Full Version: Chris Innes
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
bartoo
why are dundee letting this fanny piss them about, i think its time he was told to sign now or piss off!
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (bartoo @ Jun 13 2008, 19:38) *
why are dundee letting this fanny piss them about, i think its time he was told to sign now or piss off!

He's signing for Morton next week when Davie Irons gets back from the Euros. You couldn't afford him apparently. wink.gif
Deeboy
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 13 2008, 19:43) *
He's signing for Morton next week when Davie Irons gets back from the Euros. You couldn't afford him apparently. wink.gif

Here's hoping! tongue.gif
SuperTommy

Thats why we agree terms, yeah??
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Jun 13 2008, 19:47) *
Here's hoping! tongue.gif

You shouldn't let your dislike of ex-Arabs blind you to the fact that Innes is better than anything you've got at the back. biggrin.gif
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 13 2008, 19:54) *
Thats why we agree terms, yeah??

That was before the call from DI that changed his mind and led him to leave Dens for 'personal reasons'. Shit, isn't it! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
SuperTommy
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 13 2008, 19:57) *
Shit, isn't it!

Not really
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 13 2008, 19:57) *
That was before the call from DI that changed his mind and led him to leave Dens for 'personal reasons'. Shit, isn't it! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This clown will be lucky to get on the bench at Dens. The two centre halfs have got to be Mackenzie and Mckeown so he is 'back up' but I would agree with the original post....tell him to GTF.
Deeboy
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 13 2008, 19:55) *
You shouldn't let your dislike of ex-Arabs blind you to the fact that Innes is better than anything you've got at the back. biggrin.gif

No he's not, you've mixed our defence up with yours my fair man. wink.gif
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Jun 13 2008, 21:19) *
No he's not, you've mixed our defence up with yours my fair man. wink.gif

Time will tell I suppose. Still, you've got Alex Rae as your Manager. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Deeboy
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 13 2008, 21:35) *
Time will tell I suppose. Still, you've got Alex Rae as your Manager. laugh.gif laugh.gif

And Jim McInally is your most successful manager for quite a few years. I WIN
Ross_dee
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 13 2008, 21:35) *

Well After 2 seasons Rae finished 3rd and 2nd after a bad first season in this league, Rae has build a good solid team. Hopefully this season be another improvement seeing us promoted. smile.gif
DeeJay35

Woohoo! Thats made my weekend! I dont want him at Dens anyway. I will laugh so much when Curier and McMenamin skin him and score for the umpteenth time next season. I probably laugh more than this game

Your welcome to him smile.gif
SaintSam
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jun 14 2008, 09:54) *
Woohoo! Thats made my weekend! I dont want him at Dens anyway. I will laugh so much when Curier and McMenamin skin him and score for the umpteenth time next season. I probably laugh more than this game

Get over yourself. rolleyes.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jun 14 2008, 09:54) *

You needed the other team to get two players sent off to win 1-0?

Fucking hell you guys are shite. Diddy team making a big deal of a diddy win.

Ya diddy you!
silvery tay
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Jun 14 2008, 11:54) *

Ya diddy you!

Settle down luvvy......wha's tickled your bum rolleyes.gif
Juan Sara
Agree, what happened to 'We only want players who want to play for us', if we're going to waste money atleast do it on a player who doesn't f**k aboot!
Exuberant
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 14 2008, 12:03) *
Settle down luvvy......wha's tickled your bum rolleyes.gif

huh.gif

Your mammy never told you?
DeeJay35
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Jun 14 2008, 11:54) *

Ya diddy you!

Fucking and shite are probably words you learnt going to jags games m8.

Anyway, I should have added to that link. The fact he was getting verbals from the dee support then retaliated (which he is alright in my book. If you give out abuse - you should take it) with a hand signal not long before that, was extremely funny.

Not as funny as Alan Main last season in the 3-2 at Dens though. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jun 14 2008, 13:23) *
Not as funny as Alan Main last season in the 3-2 at Dens though. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Scott_L
Don't kid yourselves, Innes would stroll into any side in the 1st division and would still get into some SPL sides.

