Full Version: The Famine Is Over, Why Don't You Go Home?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 09:58) *
A terrorist that organised bombing, assassinations and murder of British people was given the Nobel prize, wait for it, for peace wink.gif

I know. The Nobel prize is a very flawed expression of anything.

Didn't Adams,Paisley and McGuinness get a gong from these idiots?
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 19 2008, 10:00) *

Which historical battle/war are linking the Famine Song to today? What about the Falklands or we could go all sc-fi and discuss how Luke Skywalker and the Rebel Alliance were in fact no more than terrorists. Any takers? huh.gif
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 19 2008, 10:21) *
Which historical battle/war are linking the Famine Song to today? What about the Falklands or we could go all sc-fi and discuss how Luke Skywalker and the Rebel Alliance were in fact no more than terrorists. Any takers? huh.gif

I'm sorry. My Interpreter of the Stupid is on a tea break.
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 19 2008, 10:26) *

This is amusing for a myriad of reasons laugh.gif .
fatman76

Dont be sorry. It's not your fault you were born a pompous twat, I forgive you.
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 19 2008, 10:48) *
Dont be sorry. It's not your fault you were born a pompous twat, I forgive you.

Thanks.
No8.

Hawhaw is taking his time with your Tea!! tongue.gif
Millfield Marksman

Hadn't noticed fulsome praise for Ian Paisley coming from any quarters? How odd.
fatman76
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Sep 19 2008, 11:15) *
Hadn't noticed fulsome praise for Ian Paisley coming from any quarters? How odd.

I see you have brought your big stirring spoon again!
No8.

Nope. Trimble the traitor and Hume the doormat got the recognition for others hard work. You will notice neither have any active role these days!!
LordHawHaw

QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Sep 19 2008, 11:15) *

Where would you expect it to come from?

Ian Paisley got the Nobel peace prize wth Adams and McGuniness? huh.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 12:56) *

Ian Paisley supporters, perhaps?

Ian Paisley got the Nobel peace prize wth Adams and McGuniness? huh.gif

Apparently not
JUMPURS
Well fuckit, after all their singing i'm on the next Ryanair to Dublin.

Who's with me lads??
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 19 2008, 13:01) *
Well fuckit, after all their singing i'm on the next Ryanair to Dublin.

Who's with me lads??

I want my own room
H_B
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 19 2008, 12:50) *
Nope. Trimble the traitor and Hume the doormat got the recognition for others hard work. You will notice neither have any active role these days!!

Ah, apologies. I thought for some bizarre reason it was Paisley and co.

So, any more terrorists received a Noble prize? Bound to have been a few.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 13:03) *
I want my own room

You gonna turn on the lights and put diesel in u-boats again?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 19 2008, 13:07) *
You gonna turn on the lights and put diesel in u-boats again?

biggrin.gif hey I'm on the tools you know, I'd be driving "da der ship"
Davie Bhoy
Mods please do me a favour and don't sweep this under the carpet and banish it to the OF section. This is an issue that has reached the SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT so please keep it in here so others can read more on it and have a full understanding of it and understand why it's racist and vile. Now others can see where we're coming from and why it's grossly unfair that we're being mocked for being offended...as the line says if this was aimed at Africans or Asians etc it'd be a different kettle of fish

The Famine Song could be dismissed as little more than appalling bad taste by a crowd who have a song book that would make Horst Wessel cringe, and while the deaths of 1m people may hardly be a fitting subject for football ground "banter", we can hardly say that the milk of human kindness is a repeated mainstay of football folk songs. So far though the discussion in the media, those sections of the media that have not engaged in a determined Three Monkeys Routine of course, has focused solely on the Famine reference without bothering to look any further at the rest of the lyrics. By doing so the real vicious hatred in this ode to spiritual death is revealed, and the sentiments behind its adoption are laid bare.

In case you have been living on the Moon or working for STV and have never seen the full lyrics, lets have a look at them.

First verse:

I often wonder where they would have been
If we hadn't have taken them in
Fed them and washed them
Thousands in Glasgow alone From Ireland they came
Brought us nothing but trouble and shame
Well the famine is over Why don't they go home?

