Full Version: What's People Doing For The Final ?
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
Pages: 1, 2
DomDom
Well, I see this game as a big deal, so I'm actually gonna head to Ibrox to watch on the big screens.

What's everyone else doing ? Watching with mates and having a few ? Heading to Manchester ? Pub ?
H Wragg
QUOTE (DomDom @ May 11 2008, 19:11) *
Well, I see this game as a big deal, so I'm actually gonna head to Ibrox to watch on the big screens.

What's everyone else doing ? Watching with mates and having a few ? Heading to Manchester ? Pub ?

Are you another one of these ones with the wrong club selected on your profile?
DomDom
Nope, but I'm expecting it to be great fun, and should be miles better than sitting in the house or at the pub. The free buses from Buchanan Street to Ibrox sort of helped me make the decision, because I couldn't really be arsed getting the subway going both ways.
MattBairn
QUOTE (DomDom @ May 11 2008, 19:30) *
Nope, but I'm expecting it to be great fun, and should be miles better than sitting in the house or at the pub. The free buses from Buchanan Street to Ibrox sort of helped me make the decision, because I couldn't really be arsed getting the subway going both ways.

I cant think of a worse evening than being stuck amongst those neanderthals at Ibrox, but hey... knock your self out.

Whatever floats your boat.
H Wragg
QUOTE (DomDom @ May 11 2008, 19:30) *

Are you actually being serious here, or have I been mega whooshed?
DomDom
QUOTE (H Wragg @ May 11 2008, 19:55) *
Are you actually being serious here, or have I been mega whooshed?

I'm being deadly serious.

I'm not sure that I get what's so wrong with this. It's going to be a great night out which is the point of the whole exercise. Easy enough to get to and get back from. I'll also be heading up with a few Rangers supporters who are not "neanderthals". Should be a good night.
Coup
Since my mate has been a complete dick about this..."i'll drive"..."no i wont drive"..."i'll drive"..."I wont drive" so by the time he finally decided he wasn't driving all buses trains etc had all gone and with flights being £250 it was a case of not going. Going to Prague in a few weeks for the Scotland game so can't afford a lot of money of something i could watch on a big screen at Ibrox.

If i get a ticket then i'll find a way of going down, money wont be an object then but looks like Ibrox for me unless David Taylor comes through for me with a wee ticket cool.gif
Szamo's_Ammo
^^Pretty much the essence of being a gloryhunter. I'd take more enjoyment watching United play Forfar in a preseason friendly than sitting among that scum.

I'll probably sleep like I have done through most of Rangers UEFA Cup matches.
JT1886
Working as a favour to my workmate that wants to go to Manchester for a party , mind you its going to cost him a curry for my troubles, heres hoping he can return the favour when Motherwell play in the European games soon whistling.gif
H Wragg
QUOTE (DomDom @ May 11 2008, 20:00) *
I'm being deadly serious.

I'm not sure that I get what's so wrong with this. It's going to be a great night out which is the point of the whole exercise.

Fair play to you but it's one bizarre "great night out" for a Morton fan IMO.

Anyways, seeing as you asked a question, I'll answer it.

I'm working until approx 7.15 then I'm either heading to my mate's to watch it or I'm going home to watch the game in the house.

Definitely NOT going to Ibrox. tongue.gif
DomDom
Fair play to you but it's one bizarre "great night out" for a Morton fan IMO.

