Full Version: Playoffs
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Toddy
After todays scores, am i correct in saying it`s Clyde,Airdrie utd, Raith and Alloa all confirmed?
Morrissey
Yep. We missed survival by one goal! sad.gif
Spiders For Life
Hahahahahaha
rw89
Bring on the bankies! I'm not concerned with todays result as it was mostly fringe players.
Mambostaggie
I really hope Clyde go down, their supporters are the most obnoxious, full of self importance fans i have ever had the misfortune to encouter.
Big_Andy
We were always going to get beat today. Its the Rovers way. Peterheid fans must be gutted though, as they could have scored 10 the day and still not finished in the playoffs. Thank f**k, as I didn't fancy a possible play off final against them up there.......much rather go to Alloa (although I reckon the winner of Raith v Airdrie will play Clyde). I will not be unhappy if we blow the playoffs this year again though, as we are definately not good enough to survive in Div 1, and would need a completely new squad to do so. We will also get derbies against Cowdung (mibbe) and Least Shite. Cannot believe we finished in the playoffs though, as we have been dreadful since Christmas.
rw89
Not posting any topics in the first division to say hello this year? laugh.gif
RCR
I predict airdrie will go up
Scotchpie
QUOTE (RCR @ Apr 26 2008, 17:30) *
I predict airdrie will go up

I predict both finalists will go up.
Morrissey
QUOTE (Mambostaggie @ Apr 26 2008, 17:25) *
I really hope Clyde go down, their supporters are the most obnoxious, full of self importance fans i have ever had the misfortune to encouter.

Aye? Have you ever played St Mirren?

Honestly don't know where that comment has come from, we've got a few silly wee boys (and big yins too rolleyes.gif ) But "self-importance" is the last thing that I think we are.

Anyway, as for the playoff games. Any Alloa fans care to tell how confident they are? I know you have a strong record at home, but I think we have enough to get past you over two legs. Mind you, we have an unbelieveable ability to stumble when it matters most (see ICT winning league, playoffs this season)! What are your main strengths as a team? If you've got pace up front, we may struggle to defend - our centre backs are lacking in any pace whatsoever. We've got a strong centre midfield, and with ex-Cowdenbeath Pat Clarke up top we're reasonable going forward.
rw89
Would just like to say well done to Alloa on making the playoffs! Such a difference compared to last year!
raith_94
QUOTE (Scotchpie @ Apr 26 2008, 16:34) *

I don't feel particularly confident about the playoffs but lets hope you're right. And if you're wrong, then lets hope whoever goes up gives Gretna 4 good hidings. One way or the other it could be the last time at the Shyberry for at least 12 months so should be a good Rovefrs support through. Delighted that Morton aren't in them, not that Clyde will be easy for us or Airdrie, but with Morton's support they'd have been a really tough proposition, particularly at that construction site in Port Glasgow.
number one wasp
QUOTE (Morrissey @ Apr 26 2008, 17:35) *
Aye? Have you ever played St Mirren?

Honestly don't know where that comment has come from, we've got a few silly wee boys (and big yins too rolleyes.gif ) But "self-importance" is the last thing that I think we are.

Anyway, as for the playoff games. Any Alloa fans care to tell how confident they are? I know you have a strong record at home, but I think we have enough to get past you over two legs. Mind you, we have an unbelieveable ability to stumble when it matters most (see ICT winning league, playoffs this season)! What are your main strengths as a team? If you've got pace up front, we may struggle to defend - our centre backs are lacking in any pace whatsoever. We've got a strong centre midfield, and with ex-Cowdenbeath Pat Clarke up top we're reasonable going forward.

not really got any pace up front but weve got a good centre midfield and pace up both wings so hopefully we can use that and deliver some good balls
Morrissey
QUOTE (number one wasp @ Apr 26 2008, 18:24) *
not really got any pace up front but weve got a good centre midfield and pace up both wings so hopefully we can use that and deliver some good balls

Much like ourselves then, although if Arbuckle plays we will have plenty of pace up front. We may be dodgy from crosses, but I'm quietly confident now if you guys don't have a wee nipper to run through our backline!
number one wasp
QUOTE (rw89 @ Apr 26 2008, 17:49) *
Would just like to say well done to Alloa on making the playoffs! Such a difference compared to last year!

hope we play you in the final with previous results weve had this season should be good games
RCR
QUOTE (Scotchpie @ Apr 26 2008, 17:34) *

am I missing something here? Surely only one team can join us
flyingscot
Alloa might have a chance vrs Clyde- at home they are strong, and if they defend well they could maybe scrape through, but Clyde are favourites. Fancy Airdrie in the Play-offs IMHO.
Paco
QUOTE (RCR @ Apr 26 2008, 18:34) *
am I missing something here? Surely only one team can join us