It is a noted feature of bigotry that those attempting to peddle their wares have to resort to mental gymnastics and historical revision in order to make their bile acceptable for general consumption, this song is no different. Anyone with even a passing knowledge of Scottish history will fall about the floor in hysterics at the claim the Irish were taken in, washed and fed by their welcoming Celtic (with a hard C) cousins. One doesn't have to venture that far back in history, about four months should do it, to find out who exactly is bringing trouble and shame onto the Scottish nation. Ok verse two:

Now Athenry Mike was a thief
And Large John he was fully briefed
And that wee traitor from Castlemilk
Turned his back on his own
They've all their Papists in Rome
They have U2 and Bono
Well the famine is over
Why don't they go home?

The mask hasn't just slipped, its lying on the floor in a pool of
spittle. Athenry Mike was a thief, and by implication so too of course
are the Irish in general. Athenry Mike being the father and husband in the song The Fields of Athenry, who stole from his landlord's fields in order to feed his starving child. The author of this song probably being a bit gutted that Athenry Mike managed to keep the little nit from a deserved visit to death's door by a couple of days. Scottish history of course is devoid of thieves, people such as Johnny Armstrong, Kinmont Willie, Rob Roy and Lord Elgin simply didn't exist. In fact come to think of it as a dedicated Scottish nationalist I can say with some pride that my nation's history is little more than a long bloody scroll of thieving, mayhem, murder and backstabbing.. well at least it wasn't dull.

The "wee traitor from Castlemilk" is, I'm informed, a reference to Aiden McGeady who chose to play his international football for Ireland rather than his native Scotland. Disappointing, but a traitor? It doesn't take Sherlock Holmes to figure out McGeady's real crime was not that he dumped Scotland, rather the identity of his preferred option. After all this is the Rangers support we are talking about, the same people who took to wearing England international shirts, who sneer at anything remotely Scottish while fawning over and tugging their tattered forelocks at anything English. The dedication of the servile Rangers support to Scotland is such that Mordor was the only SPL ground canvassed by the No Campaign during the 1997 devolution vote. So let's put their accusations of treachery into proper perspective. Had McGeady chosen England instead of Ireland there would have been not a peep from these curiously fleeting patriots, instead their silence would have been as deafening as that heard when Brian McLean of Rangers and now Motherwell turned his back on Scotland and put on a Northern Ireland shirt two short years after McGeady first played for Ireland.

The comments regarding Jock Stein and the Papists of Rome really need no further elaboration, just sporting banter according to Martin Bain.

Third Verse

Now they raped and fondled their kids
That's what those perverts from the dark side did
And they swept it under the carpet and Large John he hid
Their evils seeds have been sown
Cause they're not of our own
Well the famine is over Why don't you go home?

As I said previously, when the bigot wishes to spread his disease he invariably resorts to fantasy as reality frequently fails to satisfy their desperate prejudices. The first two lines refer to the crimes of Jim Torbett who was found guilty of "shameless and indecent conduct" with three juveniles between 1967 and 1974 while employed as a coach with Celtic Boys Club. Bad though these facts are they aren't enough for the author who precedes to jazz it all up a bit in what can only be described as a homage to the Freddy Kruger school of creative writing.

Symptoms of a diseased mind perhaps and equally so when it comes to another attack on Jock Stein. Let's be honest here, the Rangers support have gnawed at the open wound caused by Stein's success for decades. A Protestant Scot from darkest Lanarkshire who led Celtic to European glory, who viewed Rangers with contempt and who became a national hero. Something had to be done. The atrocious, vindictive campaign mounted against Stein's memory by the lowest of even the Rangers support is nothing more than a desperate attempt to tarnish the great man's memory and afford these vile creatures some sickening revenge. When Rangers supporters mounted a concerted effort to derail the growing, and in my opinion absolutely pointless, campaign to have Stein awarded a posthumous knighthood, the ringleader declared his only interest was to ensure that the "honour" was only dished out to the most deserving. I found that odd considering the kind of chancers who have ended up having Brenda thump them with her fearsome weapon, where were these worthy protectors of the honour system's integrity then? They simply cannot be honest about their intent as they know how base and loathsome are their true motivations.

