Full Version: Alloa Sign Ian Campbell
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
allowafletic
Left back Ian Campbell signs for the wasps, what is this lad like?
Nizzy
Pretty poor by all accounts. I'm sure the Clyde fans will be along any time soon to give you their opinion. We always feared that he'd end up at Firhill due to his auld man, but thankfully the bunnet was given the bullet before that could happen.
Loki
My deepest sympathies go out to Alloa.
Monster
If this is Bunnet Jr then he's utterly abysmal.

Great! biggrin.gif
CK
I didn't think he was as bad as he is made out to be, he had a decent debut, a good performance the following week then he had an awful game vs Dunfermline. Had one more game at Stirling, he looked shakey and got sent off for handball on the line.

He cannot kick with his right foot, and is quite slow, but he has an excellent left foot.
craigkillie
He never played a first team game for us, but by all accounts he even looked out of his depth when he played in the reserves.
gingapar
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Jun 12 2008, 22:59) *
He never played a first team game for us, but by all accounts he even looked out of his depth when he played in the reserves.

Aye, simply wasn't good enough with us. Occasionally whipped in a decent cross and wasn't too keen on running any further than the length of himself. When first coming through with us, he made what would usually be forgiven as a typical shaky start for a youngster and showed a couple of positives but it turns out that was just as good as he got and he progressively got worse instead of better. couldn't believe it when Killie took him on but was ready to be proven wrong, never was though and i doubt i ever will be.
Waspie
Colleague of mine is a Ross County season ticket holder (who knows his football) and he says Campbell was a very steady player when he was there in difficult circumstances with his dad getting sacked and some of the fans getting on his back because of the connection. Said despite all that Campbell didnt play a bad game during his spell with County and thought he'd be a good player with a run of games in Division 2. Fleming provided great dead balls from left back last season but was a massive liability in defence and cost a lot of goals. Campbell shoud hopefully be a safer bet.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
In my opinion he is utter pish. He only played a handful of games for us before his loan deal was cancelled. His positional play is awful and he is easily rattled.
allowafletic
It does not look too promising there then?

I take the Jamie and Keirran deals are off therefore we shall be back to scrapping it out every week for 6th place.
Loki
QUOTE (Waspie @ Jun 13 2008, 03:08) *
Colleague of mine is a Ross County season ticket holder (who knows his football) and he says Campbell was a very steady player when he was there in difficult circumstances with his dad getting sacked and some of the fans getting on his back because of the connection. Said despite all that Campbell didnt play a bad game during his spell with County and thought he'd be a good player with a run of games in Division 2. Fleming provided great dead balls from left back last season but was a massive liability in defence and cost a lot of goals. Campbell shoud hopefully be a safer bet.

He can't know it very well then! It was unbelievable that this clown was played ahead of Golabek at times. People did not get on his back because of the connection. I seen him having horrid games. Caught out of position, leaving the centre back to cover, exposing more of our defence time after time. People were on his back as we had better players to play left back and left midfield.
Waspie
Time will tell Carlos. Maybe he will turn out to be sh*te but from what Ive heard he could end up doing a decent job for us. To be honest its pretty common for signings to be slated on here by fans of other clubs then the players in question actually turn out to effective. You should remember that with Barrowman tongue.gif . Campbell will get his chance to prove himself.
laughing gravie
QUOTE (Waspie @ Jun 13 2008, 11:32) *
Time will tell Carlos. Maybe he will turn out to be sh*te but from what Ive heard he could end up doing a decent job for us. To be honest its pretty common for signings to be slated on here by fans of other clubs then the players in question actually turn out to effective. You should remember that with Barrowman tongue.gif . Campbell will get his chance to prove himself.

Young Kyle McAukley and Dougie Wilson both being prime examples at the Recs. Kyle was punted by the 'Heid and looked quite comfortable for us, and Dougie who for whatever reason left the Albion and got POTY at Alloa and neverv kicked a ball from March onwards. ohmy.gif

Maitland is a canny gaffer and he must see something in the lad, we'll see what happens when the season starts. wink.gif
Loki
QUOTE (Waspie @ Jun 13 2008, 11:32) *
You should remember that with Barrowman tongue.gif

The people slating Barrowman are those that played too much Football Manager. There is always more to a players game than just statitsics. However Barrowman did drop a divsion to rediscover himself. Campbell has already found himself wanting at this level. The Second Division is there for the taking this year (much like it was for County last season) so if Alloa make the correct signings they can genuinely win this division. I don't think a team with Campbell in it will win a league.

