Full Version: League Fixtures
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Ludo *1
Most people will probably know this but for those that didn't like my good self, they are to be announced the 16th June at 10am biggrin.gif
SJFC1884
good good. looking forward to it. being in sweden is going to make it hard for me to get to many so hopefully when am home ther wil be at home they wil be at home or rather close.

mon the perth saints this is the year.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF DUNDEE?? SHITE.. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF SHITE?? DUNDEE.. b*****dS TWATS AN c***s FANNYS
The ghost of Jim Morton
Thank god.....The boredom is killing me....

I hope we get a Saints v Dundee game early on....Would be great if it was the first game smile.gif
Bri RCFC
Dundee at home please for the 1st game ;-)
EdinburghLivi
Why do we need an update on how long we are from the releasal of the league fixtures?
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 14 2008, 23:36) *
Why do we need an update on how long we are from the releasal of the league fixtures?

It,ll not matter to your lot.Who ever your playing, you,ll still be fucking rank....

For the rest of us there is at least a chance of winning the league( except obviously clyde) so we are pleased Ludo took the trouble to reminded us
Graeme P
good to hear smile.gif wasnt sure when they were goin to be realesed. Ross County away first game of season would be good
7-2

Yep. I didnt know when it was. Not exactly marked in red in the diary but good to know all the same.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (7-2 @ Jun 15 2008, 00:08) *
Yep. I didnt know when it was. Not exactly marked in red in the diary but good to know all the same.

Not a dig at you per say but there has already been two or three other threads about this and when it was. I just think it's unnecessary to keep on recycling this information into new threads.

Also Jim, just piss off back to your repetitive, boring and quite frankly sad Dundee hate. This thread is stating when the fixtures are and that does not actually indicate the start of the season. There's still plenty time for us to build a decent (albeit not likely a title winning) squad.
Dr Koop
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Jun 14 2008, 22:32) *
Most people will probably know this but for those that didn't like my good self, they are to be announced the 16th June at 10am biggrin.gif

(Yawns and lifts buttock to fart in enthusiasm.)
DomDom
Another game at home this time would be nice. Preferably against Livingston. Lets see if we can actually get a win in the league against them for a change.
7-2
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 15 2008, 00:51) *
Not a dig at you per say but there has already been two or three other threads about this and when it was. I just think it's unnecessary to keep on recycling this information into new threads.

Agree about unnecessary repetition but I hadnt seen any of the other threads.
MTJ
A home game. We've only had one home game at home in the last four years on the first day so I think we're over due one.
sainteesean
away at livi.

another 5 goaler plz.

knock the stuffing right out of you's.

and help the GD wink.gif

either that or morton away.
shawfield shed boy
Away to Ross County for some early nologo.gif followed by plenty of the same until our usual train journey home sometime on the sunday

Trip of the season by far beerchug.gif
yangus
a good away trip first hopefully ross county or queen of the south

aslong as its no away to the likes of clyde or partick
spammersunitedisac*ck

Shut it, p***k
silvery tay
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 14 2008, 22:47) *
good good. looking forward to it. being in sweden is going to make it hard for me to get to many so hopefully when am home ther wil be at home they wil be at home or rather close.

mon the perth saints this is the year.

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF DUNDEE?? SHITE.. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF SHITE?? DUNDEE.. b*****dS TWATS AN c***s FANNYS

biggrin.gif Aw bless you dont care about us though do you ....still hurting from last season or is it a 62' thing for you ........will it be a "SPECIAL" school for you in Sverge?
Kirky Gypo
A long away day or Thistle away please.
port-ton
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jun 15 2008, 02:53) *
A home game. We've only had one home game at home in the last four years on the first day so I think we're over due one.

have you had any home games away on the first day?
DundeeBoy
QUOTE (Bri RCFC @ Jun 14 2008, 23:22) *
Dundee at home please for the 1st game ;-)

Why do u want to start the season with a loss cool.gif
SJFC1884
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 15 2008, 18:15) *
biggrin.gif Aw bless you dont care about us though do you ....still hurting from last season or is it a 62' thing for you ........will it be a "SPECIAL" school for you in Sverge?

last season was that the season when use done f**k all yeah?? ok you beat us twice at your shit hole but please remind me did use go up from it.

62 oh wait a min you remind me of england always on about the past. get a grip of your life for f**k sake
David W
QUOTE (Graeme P @ Jun 14 2008, 23:57) *
good to hear smile.gif wasnt sure when they were goin to be realesed. Ross County away first game of season would be good

QUOTE (shawfield shed boy @ Jun 15 2008, 10:31) *
Away to Ross County for some early nologo.gif followed by plenty of the same until our usual train journey home sometime on the sunday

Trip of the season by far beerchug.gif

Rubbish - an away game to the newly promoted division 2 Champions is always a certain defeat for us.