"Cause they're not of our own", the fascist master race mentality so ably described by Rangers manager Walter Smith to Graham Spiers: “There is a Protestant superiority syndrome around this club . . . you can feel it.”
The Irish undermensch cannot be expected to act in the same noble manner as the people who filled the wrecked centre of Manchester with their own filth. It's a hopeless task expecting the undermensch to reach such a lofty level of impeachable dignity. Just as the fascists in Germany justified their bigotry by portraying the Jews as subhuman, so too the author and singers of this song attempt to justify their black-hearted bitterness by similarly portraying the Irish and those Scots of Irish descent. It's a ploy that Joseph Goebbels and other fascist propaganda merchants would have found most familiar.

The final verse takes the insanity scale of the meter and delves into a world where reality isn't even given a passing nod:

Now Timmy don't take it from me
Cause if you know your history
You've persecuted thousands of people
In Ireland alone
You turned on the lights
Fuelled U boats by night
That's how you repay us
It's time to go home.

Leaving aside anyone in Britain lecturing another nation on the historical persecution of other people, somewhat akin to the aforementioned Dr Goebbels giving a lecture on anti-semitism, the sheer insanity level of this verse is astounding. The author by wittering on about turning on lights, is no doubt referring to the bizarre myth widely promoted amongst the Children of the Night, that Celtic Park floodlights were kept on at night to aid German bombers during World War Two. Apart from forcing the belief that the authorities failed to notice four huge beacons of light shattering the pitch blackness, floodlights were not installed at Celtic Park until 1959 by which time even the most determined Heinkel pilot would have called it a day. I've checked the public records and there is no evidence of any Luftwaffe bomber raid after the floodlights were installed.

So there we have it, an odious creation dripping with the standard fabrications, embellishments and racism that are an intrinsic part of every bigoted hate anthem adopted by those eaten up with intolerance
and spite. To warp the treatment of the Irish immigrants in Scotland
to that of a benevolent parent suddenly finding out that their adopted child has returned unconditional love by selling the family silver and peeing in the goldfish bowl, stretches credulity beyond any tolerable limits and reveals a level of self-delusion that would shame Victoria Beckham. It takes a considerable amount of nerve, or insanity, to claim that this song as just a 'tit for tat wind-up' as Martin Bain mumbled the other day. I expect no better from the ludicrous Hyacinth Bucket hypocrites at the Rangers Supporters Trust or the moon-howling loons over at Follow Follow, but Bain's attempt to lend some legitimacy to what is in effect naked racism is a new development; possibly revealing just how badly Rangers are being hammered by the behaviour of the Rangers support hence the circling of the wagons. Has Bain actually read the lyrics to this song? I can't believe he has, I don't want to believe he has.

As I said earlier in this article, the fact The Forces of Darkness are using the Famine as a tool with which to proclaim their dark nature doesn't concern me too much, perhaps it should but I never claimed to be perfect - ok I have frequently but this ruins my point. What does concern me though is that as the nation evolves and the loathsome bigotry inherent in the culture of the Rangers support becomes less and less acceptable, we are witnessing a cornered rat mentality producing increasing extremism. The options are rather obvious, evolve along with the rest of the nation or retreat into a bunker mentality shrouded in a climate of ludicrous denial. It is quite evident that elements of the Rangers support are busy promoting the latter option as can be witnessed by their reaction to justifiable criticism. The likes of the RST have for some time now sought to create a siege mentality amongst Rangers supporters, hyping up a level of paranoia that frequently delves into the surreal. The frequent screaming and raging about "the hidden hand of cowardly forces" represents the current belief that a vast clandestine anti-Rangers conspiracy exists touching nearly every corner of the globe, forever striving to tarnish the good name of Rangers while aiding the evil Tims plans for world domination.

The level of paranoia, reality detachment and deceit can be witnessed in the reaction of the likes of the RST and FF to the events in Manchester. The former organisation has spent its time lambasting everyone and anyone involved in the hosting of the final, with not a word of condemnation on its website for those actually involved in turning the centre of Manchester into a **** strewn battleground, while FF went as far as to censor posts by Rangers supporters describing the criminal behaviour of their colleagues in Manchester from its message board.

