Full Version: Will Clyde Survive The Playoffs?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Rasta Ton
After Morton's glorious great escape, will the gypos survive the playoffs? Will we be swapping one North Lanarkshire team for another?
EdinburghLivi
I fancy Raith to come back up so I think they will probably beat Clyde in the final.
Fuctifano
Not sure who I want out of those 4- want rid of Clyde although they did give us most points this year, Alloa would be a total basket case but would probably take 4/5 points from us like Stirling did.

Between Raith and Airdrie i would prefer Airdrie back for the antagonism, but my gut instinct is a league visit to Kirkcaldy next year.
Morrissey
We should get past Alloa, can see Airdrie/Raith beating us in the final though. We're relying on Pat Clarke to shoot us back!
Mr.Blue
fancy clyde to stay up, hope tae f**k its not airdire. rolleyes.gif

well done the ton!
tobester
Also bear in mind that a good incentive is to reach the final, as WHEN gr£dna fold do the 2 finalists not automatically come up?

Its a hard one to call tho...i think raith will come up, but i fancy a clyde -v- raith final

an86
See you next year Bully Wee! bootyshake.gif
Mon The Clyde
Will we f**k.

Those b*****ds didnt try their arse all season, why should they now?
allowafletic
QUOTE (Morrissey @ Apr 26 2008, 17:02) *
We should get past Alloa, can see Airdrie/Raith beating us in the final though. We're relying on Pat Clarke to shoot us back!

Will Alan Maitland come back to haunt you???????????

I HOPE SO DID HE NOT LEAVE CLYDE IN A BIT OF CONTROVERSY
Sao Paulo
Gutted, but the lads gave it everything. Gutsy performance and very comfortable win - just unlucky Thistle didn't do us a favour.

Well done to Morton for staying up, scarcely deserved mind you, but I did feel you lot were in a marginally better position than us to do the business at three O'Clock today. I don't know whether Irons is the man to progress the club, but certainly he's done fairly well to see you safe.

There was some uncertainty at Broadwood in the last five minutes today with word spreading that Thistle had pulled one back, and then that they had in fact pulled two back! I don't know how it spread, or whom through but certainly it had the majority of the stadium under the assumption that we were staying up.

Not only was the support falsely informed but the players also. Indeed the dugout staff were jubilant a minute or so after Clarke had put away his spot kick. The players dropped the tempo for that few minutes or so of uncertainty after being informed of the score at Firhill from the touchline.

Uncertain how this news spread but it did like wildfire, making its way onto the touchline and subsequently pitch. In the couple of minutes that the team dropped the pace we could easily have grabbed a fourth sure. No fingers pointed here, no sour grapes either. A bit odd though, I will say that.

Not looking forward to the play-offs at all myself.
CRM
No, no they cant. They are a trully awful team. I would have fancied Morton to win the playoff's if they ended up in them, but Clyde will not be able to cope IMO. They are heading to the Second Divison - where they belong! laugh.gif biggrin.gif
Steak & Barley
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 18:09) *
Not only was the support falsely informed but the players also. Indeed the dugout staff were jubilant a minute or so after Clarke had put away his spot kick. The players dropped the tempo for that few minutes or so of uncertainty after being informed of the score at Firhill from the touchline.

Uncertain how this news spread but it did like wildfire, making its way onto the touchline and subsequently pitch. In the couple of minutes that the team dropped the pace we could easily have grabbed a fourth sure. No fingers pointed here, no sour grapes either. A bit odd though, I will say that.

I expect it was Niz wink.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
I hope not...Shite club,shite ground,shite fans....Bye-bye
Morrissey
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Apr 26 2008, 18:14) *

Pot, kettle... laugh.gif
Ludo *1

Could say the same about you, ok i'll give you you ain't got a shite ground tongue.gif
Mon The Clyde
It was the dick in the pressbox that said that.
Sao Paulo
I for one certainly do not think we will coast past Alloa. Writing them off is ridiculous particularly considering the nature of the play offs.