Scottish sides don't get into Euro finals a lot, so I feel that I might as well make the most of it. I'm pretty chuffed for the side. I see people on here talking about the supporters, but I've been there once before and didn't have a bad experience at all, but granted, I was a lot younger back then.
Monkey
I'll be watching "the bill" wink.gif
stuart.
I am away on a course with work and will be too busy to watch it. The place is pretty remote too so there will be no access to newspapers or telly all week - perfect smile.gif
uberman
I will probably have an early night due to boredom.
doulikefish
amy macdonald concert in embra
wasnae going to go but rangers getting in the final swung it amys way!!
findis89
working for a Rangers fan who is making his way to Manchester.
It gets me the weekend of and a major amount of cash so win win for me
seamus
Im working late in Bridgeton dry.gif
I will be finished for 8 me thinks.
The stench of rolls on cold meat will be in the air.
Cowdenjimmy
I'm nightshift! Will see the 1st half before i head to work.
SteveCity
Probably watch it with the family.. never in a million years did i think i'd be cheering wee dick and fernando on to glory.. but thats exactly what i'll be doing on wednesday
Clachan Blue
I will be in the City of Manchester Stadium watching this one. Got a ticket as I am in the Travel Club. Heading down to Blackpool on my Supporters Bus tomorrow and staying there before heading over to Manchester on Wednesday morning. I am officially very excited. I am at work today, but my mind is most definitely on holiday already.
Shengus Khan
I'll miss the first half as i'm golfing although i'll be willing Zenit on from the course. Like the Sellick man above I can't believe i'll be rooting for wee Dick and 'Nando. Hopefully Ricksen will still be a man possessed and flying into ridiculously dangerous challenges.
LoyalNblue
I gave my ticket away, which i got through work, my bro goes to alot more games than i do, home and away, as i work alot of weekends. So i gave him the ticket, he owes me big time! So i will be watching it in the pub!
THE HUNTER GATHERER
Blackppol bound the mora, then heading to Manchestaa on wedensday early doors, probs to Albert Sq fir the game. Does anyone know if yi will be allowed drink at the big screens?
Bloobell
QUOTE (THE HUNTER GATHERER @ May 12 2008, 12:18) *
Blackppol bound the mora, then heading to Manchestaa on wedensday early doors, probs to Albert Sq fir the game. Does anyone know if yi will be allowed drink at the big screens?

The Police have said they'll allow drinking in the squares but have asked fans not to walk around the city with bevvy opened - seems reasonable to me and as long as we comply they'll leave us alone and let the bars stay open later too

Effectively they're saying they'll treat us as we treat their city
CALEDONIAN108
QUOTE (Bloobell @ May 12 2008, 12:28) *
The Police have said they'll allow drinking in the squares but have asked fans not to walk around the city with bevvy opened - seems reasonable to me and as long as we comply they'll leave us alone and let the bars stay open later too

Effectively they're saying they'll treat us as we treat their city

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Oh dear!!!! Very much doubt you'll be treated well then

Streets awash with urine,sectarian songs filling the air and mindless acts of violence everywhere

Just hope the Manchester Police are ready
Makoliunas
I wouldn't even go out of my house to watch that shower of inbred minks. If it's on terrestrial TV, I might watch it. Maybe.
Gallacticos
I'll be working, unfortunately. Should catch the last 15 minutes or so (as well as the extra-time and penalties Rangers were playing for tongue.gif ) but I can't honestly say I'll be rushing home to watch it.
EastFootball
I'll be watching Hull v Watford.
Gallacticos
Also, lol on the topic title.

"What's People doing for the final?"

I imagine most of them will be in Manchester wink.gif
Cowden til i die
I will be working thank god. Would never go out to watch the game anyway, the pubs will be full of morons who will be guttered and irritating as f**k.

As someone said, id much rather be watching the Hull game
VanderDalgarno
I want an evening of quality entertainment....

..So I'm going to the cinema to see Iron Man
Gallacticos
QUOTE (VanderDalgarno @ May 12 2008, 23:19) *
I want an evening of quality entertainment....

..So I'm going to the cinema to see Iron Man

It's the fucking bees knees biggrin.gif
deegee
I have a work meeting down south on Thursday and I think I am having a Chinese meal and a few beers in Milton Keynes on Wednesday evening. I might read the 2 sentence match report in the English papers on Thursday.
sev
I'm going to Banbury for a meeting Wednesday. No doubt i'll get caught in the traffic on the way back huh.gif
LoyalNblue
QUOTE (sev @ May 13 2008, 02:18) *
I'm going to Banbury for a meeting Wednesday. No doubt i'll get caught in the traffic on the way back huh.gif

I got caught in traffic on the M6 when you lot were coming back from Seville, i take it alot flew from Manchester, you'd have thought they'd won it! There must have been 10 million cars flying celtic scarfs out of the car windows and sunroof's with big hats sticking out the top! ;-)
BOD Red
I will be watching Only Fools and Horses on UK Gold.
I might flick it over at 10 o clock for the penalties.
Seanaldinho
QUOTE (MattBairn @ May 11 2008, 19:50) *
I cant think of a worse evening than being stuck amongst those neanderthals at Ibrox, but hey... knock your self out.

Whatever floats your boat.

