Full Version: The Famine Is Over, Why Don't You Go Home?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 15 2008, 22:27) *
Here's a suggestion 'Townie'..Don't come in the OF forum and you wont get so upset

I was about to post something similar, BUT with a bit more sensitivity
No8.
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ May 7 2008, 22:17) *
About the only part of anything you've ever said that I agree with, but probably not in the way you meant it.

And surely racist bigotry, sectarian bigotry and political bigotry are all as bad as each other? For the record, this song is all three.

Firstly you should have agreed with my pre match prediction in the last OF game...Rangers midfield would be too strong and 2 goal victory. It would have lessened the pain.

Secondly It is the Celtic support who claim singing IRA songs is political therefore acceptable. Were you listening to the Celtic support on Saturday or are you like so many and have selective hearing?

The 2nd part of your post is the only thing you have posted that i agree with but it is a bit of an own goal.
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 15 2008, 22:29) *
I was about to post something similar, BUT with a bit more sensitivity

I have never been accused of subtlety biggrin.gif
LordHawHaw
Even complaints are moved to our forum biggrin.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (sev @ Apr 29 2008, 23:39) *
she was baptised a catholic ya blouse. No wonder our country is in the state its in

That would then make her a "reformed Catholic" and therefor would mean it's not really mixed, as at the time of marriage, both were Catholic. Mixed for me would mean one of them was still protestant and one was catholic.

Although, no Church/Chapel, would allow a marriage to happen under this circumstance.
baggio333
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 15 2008, 22:27) *
Here's a suggestion 'Townie'..Don't come in the OF forum and you wont get so upset

Believe me I don't get upset about you wee laddies and your name calling it just goes to emphasize how pathetic both lots of you are. If anything it just confirms the banality of the OF and it's followers.
Like a couple of school boys in front of the headmaster after being caught doing something they shouldn't be.
"It wasn't me it was him, sir", "no, it wasn't me it was him"
jester
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Apr 29 2008, 22:46) *
It's like banging yer heid aff a brick wall trying to explain to you english guys rolleyes.gif At the last census most of the people in Scotland who said they were Irish were born in Ireland. Because we (Celtic fans) want to celebrate our heritage at a fooball match, and fly our historical colours does not make us any less Scottish.

Er, yes, it does.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ May 8 2008, 11:48) *
This light that the Irish left on in Dublin must have been some brightness, if the entire Nazi war machine relied on it it to navigate their planes and submarines (how does that work then?) to Belfast, London, Liverpool, Clyde etc. happy.gif

It was an unmissable landmark allowing more accurate use of a map and a compass, plastic. You know a compass: that moral thing that you haven't got. wink.gif
jester
Don't know if this has been mentioned, but the poor darlings are now complaining to the Irish government about this song:
ARRSE

Incidentally, was it not Sinead O'Connor who stated that "there was no famine"?
H_B
QUOTE (jester @ Sep 16 2008, 12:43) *
Don't know if this has been mentioned, but the poor darlings are now complaining to the Irish government about this song:
ARRSE

It has, on several threads. And rightly so - credit to the complainant in this instance.

I'm not sure about Sinead's qualifications to speak about historical fact.
wee_bairn
This song is far too nasty. Shellick fans are paranoid and sensitive at the best of times nevermind firing this at them. Thoughts goes out to them all during this tough time sad.gif
fatman76
This whole situation is just beyond belief. It's only a song and as I have said before if we allow fifa, uefa and the goverment take away our freedom of speech life will be very boring. Just imagine if we continue down this road of hyper sensitivity about such matters we could end up in a police state with no free speech. It's a song get over it and think of a good one to sing back. Thats what would have happened in the past!
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 16 2008, 13:22) *
Just imagine if we continue down this road of hyper sensitivity about such matters we could end up in a police state with no free speech.

I think that is exactly what will happen, yep.

We can't let the jackboot wearers win on this one.
ChampionsElect
This whole situation is just beyond belief. It's only a song and as I have said before if we allow fifa, uefa and the goverment take away our freedom of speech life will be very boring. Just imagine if we continue down this road of hyper sensitivity about such matters we could end up in a police state with no free speech. It's a song get over it and think of a good one to sing back. Thats what would have happened in the past!