Consider that Alloa have the best home record in the second division - bar none. They play on plastic too (coincidence?). I think we would do very well to get anything over there at Recreation park. If we're going to do damage I'd fancy us to do it at Broadwood.

(Although the fact that they have Andy Ferguson leading their line does inspire some confidence)
CRM

In a nutshell!! laugh.gif
Morrissey
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 18:16) *
I for one certainly do not think we will coast past Alloa. Writing them off is ridiculous particularly considering the nature of the play offs.

Consider that Alloa have the best home record in the second division - bar none. They play on plastic too (coincidence?). I think we would do very well to get anything over there at Recreation park. If we're going to do damage I'd fancy us to do it at Broadwood.

(Although the fact that they have Andy Ferguson leading their line does inspire some confidence)

And in Maitland a great tactician. Could he and Ferguson come back to haunt us? sad.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Morrissey @ Apr 26 2008, 18:16) *
Pot, kettle... laugh.gif

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif ..................... laugh.gif
CRM
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 18:09) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif Brilliant!
Sao Paulo
Hey, I know it sounds bitter, but anyone who was at Broadwood will tell you the same.

I really don't care at the minute, but the above did happen.
Morrissey
I expect that Niz got something other than a pint from ClydeNewcomer then, after spreading the rumours? tongue.gif
BullyWee1878
We only have ourselves to blame today as we missed so many chances with McKay in particular missing 3 and Clarke and Arbuckle both being clean through and missing.

Credit to Morton as they have been pretty good in the last few weeks !
CRM
QUOTE (Morrissey @ Apr 26 2008, 18:23) *
I expect that Niz got something other than a pint from ClydeNewcomer then, after spreading the rumours? tongue.gif

An invitation back to 12 Ruel Street? (with his maw of course)
Loki
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 18:16) *
Consider that Alloa have the best home record in the second division - bar none.

Bar Ross County you mean.
washsacks
Clyde are rank. They also have the coldest stadium in the world so yes, they can happily go away.

The wee team would be good for 12 points and the KKK would bring a decent support also.Alloa isn't too far away,acht am no fussed.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 26 2008, 18:16) *
Could say the same about you, ok i'll give you you ain't got a shite ground tongue.gif

What about your team..Couldnae beat Hamilton reserves biggrin.gif
Paco
The play-off's genuinely are anybody's this year. No clear favourites, although Alloa are probably the underdogs.

Don't really know too much about Clyde in all honesty, although Clarke is a very good striker. Who else would you class as the 'dangermen'? I know we hammered you in the CIS Cup this season, but it'll be totally different if we end up meeting in the final.

We've had a dissapointing season, and I almost think it'd be better for our own sake if we spent another year building in the Second Division (said that last year, mind you). I'm hopeful, but not expectant.

In the way of a prediction, I think the winner of the Airdrie-Raith tie will scrape past Clyde in the final.
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (Loki @ Apr 26 2008, 18:30) *
Bar Ross County you mean.

Clyde1 said differently. Apologies if it's inaccurate.
The Naitch
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 18:41) *

If it doesn't involve Celtic or Rangers then they clearly don't give a shit.
Sao Paulo
Alloa 12 home wins, Ross Co. 11?

*Perhaps Ross. Co have picked up more points altogether though?
Loki
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 18:41) *

Alloa had to win 18-0 today to better our home record. Nice to see the people at Clyde 1 still can not count.

I haven't seen Clyde at all this season so can not comment on how they will fair in the playoffs, however Airdrie are the best footballing side of the three from the Second Division. In Noble and Rusell they have a very clever and intelligent forward line, and will cause anyone problems. Alloa are a confidence team and beat us comprehensively earlier in the season 3-1, however in the next game we absolutely destroyed them 6-1 and in reality it could have been double figures. So I expect Alloa to give a good account of themselves. Raith are poor and look to hit teams on the counter with Templeton and Goodwillie looking to exploit any space in behind a defence. To counter this all a team needs to do is defend slightly deeper and Raith run out of ideas very quickly. Raith have performed better against attacking sides, but struggle against well organised defences. Even Berwick have beaten them this season.