I'd like to start with a home game (last three years we've been away), probably against Livi.
Skyline Drifter
I'd like a home game obviously, especially with being away to Berwick in the Challenge cup the Saturday before, but we were home last season so away would seem more likely. Don't want St Johnstone. We seem to get them first up quite a lot (I think we've had them first three times in the last few seasons) so I'd rather it was someone else. Don't especially want to start at Dens either.

Anything else is fine though I don't really want to go all the way to Dingwall first either.
silvery tay
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 15 2008, 19:00) *
last season was that the season when use done f**k all yeah?? ok you beat us twice at your shit hole but please remind me did use go up from it.

62 oh wait a min you remind me of england always on about the past. get a grip of your life for f**k sake

WOULD SIR LIKE A LEMON TO SUCK ON ............EH FEEL YER PAIN rolleyes.gif
Juan Sara
A close away game would be great.
Viva La Livi
well, heres looking at the fact we get a shitty first game
SJFC1884
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 15 2008, 19:20) *
WOULD SIR LIKE A LEMON TO SUCK ON ............EH FEEL YER PAIN rolleyes.gif

has sir picked up his dole money for his heroin. jakie wee b*****d

you boys are all fannys
Deestruction
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 15 2008, 19:47) *
has sir picked up his dole money for his heroin. jakie wee b*****d

you boys are all fannys

Very witty and under-used retort.

Every city has it's fair share of junkies, but we'll overlook that fact in favour of thinking we're a higher class because our city is full of OAPs. Now f**k off with your useless "banter" and snobbery.

While you're still here, all but 2 clubs in Scotland can only go on about history, because their are only 2 clubs doing anything of significance. If you had any history, you'd understand.
DomDom
Every city has it's fair share of junkies, but we'll overlook that fact in favour of thinking we're a higher class because our city is full of OAPs. Now f**k off with your useless "banter" and snobbery.

But where would we be without junkie insults ? sad.gif
Deestruction
QUOTE (DomDom @ Jun 15 2008, 20:10) *
But where would we be without junkie insults ? sad.gif

The term would be equal.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (spammersunitedisac*ck @ Jun 15 2008, 18:08) *
Shut it, p***k

Who are you?
SJFC1884
QUOTE (Deestruction @ Jun 15 2008, 20:06) *
Very witty and under-used retort.

While you're still here, all but 2 clubs in Scotland can only go on about history, because their are only 2 clubs doing anything of significance. If you had any history, you'd understand.

yeah an use have by far more. full of OAPs on herion yeah.

yeah ok bawbag.

come back when your clubs debt free an your not taken bank loans an not paying them back.

Dundee....ran up huge debts
paid pennies in the pound,they had creditors abound.
Never........ did they intend to pay.
And now it looks like they're at it once again
Coagies ooh!!...They're a bunch of crooks
And they don't care who they have to rip off,
They carry on,they carry on, as if nothing ever happened..
Deestruction
QUOTE (SJFC1884 @ Jun 15 2008, 20:18) *
yeah an use have by far more. full of OAPs on herion yeah.

yeah ok bawbag.

come back when your clubs debt free an your not taken bank loans an not paying them back.

Dundee....ran up huge debts
paid pennies in the pound,they had creditors abound.
Never........ did they intend to pay.
And now it looks like they're at it once again
Coagies ooh!!...They're a bunch of crooks
And they don't care who they have to rip off,
They carry on,they carry on, as if nothing ever happened..

Sorry that not all of us have a chairman who was able to help pay off £150K in 1986. Then inherit enough land to build a fully purpose built ground while selling off land worth lots of £££. Very short memories that StJ at one point had a HUGE debt for that time.
SJFC1884
QUOTE (Deestruction @ Jun 15 2008, 20:25) *
Sorry that not all of us have a chairman who was able to help pay off £150K in 1986. Then inherit enough land to build a fully purpose built ground while selling off land worth lots of £££. Very short memories that StJ at one point had a HUGE debt for that time.

yeah maybe so but look at the way use were in a few years back. you boys were nearly out the game. you have landed lucky, an with what i have been hearing if use dont go up this season coming your going to be in trouble again. brown has done wonders for us i take my hat of to him. you boys would do well with someone like that.

f**k the scumdee tongue.gif
Juan Sara
Get to bed, school tomorrow.
midTONs
I hope Morton are away to Ross County on the opening day.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 15 2008, 21:32) *
Get to bed, school tomorrow.

There has never been such an over-used and pointless line. This may not be the case here, but I'd like to think that some high-school students talk more sense than many adults on here.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 15 2008, 21:40) *
I'd like to think that some high-school students talk more sense than many adults on here.

Even when you see comments like..........

''yeah ok bawbag''

and

''you boys are all fannys''
Firhill_Basin
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 15 2008, 21:40) *
There has never been such an over-used and pointless line. This may not be the case here, but I'd like to think that some high-school students talk more sense than many adults on here.

Ragin'. wink.gif
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 15 2008, 21:56) *
Even when you see comments like..........

''yeah ok bawbag''

and

''you boys are all fannys''

I do agree with you here but to be honest, some of the "n00bish" adults do that as well.