I actually agree, although I don't like the song , I think football is changing for the worse.
jester
Famine by Sinead O'Connor

OK, I want to talk about Ireland
Specifically I want to talk about the "famine"
About the fact that there never really was one
There was no "famine"

See Irish people were only ALLOWED to eat potatoes
All of the other food
Meat fish vegetables
Were shipped out of the country under armed guard
To England while the Irish people starved
And then on the middle of all this
They gave us money not to teach our children Irish
And so we lost our history
And this is what I think is still hurting me
See we're like a child that's been battered
Has to drive itself out of it's head because it's fightened
Still feels all the painful feelings
But they lose contact with the memory
And this leads to massive self-destruction
Alcoholism drug action
All desperate attempts at running
And in it's worst form
Becomes actual killing
And if there ever is gonna be healing
There has to be remembering
And then grieving
So that there then can be forgiving
There has to be knowledge and understanding
An American army regulation
Says you mustn't kill more than 10% of a nation
'Cos to do so causes permanent "psychological damage"
It's not permanent but they didn't know that
Anyway during the supposed "famine"
We lost a lot more than 10% of a nation
Through deaths on land or on ships of emigration
But what finally broke us was not starvation
But it's use in the controlling of our education
School go on about "Black 47"
On and on about "The terrible "famine""
But what they don't say is in truth
There really never was one
So let's take a look shall we
The highest statistics of child abuse in the EEC
And we say we're a Christian country

But we've lost contact with our history
See we used to worship God as a mother
We're sufferin from post traumatic stress disorder
Look at all our old men in the pubs
Look at all our young people on drugs
We used to worship God as a mother
Now look at what we're doing to each other
We've even made killers of ourselves
The most child-like trusting people in the Universe
And this is what's wrong with us
Our history books the parent figure lied to us
I see the Irish
As a race like a child
That got itself bashed in the face
And then grieving
H_B
What a social commentator. Tremendous stuff from Sinead.
jester
I think what she is saying is "get over it and stop banging on about it".

Chips anyone?
BLF

Bloody Brussells.
myshkin
QUOTE (jester @ Sep 16 2008, 14:24) *
Famine by Sinead O'Connor

OK, I want to talk about Ireland
Specifically I want to talk about the "famine"
About the fact that there never really was one
There was no "famine"

See Irish people were only ALLOWED to eat potatoes
All of the other food
Meat fish vegetables
Were shipped out of the country under armed guard
To England while the Irish people starved
And then on the middle of all this
They gave us money not to teach our children Irish
And so we lost our history
And this is what I think is still hurting me
See we're like a child that's been battered
Has to drive itself out of it's head because it's fightened
Still feels all the painful feelings
But they lose contact with the memory
And this leads to massive self-destruction
Alcoholism drug action
All desperate attempts at running
And in it's worst form
Becomes actual killing
And then grieving
An American army regulation
Says you mustn't kill more than 10% of a nation
'Cos to do so causes permanent "psychological damage"
It's not permanent but they didn't know that
Anyway during the supposed "famine"
We lost a lot more than 10% of a nation
Through deaths on land or on ships of emigration
But what finally broke us was not starvation
But it's use in the controlling of our education
School go on about "Black 47"
On and on about "The terrible "famine""
But what they don't say is in truth
There really never was one
So let's take a look shall we
The highest statistics of child abuse in the EEC
And we say we're a Christian country

But we've lost contact with our history
See we used to worship God as a mother
We're sufferin from post traumatic stress disorder
Look at all our old men in the pubs
Look at all our young people on drugs
We used to worship God as a mother
Now look at what we're doing to each other
We've even made killers of ourselves
The most child-like trusting people in the Universe
And this is what's wrong with us
Our history books the parent figure lied to us
I see the Irish
As a race like a child
That got itself bashed in the face
And then grieving

Not one of her better ditties that one.

'Nothing compares to you' - that was her big one if I remember. Has to be said that was shite as well.

myshkin
QUOTE (BLF @ Sep 16 2008, 14:32) *
Bloody Brussells.

