bigman
Apr 27 2008, 08:17
I was hearing yesterday from a source that the club are on a slipery slope because of serious financial difficulties, any truth in this rumour?
santheman
Apr 27 2008, 10:03
QUOTE (bigman @ Apr 27 2008, 09:17)

I was hearing yesterday from a source that the club are on a slipery slope because of serious financial difficulties, any truth in this rumour?
Sincerely hope not, but if true add them to the other dozen or so clubs allegedly in the same boat
Millfield Marksman
Apr 27 2008, 13:01
There's certainly talk about Dunbar having to 'downsize' and play with amateurs next season. Whether that's Amateur contracts or Junior contracts but (effectively) no pay, I coudn't say. Davie Lees is the name in the manager's frame with Jack Myles Sr going back to boss Tranent
heedthebaa
Apr 27 2008, 13:54

some source

. you two best of friends now. you worry about where your playing next year
heedthebaa
Apr 27 2008, 13:57
QUOTE (Von Eldritch @ Apr 27 2008, 14:01)

Davie Lees is the name in the manager's frame with Jack Myles Sr going back to boss Tranent
your probably right about the first one but seemingly not about the second from what a tranent man told me yesterday
Burnie_man
Apr 27 2008, 16:56
I heard the same story from someone at the Tranent game yesterday ie Dunbar could be playing with a largely amateur squad next season, Tranent could also be pursuing the same policy. They wont be the only 2 clubs.
Cabbage
Apr 27 2008, 18:39
The rumour I heard is that Jackie will be going back to Tranent and Davie Lees will be going to Dunbar. Pretty much covered in this thread
heedthebaa
Apr 27 2008, 19:27
QUOTE (Cabbage @ Apr 27 2008, 19:39)

The rumour I heard is that Jackie will be going back to Tranent and Davie Lees will be going to Dunbar. Pretty much covered in this thread

so where,s big jock gawn then ?
Upthebigshots
Apr 28 2008, 07:32
I have took an interest in a lot of Bathgate games this season, and i attended there game Saturday. I was very impressed with the attitude of the Dunbar boys, Bathgate did not kick a ball until Dunbar were reduced to ten men (what a kn*b the boy was that got ordered of) . They ended up winning convincingly but fair play to Dunbar.
damage
Apr 28 2008, 09:36
Yes the roumour is David lees, they want a local man in charge, regardless if he can do a good job or not!!!!! Players like Andrew Donlevy, Brian Droudge, Graeme Nisbet, Colin McDonald, Ryan Grant etc who are all por contracts will be freed as they are not going to be paid there signing on fee's. They have already been told they can speak to other clubs.
QUOTE (Upthebigshots @ Apr 28 2008, 07:32)

I have took an interest in a lot of Bathgate games this season, and i attended there game Saturday. I was very impressed with the attitude of the Dunbar boys, Bathgate did not kick a ball until Dunbar were reduced to ten men (what a kn*b the boy was that got ordered of) . They ended up winning convincingly but fair play to Dunbar.
spartak
Apr 28 2008, 13:55

100% true
spartak
Apr 28 2008, 13:57
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Apr 27 2008, 20:27)

so where,s big jock gawn then ?

Brian Johnstone (breeks) got the tranent job!
damage
Apr 29 2008, 11:54
aye Breeks got the job but that was after Jackie myles was told by the comittee that the job was his and Jackie was calling players for next year and everything, only to be told by someone on saturday that he didnt now have the job Breeks has now!!!! Jackie phoned Elliot Morgan from tranent to find out the truth and Elliot said ....oh yes Jackie a was going to phone you to tell you.....basically that they changed their minds and gave it to elsewhere.......money talks as Breeks says he can bring money in!!!!!
QUOTE (spartak @ Apr 28 2008, 13:57)

