Full Version: Alex Rae And His Players - Trouble?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
themuzzle
well well, i'm led to believe that many players will not re-sign for dundee (money aside) because of a lack of respect for mr rae. dixon, mcdonald, robertson, sw**kie and lyle have been making noises which all suggest that rae is not the man for the job. hot headed and tactically inept they say. they have plenty respect for farrell but rae has lost his dressing.

and i'm not just stirring it before i get accused.
bartoo
who says the sheep in the field your knobbing all players you mentioned are going so why should rae show them respect they dont want to be there so good riddance to them
Bigmouth Strikes Again
You might have a point here judging by the way Dixon stormed off. Why was he subbied he did'nt look injured. sad.gif
webeatleeds
Sorry Dee's but you deserve better than that guy as manager huh.gif
themuzzle
i still maintain he was only appointed so that you could have him as a player as well.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (bartoo @ Apr 26 2008, 19:25) *
who says the sheep in the field your knobbing all players you mentioned are going so why should rae show them respect they dont want to be there so good riddance to them

punc·tu·a·tion
–noun 1. the practice or system of using certain conventional marks or characters in writing or printing in order to separate elements and make the meaning clear, as in ending a sentence or separating clauses.
2. the act of punctuating.
3. punctuation marks.
Ludo *1
Apart from Lyle no-one has lost confidence in Alex, I feel emotions were high after we were playing the team that destined us to another year to first divison football we tried to get a good result but it just never happened.
Therefore tempers flare and Dixon who I think is leaving got subbied BEFORE half-time so as we could clap him off the pitch although why he didn't do this the other side of half time beats me!
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 26 2008, 19:49) *
Apart from Lyle no-one has lost confidence in Alex, I feel emotions were high after we were playing the team that destined us to another year to first divison football we tried to get a good result but it just never happened.
Therefore tempers flare and Dixon who I think is leaving got subbied BEFORE half-time so as we could clap him off the pitch although why he didn't do this the other side of half time beats me!

Nah, that does'nt add up, theres more to it. sad.gif
Ludo *1
QUOTE (Bigmouth Strikes Again @ Apr 26 2008, 19:52) *
Nah, that does'nt add up, theres more to it. sad.gif

Maybe, but Dickers is reportedly going to Tannadice next season so that explains it tongue.gif
themuzzle
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 26 2008, 19:49) *
Apart from Lyle no-one has lost confidence in Alex,

mcdonald defo has. fact.
Ludo *1
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 21:10) *
mcdonald defo has. fact.

Wheres the proof?
themuzzle
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 26 2008, 21:16) *
Wheres the proof?

in a drunken moment it spilled out 2 weekends ago. very angry he was.
Juan Sara
The sooner we get rid of Rae the better - 2 years without promotion proves hes not the man.
Kyle
This could be a massive summer for Rae. If all those players out of contract do leave, and with McDonald leaving too, his ability to rebuild will be severely tested. Much like last year for us, this year really was Dundee's chance to get out of this division.
Ludo *1
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Apr 26 2008, 21:23) *
The sooner we get rid of Rae the better - 2 years without promotion proves hes not the man.

You have to get it through, we were very lucky to be here!
Rae hasn't done a magnificent job after the shambles Kernaghan left us in, Rae is still the man for the job
themuzzle
sw**kie
dixon
mcdonald
robertson
lyle

curier?

tell ya, thats 6 hell of a good players to be losing.

hard times ahead for dundee. i agree, if i was a dundee fan, i'd want rid of rae.
Ludo *1
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 21:32) *
sw**kie
dixon
mcdonald
robertson
lyle

curier?

tell ya, thats 6 hell of a good players to be losing.

hard times ahead for dundee. i agree, if i was a dundee fan, i'd want rid of rae.

Curier may well stay so that's 5
Robertson + McDonald aren't DEFINETLY going YET so that's possibly 3
Sw**kie not sure
Dickers most likely to leave
themuzzle
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 26 2008, 21:35) *
Sw**kie not sure

sw**kie has signed for us. believe me its true. done deal for a while. we were after dixon but he'sgot better offers i hear. robertson will sign for arabs, mcdonald will have his pick. trust me mate, not lying to you. curier will have a few offers too after a good spell with you's. i'd expect him to be away.