Sproutist.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Reminds me of this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttgFCDUUt_0

3 minutes in laugh.gif
LordHawHaw
Interesting, Rangers FC think the Famine song is a bit of tit for tat fun ohmy.gif

http://www.rangers.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Ne...1394720,00.html
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 18:07) *
Interesting, Rangers FC think the Famine song is a bit of tit for tat fun ohmy.gif

The oily cunt oozes insincerity once more. (That's Martin Bain by the way tongue.gif )
Kincardine
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 18:07) *

So when the statement says, "Clearly some supporters feel aggrieved that a song they believe to be no more than a tit for tat 'wind up' of Celtic supporters should be singled out in this way" by what contortion of English do you make it read, "Rangers FC think the Famine song is a bit of tit for tat fun"?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Sep 16 2008, 18:21) *
So when the statement says, "Clearly some supporters feel aggrieved that a song they believe to be no more than a tit for tat 'wind up' of Celtic supporters should be singled out in this way" by what contortion of English do you make it read, "Rangers FC think the Famine song is a bit of tit for tat fun"?

Becasue it the only comment from anybody to do with Rangers on teh song, I don't see that it's wrong to sing that song
Swampy
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Sep 16 2008, 17:21) *

It is the same story as Ally McCoist last year. "Keep your voices down, lads, or we'll get into trouble." Not, "Act like decent human beings for a change, you disgraceful shower of bigots."

Oh, and don't forget the, "But they're just as bad, by ra way!"
calum_gers
At last some fucking balls from Rangers. Not so much the tit for tat, but the comments about glorifying the Ibrox disaster etc....First time Rangers have said anything vaguely resembling defending there own fans.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 16 2008, 18:41) *
At last some fucking balls from Rangers. Not so much the tit for tat, but the comments about glorifying the Ibrox disaster etc....First time Rangers have said anything vaguely resembling defending there own fans.

Bringing the IRA, novo and the Ibrox disaster into that article is poor fare from Rangers, just tell the fans that the police will not stand for them singing an illegal and racist song
calum_gers
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 18:44) *
Bringing the IRA, novo and the Ibrox disaster into that article is poor fare from Rangers, just tell the fans that the police will not stand for them singing an illegal and racist song

So its alright for Lawell to use the media, and stand up for Celtic, but if Rangers do it, its poor fare. Aye get a grip!
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 16 2008, 18:47) *
So its alright for Lawell to use the media, and stand up for Celtic, but if Rangers do it, its poor fare. Aye get a grip!

I think your failing to grasp that the song is deemed to be racist and actionable by the police, Rangers were told this before the first home game V Hearts, this was passed onto their fans
Swampy
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 17:44) *

I know I ridiculed the "they're just as bad!" thing earlier on, but I don't think it's altogeter improper for Bain and his merry men to expect the same treatment to be meted out to other clubs. I would hope that treatment is the same across the board.

Where he most likely falls down is in assuming that other clubs have nearly the same depth of problem as Rangers, which doesn't seem to be the case.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 16 2008, 18:52) *
I know I ridiculed the "they're just as bad!" thing earlier on, but I don't think it's altogeter improper for Bain and his merry men to expect the same treatment to be meted out to other clubs. I would hope that treatment is the same across the board.

Where he most likely falls down is in assuming that other clubs have nearly the same depth of problem as Rangers, which doesn't seem to be the case.

There are no other clubs that I can see, only Celtic and they have two songs, one that includes addon's "soon they'll be no protestants at all " and "fukk King Billy and John Knox" I'd say they are sectarian and should be actioned should anyone sing it...I don't know of any others, incidently these are sung by a small minority within our away fans in my experience
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 18:44) *

