about 1962 for the simple fact that I was born.
O'Rourke
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 16 2008, 19:37) *
biggrin.gif Lets be brutal you were shyte then and have been shyte since........glad to clear that up for you rolleyes.gif

You are astute, I'll give you that. We have been poor since then, most notably when we sat at the bottom of the old second division three decades ago.

As most St Johnstone fans, I spend most of my waking days wishing I followed Dundee's second team and having all the excitement of dodging creditors and administration now and again.

You aren't even the biggest team in your street. biggrin.gif

Juan Sara
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 16 2008, 19:59) *
You are astute, I'll give you that. We have been poor since then, most notably when we sat at the bottom of the old second division three decades ago.

As most St Johnstone fans, I spend most of my waking days wishing I followed Dundee's second team and having all the excitement of dodging creditors and administration now and again.

You aren't even the biggest team in your street. biggrin.gif

We're the only team on our street, Sandeman Street.
VitalDees
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Don't mind us.

Lord Jonah
To clear a few things up; Dundee FC are a much bigger club than St. Johnstone, fact. We have had a more illustrious and successfull past than them, and continue to be the ahead of them in the present day, only a few years after almost becoming extinct. You would think, St. Johnstone would possibly have the upper hand as a result, but clearly not.

Without being biased, I would imagine supporting St. Johnstone is extremely monotonous and dull.

A question - What success have the St. Johnstone fans on this forum experienced since supporting them? A similar question to Dundee fans, however, we will exclude the success after our accumulation of debts to provide a fair comparitive analysis. cool.gif
VitalDees
QUOTE (Lord Jonah @ Jun 16 2008, 20:05) *
To clear a few things up; Dundee FC are a much bigger club than St. Johnstone, fact. We have had a more illustrious and successfull past than them, and continue to be the ahead of them in the present day, only a few years after almost becoming extinct. You would think, St. Johnstone would possibly have the upper hand as a result, but clearly not.

Without being biased, I would imagine supporting St. Johnstone is extremely monotonous and dull.

A question - What success have the St. Johnstone fans on this forum experienced since supporting them? A similar question to Dundee fans, however, we will exclude the success after our accumulation of debts to provide a fair comparitive analysis. cool.gif

Your wrong remember St Johnstone won the Challenge Cup. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Here's a real team with a real trophy.

O'Rourke
Those old sepia pictures are impressive indeed. have you any colour pictures of sucessful Dundee sides prey tell?
VitalDees
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 16 2008, 20:09) *
Those old sepia pictures are impressive indeed. have you any colour pictures of sucessful Dundee sides prey tell?

Any pictures of any St Johnstone success AT ALL? laugh.gif Please don't say the Challenge Cup. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Lord Jonah
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 16 2008, 20:09) *

Any St. Johnstone ones? Even black and white? laugh.gif

Here's a few only, St. Johnstone fans can dream of: cool.gif

(Does this put it into perspective just how boring St. Johnstone were/are?)
SJFC1884
QUOTE (Lord Jonah @ Jun 16 2008, 20:23) *
Any St. Johnstone ones? Even black and white? laugh.gif

Here's a few only, St. Johnstone fans can dream of: cool.gif

(Does this put it into perspective just how boring St. Johnstone were/are?)

yeah an they players is that not the reason that use just about went out the game??? paying silly money for them??

tell me where did use finish when you had them???
john1962
QUOTE (7-2 @ Jun 16 2008, 19:48) *

Ditto! His Behaviour would be almost understandable if it was from a schoolkid
ShedruleFTD83
QUOTE (jimmydfc1893 @ Jun 16 2008, 16:39) *
this link is my grandads fav game in his long life supporting the dees and the reason why st johnstone are still bitter an amazing 46 yearslater  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5UXyNgcFD0 quite enjoyable i think

almost a half century now since Dundee managed a top 4 finish, didnt St Johnstone finish 3rd in 1999?

QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 16 2008, 20:00) *
We're the only team on our street, Sandeman Street.

Quote from todays tully "Unlike last season when the clubs were blighted by repeated Tannadice Street fixture clashes"

Accept it, the road markings tell the story.
Lord Jonah
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 16 2008, 20:32) *
yeah an they players is that not the reason that use just about went out the game??? paying silly money for them??

tell me where did use finish when you had them???