What I will say in Campbells defence is he was nowhere near the ability of Golabek, and things that Golabek did with ease he struggled with. Perhaps that lead him to being vilified by some supporters. Remember when Campbell was sacked there was great support for Dick from the fans. I was one of the only fans to state I was happy with it. I don't believe anyone gave Ian stick because of who is his father was. If so Derek Adams would get stick all the time as George Adams is seen as the Darth Vader of the club.

He has struggled wherever he has gone, if Maitland can't get him to perform at a decent level then his career is finished. Last chance saloon for Campbell.
David W
He actually has an exceptionally good left foot; passing, crossing, set pieces are the things he's good at. Might suit the pitch at Alloa in that respect.

However, defensively he is abysmal. He had one decent game vs Morton but in his other appearances he was consistently out of position, didn't show for the ball and was extremely weak.
Waspie
QUOTE (laughing gravie @ Jun 13 2008, 11:59) *
Young Kyle McAukley and Dougie Wilson both being prime examples at the Recs. Kyle was punted by the 'Heid and looked quite comfortable for us, and Dougie who for whatever reason left the Albion and got POTY at Alloa and neverv kicked a ball from March onwards. ohmy.gif

Maitland is a canny gaffer and he must see something in the lad, we'll see what happens when the season starts. wink.gif

Exactly. Kieran McAnespie was only going to play 1 good game in 5 we heard on here and he ended up our POTY. Andy Ferguson was supposed to be garbage but despite being constantly injured got 5 goals in 6 starts last season. Broonie was supposed to be hopeless too but he has always done well for us. Lets not be writing guys off before they have kicked a ball for us wink.gif .
The squad is taking shape nicely IMO...a lot will depend now on getting 1 or 2 creative players in to boost it. And a goalie to give backup for Jelly.
Judas
QUOTE (David W @ Jun 13 2008, 12:50) *
He actually has an exceptionally good left foot; passing, crossing, set pieces are the things he's good at. Might suit the pitch at Alloa in that respect.

However, defensively he is abysmal. He had one decent game vs Morton but in his other appearances he was consistently out of position, didn't show for the ball and was extremely weak.

Going by that description he seems not too dissimilar to Derek 'flea' Fleming. Time will tell - as Waspie says we've had a number of signings in the recent past slagged off by other clubs' fans who've subsequently turned out to be actually pretty decent.
Ever the Optimist
Only thing is for sure, if he is as good a player as his old man is a manager, it has to be worth at least two goals of a start to the opposition.
Cresto11
2nd division is probably his level, i thought he did well in his time with County, he played about 10 - 12 games where we played our best stuff all season (under difficult circumstances, considering his old man was sacked) should do ok for Alloa. He is better suited on the left of midfield than left back
Mon The Clyde
laugh.gif Good luck Alloa!
Cliche Guevara
Exactly. Kieran McAnespie was only going to play 1 good game in 5 we heard on here and he ended up our POTY. Andy Ferguson was supposed to be garbage but despite being constantly injured got 5 goals in 6 starts last season. Broonie was supposed to be hopeless too but he has always done well for us. Lets not be writing guys off before they have kicked a ball for us

Actually that was all from Ayr fans!
Loki
QUOTE (Cresto11 @ Jun 13 2008, 16:19) *
2nd division is probably his level, i thought he did well in his time with County, he played about 10 - 12 games where we played our best stuff all season (under difficult circumstances, considering his old man was sacked) should do ok for Alloa. He is better suited on the left of midfield than left back

He only played ten league games and only played in one game that can be regarded as our best of the season, a fine 4-1 win away at Ayr. He was gone from the team when we played our best stuff of the season which was Dec-Feb.
GypsyTillIDie
He's not a defender, that's for sure. He can't tackle, can't run and definitley can't head the ball.

With saying all of that, he's got a pretty good left foot on him. His set-pieces were good and could get a decent ball in the box.

I think the Second Division's his limit, though.
Big Cydal
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Jun 14 2008, 13:01) *
He's not a defender, that's for sure. He can't tackle, can't run and definitley can't head the ball.

With saying all of that, he's got a pretty good left foot on him. His set-pieces were good and could get a decent ball in the box.

I think the Second Division's his limit, though.

one word.... mince
Sao Paulo
I cannot predict exactly how well he'll do for Alloa although I imagine due to the lesser degrees of fitness and as such, generally, slower paced game in the second division Campbell will probably cope at least somewhat better than he did whilst at Broadwood.