How is it poor fare?? dry.gif We're a country regarded as British [see yer passport] and dhims following a Scottish club sing in gloroius backing of a terrorist organsiation that killed British people. Is that not treason? If they were singing in celebration of terrorist organisations that caused bombings in London or yon Glasgow Airport attack would that be acceptable! huh.gif If you sing songs that celebrate the blatant murder of our innocent fellow citizens then you shouldn't be in this country or you should be jailed as you must be seen as a possible danger tae our society and a traitor. Taxpaying Scottish/ British citizens, whether you agree wae the Union or not, shouldn't be subjected tae the glorifying of such organisations on our own shores and the fact the dhims have got away wae that for so long is a travesty.
calum_gers
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 18:50) *
I think your failing to grasp that the song is deemed to be racist and actionable by the police, Rangers were told this before the first home game V Hearts, this was passed onto their fans

grasp that completely, how this affects what bain said about other fans? huh.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 19:04) *
How is it poor fare?? dry.gif We're a country regarded as British [see yer passport] and dhims following a Scottish club sing in gloroius backing of a terrorist organsiation that killed British people. Is that not treason? If they were singing in celebration of terrorist organisations that caused bombings in London or yon Glasgow Airport attack would that be acceptable! huh.gif If you sing songs that celebrate the blatant murder of our innocent fellow citizens then you shouldn't be in this country or you should be jailed as you must be seen as a possible danger tae our society and a traitor. Taxpaying Scottish/ British citizens, whether you agree wae the Union or not, shouldn't be subjected tae the glorifying of such organisations on our own shores and the fact the dhims have got away wae that for so long is a travesty.

None of that's illegal, Celtic sing songs of the republic and the IRA, Rangers fans sing songs of NI, King billy, UVF etc etc, lots of it unpalatable and most people from set of fans would like a lot of it to stop. Rangers becasue uefa stopped the hullo hullo song, wrongly imo, have moved a level up because of that into racist and sectarian and truely disgusting songs, some of them are illegal, and that's actionable
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 16 2008, 19:07) *
grasp that completely, how this affects what bain said about other fans? huh.gif

Because it's miniscule in comparison
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 19:11) *
None of that's illegal, Celtic sing songs of the republic and the IRA, Rangers fans sing songs of NI, King billy, UVF etc etc, lots of it unpalatable and most people from set of fans would like a lot of it to stop. Rangers becasue uefa stopped the hullo hullo song, wrongly imo, have moved a level up because of that into racist and sectarian and truely disgusting songs, some of them are illegal, and that's actionable

I'm no bothering aboot the famine song thing and I'm no interested in celebrating aboot people dying cause they starved. That's wrong but tae me the song is more a wind-up and probably sung by the same guys at fitba that would sit wae an Irishman and have a pint after the game. Fitba has always had that in it. Auld Enemy games were rife wae that sort of nonsense but if yer going tae go and complain you should make sure your no open tae complaint yerself. Bain is just making that noise in his statement.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 19:20) *
I'm no bothering aboot the famine song thing and I'm no interested in celebrating aboot people dying cause they starved. That's wrong but tae me the song is more a wind-up and probably sung by the same guys at fitba that would sit wae an Irishman and have a pint after the game. Fitba has always had that in it. Auld Enemy games were rife wae that sort of nonsense but if yer going tae go and complain you should make sure your no open tae complaint yerself. Bain is just making that noise in his statement.

It's Illegal
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 19:25) *
It's Illegal

So is pissing in the street but I've seen that at many games in all! huh.gif The famine song will die oot like many other wind-up songs at fitba but will dhims still be singing aboot the IRA when it does die oot?? Probably!! dry.gif
calum_gers
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 19:12) *
Because it's miniscule in comparison

In your opinion. But then again you aint the Law. Glorifying in the death of 1 was as bad as glorifying in the death of 100.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 19:29) *
So is pissing in the street but I've seen that at many games in all! huh.gif The famine song will die oot like many other wind-up songs at fitba but will dhims still be singing aboot the IRA when it does die oot?? Probably!! dry.gif

Would you take action against Celtic for their fans singing about the IRA?

Would you take action against Celtic for their fans singing the Nacho Novo song?

Would you take action against Ranegsr for singing about UDA?UVF or what the IRA equivalent is?

Would you take action against Aberdeen (only as an example dons) for the Ibrox disaster song?
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 19:33) *
Would you take action against Celtic for their fans singing about the IRA?

Would you take action against Celtic for their fans singing the Nacho Novo song?

Would you take action against Ranegsr for singing about UDA?UVF or what the IRA equivalent is?