Ludo *1
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 21:39) *
sw**kie has signed for us. believe me its true. done deal for a while. we were after dixon but he'sgot better offers i hear. robertson will sign for arabs, mcdonald will have his pick. trust me mate, not lying to you. curier will have a few offers too after a good spell with you's. i'd expect him to be away.

It has been confirmed that so far only 2 teams are after Curier, us and Livi of course that may change but we have offered him a sizable amount and money talks.
Robertson MAY sign for the Arabs but then he may sign for Dundee for another year again this is only rumour.
McDonald will most likely be gone but for a good amount making Rae have a decent transfer budget.
Dixon will probs go and Sw**kie again just rumours can't say yeah or no until I see something concrete.
Plus the fact we already have Paton and McKeown coming in which makes Paleniks blow of leaving slightly softer!
VitalDees
It has been apparent all season that Sw**kie and Dixon had a bad attitude and I expect them both to move on. Robertson is happy at Dens wants to play at a higher level - where he deserves to be. McDonald signed a contract so that if we got to the SPL then fine if not he would sell him on, which I also expect to happen. Most players respect the gaffer and I am of the opinion that if they don't then get rid of them - he's in charge and if they don't like it, that's their fault.

I expect Curier to be at Dens next season... WORD.

EDIT: Rae had to rebuild the squad when he joined and in two seasons we have seen great improvements. We finished 7th, he came we finished 3rd AND the wage bill was cut by 50%. The board showed him more money this season but the wage bill was still lower from when we finished 7th and we challenged. We had a good season for the resources the manager had. Dundee can't afford to gamble while other clubs can. I support the gaffer 100% and look forward to him mounting a challenge with Dundee next season.
Ludo *1
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Apr 26 2008, 22:01) *
It has been apparent all season that Sw**kie and Dixon had a bad attitude and I expect them both to move on. Robertson is happy at Dens wants to play at a higher level - where he deserves to be. McDonald signed a contract so that if we got to the SPL then fine if not he would sell him on, which I also expect to happen. Most players respect the gaffer and I am of the opinion that if they don't then get rid of them - he's in charge and if they don't like it, that's their fault.

Couldn't have said it better myself biggrin.gif

Although I wouldn't say bad attitude as they haven't showed signs of not respecting Rae just that they have been pish this season
Radford
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Apr 26 2008, 22:01) *

Just like you expected Dyron Daal to be at Dens?
Ludo *1
QUOTE (Radford @ Apr 26 2008, 22:07) *

Luckily we expected wrong laugh.gif
VitalDees
QUOTE (Radford @ Apr 26 2008, 22:07) *

Yes, I expected him to be at Dens - I was told he was really close to signing for us, but we got lucky in the end. wink.gif

Ludo, I've heard from a few sources that they two had a bad attitude.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 26 2008, 21:35) *
Sw**kie not sure

I agree Rae has improved the squad since Kernaghan was boss but ending up 7th with Kerno was our worst ever finish.

Dundee are a top division side and deserve to be there I think Rae hasn't got the ability to get us up.
Web
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Apr 26 2008, 21:23) *

Appoint Darryl as Manager
Juan Sara
QUOTE (WebbyDFC @ Apr 26 2008, 22:50) *
Appoint Darryl as Manager

haha wink.gif I wouldn't let my Rangers ego take over
ArthurLee
Dundee are a proud old club and I wish them well but as i said on another thread I wish them nothing but bad luck as long as Rae is in charge. The guy is a prize pr1ck building a team in his own image and is probably more interested at events at Ibrox than Dens.
badgers apprentice
did rae really not know we could have won the league at livi if dundee had lost that day? that speaks volumes about the guy if he didnae.
TheDee
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 26 2008, 21:30) *
You have to get it through, we were very lucky to be here!
Rae hasn't done a magnificent job after the shambles Kernaghan left us in, Rae is still the man for the job

I'll second that, Kernaghan wrecked the team. It was a complete and utter shambles when he was in charge. Rae has had to build a squad under a strict budget, lower than many clubs in the division. Dundee have made progress under Rae and surely that is there for all to see. There have been moments where his tactics have been questionable but he is a young mananger and still learning. He deserves until next season to get it right. If we're not topping the table, then it'll be time to call for his head.
Muggy
QUOTE (TheDee @ Apr 27 2008, 01:05) *
I'll second that, Kernaghan wrecked the team. It was a complete and utter shambles when he was in charge. Rae has had to build a squad under a strict budget, lower than many clubs in the division. Dundee have made progress under Rae and surely that is there for all to see. There have been moments where his tactics have been questionable but he is a young mananger and still learning. He deserves until next season to get it right. If we're not topping the table, then it'll be time to call for his head.