Upthebigshots
Apr 29 2008, 12:07
QUOTE (damage @ Apr 29 2008, 12:54)

aye Breeks got the job but that was after Jackie myles was told by the comittee that the job was his and Jackie was calling players for next year and everything, only to be told by someone on saturday that he didnt now have the job Breeks has now!!!! Jackie phoned Elliot Morgan from tranent to find out the truth and Elliot said ....oh yes Jackie a was going to phone you to tell you.....basically that they changed their minds and gave it to elsewhere.......money talks as Breeks says he can bring money in!!!!!
That Morgan boy is seemingly a right fud
The Green Brazil
Apr 29 2008, 12:18
[quote name='Upthebigshots' date='Apr 29 2008, 13:07' post='2425105']
That Morgan boy is seemingly a right fud
[The man is a disgrace too junior football. He has played such a big part in the decline off what was a great Junior side with big players and great crowds. Also some off the transfer money they have received over the last few years has been ridiculous and no one seems to know where it went. Probably tailed most of it himself. Wouldnt deal with the man on a money matter as he is just a CLOWN.]
damage
Apr 29 2008, 13:08
Thats is very true about the man!!!!!
Anyone know of clubs Junior or East of scotland looking for players (Dunbar) , and some good players at that who could easily do a job for other teams?????
Big Jock is getting messed around by the club also and doesnt know where is future lies, rumours say he will be out, bit of a shame as over last 3 years he has built a decent side, he wants to stay involved in the game and would also miss the crack with the boys!!
QUOTE (spartak @ Apr 28 2008, 14:57)

who is this breeks?
has he been in football?
heedthebaa
Apr 29 2008, 18:24
QUOTE (damage @ Apr 29 2008, 14:08)

Big Jock is getting messed around by the club also and doesnt know where is future lies, rumours say he will be out, bit of a shame as over last 3 years he has built a decent side, he wants to stay involved in the game and would also miss the crack with the boys!!
a good, genuine man. IMO
Ali_Wee_Jag
May 5 2008, 22:04
I think the club are looking towards the AGM to get a new committee in. From there, who knows where the club will go? As for approaching managers, I've not heard anything other than "no change" thus far.
AGM, according to the website, is 22nd May at 7pm. So let's hope they sort themselves out and soonish or another club could be lost.
QUOTE (damage @ Apr 29 2008, 14:08)

Anyone know of clubs Junior or East of scotland looking for players (Dunbar) , and some good players at that who could easily do a job for other teams?????
Why can`t they play for nothing for a year or 2 to let the club get back on it`s feet?
tamthebam
May 6 2008, 20:44
maybe Dunbar United should bite the bullet and go East Seniors? If properly managed they could be a big fish in a wee pond and get cup money through getting through the Scottish Cup each season. Preston Ath left the juniors years ago and are doing ok these days in the seniors, getting into the Scottish Cup on occasion, playing Gretna and Hamilton in front of good crowds etc.
Another thought- perhaps a proper youth set-up would stop the club having to buy in expensive players- the Colts and West Barns youth teams should be acting as feeder teams for the "big" team. I believe there is a football development officer in East Lothian- perhaps heads could be banged together along the lines of Peebles FC and have one club come under the control of Dunbar United
Dunbar the town has grown in size over the last 5 years- it seems a shame that a town that size can't accomodate a reasonably good team- they must be wetting themselves in Haddington.
Pride comes before a fall and if rumours are correct then the pride in staying junior might just occasion a very big fall.
p.s.- if the Seasiders fold-bring back Blue Circle!!!
Burnie_man
May 6 2008, 21:08
QUOTE (tamthebam @ May 6 2008, 21:44)

maybe Dunbar United should bite the bullet and go East Seniors? If properly managed they could be a big fish in a wee pond and get cup money through getting through the Scottish Cup each season.
They would need to invest a substantial sum of money in their ground before applying for SFA membership and therefore Scottish Cup participation.
Cover for 500 spectators for a start.
Ormiston Primrose, a very succesful Junior side, found that moving to the East Seniors wasn't all that it was cracked up to be.....
Ali_Wee_Jag
May 6 2008, 22:24
There is a fair sprinkling of common sense in your post, tam and if I didn't already know you were on the sheep stirring, I may be agreeing with a lot of your post. However..... I'm sure you already know EXACTLY the situation that the club are going through at this moment.
Millfield Marksman
May 6 2008, 23:19

Dunbar the town has grown in size over the last 5 years- it seems a shame that a town that size can't accomodate a reasonably good team- they must be wetting themselves in Haddington.
We've just taken the first tentative steps ourselves. Howwver, we need to win stuff ourselves before full-on gloating can happen
tamthebam
May 12 2008, 17:06
After Saturday, I rather suspect a few folk might be thinking of chucking it. Same thing happens at the end of every season and it's about time it stopped.
QUOTE (tamthebam @ May 12 2008, 18:06)

