Full Version: The Famine Is Over, Why Don't You Go Home?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
thejailender
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 20:04) *
I don't think the flag is sectarian,

The flag itself is not sectarian. It's a flag of a Country. But in the past it has been associated with sectarianism within Scottish Football

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (thejailender @ Sep 16 2008, 20:16) *
The flag itself is not sectarian. It's a flag of a Country. But in the past it has been associated with sectarianism within Scottish Football

Then we should deal with the sectarianism
Kincardine
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 18:25) *
Becasue it the only comment from anybody to do with Rangers on teh song, I don't see that it's wrong to sing that song

Certainly Rangers didn't say "This is a bad song - don't sing it" - they advised that people so doing may be charged. Howerver, where in the article did anyone from RFC say, "I don't see that it's wrong to sing that song"?
BLF
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Sep 16 2008, 21:32) *
Certainly Rangers didn't say "This is a bad song - don't sing it" - they advised that people so doing may be charged. Howerver, where in the article did anyone from RFC say, "I don't see that it's wrong to sing that song"?

The only place Ive seen a comment from RFC was on the BBC where they said "some quarters have taken offence" or something, to me thats all but saying 'we dont see whats wrong with it but they get pissed off'. Now admittedly I'm reading between the lines there but I dont understand why, for the avoidance of doubt, come out and categorically say "this song is bad/wrong and it should not be sung at RFC games". If Rangers would just come out and start actually saying 'stop singing these songs because they are not acceptable', then they would deal with the moron element in their support a lot quicker than through this pussyfooting around the issue they are doing just now.
seamus
I wonder what the other home nations make of this song such as the Welsh and Northern Irish.
The saddest thing for me is that Scottish Society tried to sweep it under the carpet and hope it would go away until it got the attention it deserved.
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 22:21) *
I wonder what the other home nations make of this song such as the Welsh and Northern Irish.
The saddest thing for me is that Scottish Society tried to sweep it under the carpet and hope it would go away until it got the attention it deserved.

As a dhim fan I can understand you not liking the famine song [fair enough btw] but I have tae ask what the other Home Nations, especially the English and NIrish would make about celebratory songs on a certain terrorist movement! Should those songs be swept under the carpet as they have been for years?? huh.gif
seamus
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 22:26) *
As a dhim fan I can understand you not liking the famine song [fair enough btw] but I have tae ask what the other Home Nations, especially the English and NIrish would make about celebratory songs on a certain terrorist movement! Should those songs be swept under the carpet as they have been for years?? huh.gif

You are deflecting the issue.
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 22:34) *
You are deflecting the issue.

Guess what, you've just quoted the official line fae the dhim handbook! Congrats!! laugh.gif
seamus
I hop this gets more and more attention in the media followed by nationwide attention for the Gary Glitter ditty.Who would want to buy a business that attracts such dregs to it?It is an institution bulit on hate,racism, discrimination and nothing else.

It can only be positive that the whole of Britain hears about the scum behaviour.
David Murray must be nervous about getting a buyer.
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 22:48) *
I hop this gets more and more attention in the media followed by nationwide attention for the Gary Glitter ditty.Who would want to buy a business that attracts such dregs to it?It is an institution bulit on hate,racism, discrimination and nothing else.

It can only be positive that the whole of Britain hears about the scum behaviour.
David Murray must be nervous about getting a buyer.

Sweep, sweep goes the dhim brush as all ears become immune tae the strains of 'up the Ra!'
Is it a cloning thing or what?? laugh.gif
Geefoxer
QUOTE (HeartsparkDollarsign @ May 11 2008, 09:18) *
I wonder if any of the Rangers fans on here could help me out. I am of Irish descent on my mother's side. It's never something I've been remotely interested in, but apparently it's reason enough for me to be invited to leave Scotland on the grounds that the justification for my antecedents' immigration is no longer applicable. My problem is that my failure to pay sufficient attention to my Irish ancestry has left me ignorant as to which part of Ireland I'm supposed to go home to.

