Full Version: Players Who Signed For Clubs But Never Actually Played For Them
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Infowire
Pages: 1, 2
Rinky Sidebottom
In the last 30 years I can only think of Clive Allan who signed for Arsenal in the summer of 1980 and never played a game for them before moving to Crystal Palace two months later.
Dundee Par
Did Prodan play for Rangers at all?

Noel Whelan lasted 4 minutes on his debut for us before getting injured and never being seen again.
CK
Ryan Wilkie.
gav-ffc
Derek Riordan and Roman Wallner
Strathman
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ May 9 2008, 20:18) *
In the last 30 years I can only think of Clive Allan who signed for Arsenal in the summer of 1980 and never played a game for them before moving to Crystal Palace two months later.

Pretty sure Clive Allan played for Arsenal at Pittodrie. Quiz question I think.
Frank Booth
Graham Sinclair signed for Saints from Sellick but never played for us.
gogsy
Walter Rojas and Charlie George for Dundee United
badgers apprentice
the jakey
Tam_O_Shanter
Steve Cooper
Juan Sara
We have signed a few players who never actually played for us ...Francious Doubordoe, John Boggan a few others
Frank Booth
QUOTE (gogsy @ May 9 2008, 21:50) *
Walter Rojas and Charlie George for Dundee United

The Arsenal Charlie George?
LovaMan Bairn
Denzil Theobald sad.gif
Brian Reid = God
Did Andy Cargill ever play for Ayr?
Fuctifano
I don't think Gordon Lennon ever played a competitive game for us after signing last year.
cmontheloknow
Probably the most famous SPL player from recent years in such a position is Paul Ritchie who joined Rangers from Bolton, didn't kick a ball, and was moved on to Man City.

Aberdeen signed Mixu's brothers from Finland, neither played for the Dons at 1st team level. Another great Calderwood moment was bringing in Sven Bass from Volendaam, punted to Eindhoven pronto without an appearance.

gogsy
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ May 9 2008, 23:14) *
The Arsenal Charlie George?

Yes.
Ya Bezzer!
Motherwell's entry here must be Holm Kraska.

The big German didn't even last a season and was sent home, with a substantial cheque for his paid up contract, back to Deutschland without ever making a first team appearance.

I'm told his reserve team performances were 'absolutely howling'.
Beyemystic
Paul and Willie McStay's brother Ray only made it as far as the sub's bench before moving to Hamilton after several years.

Famously, Stephane Bonnes signed from Mulhouse and didn't break into the side.

Gary Holt and Justin Whittle were bought out of the army on the recommendation of Paddy Crerand, but followed Macari to Stoke before getting a chance.
seamus
Mike McCurry for the huns.
seamus
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ May 10 2008, 14:37) *
Paul and Willie McStay's brother Ray only made it as far as the sub's bench before moving to Hamilton after several years.

Famously, Stephane Bonnes signed from Mulhouse and didn't break into the side.

Gary Holt and Justin Whittle were bought out of the army on the recommendation of Paddy Crerand, but followed Macari to Stoke before getting a chance.

Im not sure if Holt and Whittle signed I know they played in a testimonial for Celtic but so did Christian Dailly.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (seamus @ May 10 2008, 14:41) *
Im not sure if Holt and Whittle signed I know they played in a testimonial for Celtic but so did Christian Dailly.

The Rothmans 1995-96 has previous club as Celtic for both players. Further checking of the Football League Players' Records 1946-2005 suggests Holt signed for Stoke in October 1994 from Celtic where he was on non-contract terms. The same source has Whittle signing from Celtic in October 1994, where he was a contracted player as opposed to non-contract.

Another one never to play for a team was Etienne Verveer, signed by Aberdeen from Millwall in 1995.

Jimmy MCcabe
Craig Brown signed for Stranraer but a recurrence of an injury meant doctors told him he would not be able to continue, so he retired without ever playing for us.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (seamus @ May 10 2008, 14:41) *

as did Chic Charnley

BTW, how the fuck does he qualify to play for the Sellick Masters side?
allym1877
Did Frank McGarvey play for Liverpool between signing from St Mirren and going to Celtic?
craigkillie
Neil McFarlane joined us from Queens Park a good few years ago and never played a single game.
EastFootball
QUOTE (Dundee Par @ May 9 2008, 20:20) *
Noel Whelan lasted 4 minutes on his debut for us before getting injured and never being seen again.

He's appearing on Celebrity Masterchef this year laugh.gif
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (allym1877 @ May 11 2008, 00:26) *
Did Frank McGarvey play for Liverpool between signing from St Mirren and going to Celtic?