That the adoption of this atrocious, racist anthem should produce the by now standard reaction of these organisations should be expected, as I said though the difference this time round is that Rangers officials appear to have fully subscribed to the delusional paranoia.

Let's think about that, would Rangers have reacted the same way if their lovely support was calling for Africans or Asians to go home, would they be so supportive if this standard racist refrain was directed at asylum seekers or indeed any other minority. The excuse peddled by the apologists that this merely a 'wind-up' brought about by the instance of Celtic supporters flouting their Irish heritage can be dismantled in a few seconds once the track record of the apologists concerned and the full lyrics of the song are examined. The laughable claims of injured Scottish pride or outraged patriotism are nothing more than a deceitful facade from a bunch of Unionist lackeys who at any other time treat any symbol of Scottish nationalism with little more than undisguised distain.

The truth is obvious, once again Rangers supporters have engaged in their favourite pastime, anti-Irish and anti-Catholic bigotry, all the disinformation and outrageous deceit will not change that fact. Those organisations and individuals encouraging extremism within the Rangers support by promoting ludicrous theories of pan-Fenian, anti-Rangers conspiracies would do both their club and support a far greater favour by embracing the fact the world has moved on from the 1950s. Instead of fighting tooth and nail to retain anti-Papist, anti-Irish theology as a core element of their "culture", the self-declared spokespersons of the Rangers support could join the rest of the 21st Century and realise that toleration of bigotry is no longer on the agenda. It may be though that pandering to sectarian hatred for nigh on 70 years has landed Rangers with a significant element amongst their support who are simply so far gone down the road of intolerance that they are unable to change, to evolve. In that case hoping that some commonsense will manifest itself may be nothing more than wishful thinking and as time and the world moves on, we shall see more examples of the cornered rat mentality and a deeper descent into the moral abyss. Fine, just don't cry foul when natural revulsion is the inevitable outcome.

And then this says it all...

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=2OkIC1iN9fM

Comments now please
houston_bud
very touching but there's a thread already running on it, so despite your first sentence it should be merged with that thread.
stemjsim
If the article wasn't written in a completely biased way, in some cases just as bad as the song, it may have been an interesting read. Instead it is just an anti-Rangers rant and as such noone will pay any attention.
Mr Tourette
Surely this is why there is an OF forum. Why would anyone other than OF fans be remotely interested in this pish?
BRAVELANEY
All this because one celtic fan couldnt take getting beat off rangers so decided to complain about their name calling rolleyes.gif

cleetus

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
stevenston saint
OF forum for this pish.
section_Y
get over it rolleyes.gif

but i supposed signing about a terroist organisation whuch killed many in this country is acceptable is it,now away with you i have to learn the song for next weekend biggrin.gif
GAD
What is it with fucking Celtic fans? There is a nine page thread where this song is roundly condemned by everyone bar a couple of thick huns. Is that not enough? Apparently not.
Just as well this slavering rant was posted then, to make sure we really, REALLY, understand why Celtic fans think this is racist. I think most of us understood why a song telling people descended from Irish immigrants to go home was racist thanks.
section_Y
cause they are always the victims rolleyes.gif
Reynard
I honestly wish that both sets of these tiresome fuckers would just get back under their stones and stop dragging the entire country down with their drivel.

And the usual boring suspects have already kicked the arse out of this pish on another thread. I'd prefer this place to be about football as much as possible. There is a dedicated forum for all folk that are remotely interested in theoldfirm and their associated crap. I've never visited it. I don't want to see the SPL forum clogged up with sectarian tit for tat.

Get this pish shifted.
Blueminer
Reap what you sow springs to mind! Some of the Celtic support think it's acceptable to sing songs about killing British soldiers, some of which were no doubt Scottish and then they throw the toys out of the pram because of this song puke.gif
Jambo22
What goes around comes around.

Celtic fans crying about any songs is rather funny.
section_Y
QUOTE (Blueminer @ Sep 20 2008, 08:22) *
Reap what you sow springs to mind! Some of the Celtic support think it's acceptable to sing songs about killing British soldiers, some of which were no doubt Scottish and then they throw the toys out of the pram because of this song puke.gif

jerry.gif

but in all seriuosness i couldn't agree more
M90Bairn
Each side is as bigoted as the other. The normal run of the mill fan who supports his local community type football club isn't interested in the bile being spouted by both sets of bigots on other side of the great divide.