I was told at the end of the season that he had been approached by St Johnstone, Dundee and Morton but that he was wary of going to Dundee because he wasn't sure what reception he'd get being an ex Arab. He's good friends with James Grady though who played for both Dundee teams so I'm sure if the offer is right, Dundee wont deter him. I suspect Morton and probably St Johnstone would offer more money though so maybe he's holding out or is just using their interest to engineer a better deal at Dundee.

If he is you can't blame him as don't forget he hasn't had any income for 3 months and has a wife Lara (very attractive one at that) and a wee child called Bailey to support.
Jeff Venom
QUOTE (Scott_L @ Jun 14 2008, 13:47) *
If he is you can't blame him as don't forget he hasn't had any income for 3 months and has a wife Lara (very attractive one at that) and a wee child called Bailey to support.

Should have thought of that before he was seduced by the sexiness of the Gretna "dream"
DeeJay35
Don't kid yourselves, Innes would stroll into any side in the 1st division and would still get into some SPL sides.

I was told at the end of the season that he had been approached by St Johnstone, Dundee and Morton but that he was wary of going to Dundee because he wasn't sure what reception he'd get being an ex Arab. He's good friends with James Grady though who played for both Dundee teams so I'm sure if the offer is right, Dundee wont deter him. I suspect Morton and probably St Johnstone would offer more money though so maybe he's holding out or is just using their interest to engineer a better deal at Dundee.

He must be happy with the money we have offered as he has accepted terms....

As much as I dont want him to sign, I trust AR's judgement. If he pulled on the dark blue shirt I would support him as much as any other player in the team - ex Arab or not. If he does the business, no Dundee supporter will have a problem with him.

Players have moved from rival teams before and they will in the future. Dundee most successfully signing from United was probably Tommy Coyne. Now a Dee legend.

If he is holding out for more money, he should GTF. Not that I have a problem with him wanting more money, but I want players whos main reason thery were there is to play for Dundee.
btb

Don't kid yourself - he was part of a Gretna defence that barely kept a clean sheet last season. The time spent at Gretna playing in the lower divisions with the advantage of Mileson's chequebook wink.gif has set him back - too much easy livin'. I very much doubt if any SPL team would be interested in him (you didn't name one) and don't reckon he'll be a success in the 1st division these days.

Here's hoping DI can tempt him to Morton!
Radford
I was told at the end of the season that he had been approached by St Johnstone, Dundee and Morton...

We'll see what happens Scott but that's another one I'm not sure about. Innes is very much a centre back, full stop, the same as Allan McManus, who was released for that reason. McInnes was content to let McManus leave, despite him playing over 40 games for us last term, as he was happy with his options at centre back, where he has four guys; Anderson, James, McCaffrey and Rutkiewicz. He's making no noises about bringing in a centre back either so I don't really see him showing a big interest in Innes.

I also think if he goes to Dundee, he'll find it hard to get a game ahead of MacKenzie and McKeown.
Bryan
QUOTE (btb @ Jun 14 2008, 17:56) *
Here's hoping DI can tempt him to Morton!

laugh.gif doubt it, hes not a gk, striker, rb, lb or attacking mid we aint looking at cbs.
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (DeeJay35 @ Jun 14 2008, 15:31) *
He must be happy with the money we have offered as he has accepted terms....

As much as I dont want him to sign, I trust AR's judgement. If he pulled on the dark blue shirt I would support him as much as any other player in the team - ex Arab or not. If he does the business, no Dundee supporter will have a problem with him.

Players have moved from rival teams before and they will in the future. Dundee most successfully signing from United was probably Tommy Coyne. Now a Dee legend.

If he is holding out for more money, he should GTF. Not that I have a problem with him wanting more money, but I want players whos main reason thery were there is to play for Dundee.

Don't delude yourself. Players are mercenaries who play for whoever promises the most dosh. Dundee aren't that attractive a proposition that players will accept lower wages just to wear the dark blue shirt. Now if it was Dundee United ....... laugh.gif
Radford
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 14 2008, 21:58) *
Players are mercenaries who play for whoever promises the most dosh.

Like Chris Millar?
gmfc
QUOTE (Radford @ Jun 14 2008, 21:59) *
Like Chris Millar?

