The ghost of Jim Morton
Apr 26 2008, 16:34
Great way to finish the season.Could have been 10-5.There keeper was a nightmare.Great to see Savo get a couple.good crowd as well ,with a fantasticly vocal Livi bunch who were winding up the stewards and police by refusing to sit down ( good on them).Then they all trooped from the top of the stand to the bottom and then went back up again.Funny as fcuk.
Bring on season 2008-2009.....Proud to be a Saintee........
EdinburghLivi
Apr 26 2008, 16:36
Did you score two goals within a minute of us scoring ours or was the vidiprinter off a bit? Also wondering if the penalties were legit, as I have heard otherwise.
themuzzle
Apr 26 2008, 16:37
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Apr 26 2008, 17:36)

Did you score two goals within a minute of us scoring ours or was the vidiprinter off a bit? Also wondering if the penalties were legit, as I have heard otherwise.
aye scored quite soon after you's did. 2nd penalty looked harsh
The Real Saints
Apr 26 2008, 16:40
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 17:37)

2nd penalty looked harsh
You think so? From where I was sitting, I thought the first penalty was certainly not legit, while the 2nd was a stick-on.
Good match considering it was a meaningless last game of season. Well done to all the players who have mainly done us proud this season, and all the best to the players who are leaving.
themuzzle
Apr 26 2008, 16:42
QUOTE (The Real Saints @ Apr 26 2008, 17:40)

You think so? From where I was sitting, I thought the first penalty was certainly not legit, while the 2nd was a stick-on.
Good match considering it was a meaningless last game of season. Well done to all the players who have mainly done us proud this season, and all the best to the players who are leaving.
i was down the other end so maybe i'm wrong but hey who cares. good game, easy win again v the mighty meadowbank.
SaintSam
Apr 26 2008, 16:47
For the first penalty, the defender just out muscled Milne who went to ground in the box after a long fight and chase between the two for the ball. I wouldn't say Milne dived and I wouldn't say he was fouled. It was what it was, a non-event and certainly not a penalty. The second one was an easy decision for the referee to make with a clear trip on David Weatherston who would've surely scored otherwise.
I've got to echo the sentiments of my fellow Saints fans - it was a thoroughly entertaining match and neither team came out to go through the motions this afternoon. The reductions in entry prices saw a bigger crowd than this game would've otherwise attracted and the Saints fans at least couldn't have been disappointed with the teams efforts.
I personally found it really sad to see McManus play his last game for Saints. Good luck to him in whatever comes next. He can certainly leave McDiarmid Park with his head held high.
Fife Saint
Apr 26 2008, 17:03
1st half was horrific stuff. Second was good stuff with end to end play and a few glaring misses thrownin on top of the goals.
Not that i am that bothered but why was the Livi player not sent off if he was deemed to have fouled Milne?
Great away support, i was pishing myself laughing at their antics and yet again fans of diddy clubs are being given different treatment to other bigger clubs fans who are permitted to stand throughout THE WHOLE GAME. I also reckon the Livi fan who was dragged out by a steward ought to be pressing a charge against the Hitler like toy cop steward who overstepped his authority mark.
Sad to see McManus away, if indeed he does go, but progression has its costs.
the wee shop
Apr 26 2008, 17:57
QUOTE (The Real Saints @ Apr 26 2008, 17:40)

What I cannot understand is if they were penalties,why a blatant handball by one of our players later in the game was not.It was an interesting game,but the police and stewards spoiled the atmosphere the young lad were trying to create.We are always getting flack about the size of our away support.When we take a decent crowd we are treated like this.
strathbrock
Apr 26 2008, 17:58
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Apr 26 2008, 18:03)

Not that i am that bothered but why was the Livi player not sent off if he was deemed to have fouled Milne?
Aye there were a few strange decisions from the ref today. Anyway it was never a penalty in a million years. Second penalty I had no problem with.
First half was awful as you might have expected from Livi's mainly under 19's v St Johnstone reserves. Second half at least provided a load of goals - St Johnstone assisted that by the fact that Livi played without a goalkeeper.

Entertainment though was provided by the police and stewards. What a shower of fuds. The young guys were bothering nobody, just enjoying themselves and making a lot of noise. But we couldn't have that, no siree. Up they plodded and invited the laddies to defy them up to a point where they could wade in and haul them out one by one. A total joke.
In the end well worth the £5 admission. Well done Saints for that.
Steve McQueen
Apr 26 2008, 18:01
QUOTE (themuzzle @ Apr 26 2008, 17:37)

