Full Version: Barry Still Blue Over Spl Decision
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
soti14
Ferguson still angry with SPL

Barry Ferguson has revealed he will never lose his anger at the SPL's decision to make Rangers play four days before the UEFA Cup final.
Fizzy Gillespie
haha boo hoo barry
glasnost
QUOTE (soti14 @ Jun 2 2008, 12:29) *

I wonder if the Seville players are still angry with th Spanish FA for making them play 4 days before the final the other year.

Why on earth would Cuellar be astounded when the league he came from made their teams do the same?
EastFootball
There really must be something in the West Cost water which causes a distinct lack of understanding.

Had Rangers' game against Dundee United been postponed, when would it have been played, bearing in mind the following dates were unavailable:

1) Saturday 17th May
2) Monday 19th May
3) Thursday 22nd May
4) Saturday 24th May

In addition, all top 6 games on the last day need to kick off at the same time on the same day. But Celtic (at least) have players who will be playing in Euro 2008 and they would have been unable to stop them from leaving to join their countries.

So, in short, Barry Ferguson needs to stop whinging and actually think for once in his life.
Colin M
A bad loser is still a loser.
Gallacticos
I wonder how many Rangers fans will never lose their anger over the fact that their captain and talisman performed abysmally in the biggest game Rangers have played in 36 years, which was right in keeping with his form throughout the most crucial part of the season.
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ Jun 2 2008, 12:37) *
I wonder how many Rangers fans will never lose their anger over the fact that their captain and talisman performed abysmally in the biggest game Rangers have played in 36 years, which was right in keeping with his form throughout the most crucial part of the season.

That is the point he is making you mongo rolleyes.gif

More rest = a sharper and better player
H_B
I heard Barry was so upset he boycotted the last 3 months of the season.
Shengus Khan
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Jun 2 2008, 13:51) *

The main point should be why Ferguson opted to take part in all these crucial games when he clearly wasn't fit. Surely a Rangers minded man like himself should've put the team before his own personal well being and sat out the last few games if his ankle is as knacked as he says.
Dunning1874

Sharper from more rest? No. If you'd said it affected his fitness you may have had a point, but the more games played, the greater the match sharpness. That's why Rangers won the Scottish Cup, they had sharpness and Queen of the South didn't as they'd had a break. Having more games actually got them a trophy in the end.

Stop bloody whinging. I hate this attitude, complaining that the SFA and SPL did nothing to help Rangers. Get your self interested heads out of your arses and realise that it's not their job to help Rangers. It's their job to run the game. Maybe Rangers could have helped themselves in having less games - they could have had their pitch playable for the East Stirling game. They could have been good enough to beat Partick, who finished 6th in the First Division, at home. They could have not had a game called off to help them prepare for the Lyon match, which they then lost 3-0 away. They could have used more fringe players; what was the point of signing the likes of Gow to never pick him?

Just accept that you lost because you weren't good enough.
Gallacticos

Well, then Ferguson has no excuses, because if he really needed a rest he could have just left himself out of his team selection wink.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jun 2 2008, 14:08) *
Sharper from more rest? No. If you'd said it affected his fitness you may have had a point, but the more games played, the greater the match sharpness. That's why Rangers won the Scottish Cup, they had sharpness and Queen of the South didn't as they'd had a break. Having more games actually got them a trophy in the end.

Stop bloody whinging. I hate this attitude, complaining that the SFA and SPL did nothing to help Rangers. Get your self interested heads out of your arses and realise that it's not their job to help Rangers. It's their job to run the game. Maybe Rangers could have helped themselves in having less games - they could have had their pitch playable for the East Stirling game. They could have been good enough to beat Partick, who finished 6th in the First Division, at home. They could have not had a game called off to help them prepare for the Lyon match, which they then lost 3-0 away. They could have used more fringe players; what was the point of signing the likes of Gow to never pick him?

Just accept that you lost because you weren't good enough.

The more games played the greater the match sharpness?! QotS lost because Rangers had played more games?!

What the fuck? If you spout that pish and believe it then you must be mental.

7 players carried niggling injuries into the UEFA Cup final, the Russians had 2 weeks off and a bounce game to prepare, that is the facts, it is no wonder they lost and the SPL didn't help at all.
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ Jun 2 2008, 15:08) *
Well, then Ferguson has no excuses, because if he really needed a rest he could have just left himself out of his team selection wink.gif

Yeah Ferguson picks the team, blah blah blah rinse and repeat until you believe it.
findis89
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Jun 2 2008, 18:32) *
The more games played the greater the match sharpness?! QotS lost because Rangers had played more games?!

What the f**k? If you spout that pish and believe it then you must be mental.