After Saturday, I rather suspect a few folk might be thinking of chucking it. Same thing happens at the end of every season and it's about time it stopped.
Dunbar manager packed in before Sats game when informed nobody would be getting paid for the rest of the season, all players to be freed at the end of season !
heedthebaa
May 12 2008, 20:27
QUOTE (BEVVI @ May 12 2008, 19:29)

Dunbar manager packed in before Sats game when informed nobody would be getting paid for the rest of the season, all players to be freed at the end of season !
officially resigned on sat but everyone knew for weeks, as did the players that they weren't getting their money. the pro contracts will leave, a few ammie contracts i think will stay, along with the local players i hope and life will go on next season. me thinks the committee could be in for a shake up as well. i'll wish big jock all the best tomorrow night when i see him, IMO, a good man. shame to see him go
damage
May 13 2008, 06:47
yeah the boys and jock were told no money will be paid to players, some boys were not bothered about the money but the fact we DEFO got told in January the money will be paid and gottold that twice after too.
Everyone is pissed off with the blatant lies from the comittee and the fact they strung the players along since then. The players were that fecked off on Sat , that some didnt put themselves out so to speak, hence the result.
The players that will stay next season are all local, so it doesnt cost a fortne to travel there 3 times a week!!!!!!
Meeting after the game tonight with ALL the comittee to tell players whats happening to them all and management will be told after the AGM next Thursday!!! Jeanette said that to be alowed to go to the meeting that you must live in the Dunbar post code.......rubbish, she knows that boys from the team are going to meeting to find out the truth and is obviously scared.
A lot of players are now left in the lurch and dont know what they are doing next season and area bit conerned, although all players will be freed, its not nice on the boys and the club have not give them a thought over this fiasco!!!!
heedthebaa
May 13 2008, 11:53
QUOTE (damage @ May 13 2008, 07:47)

The players were that fecked off on Sat , that some didnt put themselves out so to speak, hence the result.
sorry damage but i find that incredible. the ones that signed pro contracts should start acting like a f**king pro, on the f**king field anyway. that statement just isnt good enough, sorry.
Sod that - if the committee is supposed to be paying players and they are not, why should the players give a tuppeny damn? Two way street and all that. Another question - if they can't find the money to pay these guys, is the insurance up to date?
damage
May 13 2008, 14:31
pro form or not, you wouldnt catch premier league club players who are pro, playing for nothing would you!!!!
sponsorsladdie
May 13 2008, 16:06
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ May 13 2008, 12:53)

sorry damage but i find that incredible. the ones that signed pro contracts should start acting like a f**king pro, on the f**king field anyway. that statement just isnt good enough, sorry.
Get a grip heedthebaa. Would you try at your work if you wern't getting paid? I know i wouldn't, doubt i'd even turn up. As said previously is the insurance paid up? if not i definatly wouldn't be playing.
heedthebaa
May 13 2008, 16:08
QUOTE (damage @ May 13 2008, 15:31)

pro form or not, you wouldnt catch premier league club players who are pro, playing for nothing would you!!!!
damage, i have every sympathy with your plight as the blame lies squarely with the committee,they have strung you along for sure, but for fucks sake just dont turn up, tell them to get tae f**k, but dinnae turn up and go through the motions for 90mins.
Ali_Wee_Jag
May 14 2008, 00:40
i can confirm, if nothing else, that the insurances are all up to date.
tamthebam
May 15 2008, 14:59
I bet if a guy turned up with a suitcase full of readies to put into the club, the Dunbar postcode would be slightly extended...
Burnie_man
May 23 2008, 21:48
So the AGM has been and gone, any news?
damage
May 24 2008, 07:58
New Manager David Lees local boy.....that was the worst kept secret in junior football.
New Chairman, treasurer and other members added to comittee.
All players were given half of the half of signing fee due and every player given a free!!!!!!!
There was so many lies and deceipt obviously going on over the last number of months, manager and players pretty bitter, all the players did not want to leave as they have a great team spirit and all boys get on very well, this has been taken away. The club have now contacted some players asking them to come back for next season.......cheeky as feck if you ask me!!!!!
Burnie_man
May 24 2008, 09:26
Good to hear thought that the club are re-organising for next season and not simply folding or joining the EoSL. Tough on the players though, and a wee bit cheeky to release them without paying the full signing on fee and then asking them to re-sign??
whistleblower
Jun 13 2008, 21:00
committee were a fecking joke doon there
whistleblower
Jun 13 2008, 21:01
the commitee were a fck*ng joke doon there its nae wonder its over - the fat lady sang and opps so did shorty
spartak
Jun 16 2008, 05:57
QUOTE (godot @ Apr 29 2008, 18:15)