In his brief stint here it became quickly apparent that he was out of his depth amongst the respective quality of player in the first. Physically very weak, sluggish across the ground, mistimed in the tackle & likewise in his jumping. As a full back then, from a defensive aspect, rubbish. (His positioning was often out of kilter too). The only redeeming qualities he possesses are his skills with the ball at his feet such as his passing & crossing ability. A reasonable first touch too. He very seldom had the opportunity to implement these though as he wasn't allowed the time & space he needed to do so. Something which he may in actual fact get with Alloa in the second.

His debut performance Vs. Stirling merited the least criticism. Unsurprising however as it was, as afore mentioned, his debut and it coincided with a fixture Vs. a part time side in Stirling Albion. He wasn't under the same level of pressure whilst in possession of the ball that day and so wasn't exposed as badly.

As I say though I couldn't really say how well he'll do at Alloa but it will almost certainly be better than he done here. (Wouldn't be hard mind you!)
allowafletic
QUOTE (Sao Paulo @ Jun 14 2008, 20:33) *
I cannot predict exactly how well he'll do for Alloa although I imagine due to the lesser degrees of fitness and as such, generally, slower paced game in the second division Campbell will probably cope at least somewhat better than he did whilst at Broadwood.

In his brief stint here it became quickly apparent that he was out of his depth amongst the respective quality of player in the first. Physically very weak, sluggish across the ground, mistimed in the tackle & likewise in his jumping. As a full back then, from a defensive aspect, rubbish. (His positioning was often out of kilter too). The only redeeming qualities he possesses are his skills with the ball at his feet such as his passing & crossing ability. A reasonable first touch too. He very seldom had the opportunity to implement these though as he wasn't allowed the time & space he needed to do so. Something which he may in actual fact get with Alloa in the second.

His debut performance Vs. Stirling merited the least criticism. Unsurprising however as it was, as afore mentioned, his debut and it coincided with a fixture Vs. a part time side in Stirling Albion. He wasn't under the same level of pressure whilst in possession of the ball that day and so wasn't exposed as badly.

As I say though I couldn't really say how well he'll do at Alloa but it will almost certainly be better than he done here. (Wouldn't be hard mind you!)

Are you the author of the new testament or did you swallow a hypothetical pythothorus ya plonker
boyinblackandgold
QUOTE (Sao Paulo @ Jun 14 2008, 20:33) *

I think it's clear reading this and a lot of the above posts why Maitland has gone for Campbell at left back. We have lost both our left footed deadball players in Aggie and Flea, but they may have now been replaced in Campbell.

Corners and freekicks were an important part of our game last year. He will also give us balance on the left being naturally left-footed, again something that was a strength last year. I suspect we will see 1 more left sided/left footed players being signed. Keiran Mcanespie?
Mushroom
He is a strong candidate for "worst ever Clyde player"

Dreadful excuse for a footballer.
bsd
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jun 15 2008, 17:10) *

What? Ever? In the whole history of Cyde football club? He must be shite.

Oh well we'll just have to put up with him I suppose. Surely he cant be worse than Sandra Hodge.

RedWeb
QUOTE (allowafletic @ Jun 14 2008, 21:58) *
Are you the author of the new testament or did you swallow a hypothetical pythothorus ya plonker

laugh.gif ...post of the decade laugh.gif

ps what the feck is a pythothorus huh.gif
Waspie
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jun 15 2008, 17:10) *

Have to take the opinions of the Clyde support on the lad with a pinch of salt given it would seem he played a total of 4 games for them. He's doing well though if he is worse than the foreign guy who cleared the ball into his own net against us at Broadwood.
Grant228
he's pish...
David W
QUOTE (Waspie @ Jun 15 2008, 19:55) *
Have to take the opinions of the Clyde support on the lad with a pinch of salt given it would seem he played a total of 4 games for them. He's doing well though if he is worse than the foreign guy who cleared the ball into his own net against us at Broadwood.

Although Ochil Clyde has a tendency to over-exaggerate, there is a reason he played so few games, namely that he was rubbish. He was our only left back, yet a centre half was preferred to him in that position for the remainder of the season.

I love being reminded of that own goal laugh.gif
bsd
Read in the local paper tonight that Maitland sees him as a direct replacement for Fleming i.e. cannae defend but has a decent cross. In fact he made a reference to his crossing ability but said nothing about how good or not a defender he is.