I honestly think Millar has made a mistake going to St Johnstone not because Morton are a better team because they are not, but because I think he will be a bench player for the saints. So in terms of money and playing he would have been better staying at Morton.
Tonsilitis
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 14 2008, 22:09) *
I honestly think Millar has made a mistake going to St Johnstone not because Morton are a better team because they are not, but because I think he will be a bench player for the saints. So in terms of money and playing he would have been better staying at Morton.

He made a mistake because

1) Morton offered him more money to stay
2) St Johnstone might go up this season and have a better chance than Morton but their chance is no more than 50:50
3) Morton have plans for after Cappielow is upgraded and if Saintees don't go up this season then the relative chances of promotion will swing in Morton's favour.

Morton have serious long term finance. Our new director is worth 9 figures (not including anything after the decimal point!) and is already financing the upgrades to Cappielow. We will be an SPL side within Chris Millar's playing career and he only has a better chance with St Johnstone for this one season.

My opinion! Others may differ!!
Mr Heliums
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Jun 14 2008, 22:34) *
Morton have serious long term finance. Our new director is worth 9 figures (not including anything after the decimal point!) and is already financing the upgrades to Cappielow. We will be an SPL side within Chris Millar's playing career and he only has a better chance with St Johnstone for this one season.

Well if Morton are so wealthy, surely they'll just buy him back next season, when Saints fail to get promoted?
gmfc
QUOTE (Mr Heliums @ Jun 14 2008, 22:42) *
Well if Morton are so wealthy, surely they'll just buy him back next season, when Saints fail to get promoted?

Don't see it if it does not work out at the Saints he has made his bed I for one would hope Morton don't take him back.
toms
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 14 2008, 21:46) *
Don't see it if it does not work out at the Saints he has made his bed I for one would hope Morton don't take him back.

I must have missed that we have a new benefactor, but I'd have Chris Millar back in a heartbeat. I do think he's made an error in judgement. Once he'd made a promise to McInnes, he was never going to change his mind. He's a solid individual.

I think Innes will be an excellent player for any team in our division.
silvery tay
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 14 2008, 21:58) *
Don't delude yourself. Players are mercenaries who play for whoever promises the most dosh. Dundee aren't that attractive a proposition that players will accept lower wages just to wear the dark blue shirt. Now if it was Dundee United ....... laugh.gif

The dirty arab barsteward has plyayed for the WEE FROOTS thats why a large section of Dee fans will never accept him at Dens......it would be very unwise of us to sign him.....all the best to him wherever he ends up .....but please dont let it be us sad.gif
Charles Darwin Esq
I love tribalism biggrin.gif

A club's not the team you play for, it's what you hit the opposition over the head with.
BishyTON
I would be more than happy to have Innes at Scapa, he is without a doubt better than either of the Chuckle Brothers.
ian_dfc
innes has now had plenty of time, original poster was correct............piss off!!!!!!!
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (Mr Heliums @ Jun 14 2008, 22:42) *

It has nothing to do with money. It has been well documented that Chris signed a 2-year deal with St Johnstone despite Morton offering him a 3-year deal at £200 pw more. Chris wanted a change, that's his choice. If you think Saints have more dosh than Morton you are seriously deluded.smile.gif
smittysmee
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jun 14 2008, 09:57) *
Get over yourself. rolleyes.gif

Chris Innes will prob be ur best defender if he signs he has a good presence and is a strong defender
Juan Sara
QUOTE (smittysmee @ Jun 15 2008, 22:16) *
Chris Innes will prob be ur best defender if he signs he has a good presence and is a strong defender

I wouldn't say best but he would probably do the job, although somethings amking me feel nervy about him signing.
Lord Jonah
Chris Innes is close to signing for Morton. Phewwww!
Steve McQueen
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jun 15 2008, 20:39) *
If you think Saints have more dosh than Morton you are seriously deluded.smile.gif

Saints get bigger crowds at a higher attendance fee & have a stadium the earns money 365 days a year. St Johnstone FC have more money than Morton FC
silvery tay
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Jun 16 2008, 07:37) *
Saints get bigger crowds at a higher attendance fee & have a stadium the earns money 365 days a year. St Johnstone FC have more money than Morton FC

laugh.gif Sainteez they truly are the Barca of Tayside ...if you are quick you could snatch Innes from Morton ......as he is NOT coming to Dundee..........The Derry breathes a collective sigh of relief wink.gif
GDee
The Courier is this morning reporting that Innes is going to be signing for Morton. I couldn't care less that this guy used to play for United, I also don't really know how good he is (I remember him being a decent centre-half a few years back) and though it is the team that I support that he's turning down I don't think this is impinging on my view. Innes clearly lacks respect/morals (I can't quite think of the correct word - too early on Monday morning) as he is happy to sell himself off to the highest bidder.