Allan Kernaghan did not wreck the team in my opinion. His hands were tied when it came to slashing the wage bill and introducing a handful of youngsters, namely Kevin McDonald, and Bryan Deasley. He also didn't do too bad in the Scottish cup, but he wasn't the man to build for the future. Neither was he tactically competent; he would be a good youth coach. In Alex Rae and Davie Farell, we have a great management team who will take us up.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (TheDee @ Apr 27 2008, 01:05) *
Rae has had to build a squad under a strict budget, lower than many clubs in the division.

What, despite having the largest and "bestest" attendances in the league? laugh.gif

blairgowriedee
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 20:19) *
in a drunken moment it spilled out 2 weekends ago. very angry he was.

muzzle ,you drunk as well, the college are paying you far to much mate laugh.gif anyway dundee players dont drink rolleyes.gif
blairgowriedee
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 20:39) *

thank fcuk for that ,the guy is a lazy,half hearted poser who will only turn it on if he sees someone in the crowd he fancies.shit season for sw**kie ahead then laugh.gif
had a couple of good games this season but he is greatly over-rated imho
themuzzle
QUOTE (blairgowriedee @ Apr 27 2008, 07:47) *
muzzle ,you drunk as well, the college are paying you far to much mate laugh.gif anyway dundee players dont drink rolleyes.gif

na, i'm aff the bevvy, have been for weeks. as for college, i wish i did go there, would save me from working at the shithole i currently have to go to for over 40 hours of my week wink.gif
blairgowriedee
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 27 2008, 06:54) *
na, i'm aff the bevvy, have been for weeks. as for college, i wish i did go there, would save me from working at the shithole i currently have to go to for over 40 hours of my week wink.gif

so your not the guy who workks at the college kitchen then, he told me that was his sig. and that one of his mates used it also
Nairnite
Dundee need to improve on their discipline next season if they want to go up. In the 4 games they had a player sent off they lost 2 drew 2. Who's to say what points they'd have pick up with 11 on the park. Not to mention the number of suspensions picked up through the sending offs and bookings meaning a lack of consistency in team selection.

Alex Rea needs to calm down. mad.gif Gets refs' back up by shouting at them all the time and questioning even the stick on decisions.

Tubbs
The budget cant be that strict Curier must be a fair amount of cash and just about every team in the division chased McMenamin, McDonald must also have been offered a lot of cash to stay.

I think there might be a wee bit of the situation at Inverness with certain players paid outwith the 'strict' budget of the club ?

As for the poster who says Dundee deserve to be a top flight team. In what basis do they 'deserve' to be there ? you get there only thro play on the field, you lost the status with a shocking run and have not got it back fair and square.
Aaydee
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Apr 27 2008, 10:12) *
The budget cant be that strict Curier must be a fair amount of cash and just about every team in the division chased McMenamin, McDonald must also have been offered a lot of cash to stay.

I think there might be a wee bit of the situation at Inverness with certain players paid outwith the 'strict' budget of the club ?

As for the poster who says Dundee deserve to be a top flight team. In what basis do they 'deserve' to be there ? you get there only thro play on the field, you lost the status with a shocking run and have not got it back fair and square.

Apparently it's because they have more fans! wink.gif
silvery tay
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 19:30) *
i still maintain he was only appointed so that you could have him as a player as well.