Would you take action against Aberdeen (only as an example dons) for the Ibrox disaster song?

The Gers have taken action against our own party songs and we've had action taken against us by UEFA. I'm still waiting for action tae be taken against the Dhims and the Dons and btw, ye forgot aboot the dhims years back mocking the unveiling of the Ibrox Disaster plaque before a game! Yon Pope geezer must have been so proud of his followers that day!! dry.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 19:41) *
The Gers have taken action against our own party songs and we've had action taken against us by UEFA. I'm still waiting for action tae be taken against the Dhims and the Dons and btw, ye forgot aboot the dhims years back mocking the unveiling of the Ibrox Disaster plaque before a game! Yon Pope geezer must have been so proud of his followers that day!! dry.gif

So what is it you want to take action against?, seeing you've no aswered my questions, mocking the unveiling of the Ibrox Disaster plaque is actionable?
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 19:46) *
So what is it you want to take action against?, seeing you've no aswered my questions, mocking the unveiling of the Ibrox Disaster plaque is actionable?

Aye it's actionable as the Ibrox disaster saw many innocent Scots killed and for fellow supposed Scots tae take the piss oot of it during a minutes silence is fecking atrocious.

If ye want action against the songs, you'll find we do hum our tunes often now without the words which is more than I heard the dhims do at Fir Park on Saturday. As for songs against Catholicism, where in the world does it say, if ye don't agree with the Catholic church and ye think it's corrupt and run by hypocrites, you should just shut up and say nothing against it?? huh.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 19:54) *
Aye it's actionable as the Ibrox disaster saw many innocent Scots killed and for fellow supposed Scots tae take the piss oot of it during a minutes silence is fecking atrocious.

If ye want action against the songs, you'll find we do hum our tunes often now without the words which is more than I heard the dhims do at Fir Park on Saturday. As for songs against Catholicism, where in the world does it say, if ye don't agree with the Catholic church and ye think it's corrupt and run by hypocrites, you should just shut up and say nothing against it?? huh.gif

Yer all over the place, recipe for disaster
thejailender
I was just thinking, but considering the bad publicity Rangers are getting this week regarding theis song, and it being highlighted about the "minority" sectarian element within their support, it won't look very good the fact that this weekend is their "Ulster day" at Ibrox where they hope to fill the stadium with the red hand of ulster flag - a flag which has also been linked to sectarianism during the history of Scottish Football.

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (thejailender @ Sep 16 2008, 19:58) *
I was just thinking, but considering the bad publicity Rangers are getting this week regarding theis song, and it being highlighted about the "minority" sectarian element within their support, it won't look very good the fact that this weekend is their "Ulster day" at Ibrox where they hope to fill the stadium with the red hand of ulster flag - a flag which has also been linked to sectarianism during the history of Scottish Football.

I don't think the flag is sectarian, or even necessary the people from NO/Scotland who fly it, I'm also pretty sure that there will be no sectarian singing, as far as I can see that's been eliminated from Ibrox
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 19:56) *
Yer all over the place, recipe for disaster

How am all over the place?? huh.gif Cause am no taking yer bait?? If you want rid of it all march down tae Parkheid and tell yer fellow dhims tae stop singing songs about the IRA and shooting Nacho Novo then ye might find yer answer there. For years your mob have moaned and groaned aboot our apparent policy and attitude cause yer brought up thinking your the chosen ones and cause we don't play ball to suit yer hypocritical nonsense, you all get upset. It's a convenience on the truth your lot play.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 16 2008, 20:07) *
How am all over the place?? huh.gif Cause am no taking yer bait?? If you want rid of it all march down tae Parkheid and tell yer fellow dhims tae stop singing songs about the IRA and shooting Nacho Novo then ye might find yer answer there. For years your mob have moaned and groaned aboot our apparent policy and attitude cause yer brought up thinking your the chosen ones and cause we don't play ball to suit yer hypocritical nonsense, you all get upset. It's a convenience on the truth your lot play.

It's worse than that the Lord provost's ours as well
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 20:12) *
It's worse than that the Lord provost's ours as well

Well he or is it a she now will no be the first and I'm sure they'll no be the last!