Full Version: The Sectarian Origin Of The Dundee Derry Boys
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > P&B Gold
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41
BryanFiFife
I also think it is wrong for someone to say they are part of a religion and then pruposely defy the religion, That is basically mocking the religion and i would hate if i was a catholic and my friend was a catholic and he blatently went out and had sex before marriage, Hence my reason for hating the catholic religion and all the rules and pressure it puts upon people.

Being a Protestant allows for me to protest my own beleiefs without being tied down to rules and regulations, Hence the reason i decided to follow my religion for the rest of my life.
H_B
QUOTE (BryanFiFife @ Jul 8 2008, 14:03) *
If you choose to be a part of a religion then it is your sole duty to abide by the rules of that religion.

So as a practising Protestant, you follow the bible and all of its teachings?
BryanFiFife
No, i have never read the bible, My understanding of Protestantism is having the right to protest your own opions and beleifs whilst at the same time having the right to be free from any rules or regulations as i previously stated....
H_B
QUOTE (BryanFiFife @ Jul 8 2008, 14:46) *
No, i have never read the bible, My understanding of Protestantism is having the right to protest your own opions and beleifs whilst at the same time having the right to be free from any rules or regulations as i previously stated....

Uh huh.

And is this a branch of Protestantism which you, and you alone, worship, or are there other members of your "church"?
Johnstoun

That's pretty damn far from protestantism.
BryanFiFife
Like i said previously everyone is entitled to there own beleifs, I personally am not going to beleive in a book that reads and i quote
On the first day god created heaven and earth
and then goes on to say
God then said let there be light and there was
so according to this book of warped fiction, this 'God' created Heaven and Earth in the darkness.... WHAT A GENIUS!
H_B
Question is, is the brain behind this alias the same person as "The Hun" or a new gunslinger?

I'm going for the former, bored with his last creation.
BryanFiFife
Some of you may not consider me a Protestant because i dont beleive in the Bible, So call me an Orangeman, Some of you might not consider me an Orangeman, So call me an Athiest, My point being i dont really care what you beleive me to be, What i consider myself as, is what matters to me and what i beleive in, is what matters to me.
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (BryanFiFife @ Jul 8 2008, 15:45) *
Some of you may not consider me a Protestant because i dont beleive in the Bible, So call me an Orangeman, Some of you might not consider me an Orangeman, So call me an Athiest, My point being i dont really care what you beleive me to be, What i consider myself as, is what matters to me and what i beleive in, is what matters to me.

This a joke right ? laugh.gif
Johnstoun
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Jul 8 2008, 15:58) *
This a joke right ? laugh.gif

Now now, the boy is living in bliss, let him be.
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (Johnstoun @ Jul 8 2008, 16:12) *
Now now, the boy is living in bliss, let him be.

haha ! laugh.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (BryanFiFife @ Jul 8 2008, 14:52) *
Like i said previously everyone is entitled to there own beleifs, I personally am not going to beleive in a book that reads and i quote and then goes on to say so according to this book of warped fiction, this 'God' created Heaven and Earth in the darkness.... WHAT A GENIUS!

The Ricky Gervais gig on c4 last night was good, eh?
vikingTON
QUOTE (BryanFiFife @ Jul 8 2008, 14:10) *
I also think it is wrong for someone to say they are part of a religion and then pruposely defy the religion, That is basically mocking the religion and i would hate if i was a catholic and my friend was a catholic and he blatently went out and had sex before marriage, Hence my reason for hating the catholic religion and all the rules and pressure it puts upon people.

Being a Protestant allows for me to protest my own beleiefs without being tied down to rules and regulations, Hence the reason i decided to follow my religion for the rest of my life.

Well that would depend on whether said Catholic believed in papal infallibility or a long-awaited liberal Pope was elected.

So you follow a Christian denominational religion without having ever read the Bible.
Protestantism is basically an anti-Papist (although in fairness more liberal) sect of the Christian Churches.
It is an organised religion as much as the Catholic Chruch is and various subgroups are facing the same authoritarian problems as the Catholic Church you so much detest.
It is also not a get together for agnostics or atheists.

I pity genuine members of the Protestant faith for whwom you appear to be a spokesperson: really, you have no idea WTF you're slevvering about, which does not suprise me, coming as it does from a filthy Hun.
The Pole
MMMMM ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Who cares?? Religion was manufactured eons ago by the intelligent to keep control of the ineducated easily led masses!!! Think about it, laugh.gif oh and HELLO HELLO WE ARE THE DUNDEE BOYS..........
Fife Saint
Can i apologise on behalf of the Kingdom for the ill-advised views of Bryan. I'm sure we can all appreciate Bryan and his special views and take heart that he is an example of the reason why we don't support the OF. Again, sorry.
kristov
QUOTE (The Pole @ Jul 8 2008, 21:07) *
MMMMM ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Who cares?? Religion was manufactured eons ago by the intelligent to keep control of the ineducated easily led masses!!! Think about it, laugh.gif oh and HELLO HELLO WE ARE THE DUNDEE BOYS..........