Thanks for your concern now OYP
themuzzle
QUOTE (blairgowriedee @ Apr 27 2008, 08:21) *
so your not the guy who workks at the college kitchen then, he told me that was his sig. and that one of his mates used it also

no but i ken the boy you're on about. i'll be having words wi him. jamie is his name. boy with longish hair?
IronChicken
Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentCurier,Deasley, McMenamin up front, we will run riot next season. Who will finish second though ? cool.gif
VitalDees
It was reckoned by the BoD that Dundee have the biggest wage bill in the league but at least four or five teams have a bigger wage cap than us. I was told the figure Rae got to add this season and IIRC it was about £20k. Looking forward to next season...

blairgowriedee
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 27 2008, 10:56) *
no but i ken the boy you're on about. i'll be having words wi him. jamie is his name. boy with longish hair?

yeah, the pop star , thats him. hes alright for a saintee, knows feck all about barbers thou laugh.gif
EastFootball
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Apr 26 2008, 23:33) *
did rae really not know we could have won the league at livi if dundee had lost that day? that speaks volumes about the guy if he didnae.

Roy Hodgson didn't know that Fulham were relegated at one point yesterday...doesn't that speak volumes about him?

But of course perhaps it was just a case of focusing on what's happening on the park then look and see what the impact of the result is then see what the impact of the result is with other results.
TheDee
QUOTE (Muggy @ Apr 27 2008, 01:19) *
Allan Kernaghan did not wreck the team in my opinion. His hands were tied when it came to slashing the wage bill and introducing a handful of youngsters, namely Kevin McDonald, and Bryan Deasley. He also didn't do too bad in the Scottish cup, but he wasn't the man to build for the future. Neither was he tactically competent; he would be a good youth coach. In Alex Rae and Davie Farell, we have a great management team who will take us up.

Kernaghan was totally inept in all departments. Case closed. I fully support Alex Rae and Dave Farell.
TheDee
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Apr 27 2008, 01:21) *
What, despite having the largest and "bestest" attendances in the league? laugh.gif

What does that have to do with it? The fact is that Dundee have operated on a lower budget than several teams in the First. e.g. Morton being able to offer Chris Innes a better wage than we could. Attendance has nothing to do with it. Gretna had probably the lowest average crowd in the league last season but they paid the highest wages.
BAZ 1893
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 19:21) *
well well, i'm led to believe that many players will not re-sign for dundee (money aside) because of a lack of respect for mr rae. dixon, mcdonald, robertson, sw**kie and lyle have been making noises which all suggest that rae is not the man for the job. hot headed and tactically inept they say. they have plenty respect for farrell but rae has lost his dressing.

and i'm not just stirring it before i get accused.

I'm afraid I think the boy Muzzle is gettin some good info here.

I have heard some stories along the same lines and after the antics of some players yesterday I can believe it.

Paul Dixons behaviour was shocking. After being booked and then immediately having a couple of choice words with the manager he was subbed. He then takes a strop, does'nt go near the Dundee bench, just storms off the pitch, shakes hands with Billy Reid, takes his shirt off and walks straight up the tunnel. Not the first time I've seen Dixon and Rae apparently having a few words to say to each other either.

When Derek Lyle realised he was'nt getting on the pitch after we had made our three substitutions he started mouthing off to Rae and Farrell before stomping off up the touchline, having a wee word with Billy Reid and then playing up to the Hamilton fans, waving and clapping at their chants to him.

Sw**kie strolled about all afternoon looking as dis-interested as he could although that's the norm for him.

Big Kev seemed to be shaking his head in disgust most of the afternoon aswell, as he did last week at Dumfries.

I have backed these guys all season but lost respect for a few players yesterday. I don't grudge McDonald and Robertson their moves if they go to bigger clubs for more money, they deserve it but I wonder about what goes on behind the scenes at my club when players like Sw**kie and Dixon are looking at going to Perth. As well as the names mentioned by Muzz I've also heard rumours about guys like Palenic and Zemlik being unhappy.

I suppose there are elements of this at a lot of clubs, not every player can be 100% happy with everything at their club but some of the actions by our players hint at something more serious??

Hope it's all a lot of fuss about nothing but fear not...
TheDee
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Apr 27 2008, 10:12) *

Perhaps McMenamin wanted to play for Dundee? I don't McDonald's wage would be as big as you expect. As for Curier, I believe the board may be willing to stretch the budget to get him on board but I may be wrong.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Muggy @ Apr 27 2008, 01:19) *
Allan Kernaghan did not wreck the team in my opinion.

huh.gif huh.gif huh.gif huh.gif huh.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

As for Rae not knowing Hamilton could have won the league at Livvi that just shows hes focused on Dundee and not Hamilton or anyone else. Still get him tae f**k.