Full Version: Boruc T-shirt
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
leasky27
should something happen to him for wearing the "god bless the pope tshirt", was it to wynd up the rangers fans or showing off that he loves his religon
Szamo's_Ammo
Well, I'm offended.
Hottentottentot
But....

He is the God of Hellfire!!!
guacamole
No. Unfortunately, being a prat is not as yet a criminal offence.
DAFC

Celtic should get fined for this surely?
WTF has the pope got to do with football?
No8.
QUOTE (guacamole @ Apr 27 2008, 16:35) *
No. Unfortunately, being a prat is not as yet a criminal offence.

Rules were put in place by Fifa banning players from showing of political/religious messages so it has been outlawed. I don't think any action will or should be taken though as it just gives the MOPE something to bleat on about for the next 6 months and gives this clown more press coverage than he deserves.
speccy_baz
this guy is a total idiot

some day he will get in real trouble and i for one will have no sympathy for him.

Solus
What has that got to do with a football match?

He's a f****** idiot. He should get hammered by the SPL for that. But he won't. It will get swept under the carpet as usual.

No doubt we'll have cellic fans on here giving the usual b*ll*cks and lapping it all up. But this type of thing is what we should be trying to get out of our society, not actively encouraging it.
Neiljb
Should it not be the Pope that blesses him.

It's a bit disrespectful to the pontiff if you ask me. I hope that his priest has him say a few Hail Marys.
glenburn bud
QUOTE (leasky27 @ Apr 27 2008, 16:30) *
should something happen to him for wearing the "god bless the pope tshirt", was it to wynd up the rangers fans or showing off that he loves his religon

The guy is a complete moron and an attention seeker
quite sad to see such antics on a football pitch....
DomDom
It made me laugh anyways. Love it when he winds the cretin element up.
Gaz
I hope I'm not the only one laughing at the irony of people moaning about him being an attention seeker on this thread.
GeeJay
It's just the craic.

edit: in all seriousness, there is nothing wrong with it. If some Rangers fans (or others) get all excited, it's their problem, not his.
nick cash
disgraceful and you have to wonder at his tammates and officials who let him do it and thus condone it, he has absolutley no brains, he should be made tour the accident and emergency departments of Central Scotland tonight and see first hand the victims of this sectarian hatred that he thinks is a good laugh.
DomDom
he should be made tour the accident and emergency departments of Central Scotland tonight and see first hand the victims of this sectarian hatred that he thinks is a good laugh.

It's not his fault that OF fans are cretins.

They deserve every bit of winding up they get, and if some of them are brainless enough to take their bile out on someone, then it's THEIR fault. Not Boruc.
nick cash
QUOTE (DomDom @ Apr 27 2008, 16:53) *
It's not his fault that OF fans are cretins.

They deserve every bit of winding up they get, and if some of them are brainless enough to take their bile out on someone, then it's THEIR fault. Not Boruc.

He is a high profile bigot, a disgrace, but he'll be in the papers greetin if some other bigot takes offence, there is no place for religion in football, or in life for that matter,
qos_75
QUOTE (GeeJay @ Apr 27 2008, 16:46) *
It's just the craic.

edit: in all seriousness, there is nothing wrong with it. If some Rangers fans (or others) get all excited, it's their problem, not his.

Indeed. Nothing wrong with that, just as there was nothing wrong with Gazza's flute. Both are hilarious. laugh.gif
Gaz
QUOTE (nick cash @ Apr 27 2008, 16:57) *
He is a high profile bigot, a disgrace, but he'll be in the papers greetin if some other bigot takes offence, there is no place for religion in football, or in life for that matter,

Why does saying "God Bless The Pope" make someone a bigot?
DomDom
Oh I agree with the sentiment that there is no place for it in football, but for as long as the OF are in football, it'll always be there. Whether it's Boruc doing it or someone else, the religious aspect will be there forever. The only way it will end is if both Rangers and Celtic die. Which they won't.

Because of this, I try to take it as less seriously as possible. Which is why I laugh at the antics of Boruc.
stevenston saint
QUOTE (DAFC @ Apr 27 2008, 16:38) *

Celtic should get fined for this surely?

Is he not an American forward ,first name Eddie. wink.gif
nick cash
it is done to antogonise people of any other religion, you can't back this act of provacation, or sanitise it, it's completley out of order, he should geta ban at least, the ref should have given him a red card.
DomDom
HAHAHAHAHAHA !!! You should be given a red card from this forum for talking such pish.