If Gretna go to the wall, both finalists will play in the First Division next season.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
I honestly would be more confident playing either Clyde or Alloa first. Don't know what it is but i'm sure there are many Raith fans also like me, not overly confident, based on this seasons results.....first game of season poorest game ever played with both teams very very poor and raith scoring from set piece......up at Kirkcaldy we were beat 2-1 in the biggest game of 2 halfs i've seen then back at ours Raith absolutely folded and looked as though they'd never seen each other before then back at kirkcaldy I wasn't there but I think it was 2-0 Raith........previous games point to Raith but Airdrie hitting a bit of form lately could be a surprise. I ain't gonna bet on it but defo 1 to watch.
boyinblackandgold
QUOTE (Paco @ Apr 26 2008, 18:38) *
If Gretna go to the wall, both finalists will play in the First Division next season.

Is that definitely right? Or just a rumour.
raithfortheleague
its dinfinatly right
Pride Of The Clyde
Both semis could in actual fact be finals.
boyinblackandgold
QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Apr 26 2008, 19:41) *
its dinfinatly right

don't see anything on the SFL website about that. When was it decided/reported?
roland sausage
Does anyone else think that play-off format is daft? i think having one game for the semi-final at a neutral venue followed by one game for the final again at a neutral venue would be good, say for instance raith vs airdrie at easter road or tynecastle, and alloa vs clyde at east end park maybe?
Paco
QUOTE (boyinblackandgold @ Apr 26 2008, 19:52) *
don't see anything on the SFL website about that. When was it decided/reported?

I saw it on the BBC Sport website. I'm sure there was a link posted on here.

Without a shadow of a doubt that is the case, and a new team will be invited into Division Three to make up the numbers.

QUOTE (raith raver (c) @ Apr 26 2008, 20:07) *
Does anyone else think that play-off format is daft? i think having one game for the semi-final at a neutral venue followed by one game for the final again at a neutral venue would be good, say for instance raith vs airdrie at easter road or tynecastle, and alloa vs clyde at east end park maybe?

I think the major problem with that is what would happen if Dunfermline were in play-off's of some kind? All SPL grounds have the chance of a home fixture, and it's worth noting that the SPL are playing post-split fixtures while play-off's are on, so there's no chance of deliberately leaving a ground free. It could work I suppose, but we, for example, could end up going to play a game against Airdrie at Broadwood or something, which is obviously much nearer Airdrie (it's the SFL remember... don't expect common sense to be applied!).

My only criticism of the play-off's is I feel second place should play fourth, with third taking on ninth from the league above. IMO, the current system is weighted in favour of the First Division side, even to the extent that the second leg of the final is played at their ground if they get there.
roland sausage
QUOTE (Paco @ Apr 26 2008, 20:12) *
I saw it on the BBC Sport website. I'm sure there was a link posted on here.

Without a shadow of a doubt that is the case, and a new team will be invited into Division Three to make up the numbers.

I've heard that being touted around. One of the highland league clubs would be a good shout, or spartans or edinburgh city. The latter team plays at meadowbank, that would be a journey back in time for a lot of people biggrin.gif
WindaeLicker
QUOTE (raith raver (c) @ Apr 26 2008, 20:07) *

Think in the case of the playoffs the better team actually pulls through the two legs whereas a one-off semi-final/final would see a game with a team sitting back and hoping, very much like a final where a "wee" team encounters one of the old firm. I still think the playoff's are daft though, should be two up two down. Not that I'm biased or anything rolleyes.gif
number one wasp
QUOTE (Morrissey @ Apr 26 2008, 18:28) *
Much like ourselves then, although if Arbuckle plays we will have plenty of pace up front. We may be dodgy from crosses, but I'm quietly confident now if you guys don't have a wee nipper to run through our backline!

if we had dougie wilson fit he wouldve been that nipper but unfortunately for us hes gonna be out for the rest of the season
St. Starko
Not expecting us to reach the final as i think Airdrie are a better team. However, at least it'll be another bit of income on Wednesday smile.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Apr 26 2008, 20:33) *
Not expecting us to reach the final as i think Airdrie are a better team. However, at least it'll be another bit of income on Wednesday smile.gif

I'm cynical about our chances too, but last year we went in on a high and look what happened. Maybe going in with low expectations will better us.

Then again probably not.
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Paco @ Apr 26 2008, 18:38) *

Is this the same with the 2 second division finalists
WindaeLicker
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Apr 26 2008, 20:43) *

Possibly , not no, like before my edit rolleyes.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Apr 26 2008, 20:43) *

I'd assume so. Gretna would leave a gap needing to be filled, and both finalists being promoted would do so in turn.
Andy.C
I cannae wait for Wednesday!