who is this breeks?
has he been in football?
Breeks = Brian Johnstone
He has been he manager of pencaitland border Amatuer FC for years.
They won the league last season and a few seasons before.
He has been in the game for a long time, used to play junior himself when he was fit and able
spartak
Jun 16 2008, 06:08

maybe Dunbar United should bite the bullet and go East Seniors? If properly managed they could be a big fish in a wee pond and get cup money through getting through the Scottish Cup each season. Preston Ath left the juniors years ago and are doing ok these days in the seniors, getting into the Scottish Cup on occasion, playing Gretna and Hamilton in front of good crowds etc.
Another thought- perhaps a proper youth set-up would stop the club having to buy in expensive players- the Colts and West Barns youth teams should be acting as feeder teams for the "big" team. I believe there is a football development officer in East Lothian- perhaps heads could be banged together along the lines of Peebles FC and have one club come under the control of Dunbar United
Pride comes before a fall and if rumours are correct then the pride in staying junior might just occasion a very big fall.
p.s.- if the Seasiders fold-bring back Blue Circle!!!
The local guys in dunbar have never been given a chance at Dunbar UTD...Dunbar UTD used to be a team of local guys which attracted big crowds and with that came some success. Hopefully Davey Lees can restore that. Willy and Jock were more interested in paying players from the town to play. If they had went for the younger talent, Dunbar wouldnt be in the state it is now
smurfit
Jun 16 2008, 09:37
QUOTE (spartak @ Jun 16 2008, 07:08)

The local guys in dunbar have never been given a chance at Dunbar UTD...Dunbar UTD used to be a team of local guys which attracted big crowds and with that came some success. Hopefully Davey Lees can restore that. Willy and Jock were more interested in paying players from the town to play. If they had went for the younger talent, Dunbar wouldnt be in the state it is now
Can you name the local players that Dunbar had success with ?
whistleblower
Jun 16 2008, 09:48
mmmmmm let me think noo....nope, i cannae name a soul actually
heedthebaa
Jun 16 2008, 17:47
QUOTE (whistleblower @ Jun 13 2008, 22:01)

the commitee were a fck*ng joke doon there its nae wonder its over - the fat lady sang and opps so did shorty
thats a f**king cheap and shit dig at two of the most passionate, dedicated and committed people i know. if you put half the time and effort in at a club as they have, you'll be doing well sir.
whistleblower
Jul 14 2008, 18:39
well ok maybe i was a bit strong in previous comments. so a will set the record straight and wish all the best to davie lees and his backroom staff and lets wait with abated breath at the outcome. maybe dunbar spent too much money in the past on certain individuals who played only for the money i.e. coco mcdonald £2,500, andy dunleavy £800 and that was a fecking joke as he spent all that time sitting on his arse on the bench. maybe this time players will come for the jersey and NOT the cash. good luck
Burnie_man
Jul 14 2008, 21:36
QUOTE (whistleblower @ Jul 14 2008, 19:39)

maybe dunbar spent too much money in the past on certain individuals who played only for the money i.e. coco mcdonald
£2,500, andy dunleavy
£800 and that was a fecking joke as he spent all that time sitting on his arse on the bench. maybe this time players will come for the jersey and NOT the cash. good luck

Millfield Marksman
Jul 14 2008, 22:08
QUOTE (Burnie_man @ Jul 14 2008, 22:36)

While I've no comment on the figures themselves, the rumours doing the rounds *were* that Dunbar had splashed a lot of cash
tamthebam
Jul 15 2008, 20:04
aye....?
doesn't sound like the old Dunbar treasurer..the man who kept 10 shilling notes under the bed "just in case that new fangled decimilisation disnae catch on..."
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.