Red card my arse.
strathbrock
Of course there is nothing wrong with the T-shirt but there is something lacking in the mentality of a Celtic player who wears it at an OF match. He really is an arrogant p***k. And yes he should be punished if not by the authorities then by his club. It was clearly meant to be inflammatory and, as such, in the hothouse of the occasion could have caused crowd trouble.
Gaz
QUOTE (DomDom @ Apr 27 2008, 17:06) *
HAHAHAHAHAHA !!! You should be given a red card from this forum for talking such pish.

Red card my arse.

I agree with this.

The problem we have in Scotland, apart from sectarian hatred, is that far too many imbeciles have no idea what constitutes bigotry and what doesn't.

Wearing a t-shirt proclaiming your love for your own religion, regardless of who it winds up, certainly isn't bigotry in any shape or form.
Ric
QUOTE (DAFC @ Apr 27 2008, 16:38) *

Exactly!

So why don't the Rangers fans just stop getting annoyed with it? Problem solved.
The Hun
I don`t mind Boruc displaying his faith at all.

If it is done with genuine belief and recognition then there is nothing wrong with it.

However, if he is a Catholic but deliberately used the word of God and the Pope`s name to actually incite people and annoy them, then he is not a true Catholic but has actually abused that religion.

Christian people (which the Catholic faith is part of) wouldn`t use God and the Pope`s name in this manner because it would actually be blasphemy!

I`m sure Artur will know this of course! wink.gif
Gallacticos
That's Pope John Paul II, is it not? The Polish pope?

Maybe it's a protest against Herr Benedict?
qos_75
Oh well, if nothing else it's good to see the big Pole holds no grudges against a German with a Nazi background. That really is a message of forgiveness and deserves praise.

Edited to add:

I have just noticed it's JP. Oh well, I take it all back then! laugh.gif
nick cash
if is done to antagonise people of other religions , it is an act of bogotry, i'd bet my life Arthur Borac hasn't set foot in a place of worship this month, he's a bafoon
uberman
It would seem that Falkirk and Dunfermline fans are more upset by it seeing as they started topics on here about it. rolleyes.gif
okell
1. Trying to get a rise out of morons isn't particularly clever

2. Creating a week of 2 hours a night Real Radio 'debate' on the matter where Euan and Roughie take two completely opposite views to add to the drama means I better get some CD's into my car this week for the drive home ... so thanks for that
rocksie67
QUOTE (nick cash @ Apr 27 2008, 16:09) *
if is done to antagonise people of other religions , it is an act of bogotry, i'd bet my life Arthur Borac hasn't set foot in a place of worship this month, he's a bafoon

What other religions does it antagonise . Are the Jews complaining Anglicans , methodists . It only antagonises people who dont like the pope . Is hating the pope a religion .
Boruc is on the wind up yes . As he knows that those with anti catholic outlook will be outraged . Judging by the reaction bets your Artur Boruc is loving it
nick cash
If the SFL don't do something, what next Barry Ferguson with a Martin Luther t - shirt, or Kris Boyd with a t shirt with the queen on it, it could set a very dangerous precident if it goes unpunished
strathbrock
QUOTE (The Hun @ Apr 27 2008, 17:09) *
I don`t mind Boruc displaying his faith at all.

If it is done with genuine belief and recognition then there is nothing wrong with it.

Yes I agree.
BUT
I don't recall any pictures of him wearing a T-shirt like this at another SPL game or in places like Sauchiehall Street or anywhere else for that matter. He is an idiot and one that could have caused trouble at that. He deserves a good talking to and some kind of censure at the very least.
DomDom
What the f**k is wrong with a Martin Luther t-shirt ? Since when was racism linked with secterianism you utter moron ?
stemjsim
QUOTE (nick cash @ Apr 27 2008, 17:09) *
If it is done to antagonise people of other religions , it is an act of bigotry, i'd bet my life Artur Boruc hasn't set foot in a place of worship this month, he's a bufoon

Wow a bit angry there aren't you. Boruc is a muppet of course but by christ he is funny. Who really gives a shit what he does he's just doing it to get a reaction after all
UMRK
QUOTE (rocksie67 @ Apr 27 2008, 17:18) *
What other religions does it antagonise . Are the Jews complaining Anglicans , methodists . It only antagonises people who dont like the pope . Is hating the pope a religion .
Boruc is on the wind up yes . As he knows that those with anti catholic outlook will be outraged . Judging by the reaction bets your Artur Boruc is loving it

lat time I looked Anglicans and Methodists were Christians, as are Catholics, but, isn't that pope on his shirt, dead, and there's been a new one for a while now? beautiful plumage the norwegian blue......
nick cash
I take it they don't teach history in Greenock, moron !!
DomDom
Martin Luther King had NOTHING to do with anything with what we're talking about. There was minor religious conotations with him, but on the whole, it had f**k all to do with religion. The fact that they DO teach history has taught me that. Wearing a t-shirt with him on it would be more commendable than it would be disgraceful.