Oh no, hang on! Panic over! It turns out I'm not being told to go home unless I'm a Celtic supporter who pays too much attention to his Irish heritage. But just to clarify this, could you quote me the lyrics from the song that make this distinction, because all I'm hearing is "the famine is over, why don't you go home" and I seem to be missing a nuance here and there.

I really would like this cleared up ahead of Wednesday, because I'd hate to be worrying that Rangers might get into trouble with UEFA again - at one of their showpiece finals, no less - for "racist or sectarian chanting".

Click to view attachment
seamus
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 22:52) *
Sweep, sweep goes the dhim brush as all ears become immune tae the strains of 'up the Ra!'
Is it a cloning thing or what?? laugh.gif

If John Reid wanted to increase his popularity among the clubs support he should ban the Huns from Celtic Park and declare his intention to stop any future joint sponsorship deals.
I thought after Manchester it was the time to do it but the public image of a Hun just gets worse.
There has never been a better time to do it until their next shameful act.
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 23:07) *
If John Reid wanted to increase his popularity among the clubs support he should ban the Huns from Celtic Park and declare his intention to stop any future joint sponsorship deals.
I thought after Manchester it was the time to do it but the public image of a Hun just gets worse.

Good idea dhim. You ban us, we ban you, we fill the Broomloan Road on OF day and we don't pay any cash for seats at the East End Community Centre! Fine by me!!
We should start it right away, especially wae us having 2 games at Ibrox still to come up! laugh.gif
seamus
Gordons Smiths silence on the subject is deafening.

I bet he wants the words changed to" the famine is over, you cant have your own schools"
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 23:18) *
Gordons Smiths silence on the subject is deafening.

I bet he wants the words changed to" the famine is over, you cant have your own schools"

Is having yer own schools a sectarian thing?? huh.gif
seamus
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 23:21) *

It certainly is in the Cheif Executive of the Scottish Football Association's eyes.
I dont know why though maybe he has sectarian views.
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 23:26) *
It certainly is in the Cheif Executive of the Scottish Football Association's eyes.
I dont know why though maybe he has sectarian views.

Maybe he doesn't like kids being segregated/seperated for religious reasons.
What do you think?? rolleyes.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (The Hun @ May 5 2008, 22:45) *
First of all I`m covered for Manchester but more importantly your a fuckin` clown if you think we all love the way your embarrassing our club.

How the f**k you got a ticket is one of the main problems of balloting...any p***k can get one!

Oh Oh, hit a nerve did he?

All raging because you didn't get a ticket to the Final? laugh.gif

Poor you........... I for one enjoyed the atmosphere inside the ground, and seen plenty of tickets for sale at the stadium, all beit, about £250.

How is he embarrasing our club? Singing a song which tells the majority of Celtic fans who have a strong claim to all things Irish, hate Britain, yet choose to live in this country, even though they hate it so much?

Ok, if it is offending real Irish people then scrap it, but on the words of the always offended Celtic fans who sing anti-British dirges + IRA songs but get away with it every f*cking week.

Seems a bit one sided these digs at fans in Scotland doesn't it?

They get away with all their sh*te but we are getting slapped in the face from all angles over ours?

As I said though, if a real complaint comes from the Irish Gov. then scrap it, not on the backs of what a bunch of Ireland loving, Britain hating, claiming to be Scottish for the benefits lot, from the East End.
seamus
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 23:33) *
Maybe he doesn't like kids being segregated/seperated for religious reasons.
What do you think?? rolleyes.gif

Maybe he is in the wrong job?
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 23:36) *
Maybe he is in the wrong job?

Good point, maybe he should be in charge of the country's education system??
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 18:50) *
I think your failing to grasp that the song is deemed to be racist and actionable by the police, Rangers were told this before the first home game V Hearts, this was passed onto their fans

The same goes for songs glorifying the IRA, which are sectarian, and so the police can take action on these songs too.