I know, I know, I hear you all cry that he's only doing the right thing for his family etc (I said the same about Scott Robertson who left Dundee to go across the road) but the circumstances were different. Robertson didn't tell Dundee he was signing, make up an excuse for leaving the stadium and then go sign elsewhere. Innes' approach has been shoddy, flaunting himself for everything he can get and turning his back on a team that he's agreed to sign for.

Ok, you could say that Dundee were hasty in arranging a press conference when he hadn't actually put pen to paper but if my understanding of how things have gone is correct then I have lost all respect for Chris Innes the player and the man.
Tonsilitis
QUOTE (GDee @ Jun 16 2008, 09:04) *
The Courier is this morning reporting that Innes is going to be signing for Morton. I couldn't care less that this guy used to play for United, I also don't really know how good he is (I remember him being a decent centre-half a few years back) and though it is the team that I support that he's turning down I don't think this is impinging on my view. Innes clearly lacks respect/morals (I can't quite think of the correct word - too early on Monday morning) as he is happy to sell himself off to the highest bidder.

I know, I know, I hear you all cry that he's only doing the right thing for his family etc (I said the same about Scott Robertson who left Dundee to go across the road) but the circumstances were different. Robertson didn't tell Dundee he was signing, make up an excuse for leaving the stadium and then go sign elsewhere. Innes' approach has been shoddy, flaunting himself for everything he can get and turning his back on a team that he's agreed to sign for.

Ok, you could say that Dundee were hasty in arranging a press conference when he hadn't actually put pen to paper but if my understanding of how things have gone is correct then I have lost all respect for Chris Innes the player and the man.

Quite reminiscent of some other players. Janni 'I'm desperate to play for Morton' Sturm springs to mind although in that case it turned out to be the great escape for Morton!

I'll believe Innes signs for us when I see it. I think he is a very decent defender but that will give us four centre backs and no fullbacks at all if it happens. No prizes for guessing that we will be playing three at the back next season
steveoath
QUOTE (Charles Darwin Esq @ Jun 15 2008, 09:19) *
A club's not the team you play for, it's what you hit the opposition over the head with.

Can I stick that in my sig? laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif

Steve
Radford
As well as a financial decision, I still think that Innes would be wary of the fact that MacKenzie and McKeown could well start ahead of him at Dens. I know he'd bring experience and Rae might go with him for that reason but he'll be going to Morton knowing he's going to play every week, whereas I'm not sure the same would be true at Dens.

He can say all he wants about being worried about the reaction of the Dundee fans but that is twice he's mucked them around and they are getting a lucky escape IMO.
steveoath
As much as it pains me I agree with the Saintee above. We've been crying out for experience at the back and Innes would walk straight into our team, not so sure if he would at Dundee.

Steve
Deestruction
QUOTE (Radford @ Jun 16 2008, 09:40) *
As well as a financial decision, I still think that Innes would be wary of the fact that MacKenzie and McKeown could well start ahead of him at Dens. I know he'd bring experience and Rae might go with him for that reason but he'll be going to Morton knowing he's going to play every week, whereas I'm not sure the same would be true at Dens.

He can say all he wants about being worried about the reaction of the Dundee fans but that is twice he's mucked them around and they are getting a lucky escape IMO.

The voice of reason speaks truth. Some may say he could have even ended up as 4th choice CB as Malone can slip in easily from LB with Forsyth jumping at an opportunity.

Their is no need for us to pay decent £ to be a bench warmer behind McKenzie and McKeown.
LargsTON
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 14 2008, 22:09) *

Chris Millar will be found out at St Johnstone. Mark my words. Lightweight and over-rated. smile.gif