Jeezo, you post more about disliking Rangers than you post about Falkirk. ohmy.gif

I'll be going to Ibrox to watch it on the big screen - I'd have loved to go to Manchester but I've got an exam the next day sad.gif . If I had a ticket I'd be doing the resit laugh.gif .
MattBairn
QUOTE (Seanaldinho @ May 13 2008, 16:10) *
Jeezo, you post more about disliking Rangers than you post about Falkirk. ohmy.gif

Sure I do.
Nana Moon
QUOTE (DomDom @ May 11 2008, 19:11) *

I've just read through this whole thread hoping to see a post from you saying that you were on the wind-up.

You've really disappointed me. mad.gif

Don't forget your Union Jack and I hope you know the words to Rule Britania ya fanny.
BTW dont bother coming back to Cappielow ya Glory Hunter.

PS I've just seen two huns filling up at the BP Station in Shawlands with a Union Jack on the roof of their car- both tools wearing ENGLAND tops.

Aye lets all support the Scottish team????? mad.gif
Kilbirnie Blastie
Kilbirnie Loch fishing for me,might tune in to the radio on the phone if the fishing isnae hot.Not caught up in any hype at all about this game.
Rick of the South
Lots of Rangers fans been getting settled in Altrincham (on the edge of Manc) since lunch time today, I was met with this sight while walking home
Click to view attachment

City have had all their furniture temporarily replaced for the final. One company spent 4 days emptying the place and will spend another 4 days moving it all back in straight after the final. Same thing happened at Old Trafford for the European Cup final a few years ago, must be some bizzarre UEFA rule...

The local news has been all about the final today, lots of facts and figures about beer, toilets and street cleaners
DomDom
Don't forget your Union Jack and I hope you know the words to Rule Britania ya fanny.
BTW dont bother coming back to Cappielow ya Glory Hunter

I love over-reactions.
kilbowie2002
Ill probably just ignore the first 120 minutes then tune in for the penalty shoot out.
Archie
Not sure if I`ll watch or not , it`s not a priority, but it`s a game on the telly so I might . I`ll probably watch the highlights of the rangers "fans" wrecking Manchester city centre on the news on thursday morning .
IainMorton
QUOTE (Nana Moon @ May 13 2008, 17:45) *
I've just read through this whole thread hoping to see a post from you saying that you were on the wind-up.

You've really disappointed me. mad.gif

BTW dont bother coming back to Cappielow ya Glory Hunter.

PS I've just seen two huns filling up at the BP Station in Shawlands with a Union Jack on the roof of their car- both tools wearing ENGLAND tops.

Aye lets all support the Scottish team????? mad.gif

What's wrong with what he was doing?

FYI, I was brought up a Rangers fan and didn't start supporting Morton till I was 13. I have been a season ticket holder at Cappielow for the past 3 seasons, yet still go and see Rangers when I can and will be at Ibrox tomorrow night. Does that mean I should be banned from Cappielow (and if Morton were to play Rangers, I'd be in the Morton end)? People are allowed to support more than one team, should ThornTON be banned from Cappielow as he goes to watch Aston Villa, or MidTons with Sheffield United?
keyser_soze
Playing golf biggrin.gif
seamus
I have never watched a game concerning the huns in the pub in the Uefa Cup and they have won them all.

So Im going up the pub.
Szamo's_Ammo
Just remembered the Apprentice is on at 9. Unmissable after last week. cool.gif
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ May 13 2008, 20:48) *
Just remembered the Apprentice is on at 9. Unmissable after last week. cool.gif

Aye,but the Apprentice Boys are on between 7 and 10ish.Add in the cookery programme "The Butcher's Apron" starring Gordon "I could've been a player" Ramsey and Only Huns On Horses Starring Del Boy Murray and King Boycie and a quality evening's TV is in order.

The Bill will be on Later than normal with a live edition from Manchester as will Corrie with Betty stewed off with 10,000 hungry huns wanting a piece of her "hotpot" after drinking all day.

It's not IDEAL viewing but plenty Johnny Vegas types will be on the box re-enacting Men Behaving Badly.
arab_joe
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ May 11 2008, 20:12) *
^^Pretty much the essence of being a gloryhunter. I'd take more enjoyment watching United play Forfar in a preseason friendly than sitting among that scum.

I have quite enjoyed Forfar pre-season games in the past- being that close to the pitch is quite unreal.

Watching it in The Three Sisters in Edinburgh. It is probably going to be horrible, unless lots of Hibe and Hearts fans are about...