From my point of view I hope Gretna fold, and Alloa get through against Clyde. That will mean we would be in a strong position to stay in the league and build from there.

Pride Of The Clyde
QUOTE (Paco @ Apr 26 2008, 18:37) *
In the way of a prediction, I think the winner of the Airdrie-Raith tie will scrape past Clyde in the final.

I disagree, i feel we are good enough to beat either Airdrie or Raith.
That is my opinion but it may not even come to that, depending on the Gretna situation, possibly the 2 semi finals in actual fact could become finals.
Excuse my ignorance, are Airdrie, Raith or Alloa full time, if not, fitness could be a huge factor with these games coming thick and fast?
After the disappointing season we have had i am very greatfull we have another chance through the playoffs even though i believe that the the bottom 2 clubs should automatically be replaced by the top 2 from the lower division.
Sao Paulo
Man for man we have more ability in our squad than any of the other teams involved in the play offs. As a team however, it's quite conceivably a different story. We're certainly not the best team on the go and football is obviously a team game etc.

I've no idea how well we'll do in these play offs, it's anyone's game really. In head to head, one off games, it isn't always the better team (de facto) who win.

I don't think any of the teams finishing second bottom of division one have ever managed to stay up through the play off system have they? Not to my memory anyway. That would suggest to me that a lot of it comes down to momentum.

If we play like we did today mind you, we'd have little bother seeing off any of the teams in the play off. But, as above, momentum 'init?
EastFootball
I'd like to see Raith up, simply because there's only so many times you can travel between Dundee and Glasgow on the train before going mad!

East:

St Johnstone
Dunfermline
Livi
Raith
Ross County

West:

Morton
Partick
Queen of the South

Although we'd be guaranteed another west-coast team, because if it's not Gretna, it'll be Clyde, Airdrie or Alloa rolleyes.gif
Mushroom
We will be favourites to beat Alloa and assuming Gretna go tits up that would be enough to keep us here.

However, it would be so typical of Clyde to blow it, it really would.
Ludo *1
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Apr 26 2008, 18:35) *
What about your team..Couldnae beat Hamilton reserves biggrin.gif

What about your team... never won a major honour tongue.gif
WindaeLicker
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 19:48) *
Man for man we have more ability in our squad than any of the other teams involved in the play offs. As a team however, it's quite conceivably a different story. We're certainly not the best team on the go and football is obviously a team game etc.

I've no idea how well we'll do in these play offs, it's anyone's game really. In head to head, one off games, it isn't always the better team (de facto) who win.

I don't think any of the teams finishing second bottom of division one have ever managed to stay up through the play off system have they? Not to my memory anyway. That would suggest to me that a lot of it comes down to momentum.

If we play like we did today mind you, we'd have little bother seeing off any of the teams in the play off. But, as above, momentum 'init?

I'd disagree with your first point purely because Airdrie and Raith do have some technically very good players and Clyde weren't too hot last year and have obviously got worse this year.

As to your final point, Airdrie breezed past Brechin 6 - 1 in the semi and, in a way, it gave us false confidence (rather than hope) . Even more so was cruising at Stirling 2-0 and then losing 2 goals in the last couple of minutes. We were well set for a loss then and confidence was low. Lose a goal first and I'm sure the first division side will fold....
gmca
QUOTE (Morrissey @ Apr 26 2008, 17:02) *

Probably spot on with that, I think. You look like a strong team with a little bit of skill. I would expect it to be 50/50 with the other semi final winners, who are in a similar mould to yourselves.

If I was to put money on it, I think Airdrie will win.
Mushroom
QUOTE (WindaeLicker @ Apr 26 2008, 20:07) *
I'd disagree with your first point purely because Airdrie and Raith do have some technically very good players and Clyde weren't too hot last year and have obviously got worse this year.