So why is it only the ones we sing that are being done?

And not the equally offensive terrorist supporting ones that you lot sing every week?
seamus
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 23:38) *
Good point, maybe he should be in charge of the country's education system??

He cant do any worse than he has done as Cheif Exec.I reckon he sees it as a stepping stone to the pox.
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 23:21) *

It's an interesting one. If the government forced Catholics to go to separate schools there would be an outcry. If you don't understand what I mean, substitute Jews for Catholics.
Top Cat
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 23:40) *
He cant do any worse tahn he has done as cheif Exec.I reckon he sees it as a stepping stone to the pox.

I don't think he's done too bad as Chief Exec. He could maybe use his connections more to come down on certain clubs and players but overall he's done alright. tongue.gif
seamus
Making an erse of the Scotland fixtures,making an erse of Burley's press confrence,making an erse of the fixture carry on and now making an erse of himself through his silence. Aye no too bad at all.
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 19:33) *
Would you take action against Celtic for their fans singing about the IRA?

Yes.

Would you take action against Celtic for their fans singing the Nacho Novo song?

Yes.

Would you take action against Ranegsr for singing about UDA?UVF or what the IRA equivalent is?

If they are a banned terrorist organisation, yes.

Would you take action against Aberdeen (only as an example dons) for the Ibrox disaster song?

Yes.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 17 2008, 09:33) *
Yes.

Yes.

If they are a banned terrorist organisation, yes.

Yes.

I don't think the IRA is banned....lots of Celtic songs refer to the IRA, some being people that formed part of the free state government. You'd ban all referenves to the IRA?

Did you not say elsewhere that you believe in absolute freedom of speech huh.gif or am I thinking of someone else

We may as well shut up football then if you could be lifted for anything offensive
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 09:50) *
I don't think the IRA is banned....lots of Celtic songs refer to the IRA, some being people that formed part of the free state government. You'd ban all referenves to the IRA?

That's where the difficulties lie. It is a shame that the Provos have besmirched the name of the actual IRA, to the extent that has allowed sad little boys with concerning terrorist fetishes, like Beyemystic, to sing about the IRA, with a little wink to the Provos, then come over all shocked and horrified with the ready made defence that it is the pre-Republic Army which of course they were referring to (perish any other thought).

Did you not say elsewhere that you believe in absolute freedom of speech huh.gif or am I thinking of someone else

I do. That also means I would not prevent people suggesting others should go home, so the famine song would be fine as well.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 17 2008, 10:19) *
That's where the difficulties lie. It is a shame that the Provos have besmirched the name of the actual IRA, to the extent that has allowed sad little boys with concerning terrorist fetishes, like Beyemystic, to sing about the IRA, with a little wink to the Provos, then come over all shocked and horrified with the ready made defence that it is the pre-Republic Army which of course they were referring to (perish any other thought).

I do. That also means I would not prevent people suggesting others should go home, so the famine song would be fine as well.

I'm no sure I follow yer logic here.

We've made dramatic improvements in the last few years in Scottish football, mainly at "some" Rangers fans expense. Still these fans are the ones that reacted to that by coming up with even more obnoxious songs, including some that are potentially illegal, Rangers should have clamped down at that early. This is their problem that they've ducked and are doing their best through the usual channels to fire the muck in every direction.

It's not as big a discussion as some are suggesting IMO
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 11:08) *
This is their problem that they've ducked and are doing their best through the usual channels to fire the muck in every direction.

It's not as big a discussion as some are suggesting IMO

I think it's only natural that they will do this, and I can see why they would, though I too would prefer that they looked solely at their own fans' behaviour and addressed it, much as I would like Celtic to do the same.

In Celtic fans' (and the club's) defence, it is rare indeed that you hear any songs which are objectionable at CP. It happens at away grounds a little bit, but again, nothing like the problem Rangers have.

That's why I think any proscribed songs list, should it be done properly, could only benefit Celtic and your fans, considering you have far less of a problem and I can't see which of your usual songbook it would prevent being sung.
djn
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 16 2008, 23:07) *

Very true - good point.