There is a massive myth surrounding Dundee's debt - that we spent 20 million pounds on players such as Caniggia, Ravanelli, etc......, however, the debt is an accumulation of approxamitely 5 years of total mis-management. Anyhow, we achieved a Scottish Cup Final, top 6 finish and European football. Not much, considering the finances we squandered, however, regardless of that, we have achieved a magnitude more than St. Johnstone.

You are still swerving my question - What have St. Johnstone achieved?

Nothing! cool.gif
Lord Jonah
QUOTE (ShedruleFTD83 @ Jun 16 2008, 20:52) *
almost a half century now since Dundee managed a top 4 finish, didnt St Johnstone finish 3rd in 1999?

What, is that the highlight of St. Johnstone's existence?

Honours

-Scottish Premier League, 3rd - 1999
-Challenge Cup, 2008

ShedruleFTD83
QUOTE (Lord Jonah @ Jun 16 2008, 20:57) *
What, is that the highlight of St. Johnstone's existence?

Honours

-Scottish Premier League, 3rd - 1999
-Challenge Cup, 2008

Dundee's highest Premier League finish? wink.gif

I'm sure the Saintees are really jealous after that post above with all the pictures. laugh.gif
Szamo's_Ammo
I was hoping for some photos of the top 6 pitch invasion. sad.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (ShedruleFTD83 @ Jun 16 2008, 20:52) *

Quote from todays tully "Unlike last season when the clubs were blighted by repeated Tannadice Street fixture clashes"

Accept it, the road markings tell the story.

The tully also said we were signing Chris Innes and Dereck Soutar.......

From the Dundee OFFICIAL website,

Contact The Club
If you would like to email the club then please fill in the form below and choose which department you would like to contact.

If you would rather write to us then please send all enquiries to:
Dundee Football Club
Dens Park Stadium
Sandeman Street
Dundee
DD3 7JY
ShedruleFTD83
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 16 2008, 21:12) *
From the Dundee OFFICIAL website,
Dundee Football Club
Dens Park Stadium
Sandeman Street
Dundee
DD3 7JY

They are in denial on your official, a few years back United were above you on goal difference, they still put you higher in the league table rolleyes.gif

Until the road markings are sorted, your main stand remains on Tannadice street cool.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (ShedruleFTD83 @ Jun 16 2008, 21:31) *
They are in denial on your official, a few years back United were above you on goal difference, they still put you higher in the league table rolleyes.gif

Until the road markings are sorted, your main stand remains on Tannadice street cool.gif

Prove it.
kristov
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Jun 16 2008, 21:11) *
I was hoping for some photos of the top 6 pitch invasion. sad.gif

You'd be hard pressed, seeing a there wasn't any pitch invasion. Another thing you won't get is recordings of the club playing Celtic folk songs. wink.gif
Insight
QUOTE (kristov @ Jun 16 2008, 21:45) *
You'd be hard pressed, seeing a there wasn't any pitch invasion. Another thing you won't get is recordings of the club playing Celtic folk songs. wink.gif

Wouldn't mind getting some pics of scummers whooping and cheering after losing the uefa cup final (never to be repeated) on their own pitch??
kristov
QUOTE (Insight @ Jun 16 2008, 21:56) *
Wouldn't mind getting some pics of scummers whooping and cheering after losing the uefa cup final (never to be repeated) on their own pitch??

At least it won them an award they could name one of their 5 (FIVE) stands after...
GROOVE
ah 1962! before my time i'm happy to say. but then again probably the same for half the coags who keep talking about it. times change. the time has come again for st.johnstone to dominate tayside. will happen one more time for the legend who is geoff brown before he steps down. i salute you sir.
Grant228
clicky

It looks like a good portion of the Dens road is on tannadice street.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 16 2008, 19:59) *
Savo the Dundee fan you mean?

Emmm I don't go on about 1962 for the simple fact that I was born.( slightly stupid???)

Evening Tully Exclusive!!!!!!!!!

Shock news.........At least one Dundee fan is not a laboratory mutant...

Juan Sara was BORN...

And here was me thinking thats how we all got here.How daft do I feel!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif wink.gif tongue.gif