Full Version: Celtic- Gers Transfer Rumours
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
rfcgav
Gomis to Rangers
Noel hunt to Celtic laugh.gif

Sorry had to laugh about Hunt dunno if any of this is true but in the papers today.
minijc
GoMIS- is that the boy who is currently playing for France at the Euors.
Happy_Gilmore
I must have missed the joke but both would be fantastic signings for the old firm. Ferguson and Thomson couldnt touch Gomis in the CIS Final and Hunty always scores against the Gers!
Bloobell
QUOTE (Happy_Gilmore @ Jun 15 2008, 11:10) *
I must have missed the joke but both would be fantastic signings for the old firm. Ferguson and Thomson couldnt touch Gomis in the CIS Final and Hunty always scores against the Gers!

That'll be the CIS Final that we dominated and won?
seamus
United knocked back a £500,000 bid for Hunt from Reading Celtic enquired about him at the time as well.
No8.
Sebastian Frei or Noel Hunt...Aye it's a close call laugh.gif
seamus
QUOTE (No8. @ Jun 15 2008, 12:04) *

Who's Sebastien Frei? its Alexander.
Noel Hunt would be better than Kenny Miller
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (No8. @ Jun 15 2008, 12:04) *

blink.gif More pedantry: We ain't linked with the French goalkeeper, it's the Swiss captain we're keeping tabs on.

Edit: Seamus beat me to it. You cunt.
seamus
QUOTE (Lordofthewing @ Jun 15 2008, 12:10) *
Edit: Seamus beat me to it. You cunt.

Cheers laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 12:13) *
Cheers laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Nae problemo wink.gif
No8.
Aye OK...it's early. wink.gif
No8.
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 12:09) *
Noel Hunt would be better than Kenny Miller

Are you sure? Miller might be a wee treacherous runt but i would have him before Hunt.
seamus
QUOTE (No8. @ Jun 15 2008, 12:26) *
Are you sure? Miller might be a wee treacherous runt but i would have him before Hunt.

I think Hunt is a decent player with more skill he is underated due to him playing for United .
I wonder if the £380,000 received for Miller will help pay for the overheads/building of Lennoxtown?
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 12:29) *
I think Hunt is a decent player with more skill he is underated due to him playing for United .
I wonder if the £380,000 received for Miller will help pay for the overheads/building of Lennoxtown?

That's entirely possible, though I reckon he could be another Scott McDonald type of signing, and the £380k received could well go towards the signing of Hunt. Admittedly there is the thought in the back of my mind that he could be another Chris Killen (good scorer for Hibs who hasn't done much when he's played for us) or Derek Riordan (whose attitude has been his only problem, as he's been pretty decent when he has featured).

With Dundee Utd apparently looking for £1m, do you reckon he could make a similar impact for us to the under-rated Barry Robson(if we sign Hunt)?
seamus
QUOTE (Lordofthewing @ Jun 15 2008, 12:39) *
That's entirely possible, though I reckon he could be another Scott McDonald type of signing, and the £380k received could well go towards the signing of Hunt. Admittedly there is the thought in the back of my mind that he could be another Chris Killen (good scorer for Hibs who hasn't done much when he's played for us) or Derek Riordan (whose attitude has been his only problem, as he's been pretty decent when he has featured).

With Dundee Utd apparently looking for £1m, do you reckon he could make a similar impact for us to the under-rated Barry Robson(if we sign Hunt)?

I think firstly Strachan has to get rid of Killen,Riordan before signing a player with potential, Hunt would be a gamble. We still have Ben Hutchinson who cost £500,000 and is unproven Hunt would be a similiar buy.Stracahn needs to focus on quality over quantity and Alexander Frei would be a step in the right direction once he can walk tongue.gif .I would not be spending £1m on a player who may get into the first team.
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 12:44) *
I think firstly Strachan has to get rid of Killen,Riordan before signing a player with potential, Hunt would be a gamble. We still have Ben Hutchinson who cost £500,000 and is unproven Hunt would be a similiar buy.Stracahn needs to focus on quality over quantity and Alexander Frei would be a step in the right direction once he can walk tongue.gif .I would not be spending £1m on a player who may get into the first team.

That would be somewhat helpful laugh.gif

And regarding your last sentence, some people may have thought that about McDonald and (possibly) Robson.
seamus
QUOTE (Lordofthewing @ Jun 15 2008, 12:52) *
That would be somewhat helpful laugh.gif

And regarding your last sentence, some people may have thought that about McDonald and (possibly) Robson.

It would take a special player to improve on Mcdonald and I dont think Hunt is better than Macdonald it does not take much to be better than Donuti though.I beleive that if Robson did not play in the midfield we would not have won the league.
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 13:00) *
It would take a special player to improve on Mcdonald and I dont think Hunt is better than Macdonald it does not take much to be better than Donuti though.I beleive that if Robson did not play in the midfield we would not have won the league.

Him and Paul Hartley. Hopefully Brown will also come good next sesason and we punt Donati, Gravesen and Balde, and bring in a decent left-back so we can get shot of Naylor.
seamus
QUOTE (Lordofthewing @ Jun 15 2008, 13:10) *
Him and Paul Hartley. Hopefully Brown will also come good next sesason and we punt Donati, Gravesen and Balde, and bring in a decent left-back so we can get shot of Naylor.