No appearances in any competitive game, but Liverpool had some side in 1979-80.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ May 10 2008, 23:38) *
as did Chic Charnley

BTW, how the f**k does he qualify to play for the Sellick Masters side?

Charnley has no right to play for Celtic in the Masters comp - as you say he played a friendly in Celtic colours and also supports them - but that's it!
RedWeb
Dietmar Hamman. Signed for Bolton and then changed his mind and signed for Man City. Not sure if he even took part in a Bolton training session.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (RedWeb @ May 11 2008, 12:53) *
Dietmar Hamman. Signed for Bolton and then changed his mind and signed for Man City. Not sure if he even took part in a Bolton training session.

Martin McGarvey did that twice to Pollok. He was one of six players signed from Arthurlie in June 2006, but he changed his mind before we could register him at Hampden. He then signed for us in February 2008 from Beith, played a single competitive game and then asked to be transferred back to Beith. We got our money back. Excellent player, dubious loyalty.
Loki
Danny Griffin was signed by County in January and did his achilles heel in his first training session.
seamus
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ May 10 2008, 14:52) *
The Rothmans 1995-96 has previous club as Celtic for both players. Further checking of the Football League Players' Records 1946-2005 suggests Holt signed for Stoke in October 1994 from Celtic where he was on non-contract terms. The same source has Whittle signing from Celtic in October 1994, where he was a contracted player as opposed to non-contract.

Another one never to play for a team was Etienne Verveer, signed by Aberdeen from Millwall in 1995.

Aye?
Theryar, as Frank Booth says what about Chic Charnley I thought they were trialists.
Ranaldo Bairn
David Shanks for Falkirk some time ago.

To/from Clyde? Clydebank? Can't remember.
Cowden til i die
Im sure someone can confirm this but i dont think John Cusack played for Cowden, he was with u in 2005/2006. I recall him being in the bench twice but thats it
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ May 12 2008, 16:14) *
Im sure someone can confirm this but i dont think John Cusack played for Cowden, he was with u in 2005/2006. I recall him being in the bench twice but thats it

No league games anyway, don't have cup apps to hand.
Cowden til i die
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ May 12 2008, 16:34) *
No league games anyway, don't have cup apps to hand.

From what i can see he didnt play in any of our cup games either
The Minertaur
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ May 12 2008, 16:39) *
From what i can see he didnt play in any of our cup games either

Nah he didnt play once for us in any competitions.

Still managed to get in the team photo at the end of the season laugh.gif
Dundee Par
I don't think Jamie Langfield ever played for us.
TAFKAC
If we're talking competitive games. Sergio Berti never played for Livi. I'm presuming we are meaning signings rather than youth team products and trialists as well. Prodan for the Gers was the obvious one. There have been some others who have come bloody close as well. Simone Del Nero at Livi, but can't think of any others off the top of my head for Livi at least.
vlad is the man
Rais M'Bohli - One of the eleven players isgned in THAT January transfer window. Left after refusing to go on loan at Kaunas.

Levekivicus - Can't remember his first name and cannot spell his second but was signed on loan for Kaunas. never played.
S. Carter
Andriy Shevchenko may have made appearances for Chelsea, but he has never actually played tongue.gif
EKACCIES
Ian Harty played one pre-season friendly.

Accies signed John Nelson from Morton in mid seventies , when he was recovering from a broken leg, but he retired without playing again.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (EKACCIES @ May 12 2008, 18:53) *
Accies signed John Nelson from Morton in mid seventies , when he was recovering from a broken leg, but he retired without playing again.

John Litster's records say Nelson played 8 league games for Accies?
CK
Gordon Parks (2nd spell), Paul Hilland and Steven Jack haven't played for Clyde either after being signed.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (CK @ May 12 2008, 19:15) *
Gordon Parks (2nd spell), Paul Hilland and Steven Jack haven't played for Clyde either after being signed.

Which of the Steven Jacks?
Enigma
did Jules Tschimbilaka ever play a competative game for us!?
Steven
QUOTE (CK @ May 12 2008, 19:15) *

He was rotten, you didn't miss much laugh.gif
LoonsYouthTeam
We signed Stuart Sorbie from Brechin who then asked to be released due to work commitments, don't get those problems at the big clubs.

Jim Butter also sat on the bench a few times this year but didn't play.

I'm sure every club has hundreds of players who signed bu never played for various reasons.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (Enigma @ May 12 2008, 23:27) *
did Jules Tschimbilaka ever play a competative game for us!?

Nope - Anelka certainly signed a few duds in his brief spell there!
SimplyTON
David Unsworth?
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.