I don't understand why they don't make all Old Firm games "home supporters only" - it'd save a fortune in Polis costs, you could get a load more punters through the gates (given the empty seats needed to "segregate" fans) etc.

I can understand why advertisers are keep for joint sponsorship deals (to avoid alienating one half of the OF - e.g. I'm sure few Celtic fans were drinking McEwans in the 1990s, and not just 'cos it tasted pish!). However, if either club wants to disassociate themselves from the other (and I can understand why Celtic would want to ditch the "guilt by association" right now), then the joint sponsorship deals and collusion over 5% tickets surcharges should stop.

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 16 2008, 23:40) *
The same goes for songs glorifying the IRA, which are sectarian,

The IRA weren't sectarian, they were happy to murder people of any (and no) religion - indescriminate bombs like in Omagh killed people of all faiths - to pretend that they were defending Catholicism whilst killing Catholics?

QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 09:50) *

I hear that argument a lot - that the songs are referring to the guys of the Irish Free State and all that, rather than the murdering terrorist scumbags? In which case, can someone explain whether it's the fledgling politicians/ rebels of the 1920s or the Provos who it's hoped will kill Nacho Novo in his sleep?
WOOHOO!!
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 17 2008, 13:35) *
Very true - good point.

I don't understand why they don't make all Old Firm games "home supporters only" - it'd save a fortune in Polis costs, you could get a load more punters through the gates (given the empty seats needed to "segregate" fans) etc.

I can understand why advertisers are keep for joint sponsorship deals (to avoid alienating one half of the OF - e.g. I'm sure few Celtic fans were drinking McEwans in the 1990s, and not just 'cos it tasted pish!). However, if either club wants to disassociate themselves from the other (and I can understand why Celtic would want to ditch the "guilt by association" right now), then the joint sponsorship deals and collusion over 5% tickets surcharges should stop.

The IRA weren't sectarian, they were happy to murder people of any (and no) religion - indescriminate bombs like in Omagh killed people of all faiths - to pretend that they were defending Catholicism whilst killing Catholics?

I hear that argument a lot - that the songs are referring to the guys of the Irish Free State and all that, rather than the murdering terrorist scumbags? In which case, can someone explain whether it's the fledgling politicians/ rebels of the 1920s or the Provos who it's hoped will kill Nacho Novo in his sleep?

Aye some wee old Irish guy in a zimmer frame is going to get him with a Thompson gun.

The person that made this song and the ones that sing it may need a bit of educating.
H_B
In which case, can someone explain whether it's the fledgling politicians/ rebels of the 1920s or the Provos who it's hoped will kill Nacho Novo in his sleep?

It is a pity that the Provisionals didn't decide to call themselves something different.

Would prevent the sadacts getting a wee chubby about glorifying terrorist murdering scum.
GavMan_AUFC_1910
Rangers and Celtic are just as bad as each other.
Jamie_Beatson
So can someone explain what the hell this has to do with football? As far as I am concerned, the whole thing is a charade for halfwitted people to have a forum for their stupid prejudices.
fatman76
dry.gif

FFS are we still banging on about a silly song that was meant for the sole purpose of winding a certain section of the sellick fans up. I have said before and i will say it again...................GET OVER IT!!
Read through the threads about this and you will see we have gone from the famine song to Sinead O'connor, Nazi U Boats and the Battle of the Boyne. Surely this whole situation needs a bit of a reality check.

How much time has been wasted over the last week discussing this matter and has anything been solved? Nope! Has any agreement been reached apart from the fact that all Rangers fans are scum, which was the general opinion anyway.

I just cant believe the hypocrisy that is coming out of this. Rangers and Celtic fans are as bad as each other and will always have this tit for tat way of thinking. It's never gonna change, no matter whether it be a uefa, fifa or goverment directive. The strength of both clubs is based on this rivalry and if it was removed it would be about as much of a derby game as Bolton vs Blackburn.