aye scored quite soon after you's did. 2nd penalty looked harsh
2nd was the most blatant peno you'll see all year!
1st half was quiet but we were the better team & took the lead just before after a good finish from Mooner after a bit of pin ball.
2 peno's looked justified & well put away to give us a 3-0 lead.
Poor defending to let livvy back but great finish from Savo to restore teh 3 goal lead straight away.
Goalie blunder then again Savo finishes well to ensure Livvy get a 5-2 doing.
Thought the Livvy fans made an arse of themselves TBH
Dev Alahan
Apr 26 2008, 18:01
Did Livi play an outfield player in goal?
Radford
Apr 26 2008, 18:04
I'm still amazed a game of football almost managed to break out in the second half despite the best efforts of David Somers, a truely woeful referee that we've seen far too much of this season.
First twenty minutes were dire but Weatherston's disallowed goal seem to spark us and had a few decent chances before Moon drove through a ruck of bodies for the opener. Maybe just about merited.
Thought the first PK was soft. Again I'd agree with others in that Milne didn't necessarily dive but I don't think McPake was doing much wrong. Second spot kick was nailed on though. Great to see Sheerin back on target from the mark. Also great to see Savo get a couple of goals after a barren run. Would've been nice to see Weatherston and McBreen get in on the act but both did well.
The young Livi side didn't create much and Cuthbert didn't make a save in the entire match. I guess it sums him up that he still lost two goals though. Thanks for the years Kev but definitely time to move on.
Speaks volumes for Allan McManus as well that he was prepared to play today and captain the side. Our loss will be someone elses gain.
The ghost of Jim Morton
Apr 26 2008, 18:07
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Apr 26 2008, 19:01)

Thought the Livvy fans made an arse of themselves TBH
thats a bit of a shite thing to say.They came to Perth to support there football team ,not to sit in a fucking library.I thought they were great.Got right behind their team even if they were piss.Fucking stewards are tossers.What fucking harm were they doing.I cannae believe your saying that shite..
Steve McQueen
Apr 26 2008, 18:10
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Apr 26 2008, 19:07)

thats a bit of a shite thing to say.They came to Perth to support there football team ,not to sit in a fucking library.I thought they were great.Got right behind their team even if they were piss.Fucking stewards are tossers.What fucking harm were they doing.I cannae believe your saying that shite..

Not a problem with supporting their side but everyone know's your not allowed to stand constantly.
Looked to me like the were trying to provoke a reaction.
the wee shop
Apr 26 2008, 19:12
QUOTE (Dev Alahan @ Apr 26 2008, 19:01)

NO!Todays goalkeeper was Marc Lunn,who was making his debut.He has been released by the club along with Colin Stewart.
realmadrid
Apr 26 2008, 19:38
QUOTE (Dev Alahan @ Apr 26 2008, 19:01)

simple game summary , Livi's keeper was more shit than saints and both keepers will be in the lower leagues next season
Dev Alahan
Apr 26 2008, 20:01
QUOTE (the wee shop @ Apr 26 2008, 20:12)

NO!Todays goalkeeper was Marc Lunn,who was making his debut.He has been released by the club along with Colin Stewart.
Not difficult to see why.
QUOTE (realmadrid @ Apr 26 2008, 20:38)

simple game summary , Livi's keeper was more shit than saints and both keepers will be in the lower leagues next season
That Livi keeper is more likely to be working in McDonalds next season than playing in the lower leagues. I've seen keepers have a poor game before but I've never seen someone so completely bereft of ability. Tragic stuff.
SaintSam
Apr 26 2008, 20:06
QUOTE (Dev Alahan @ Apr 26 2008, 21:01)

That Livi keeper is more likely to be working in McDonalds next season than playing in the lower leagues.
the wee shop
Apr 26 2008, 20:14
QUOTE (Dev Alahan @ Apr 26 2008, 21:01)

Not difficult to see why.
That Livi keeper is more likely to be working in McDonalds
He would be dropping food all over the place

So I hope he is not in my local McDonalds
RyanFerguson
Apr 26 2008, 21:52
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Apr 26 2008, 19:10)

Not a problem with supporting their side but everyone know's your not allowed to stand constantly.
Looked to me like the were trying to provoke a reaction.
try the other way about
Mak QOSFC
Apr 26 2008, 21:56
RyanFerguson
Apr 26 2008, 21:58
lol what you mean by that
and out of interest, anyone know what the away crowd was??
Mak QOSFC
Apr 26 2008, 22:00
Still top boy for the LAC Ryan?
RyanFerguson
Apr 26 2008, 22:02
lol we are growing in numbers, best fans in the league
Mak QOSFC
Apr 26 2008, 22:03
the wee shop
Apr 26 2008, 22:41
QUOTE (Mak QOSFC @ Apr 26 2008, 23:00)

Still top boy for the LAC Ryan?
Leave him alone,himand his crew had a tough day.Firstly they had to bin their drink at the Forth road bridge layby.Then they were manhandled by the Perth polis.
SaintSam
Apr 27 2008, 08:17
The crowd was 2700ish.
Mak QOSFC
Apr 27 2008, 09:27
QUOTE (the wee shop @ Apr 26 2008, 23:41)

Leave him alone,himand his crew had a tough day.Firstly they had to bin their drink at the Forth road bridge layby.Then they were manhandled by the Perth polis.

Livi 293
Apr 27 2008, 10:38
Mark Lunn was given a token gesture by Proctor yesterday. A nice touch for the commitment the lad's shown all year, but sadly I can see why he's being released.
Thought some of the younger lads played ok stuff, and we missed an absolute sitter to make it 5-3. All in all fairly entertaining - when I saw the line up I I knew the inexprience might tell. Well done Saints though, played some ok stuff too. Hamill making a comeback was also a big positive.
Thought the support shown towards MP was magnificant, and he obviously appreciated it - although his reaction of constantly clapping and giving the thumbs up to the support worries me a bit - a sign of someone going? If anyone from the Club's 'decision-makers' was there I would like to think they'll seriously consider keeping him - I haven't seen such a popular Livingston manager since Leishman/Hay.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.