QUOTE (Firhill_Basin @ Jun 15 2008, 21:57) *
Ragin'. wink.gif

tongue.gif Of course . I wouldn't want to be stereotyped as a moron because some other younger guys act stupidly.
EastFootball
From an atmosphere point of view, St Johnstone at Dens would be phenomenal.

But I'd rather we got a couple of games against other teams under our belts first, just to see where we're at.
Lord Jonah
After 9 original clashes, the league fixtures have been amended and now only 1 clash prevails.
Diamonds are Forever
We always start the season shockingly badly, so I want an away game to Dundee or St Johnstone or something like that, a fixture that we would lose anyway, and keep the games against Clyde, Livi etc until as late as possible.
SampFan101
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jun 15 2008, 18:48) *
have you had any home games away on the first day?

Our last one was when were in Division 2 against Stirling Albion in 2006.
Radford
QUOTE (Deestruction @ Jun 15 2008, 20:25) *

There are slight differences between the financial situations though. Our debt was incurred through falling from the Premier Division to Second Division in consecutive seasons and the hit in gate receipts that resulted. We went from an average of 4,859 in 1983/84 (Premier Division) to 957 in 1985/86 (Second Division).

Going off memory, we owed about £200,000 at the end of the 1985/86 season, not sure that constitutes a massive debt (considering we'd sold a player for twice that a few years earlier). Brown invested £100,000 and then there was a share issue which raised a further £150,000.

We were incredibly fortunate to benefit from Mr McDiarmid's donation but we didn't make millions from selling Muirton as the deal was ASDA built us a ground, then they could have the land. It's true though that we ended up with a bit of money in the bank when the whole thing was completed. Brown worked very hard on that deal though, things didn't just fall into place. It was also Brown's foresight that saw us build an all-seater stadium, we could easily have created something with terracing, only to have to tear up parts of it less than a decade later. He was also under pressure from the fans to build something nearer 20,000 in capacity but stuck to his guns, with the promise that away fans would only be in the ground if there was space for them. That seems silly now maybe but remember in that first year at McDiarmid we had two capacity crowds in the First Division.
Deestruction
QUOTE (Radford @ Jun 16 2008, 07:05) *
There are slight differences between the financial situations though. Our debt was incurred through falling from the Premier Division to Second Division in consecutive seasons and the hit in gate receipts that resulted. We went from an average of 4,859 in 1983/84 (Premier Division) to 957 in 1985/86 (Second Division).

Going off memory, we owed about £200,000 at the end of the 1985/86 season, not sure that constitutes a massive debt (considering we'd sold a player for twice that a few years earlier). Brown invested £100,000 and then there was a share issue which raised a further £150,000.

We were incredibly fortunate to benefit from Mr McDiarmid's donation but we didn't make millions from selling Muirton as the deal was ASDA built us a ground, then they could have the land. It's true though that we ended up with a bit of money in the bank when the whole thing was completed. Brown worked very hard on that deal though, things didn't just fall into place. It was also Brown's foresight that saw us build an all-seater stadium, we could easily have created something with terracing, only to have to tear up parts of it less than a decade later. He was also under pressure from the fans to build something nearer 20,000 in capacity but stuck to his guns, with the promise that away fans would only be in the ground if there was space for them. That seems silly now maybe but remember in that first year at McDiarmid we had two capacity crowds in the First Division.

Rad, debt is debt, it all comes through mis-management. Weather that be free-falling through divisions or business plans not working due to serious injuries to players, it's all mis-management. On the point of selling a player for more than your debt total previously, it means nothing ifhe is the last valuable player you had left worth selling. We both know you can'tdisguise rubbish as gold. £250K of debt was HUGE in 1985/6. Considering how close we were in 1995/6 with a debt similar pro rata to that, you'll see why both clubs were extremely fortunate to be saved by chairpersons. The only difference is, when the Marrs gained control of Dundee, we had almost 0 in sellable assests, and those we did have, we sold to give ourselves room (Weighthorse traded for Barry Smith + money).

Making the deal with ASDA obviously didn't just happen, but once the wheels were set in motion, a monkey an delegate everything to push through finalisation. At the end of the day, we ended up having to pay plenty of £ for two stands, meanwhile you had a massive advantage of recieving the land from a supporter. This obviously saving Brown or any fans paying for them.

At the end of the day, we got chairmen who had extremely ambitous ideas that had it not been for a series of injuries and the death of the transfer market would have turned out to be a minor sucess. Meanwhile you got a chairman who was happy to just keep you floating along.
Grant228
So the fixtures will be done in 7 minutes and so many seconds?
When will we be able to see them
Swampy
Ah cannae wait man! Ah cannae wait!
EastFootball
First week (allowed wink.gif):

Clyde v. Morton
Partick Thistle v. Dunfermline Athletic
Queen of the South v. Airdrie United
Ross County v. Dundee
St. Johnstone v. Livingston