As to your final point, Airdrie breezed past Brechin 6 - 1 in the semi and, in a way, it gave us false confidence (rather than hope) . Even more so was cruising at Stirling 2-0 and then losing 2 goals in the last couple of minutes. We were well set for a loss then and confidence was low. Lose a goal first and I'm sure the first division side will fold....

We have 2-3 awesome players in our team, just a shame we don't have the team to go with them.

I would say even our strongest XI is not bad at all (although it is the worst we've had since Maitland left), but mismanagement is our biggest folly.

Today we took of McSwegan who was doing superbly up front (he wasn't injured or anything), and put on Arbuckle, who is shite at everything except running - he can't even dive properly dry.gif and as for playing a 352 with our most natural goalscorer on the left wing - well, you can see where our problems are coming from.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Based on the performance today i honestly think we can win the playoffs. Today we showed a hunger and desire to win previously unseen this season. I reckon that an in form Clyde team would coast by Alloa and also win against Airdrie/Raith (don't remind me of earlier in the season).

Once again no relegation for the Clyde!

Btw what are the dates for the playoff against Alloa?
Tonsilitis
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 18:48) *

How do you know? Have you actually seen any of the teams concerned this season or is that just 'we're first divsion and must better' attitude? No first division side has survivied the play offs so far so don't count your chickens!
WindaeLicker
Oh aye , Airdrie beat QOS 3-0 last season on this very day and we thought we'd stay up. Think Gretna folding may save Clyde though.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Apr 26 2008, 19:25) *
How do you know? Have you actually seen any of the teams concerned this season or is that just 'we're first divsion and must better' attitude? No first division side has survivied the play offs so far so don't count your chickens!

Well the fact that we have players in our squad that have SPL experience suggests that we have a better squad.
However I realise that its not as simple as that and we need to fight for our survival.
I can confidently predict that Clyde will be the first 1st Div team to survive the playoffs.

For the 3rd time tonight - No relegation for the Clyde!
Sao Paulo
I recognise both Raith & Airdrie have some very good individuals. Kevin McDonald, McDougall, Holmes, Andreoni being amongst the better midfield players at Airdrie when talking about technical skill. Guys like Lovering, very able & well rounded player, if a bit slow for a full back. Marc Smyth also a decent centre half. Prunty, another good player.

Not convinced by Noble & Russell. Despite the charts.

At Raith you've got Sloan, Pelosi, Lumsden, Tod, Andrews all very good players in their own right. Guys like Carcary too, can offer a lot on their day.

I know drawing a comparison is very difficult, I just think we've got that wee bit more.
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Apr 26 2008, 20:25) *

I've seen all this sides concerned, yes. smile.gif

I wouldn't be commenting otherwise.

Forgot to mention wee Davie Templeton at Raith too, great wee player. Big potential. Bit on the weak side though. Very skilful otherwise though. Quick, flair for the game, good dribbler, touch etc.
GeeJay
QUOTE (Rasta Ton @ Apr 26 2008, 16:58) *
Will we be swapping one North Lanarkshire team for another?

But Clyde urr a Glesga team.

copyright ClydeNewcomer.
WindaeLicker
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 26 2008, 20:32) *
I've seen all this sides concerned, yes. smile.gif

I wouldn't be commenting otherwise.

what's your thoughts on them from an outside perspective. I haven't seen Clyde this season but haven't been impressed with either Alloa or Raith against us. My opinion may be different come Wednesday but I would think, on-form, we could beat both.
Sao Paulo
I think both yourselves and Raith to be pretty solid units. In fact, had either side been playing in the first division this year I think perhaps both could have finished above Stirling, although it's obviously difficult to tell. I think there's slightly more individual ability at Raith & Airdrie than there is at Stirling but as teams maybe there wouldn't be too much in it.

I'm genuinely worried about playing either Airdrie or Raith because, as well as you both being good sides, the momentum I feel would be very much with you.

I reckon in our run in to the finish this year, we've only been a couple players short of finishing above the play off with some comfort. A central midfield player with real energy would have helped us no end. The absence of Craig McKeown too has been a big, big blow.

The play offs will be a close thing for sure.