Wake up and smell the coffee. Get over it. There are more important things in life other than Big Jock Knew or whether Athenry Mike was a thief.
M90Bairn
Forgot to include in my previous post that you have to wonder why Davie Bhoy felt it necessary to start this thread at 05:30hrs. this morning.
ArthurLee
QUOTE (BRAVELANEY @ Sep 20 2008, 07:22) *
All this because one celtic fan couldnt take getting beat off rangers so decided to complain about their name calling rolleyes.gif

Spot on. As someone born and bred in the North West of England near two city and town centres hit by IRA bombs, maybe I should write to my local MP when the Celtic support glorify the 'RA. Or maybe life is too short. rolleyes.gif
LordHawHaw
I see this has been merged with the bigger famine song in the Celtic v Rangers forum, I post my reply to Davie Bhoy's post as I was doing when the thread was moved....

I can understand why you posted that in here, but it's pointless, as you can see some people think it just Celtic and Rangers tit for tat, some think Celtic get what they deserve what with singing IRA songs, some thnk there's nothing wrong with the song, some condemn it.

I've watched for months as Celtic fans contacted every organisation/media you can think of in Scotland regards this song including Celtic, all have done nothing. They are as disinterested as the people on P&B.

In my opinion we should drop talking to anybody in Scotland about this other than Celtic, before the last OF game I sent an E-mail to Celtic telling them that should the Nakamura banner appear I would expect them to have it removed , I also said that thay should inform Rangers that if their fans sang some of the songs that they did previously then we would ban them. I pay lots of money to Celtic I expect them to ensure I do not need to sit and listen to racism without action.

We should concentrate speaking to people who are interested, for me that's Celtic and outside Scotland anti rasicm organisations, everything else is wasted effort
djn
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 09:32) *
I sent an E-mail to Celtic telling them that should the Nakamura banner appear I would expect them to have it removed

The one about him eating Chow Mein and voting for Sein Feinn?
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 09:32) *
I see this has been merged with the bigger famine song in the Celtic v Rangers forum, I post my reply to Davie Bhoy's post as I was doing when the thread was moved....

I take some of yer points in yon reply but if you don't want tae sit amongst racism and ye trust Celtic, what's yer reaction when you here the song words echo 'soon there will be no prods'?? dry.gif
ArthurLee
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 20 2008, 09:38) *

I see the offence, what with Chow Mein being more of a Cantonese dish but Naka being Japanese. I suppose its difficult to find something that rhymes with Sushi.

cool.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 20 2008, 09:38) *

Was there a banner?, small group of people sang it an away game, I cannot remember hearing the song sung

QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 20 2008, 09:39) *
I take some of yer points in yon reply but if you don't want tae sit amongst racism and ye trust Celtic, what's yer reaction when you here the song words echo 'soon there will be no prods'?? dry.gif

You never hear anything like that at Celtic park, and it's not part of the actual song, it's an add on, again if anyone sings that line then throw them out and ban them for life, it's unacceptable. If I hear that then I'll complain.

QUOTE (ArthurLee @ Sep 20 2008, 09:40) *
I see the offence, what with Chow Mein being more of a Cantonese dish but Naka being Japanese. I suppose its difficult to find something that rhymes with Sushi.

cool.gif

Still wrong, although in this case it I'd give the singers the benifit of the doubt, not if they sing it again
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 09:46) *
Still wrong, although in this case it I'd give the singers the benifit of the doubt

Yes, of course you would.

ArthurLee
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 09:46) *
Was there a banner?, small group of people sang it an away game, I cannot remember hearing the song sung

You never hear anything like that at Celtic park, and it's not part of the actual song, it's an add on, again if anyone sings that line then throw them out and ban them for life, it's unacceptable. If I hear that then I'll complain.

Still wrong, although in this case it I'd give the singers the benifit of the doubt, not if they sing it again

Celtic fans really are humourless barstewards.

Ding, ding I can hear the offended bus coming along.

biggrin.gif

leasky27
bunch of moaning twats, wonder what they do if it was celtics turn to get some press coverage about the songs they sing
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (ArthurLee @ Sep 20 2008, 11:39) *
Celtic fans really are humourless barstewards.