You know, I was just thinking how ironic it was that a thread started by a non Dundee fan to bemoan Dundee's sectarian past decends into a debate about religion by...non Dundee fans. It seems that keeping religion in football is only of interest to certain non Dundee fans which is why the subject is broached every so often by the same old culprits!

Scotland's shame indeed.

biggrin.gif
The Pole
rolleyes.gif Yeah,spot on,thought this was a footy forum,leave this pish to the old firm........

vikingTON
QUOTE (The Pole @ Jul 8 2008, 21:42) *
rolleyes.gif Yeah,spot on,thought this was a footy forum,leave this pish to the old firm........

If only Dundee would...
The Pole
rolleyes.gif Eh? Away and find your other shoe you wanna be weegie,u dirty soap dodgin' west coast tink....... laugh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (The Pole @ Jul 8 2008, 21:54) *
rolleyes.gif Eh? Away and find your other shoe you wanna be weegie,u dirty soap dodgin' west coast tink....... laugh.gif

You think irony is used on your Hi-Tec polo shirts, don't you?
The Pole
I'm perfectly aware of the definition of irony my man,I wouldn't want to get in to an intellectual debate with you, as I wouldn't want to leave you in a perpetual state of confusion before you retire for the night..... laugh.gif you found that shoe yet......? ....................How about now?
vikingTON
QUOTE (The Pole @ Jul 8 2008, 22:06) *
I'm perfectly aware of the definition of irony my man,I wouldn't want to get in to an intellectual debate with you, as I wouldn't want to leave you in a perpetual state of confusion before you retire for the night..... laugh.gif you found that shoe yet......? ....................How about now?

As we don't live in mud dwellings, there is no necessary urge for shoes in the home.
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 8 2008, 17:50) *
Well that would depend on whether said Catholic believed in papal infallibility or a long-awaited liberal Pope was elected.

So you follow a Christian denominational religion without having ever read the Bible.
Protestantism is basically an anti-Papist (although in fairness more liberal) sect of the Christian Churches.
It is an organised religion as much as the Catholic Chruch is and various subgroups are facing the same authoritarian problems as the Catholic Church you so much detest.
It is also not a get together for agnostics or atheists.

I pity genuine members of the Protestant faith for whwom you appear to be a spokesperson: really, you have no idea WTF you're slevvering about, which does not suprise me, coming as it does from a filthy Hun.

Excellently handled vikingTON. I was thinking exactly the same, but I couldn't have put it better myself. wink.gif
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 8 2008, 22:10) *
As we don't live in mud dwellings, there is no necessary urge for shoes in the home.

laugh.gif top tinky excuse for not having shoes, never heard it before but brilliant! laugh.gif
can you tell me why your trackies are tucked into your socks?

Deesign For Life

are there not "rules" for all religions like :- thou shall not steal, or love thy neighbour?
as far as i am aware that all divisions of christianity practice these so called regulations.
you can't say you are a protestant christian and then say you are an athiest they are complete opposites, but judging from your location and the team you follow i understand your confusion.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 9 2008, 13:22) *
laugh.gif top tinky excuse for not having shoes, never heard it before but brilliant! laugh.gif
can you tell me why your trackies are tucked into your socks?

Trackies are for the proles.
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 9 2008, 13:50) *
Trackies are for the proles.

the what?
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 9 2008, 13:52) *
the what?

You.
Miles Brookeson
the what?

you truly are thicker than your ma's make-up. rolleyes.gif

Away back to your sectarian hatred.
vikingTON
the what?

The Pole
rolleyes.gif Found your other shoe yet???,you port glasgow/greenock tink!!!! laugh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (The Pole @ Jul 9 2008, 18:35) *
rolleyes.gif Found your other shoe yet???,you port glasgow/greenock tink!!!! laugh.gif

Is that like Schleswig-Holstein or Austria-Hungary?
The Pole
rolleyes.gif It's like one shoe owning,trackie wearing,bucky drinking central........
vikingTON
QUOTE (The Pole @ Jul 9 2008, 19:54) *
rolleyes.gif It's like one shoe owning,trackie wearing,bucky drinking central........

Statistically speaking, that's North Lanarkshire.
I don't live in North Lanarkshire.
The Pole
rolleyes.gif touche' laugh.gif laugh.gif
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Jul 9 2008, 17:19) *
you truly are thicker than your ma's make-up. rolleyes.gif

Away back to your sectarian hatred.

so let me get it straight i am sectarian but i do not know what proles means!! who is the bigot?
Nizzy
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 17 2008, 19:47) *
so let me get it straight i am sectarian but i do not know what proles means!! who is the bigot?

WTF?!