If you dont like it go and support another team!!

RANT OVER!!
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 17 2008, 14:09) *
Has any agreement been reached apart from the fact that all Rangers fans are scum, which was the general opinion anyway.

The scum find new ways of further scummifying themselves though.
seamus
I love the way Baldy Bain has came out with the we are being victimised rubbish.Im glad the song has made the front page of certain papers but what do we get in the front page of the Daily Record "Rangers boss David Murray has warned fans he is not shelling out for new players" laugh.gif

How good is that paper at minimising the problems at the pox?
No8.
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 14:23) *
How good is that paper at minimising the problems at the pox?

Never really took you for 1 of the gullible ones. What problems at Ibrox? Being top of the league? Humping Celtic of the park in their own Midden? Having invested heavily in quality players that has taken us even further away from Celtic?

Rangers are doing ok thank you very much wink.gif

If you are talking about the little Famine song i am still waiting to hear back where in the 9 words that were sung the Famine was actually mocked....When you can show me that then i will refrain from singing it...until then

'The Famines over................................' tongue.gif
seamus
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 17 2008, 14:35) *
Never really took you for 1 of the gullible ones. What problems at Ibrox? Being top of the league? Humping Celtic of the park in their own Midden? Having invested heavily in quality players that has taken us even further away from Celtic?

Rangers are doing ok thank you very much wink.gif

If you are talking about the little Famine song i am still waiting to hear back where in the 9 words that were sung the Famine was actually mocked....When you can show me that then i will refrain from singing it...until then

'The Famines over................................' tongue.gif

You obviously read the Record.
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 17 2008, 14:12) *
The scum find new ways of further scummifying themselves though.

Not new ways just the same old ways! Really when you think about it what is actually different about this song? I would say nothing apart from the fact that more people have been sucked in and taken the bait.
seamus
Very true - good point.

There has never been a better time to cut ties.
ralph brand
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 14:56) *

yes to get away from scum who hate everthing british apart from the good old british giro which you all love.
fatman76
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 14:56) *

Imagine if Rangers had cut ties with celtic during the biscuit tin era? Face reality you need us and we need you. We come as a package and it will always be that way. Think before you make a stupid statement like that.
seamus
QUOTE (ralph brand @ Sep 17 2008, 15:04) *
yes to get away from scum who hate everthing british apart from the good old british giro which you all love.

I thought a gyro was a greek kebab ohmy.gif
seamus
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 17 2008, 15:09) *
Imagine if Rangers had cut ties with celtic during the biscuit tin era? Face reality you need us and we need you. We come as a package and it will always be that way. Think before you make a stupid statement like that.

Away and dont talk keech.
Murray definitley turned the screw during the dark days of the Kellys hence 9 in a row.
fatman76
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 15:12) *
Away and dont talk keech.
Murray definitley turned the screw during the dark days of the Kelly's hence 9 in a row.

Yes but he threw Celtic enough bones to keep you alive. In fact if you think about it as a celtic supporter you should actually start a petition to have a statue of Mr Murray erected outside snake mountain as one of the saviours of Glasgow Celtic. I mean if wasnt for Mr Murray doing all those joint ventures celtic would have been done for before FGergus had even got on the plane.

Anyway that does not take away the fact that you need us as much as we need you!
seamus
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 17 2008, 15:18) *
Anyway that does not take away the fact that you need us as much as we need you!

The quicker we are part of a premiership the better I cant see them wanting you after Manchester. biggrin.gif
H_B
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 15:22) *
The quicker we are part of a premiership the better

That will be never. They don't want you, sadly.
fatman76
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 15:22) *
The quicker we are part of a premiership the better I cant see them wanting you after Manchester. biggrin.gif

All I can say is that I am sure they would have no interest in one half of the old firm, we are a package. In fact I doubt if they would ever be interested in us as a package. We scare the shyte out of them and would dominate england as we do scotland after a few years!