Ding, ding I can hear the offended bus coming along.
biggrin.gif

Sounds like a hun phrase from Follow Follow biggrin.gif what would you like me to find humour in? huh.gif
Geefoxer
QUOTE (Davie Bhoy @ Sep 20 2008, 05:30) *
Mods please do me a favour and don't sweep this under the carpet and banish it to the OF section. This is an issue that has reached the SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT so please keep it in here so others can read more on it and have a full understanding of it and understand why it's racist and vile. Now others can see where we're coming from and why it's grossly unfair that we're being mocked for being offended...as the line says if this was aimed at Africans or Asians etc it'd be a different kettle of fish

And then this says it all...

Go on home British soldiers go on home
have you got no f**k'in homes of your own
for eight hundred years we've fought you without fear
and we will fight you for eight hundred more.

If you stay British soldiers if you stay
you'll never ever beat the IRA
the fourteen men in Derry are the last that you will bury
so take a tip and leave us while you may.

No! we're not British we're not Saxon we're not English
we're Irish! and proud we are to be
so f**k your Union Jack we want our country back
we want to see old Ireland free once more.

Well we're fighting British soldiers for the cause
we'll never bow to soldiers because
throughout our history we were born to be free
so get out British soldiers leave us be.

Long Kesh is known to everyone
The system must be broke,
Ardoyne, New Lodge, and the Falls Road
Will see the system choke.
No more the Special Powers Act,
Those cruel deeds will revoke,
And Long Kesh will be the stone
On which the system broke.

Oh, father why are you so sad
On this bright Easter morn'
When Irish men are proud and glad
Of the land that they were born?
Oh, son, I see in mem'ries few
Of far off distant days
When being just a lad like you
I joined the IRA.

Comments now please

Racism, bigotry, sectarianism? Despicable and unacceptable regardless of the colours worn by the perpetrators and should be condemned by everyone. End of.
Proteus Maximus
Nearly 400 posts on a song far less offensive than the glorification or racist, sectarian, terrorists.

Is the world upside down.

Even Jim Traynor's being called a racist fascist because he's not offended.
Proteus Maximus
Davie Bhoy
Why am I not surprised to see it put in the OF forum. When the St Mirren pa had a go at Celtic fans for their songs the topic was worthy to be put in the main forum for everyone to put the boot in. When we have a complaint of our own it gets shunted on here. Equality for all eh...or maybe not dry.gif

Some on here have pointed out some Rebel songs that get sung by some Celtic Fans but not at home games and even away games anymore. however I did hear Celtic fans singing some songs at Fir Park in the last game that haven't been heard in a long while. I can't help think that despite keeping our act clean for years now even during OF games and yet seeing them constantly getting away with spouting their pish, that some celtic fans have thought 'f**k it...if they're not getting done with it then we'll do it too'...and I'll bet if that is the case we'll be the first ones to get punished for it....watch this space
Bearwithme
QUOTE (Geefoxer @ Sep 20 2008, 17:46) *
Racism, bigotry, sectarianism? Despicable and unacceptable regardless of the colours worn by the perpetrators and should be condemned by everyone. End of.

All that is sung at matches is, "The famine's over, why don't you go home?". That is in poor taste but it directed not at the famine itself or at Irish people as such, but at what those singing it see as Celtic fans' mawkish and ill-informed fixation with the event.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (Davie Bhoy @ Sep 20 2008, 23:04) *
Why am I not surprised to see it put in the OF forum. When the St Mirren pa had a go at Celtic fans for their songs the topic was worthy to be put in the main forum for everyone to put the boot in.

You gave it "Roamin in the Gloamin" during the game and the "St Mirren PA" was justfied in "having a go".

Bigotry is a blight on on OUR society.
ArthurLee
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 14:44) *
Sounds like a hun phrase from Follow Follow biggrin.gif what would you like me to find humour in? huh.gif

If your not one of us your one of them. rolleyes.gif

The Naka song, I actually think that is quite good. My reaction was only tongue in cheek, WWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOOSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHH !!!!!!!!!!!!