That is an astounding piece of stupidity!
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 17 2008, 19:49) *
WTF?!

That is an astounding piece of stupidity!

laugh.gif *slaps forehead at nizzy's amazing dive*laugh.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 17 2008, 19:52) *
laugh.gif *slaps forehead at nizzy's amazing dive*laugh.gif

Aye, right. rolleyes.gif

Who would deliberately make themselves look that stupid?
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 17 2008, 19:54) *
Aye, right. rolleyes.gif

Who would deliberatley make themselves look that stupid?

you? you just did! laugh.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 17 2008, 19:57) *
you? you just did! laugh.gif

uh-huh. rolleyes.gif
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 17 2008, 19:59) *
uh-huh. rolleyes.gif

you're still going...
vikingTON
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 17 2008, 20:01) *
you're still going...

*sweep sweep*

I'm still pointing and laughing at your "bait".
What a fud. laugh.gif
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 17 2008, 20:04) *
*sweep sweep*

I'm still pointing and laughing at your "bait".
What a fud. laugh.gif

i'm still pointing and laughing at you original statement!
vikingTON
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 17 2008, 20:07) *
i'm still pointing and laughing at you original statement!

Which would be?
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 17 2008, 20:11) *
Which would be?

a man from greenock saying only "the proles" wear trackies. now i am not too clued up on the weegie insults these days (so i may be wrong) but am pretty sure georgie boy will be so proud to know the ton buckie brigade can look down their noses at what they call lesser beings!! a classic.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 17 2008, 21:48) *
a man from greenock saying only "the proles" wear trackies. now i am not too clued up on the weegie insults these days (so i may be wrong) but am pretty sure georgie boy will be so proud to know the ton buckie brigade can look down their noses at what they call lesser beings!! a classic.

Buckie?
Strongbow you tink!
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 17 2008, 22:00) *
Buckie?
Strongbow you tink!

strongbow? you robbin' gypo.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Jul 17 2008, 22:02) *
strongbow? you robbin' gypo.

At £2.83 a bottle its not worth thievery.
KTID05AND4EVER
QUOTE (dundeebarry @ May 29 2008, 02:55) *
A well researched and no doubt time consuming start to a thread Hebridean. Good post.

I haven't contributed to recent Dundee=sectarian? threads because I've seen it too many times before - same arguements from either side of the debate, same points being made, same lack of any real conclusin. I said my piece a while back and don't see any point in continuously repeating myself. But don't mistake the "bored of this debate" stance as a sign of acceptance of the accusation of being a bigot.

I don't blame you for raising the issue, you make a lot of valid points in threads of this nature.

I'm not sure if you are missing the point on the attitude and opinion on why the South Enclosure at Dens is called The Derry. You and a few others have laughed at Dundee fans explaining why The Derry took on it's name. I strongly believe that DFC fans talking about the dairy, D.R.E, and graffitti on the walls, are in no way making up excuses that avoid sectarian meaning. The truth is that there really is some doubt and debate in Dundee about why it's called The Derry. That's reflected on this forum.

I'm aware of Dundee's past. I know there was a Rangerseque vibe to Dundee's support in the 70's/early 80's. My opinion is that The Derry takes its name from the politics and dumb-ass bigotry of those times. Sad but probably true.

But the other arguements are common. They aren't made up to deflect anything. There is popular opinion among the Dundee support for all of them.

Having been a regular at Dens for 25 of my 30 years I can honestly say that the sectarian meaning behind The Derry/South Enclosure has evaporated. When we sing of being the Dundee Derry Boys it relates purely to being part of the "singing support" who congregate in a stand we call The Derry. It is in no way whatsoever a cry of support or reverence to any political movement or standpoint. It's origins may be highly suspect, but the name has lost all of it's initial connotations. It's just a manky old shed-end football stand that happens to be called The Derry.

I believe I speak for 95% of Dundee fans when I say we have no sectarian or bigoted ideals. Every support in the country has a 5% portion of idiots, it's something every good supporter must suffer. Regardless of the colours they wear, there are idiots everywhere. Such is society. It's not reserved for the west coast. Racists and bigots exist throughout the country.

I don't doubt that you will continue to berate us for what you believe to be bigotry, Hebridean. I don't doubt that this topic will be raised at regular intervals in the future. But believe me when I say that we're not sectarian mini-Huns.

So, what are you looking to achieve from the continuing debate?

An acceptance that our support suffered from a sectarian element in the past? You have that. Insight gave it to you, and whoever you quoted in your post did.

Do you want every Dundee poster on here to "confess"? Not going to happen, not least because there is genuine alternative opinion on The Derry's origins.

Will you continue to accuse us of being bigots even now when the sectarianism has phased out for 20 odd years? I can see your point, I really can, but I think you know (deeeep down!) that Dundee are not maintaining any sectarian agenda.

Peace.

That is a quite fantastic post.