Full Version: Mark Burchill
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
gmfc
Mark Burchill signs for Rotherham United.
stuart.
I thought you were going to say he had signed for us.

That page took a long time to open.

Quite pleased to see he has signed for the Millers
Parscelona
Money decision, he rejected Kilmarnock to go to them i've heard smile.gif
ajcton
QUOTE (Parscelona @ Jun 12 2008, 18:59) *

rejected Kilmarnock.................................the guy was utter pish, so no great loss imo, thank the gods that we did not sign him.
7-2

English 4th Division club, in administration, facing 15 point deduction and playing their home games in an athletics stadium can still pay more than an SPL club???

Scottish football is well and truly f'd.
KangaTon
QUOTE (7-2 @ Jun 12 2008, 19:10) *
English 4th Division club, in administration, facing 15 point deduction and playing their home games in an athletics stadium can still pay more than an SPL club???

It may well be fucked but only in comparison to previous years (60s, 70s and 80s) when we were punching above our weight in compared with other countries our size. Only in the 90s when loads of clubs Scottish clubs over streched themselves was competition possible to the vast majority of English clubs possible.

Simple fact is comparisons between the Scottish and English leagues is impossible.
gmfc
QUOTE (7-2 @ Jun 12 2008, 19:10) *

Until the beaks take their heads out of the sand, it will remain that way.

CHANGE THE LEAGUE'S YA SHOWER OF TOSSERS.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (stuart. @ Jun 12 2008, 18:59) *
I thought you were going to say he had signed for us.

That page took a long time to open.

Quite pleased to see he has signed for the Millers

So did i.

Thorough dissappointment was beginning to fill me.

On the subject of strikers - i hope to f**k we're still looking for one.News has been scare of late.
DAFC
He's okay but too poofy for the first division.

PTFC27
I thought he was goin to Falkirk...
Fife Saint
I walked past him at Edinburgh airport a few weeks back. His wife is braw.
Nizzy
Looked dangerous every time we played Dunfermline last season. We're badly in need of fire power and I certainly wouldn't have turned my nose up at him.
da_no_1
Jesus, some Morton fans are surely gettin picky about signing targets eh?!!

He would walk in to your team, dont kid yourselves.

Talk about delusions of grandeur.....
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Jun 12 2008, 21:09) *
Jesus, some Morton fans are surely gettin picky about signing targets eh?!!

He would walk in to your team, dont kid yourselves.

Talk about delusions of grandeur.....

Why get Burchill when you have the world-beater Brian Wake rolleyes.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 12 2008, 22:22) *
Why get Burchill when you have the world-beater Brian Wake rolleyes.gif

Why get Burchill when you...oh, that's right, you can't sign anyone. wink.gif
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 12 2008, 22:34) *
Why get Burchill when you...oh, that's right, you can't sign anyone. wink.gif

I'd actually say our current pool of strikers is not bad actually. Not really the area we need to be focussing on most considering we have no goalies.

I'd be quite confident in saying that Leigh Griffiths is better than Wake.
Nizzy
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 12 2008, 22:59) *
I'd actually say our current pool of strikers is not bad actually.

Griffiths aside, who does that include?
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 13 2008, 06:53) *
Griffiths aside, who does that include?

Steven Weir and Snodgrass ph34r.gif

To be fair, we do actually have a few talented youngsters who should break through next season. Gordon Smith (Scotland U17s), Sean Kerr (Scotland U19s) and Andrew Halliday will possibly get the sort of season that Griffiths had last season.
Nizzy
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 13 2008, 08:11) *
Steven Weir and Snodgrass ph34r.gif

You're easy pleased. And I thought we had striking problems.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 13 2008, 08:22) *

You're easy pleased. And I thought we had striking problems.

Steven Weir was actually playing pretty well at the end of the season and you know yourself that Snodgrass has been consistently good all season. The prospects of the younger players intrigues me as well because I reckon some of them could be pretty damn impressive if given the chance.
Nizzy
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 13 2008, 19:49) *
Steven Weir was actually playing pretty well at the end of the season and you know yourself that Snodgrass has been consistently good all season. The prospects of the younger players intrigues me as well because I reckon some of them could be pretty damn impressive if given the chance.

I thought you put the balaclava smiley next to Snodgrass's name because you know that there's no chance he'll be a Livi player next season.
Scofield
Goodbye Zippy. Attitude was shocking to say the least.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 13 2008, 23:30) *
I thought you put the balaclava smiley next to Snodgrass's name because you know that there's no chance he'll be a Livi player next season.