If it's anything like last year against Stirling mind and get down early folks!
danelder89
QUOTE (A C @ Apr 26 2008, 22:16) *
I cannae wait for Wednesday!

If it's anything like last year against Stirling mind and get down early folks!

We're going down for 7 o'clock tongue.gif I am really looking forward to the play-offs and have been for a long time, me and my mate have bought air-horns so when you hear them on Wednesday you know who it is laugh.gif

How much fans will Airdrie bring because the travelling Stirling support last year was quite dire to be honest rolleyes.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Stirling brought about 200 fans with them last year. A pishy, poultry amount which lowered the atmosphere.

Airdrie should bring about, what 800 - 1000? I reckon we'll take about 1500 to Airdrie on the Saturday. How much does that stand hold?
Big G...
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Apr 27 2008, 00:33) *
Stirling brought about 200 fans with them last year. A pishy, poultry amount which lowered the atmosphere.

Airdrie should bring about, what 800 - 1000? I reckon we'll take about 1500 to Airdrie on the Saturday. How much does that stand hold?

Doesn't matter how many you bring because you'll get fucked anyway
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Big G... @ Apr 27 2008, 00:37) *

laugh.gif Great direct response
bring_back_the_twa_hoops

smile.gif

I dont think so wink.gif

As for crowds, you can bet there will be more Rovers fans at Shyberry than Airdrie's. tongue.gif
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (Raithsaltire @ Apr 26 2008, 17:28) *
I will not be unhappy if we blow the playoffs this year again

f**k off ya muppet,you should be ashamed to call yourself a supporter

we are definately not good enough to survive in Div 1, and would need a completely new squad to do so.

No fecking shit sherlock

We will also get derbies against Cowdung (mibbe) and Least Shite.

You need to get out more

You`ll be lucky if Airdrie Utd bring 400
Robbo
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Apr 27 2008, 00:41) *
laugh.gif Great direct response

Are you lost? laugh.gif
MonTheRovers!!

I contemplated this route, but then remembered what happened when we tried it last year with Stirling. I'll stick with the ezy-ozy route, and see what unfolds. I'll leave you to shout your mouth off and feel like a fud afterwards.
Waspie

Maybe the poor crowd was due to concerns about bird flu at the time?
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Robbo @ Apr 27 2008, 00:59) *
Are you lost? laugh.gif

Oh sorry , i should not dare talk to fans of such big clubs laugh.gif
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Waspie @ Apr 27 2008, 01:21) *
Maybe the poor crowd was due to concerns about bird flu at the time?

Boom Tsh!!
wearealldoomed

We had just shy of 1000 at Stirling last season, but probably around half of that figure at the Brechin midweek semi. I'd guess at around 6-700, but would be pleasantly surprised if any more turned out.

The away stand at NB hold 2700 as I recall. Can't see you filling that for a semi.
rw89
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Apr 27 2008, 17:59) *
We had just shy of 1000 at Stirling last season, but probably around half of that figure at the Brechin midweek semi. I'd guess at around 6-700, but would be pleasantly surprised if any more turned out.

The away stand at NB hold 2700 as I recall. Can't see you filling that for a semi.

We took about 1500 to Forthbank i think but i doubt we'll fill it against Airdrie.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Apr 27 2008, 17:59) *

If it holds 2700 that should be plenty. Biggest away supports i've been part of in the last 5 years have been at Perth and the games with Cowden (which are only about 6 miles up the road). Even then we only had about 800-1200 fans. Hopefully if the play-off is still evenly balanced we'll get about the same support travelling through. Generally if we take a big support it's to Edinburgh, Perth, Dundee or the other Fife teams.

I think the last time we took a few thousand fans through to the West coast, was back when we won the league in 1995.

Edit: oh and Stirling. Basically within 30-40 minutes drive. Thinking about it I can remember us taking 2000-3000 a few times. Apart from that game at Partick Thistles ground against Accies, where we took a good few thousand through, and the cup final, I can't remember us bring anything like 2700 to the West.
Big_Andy
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Apr 27 2008, 00:57) *
f**k off ya muppet,you should be ashamed to call yourself a supporter

No, I'm a fucking realist you pre pubescant bawbag! I've seen more Rovers seasons than you have 'fathers' and thats saying something you fuckwit.
lzreid
I'm actually quite confident about Airdrie, I've said it before but in the 3 times I've seen them I've not been overly impressed. Not confident at all about the other 2 teams though.

Now i've said it we will of course be beaten by Airdrie but at the moment I genuinely can't see it.