Full Version: Hugh Kerr
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Raving On
I was down at Wembley on Saturday for the schoolboy game and was pretty impressed by Alloa's Hugh Kerr, who came on as a second half substitute I believe (if it wasn't him then it was someone else I was impressed with!). He did do a McAllister and miss a penalty however he looked strong driving from midfield and could be a player worth keeping an eye out for over the next couple of seasons.

Albion's Liam Corr, however, ran the show; he was absolutely top rate. Don't think he'll be with us next season though.
Dink
Yeah, good to see Hugh Kerr getting on the pitch for the Scottish Schoolboys and hopefully he will develop into a good player for us having been in and around the fringes of the first-team this year. I think he was one of 4 players that we had involved with the team. Hugh McCann deserves a lot of credit for the work he's doing with our youth teams.
allowafletic
QUOTE (Dink @ Apr 29 2008, 10:34) *
Yeah, good to see Hugh Kerr getting on the pitch for the Scottish Schoolboys and hopefully he will develop into a good player for us having been in and around the fringes of the first-team this year. I think he was one of 4 players that we had involved with the team. Hugh McCann deserves a lot of credit for the work he's doing with our youth teams.

Hugh is doing a good job with the youths however i have made some enquires and there are a couple of other coaches within the youths at the club who are the real driving force behind our excellanet set up at the Recs.

If i was the club i would tie these coaches in with similar contracts to the players as they are undoubtely our future.

It wont be long until the big boys are after our coaches as well as some of the kids they are bringing on
sonnybhoy
Just a point of correction, Hugh started the game in the mid left position and moved to forward about 25 minutes into the second half. He performed incredibly well in both positions, at one point I watched him take the ball round three england players and carry to the by line and put in an inch perfect cross. He also had what probably was the best chance of the game (apart from the pen). Anyone at the game would have seen a large majority of the 20,000 english fans who were present rush to the back of the goals just as the wee man went to step up and take the penalty.

At the end of the day how many 17 year olds are going to take that type of responsibility? I believe Alloa have one of Scotlands future stars on their books at the moment - can they keep him? I know for a fact that the respect for Hugh McCann is very high and that he would be the ideal person to mould this player. Question is who will be knocking at the door after that game?

Out of the whole team I think the stand outs were Hugh Kerr, Liam Corr and Kevin Ireland. Will they play at Wembley again? Will Hugh have another chance to score a penalty against the Auld enemy? Heres hoping!
diamondo14
The player who did come on for that the last 25 minutes, that played centre midfield was midfielder Mark Fitzpatrick of Airdrie United. He also had a goal chopped off for offside.
Casper Rose
QUOTE (Raving On @ Apr 29 2008, 10:28) *
I was down at Wembley on Saturday for the schoolboy game and was pretty impressed by Alloa's Hugh Kerr, who came on as a second half substitute I believe (if it wasn't him then it was someone else I was impressed with!). He did do a McAllister and miss a penalty however he looked strong driving from midfield and could be a player worth keeping an eye out for over the next couple of seasons.

He is in the same mould of Goodwillie, a grade A bawbag. He likes to start fights outside the edge every weekend and then go bragging to his mates about how he "smashes" everyone

also diamondo14, Mark Fitzpatricks a great finisher and plays up front, a brilliant player, as is Chris McKee

edit : his bebo username is also free derry laugh.gif what a clunge