I think all people of all religions and faiths can stand by Martin Luther King and what he tried to achieve.
stuart.
QUOTE (DomDom @ Apr 27 2008, 17:24) *
What the f**k is wrong with a Martin Luther t-shirt ? Since when was racism linked with secterianism you utter moron ?

Ah, you are getting Martin Luther mixed up with Martin Luther King unless you are trying to whoosh us all.

This applies to your post above mine too.
stevenston saint
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Apr 27 2008, 17:23) *
Yes I agree.
BUT
I don't recall any pictures of him wearing a T-shirt like this at another SPL game or in places like Sauchiehall Street or anywhere else for that matter. He is an idiot and one that could have caused trouble at that. He deserves a good talking to and some kind of censure at the very least.

Good post and i totally agree.
nick cash
Quite correct, Martin Luther King, had absolutley nothing to do with religion, however Martin Luther did, google him !!
DomDom
QUOTE (stuart. @ Apr 27 2008, 17:29) *
Ah, you are getting Martin Luther mixed up with Martin Luther King unless you are trying to whoosh us all.

This applies to your post above mine too.

Oh. Right.

Colour me humiliated.
Middleton Mouse
QUOTE (Gaz @ Apr 27 2008, 17:07) *
I agree with this.

The problem we have in Scotland, apart from sectarian hatred, is that far too many imbeciles have no idea what constitutes bigotry and what doesn't.

Wearing a t-shirt proclaiming your love for your own religion, regardless of who it winds up, certainly isn't bigotry in any shape or form.

I agree with this viewpoint to an extent but also think there's a time and a place for everything and an Old Squirm game probably isn't the best of times to try a stunt like this. I wouldn't wander into a Celtic pub if I was wearing a Rangers top (God forbid). Does Borac wear this T-shirt of his when he's out and about when he's not training I wonder?

Boruc's T-Shirt isn't in any way offensive to me, it doesn't hurt me and it doesn't damage any of my rights so I don't really care but let's face it, it's an attempt to gain attention and nothing else. I love a lot of things in life too but I don't wear T-shirts proclaiming my love for them (and don't know anyone else who does either).

Weird but then maybe Borac is a bit odd himself, who knows.
Jimmy Shaker
The fact he winds up so many ugly Huns all around the world means he is doing something right. Although he is a ringpiece of a man. laugh.gif
rocksie67
QUOTE (UMRK @ Apr 27 2008, 16:26) *
lat time I looked Anglicans and Methodists were Christians, as are Catholics, but, isn't that pope on his shirt, dead, and there's been a new one for a while now? beautiful plumage the norwegian blue......

I think yes its Pope John Paul 2 . I think its t the anniversary of his death or birth Im sure I read that somewhere .
Mind you its absolutely hilarious the reaction he has got .
GeeJay
QUOTE (No8. @ Apr 27 2008, 16:39) *
Rules were put in place by Fifa banning players from showing of political/religious messages so it has been outlawed.

The game was over so I think he can wear any items of clothing he wants.
DomDom
QUOTE (GeeJay @ Apr 27 2008, 17:34) *
The game was over so I think he can wear any items of clothing he wants.

Boiler suits aren't advisable.
Daddy Bear
The dirty fenian papish bassa is nothing but a secterian bigot, the ref was a fenian tae.

That's offensive to people who are not offended by the pope but offended by people thinking we're offended by the pope mad.gif

My mate's a windae cleaner and hospitalised when he unknowning came up the ladder at Borucs hoose, it's tanamount to assult
Ron Burgundy
It's a virtual certainty that he will end up he same way as gazza...he has that same wild look in his eyes all the time and he is more than obviously a few wafers short of a communion.

I'd be willing to bet he is a manic depressive and I doubt anyone was aware of what the loon ball was up to.

It's funny now but I foresee a sad decline into madness over the years.