I actually put it there because of the fact that we only have two other senior strikers sad.gif

Edit:- I think there's a possibility that he might stay next season to be honest. He's been offered twice his current wage, plus he doesn't have to move around with his young family which he would have to do if he were to move to a new club. I'm pretty sure he'd only move without thought if it were a significant step-up in clubs.
Casper Rose
Money decision

Are you joking me ohmy.gif players always play for the jerseys these days so this would surprise me if true tongue.gif
snorkie
Glad Burchill's away,he was always a pain in the arse when he played against us dry.gif even though the wee nob is from Livi
Web
QUOTE (Niz @ Jun 12 2008, 20:30) *
Looked dangerous every time we played Dunfermline last season. We're badly in need of fire power and I certainly wouldn't have turned my nose up at him.

You don't turn your nose up at anything rolleyes.gif
gmfc
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 14 2008, 01:03) *
I actually put it there because of the fact that we only have two other senior strikers sad.gif

Edit:- I think there's a possibility that he might stay next season to be honest. He's been offered twice his current wage, plus he doesn't have to move around with his young family which he would have to do if he were to move to a new club. I'm pretty sure he'd only move without thought if it were a significant step-up in clubs.

A step up in clubs that will be most of the 1st division then.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 14 2008, 21:54) *
A step up in clubs that will be most of the 1st division then.

Whatever you say.
gmfc
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 14 2008, 22:29) *
Whatever you say.

I see you don't disagree.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 14 2008, 22:50) *
I see you don't disagree.

I'd say a CIS Cup Win and Europe in the last 10 years does the talking.
Nizzy
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 14 2008, 23:35) *

And how would that sway Snodgrass? What do you have to offer him in the future?
Stoo61
Good player when he was on it and still very very quick. Not sad to see him go as I think it was time for him to leave along with his bum chum Simmons.
gmfc
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 14 2008, 23:35) *

And the point is ya NUGGET.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 15 2008, 10:16) *
And how would that sway Snodgrass? What do you have to offer him in the future?

It shows that the club can get to great heights.

QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 15 2008, 10:46) *
And the point is ya NUGGET.

That you haven't won the CIS Cup and gone into Europe in the last ten years. You've been languishing in the lower regions of the SFL. I'd say that's a pretty big indicator my friend.
Nizzy
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 15 2008, 11:11) *

No, it shows the club spent outwith its means, ended up in a false position and had to face up to the dire financial consequences. Mark my words, Livi will never scale those heights again.

Do you honestly think Snodgrass will take Livi's history into consideration when making andy decision on his footballing future?
gmfc
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 15 2008, 11:11) *

That you haven't won the CIS Cup and gone into Europe in the last ten years. You've been languishing in the lower regions of the SFL. I'd say that's a pretty big indicator my friend.

4th bottom of the 1st division last season.....ENOUGH SAID.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 15 2008, 11:15) *
4th bottom of the 1st division last season.....ENOUGH SAID.

Funny how 4th bottom is higher than 3rd bottom (while surviving by 1 goal which you got from a dodgy penalty at Almondvale in the 6-1 humping) rolleyes.gif
gmfc
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 15 2008, 11:19) *
Funny how 4th bottom is higher than 3rd bottom (while surviving by 1 goal which you got from a dodgy penalty at Almondvale in the 6-1 humping) rolleyes.gif

I am not the one hyping my team up you are, you were 4th bottom last season, that makes the other 5 teams better than you get over it.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 15 2008, 11:25) *
I am not the one hyping my team up you are, you were 4th bottom last season, that makes the other 5 teams better than you get over it.

You're trying to say the team is shite when we still finished above you and ran 13 goals past you.
Viva La Livi
well, who cares expect burchill to get some terrible injury
gmfc
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 15 2008, 19:41) *
You're trying to say the team is shite when we still finished above you and ran 13 goals past you.

No just that Livingston were worse that the other five 1st division teams above you, and yes Livingston were better than Morton last season it's not rocket science. Hopefully you understand that but then again maybe not.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 15 2008, 22:50) *
No just that Livingston were worse that the other five 1st division teams above you, and yes Livingston were better than Morton last season it's not rocket science. Hopefully you understand that but then again maybe not.

You say that most of the clubs in the first division would be a step-up which insinuates that you think Morton would be a step-up despite us finishing higher and being considerably better than you last season.
gmfc
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jun 16 2008, 00:11) *
You say that most of the clubs in the first division would be a step-up which insinuates that you think Morton would be a step-up despite us finishing higher and being considerably better than you last season.

Since I hope you are at the wind-up we will leave it there.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (gmfc @ Jun 16 2008, 00:17) *
Since I hope you are at the wind-up we will leave it there.

No way out sucks, doesn't it wink.gif