7 players carried niggling injuries into the UEFA Cup final, the Russians had 2 weeks off and a bounce game to prepare, that is the facts, it is no wonder they lost and the SPL didn't help at all.

do Rangers not have a big enough squad to cope with injuries?
The Russian league had just started and they will easily fit the games in before the end of their season.
Just how long did you want the season extended?and what about the rest of the league?
Jimmy Shaker

I think he means QoS lost because their match sharpness had gone, whereas Rangers retained theirs by carrying on playing. Which is probably true.
seamus
Why is he still going on about this,they asked for the gretna game to be cancelled and had too many replays due to them not being able to beat Partick Thistle etc.
Not everyone is like Mike McCurry dry.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Jun 2 2008, 17:44) *
I think he means QoS lost because their match sharpness had gone, whereas Rangers retained theirs by carrying on playing. Which is probably true.

QotS were never going to beat Rangers.
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (findis89 @ Jun 2 2008, 17:43) *
do Rangers not have a big enough squad to cope with injuries?
The Russian league had just started and they will easily fit the games in before the end of their season.
Just how long did you want the season extended?and what about the rest of the league?

So play the reserves in the UEFA Cup final or against Dundee United in an important league match?

7 carrying injuries into it showed, and then idiots on here criticised Ferguson and co for going for a rest and missing the pointless Scotland friendly.

I wouldn't forget that if I was Walter Smith, Ferguson and co next time they come looking for a postponement before a qualifier or players for a friendly.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Jun 2 2008, 18:54) *
or players for a friendly.

That certainly hasn't been a problem
Fizzy Gillespie
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Jun 2 2008, 18:52) *
QotS were never going to beat Rangers.

and rangers were never going to beat zenit smile.gif
HibeeJibee
Rangers wanted the Dundee Utd game off because they would hamper their league bid if they sent out reserves. What they fail to realise is that the duty of the SPL and its member clubs is not to create the best environment for Rangers to win everything: it is to act impartially to all 12 clubs.

What irony too that next season was UNANIMOUSLY agreed to start 1 week later than this one did?
Fizzy Gillespie
read in the paper today that the SPL have considered moving the start date of the season forward in future to allow for extra free midweeks in case of a pile up.

rangers and celtic of course both rejected this proposal as it would get in the way of all the daft pre-season diddy tours they go on.

reap what you sow.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Jun 2 2008, 18:44) *

Exactly. smile.gif
findis89
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Jun 2 2008, 18:54) *
So play the reserves in the UEFA Cup final or against Dundee United in an important league match?
i thought that you lot had enough players for 2 teams?Maybe if you had played your reserve team against Gretna then there might have been a free day for Rangers to use
7 carrying injuries into it showed, and then idiots on here criticised Ferguson and co for going for a rest and missing the pointless Scotland friendly.
and i hope that for the next international,there are no Rangers players called up.
I wouldn't forget that if I was Walter Smith, Ferguson and co next time they come looking for a postponement before a qualifier or players for a friendly.
and i'm sure the rules about releasing players for internationals will be used to make them release the players,or ban them from their next league game.

I must have missed the bit were Man.Utd or Chelsea were moaning about the amount of games that they played this season.
The upshot is that the more succesfull your team is ,the more games you play.If you don't want to play more games ,then don't enter the competitions

HibeeJibee
QUOTE (Mango Reinhardt @ Jun 2 2008, 19:04) *
read in the paper today that the SPL have considered moving the start date of the season forward in future to allow for extra free midweeks in case of a pile up.

Scottish season is the longest in Europe anyway (certainly of those without a winter break) from the last weekend in July/first in August to the end of May most years. That's long enough, IMO.
Waspie
I remember Ferguson saying a few months ago that he wasnt bothered about playing a load of club and international games in a short space of time as all players would rather play matches than train anyway. Must have changed his mind on that one laugh.gif .
The fact is that any team who make progress to the latter stages of European competitions are going to have a lot of games. Thats why the big English sides play weakened teams in the Carling Cup (and increasingly the FA Cup as well). Rangers did it to a limited extent this season but not often enogh. If they want to compete on all fronts then maybe Smith should look at getting a bit more strength in depth and at more squad rotation when it allows. Im sure he will be aiming at both next season.
It is of course easier just to blame everybody else.
The prurist
QUOTE (soti14 @ Jun 2 2008, 11:29) *

Poor Wee Barry laugh.gif laugh.gif
djchapsticks
The more games played the greater the match sharpness?!

Of course if you play more games you become more match sharp. Why do you think when someone is out for 6 months, they have to be slowly reintroduced into the team istead of thrown in at the deep-end, despite being fully fit?

You seem to confuse match sharp, with match fit. But then this doesn't surprise me because it's clear that you are a fucking idiot.
The prurist
QUOTE (djchapsticks @ Jun 5 2008, 06:23) *
Of course if you play more games you become more match sharp. Why do you think when someone is out for 6 months, they have to be slowly reintroduced into the team istead of thrown in at the deep-end, despite being fully fit?

You seem to confuse match sharp, with match fit. But then this doesn't surprise me because it's clear that you are a fucking idiot.

you are totally right he is a (WHAT U SAID) laugh.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.