Hartley was my player of the year he just gets on with the job and gives 100 % I thought Brown was not interested but now we can understand why.David Murphy might be worth a look.
No8.
I hear Leeds United are also in the Hunt for Noel. With McGeady and Boruc leaving you should have plenty of money to throw around tongue.gif
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 13:12) *
Hartley was my player of the year he just gets on with the job and gives 100 % I thought Brown was not interested but now we can understand why.David Murphy might be worth a look.

That's what I was referring to. I think he has the ability and mental strength to recover and make a big impact next season. If we could get Murphy I'd be pretty happy, especially if he shows the same level of consistency he did at Hibs, though I actually think that if he's given a chance, Mark Wilson could do a good job at left-back, he's willing to get forward and would be better on the overlap than Naylor IMO. Might further improve McGeady as a player too, as he'll have a bit of the support that Naylor hasn't really provided.
Beren
QUOTE (No8. @ Jun 15 2008, 13:14) *
I hear Leeds United are also in the Hunt for Noel. With McGeady and Boruc leaving you should have plenty of money to throw around tongue.gif

That's quite interesting actually. There was paper talk (yes I know) a couple of weeks back of Strachan getting something in the region of £20m to spend on players this close season. Now the same kind of talk has figures of £9-10m for Boruc and £12m for McGeady. If they were sold (god forbid), I wonder if the board would give Strachan the additional money for players.

Scary thought him (or anyone else) having c.£40m to spend on players in one season in Scotland. They could buy a handful of players in the £6-8m mark to mould a pretty decent side. Or they could sign a handful of 'Rafaels' :insert scary smiley:
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (Paulo di Maccio @ Jun 15 2008, 13:24) *
That's quite interesting actually. There was paper talk (yes I know) a couple of weeks back of Strachan getting something in the region of £20m to spend on players this close season. Now the same kind of talk has figures of £9-10m for Boruc and £12m for McGeady. If they were sold (god forbid), I wonder if the board would give Strachan the additional money for players.

Scary thought him (or anyone else) having c.£40m to spend on players in one season in Scotland. They could buy a handful of players in the £6-8m mark to mould a pretty decent side. Or they could sign a handful of 'Rafaels' :insert scary smiley:

The thing is, Strachan's better buys seem for the most part to cost less than £2m (though I think Brown will do well next season), so I'd also be quite curious to see how he'd do with a big transfer budget.
seamus
QUOTE (No8. @ Jun 15 2008, 13:14) *

Maybe Strachan should be given some help spending money.A director of football may not be a bad option.
seamus
QUOTE (Lordofthewing @ Jun 15 2008, 13:19) *
That's what I was referring to. I think he has the ability and mental strength to recover and make a big impact next season. If we could get Murphy I'd be pretty happy, especially if he shows the same level of consistency he did at Hibs, though I actually think that if he's given a chance, Mark Wilson could do a good job at left-back, he's willing to get forward and would be better on the overlap than Naylor IMO. Might further improve McGeady as a player too, as he'll have a bit of the support that Naylor hasn't really provided.

Wilson is a right sided player and should be played in that position.Naylor has had a crisis of confidence for some reason.
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 13:32) *
Wilson is a right sided player and should be played in that position.Naylor has had a crisis of confidence for some reason.

I know Wilson is naturally a right-back, but when he first came to us he was used as a left-back, if I remember rightly. Seemed to do pretty well there too.
Happy_Gilmore
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Jun 15 2008, 11:25) *
That'll be the CIS Final that we dominated and won?

Aye, aye keep telling yourself that! We got our revenge by laying down to Celtic.

Comparing Hunt to Hutchinson is ludicrous. Hutchinsons has zero first team experience, Hunt is a proven SPL goalscorer!
Beren
QUOTE (Happy_Gilmore @ Jun 15 2008, 14:30) *
Aye, aye keep telling yourself that! We got our revenge by laying down to Celtic.

Comparing Hunt to Hutchinson is ludicrous. Hutchinsons has zero first team experience, Hunt is a proven SPL goalscorer!

That's what I was thinking. I think LotW's comparison was more Hunt v Riordan/Killen as opposed to Hunt v Hutchinson.

To others: what did we have to pay Middlesborough to take him 6 months early? It surely wasn't as much as half a mill was it?
wattie_rojas
Wattie has finally flipped if he's willing to pay £1M for Gomis. The boy can't pass, tackle and is poor in the air. He doesn't score goals and isn't very quick either. Neither can he kick with his right foot. Hunt is better IMO although effort alone doesn't make an OF player.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (seamus @ Jun 15 2008, 13:30) *
Maybe Strachan should be given some help spending money.A director of football may not be a bad option.

Get Martin back on his £10k-a-week 'consultancy' role happy.gif
soti14
QUOTE (Happy_Gilmore @ Jun 15 2008, 11:10) *

Kevin Thomson was an unused sub in the cup final.
staggy4life
QUOTE (wattie_rojas @ Jun 15 2008, 18:33) *
Wattie has finally flipped if he's willing to pay £1M for Gomis. The boy can't pass, tackle and is poor in the air. He doesn't score goals and isn't very quick either. Neither can he kick with his right foot. Hunt is better IMO although effort alone doesn't make an OF player.

Its the french international striker Gomis i think, not the Dundee Utd midfielder. wink.gif