Ten young Livi fans chucked out already.
Heavy handed treatment for the 'crime' of standing up and making a wee bit of noise.
kirkyblue2
Apr 26 2008, 15:04
There's no smoke without fire.
EdinburghLivi
Apr 26 2008, 15:05
They wouldn't want to disturb the St Johnstone's fans whispering
glenrothes 1884 saint
Apr 26 2008, 15:07
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Apr 26 2008, 16:04)

There's no smoke without fire.
Unfortunately at McD there is.Stewards and police are total fanny's,beaten possibly only by Dense Park ones!
themuzzle
Apr 26 2008, 16:17
it was only young lads having the crack on a day out as far as i can make out. ott as usual from the feds.
Steak & Barley
Apr 26 2008, 16:18
I'm always amazed that you can have thousands standing at Man u or Liverpool without problems but 10 wee guys standing up in an empty stadium represents the end of the world in Tayside
themuzzle
Apr 26 2008, 16:24
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Apr 26 2008, 16:05)

They wouldn't want to disturb the St Johnstone's fans whispering

oi, good banter fae us today
SaintSam
Apr 26 2008, 16:27
I was actually going to start a thread about this.
I thought Livingston fans were a credit to their club today. When we left home to walk up to McDiarmid Park, we could hear them loud and clear and that continued for the entire journey. When we got in, we were faced with one of the biggest travelling supports we've seen this season outwith Dundee and St.Mirren. No doubt the number of Livingston fans who travelled was heavily influenced by the £5 entry fee but for a game completely devoid of meaning, it was great to see.
From the minute the match kicked off to the minute the final whistle blew on a 5-2 humping for their team, the Livingston fans were making lots of noise and giving their players great backing. It was really sad to see the stewards and police - once again - overreacting and throwing people out. It was an exciting match, not something you'd expect to see in a typical end of season match played in warm sunshine infront of a decent crowd. The atmosphere was good, the Livingston fans weren't there to cause any trouble but one small group had at least two police officers and one steward in amongst them at all times.
I don't think it's the fact that we have a 'lego stadium' with prices amongst the highest in the division that gives people a tainted view of McDiarmid Park, I think it's Tayside Police and Rock Steady who do that. Fair enough, seats are there to be sat on but the authorities at McDiarmid Park on match days need to use some common sense when dealing with particularly vocal groups of supporters. It wasn't just prolonged standing that saw people thrown out today, it was any movement of the upward direction.
Anyway - to finish off, well done to the Livingston fans who travelled and supported their team. Not many other clubs in this division would've brought the numbers they did to an end of season meaningless match and not many fans of other clubs would've stayed never mind supported their players through a 5-2 humping the way those in the away end did today.
The ghost of Jim Morton
Apr 26 2008, 16:31
QUOTE (Steak & Barley @ Apr 26 2008, 17:18)

I'm always amazed that you can have thousands standing at Man u or Liverpool without problems but 10 wee guys standing up in an empty stadium represents the end of the world in Tayside
100% correct...Have these mini hitlers got fcuk all to do.?? The Livi fans at the game were great and harming nobody,just enjoying themselves.Was really funny when they all trooped down to the bottom of the stand then 5 minutes later all trooped back up again..Plenty of them and they gave their team great backing even when they were getting pumped.What exectly is the problem with them standing up anyway? If it,s an 'elf and saftey issue then how come everyone can stand up at half time??What we need to do is organise a national stand up at the game day.Keep the b*****ds busy and see if they can throw everyone out...As a Saintee I,m embarrased by the actions of the authorities,but to be fair it,s not just McD where it happens.
No smoking,no shouting,no swearing ,no standing...They,d be as well turning the seats round to face away from the pitch.....Whats the FUCKING point of going..
Arseholes, just mindless arseholes who get a hard-on with a wee bit of power..
Jamie_Beatson
Apr 26 2008, 16:38
I saw one cop walk down the stairs past a boy who was no more than 16, then suddenly turn back grab him by the wrist and almost wrench him head first down the stairs. Pretty disgusting behaviour.
The thing is, the Livi fans calmed down ten minutes after kick off, then only started again whenever there was some kind of incident. Then the police got waded in, and they clearly started up again just to wind them up. Had the police stood off they would have settled of their own accord. And who where they hurting anyway? Idiotic.
That said, if you are told to sit down and you get chucked out later for repeatedly standing up you only have yourself to blame. The problem is that 1 - the rule is pointless and stupid, and 2 - the attitude of the police and stewards is all wrong.
Fife Saint
Apr 26 2008, 17:12
I just had a rant on the match thread not realising this was here.
Its getting beyond a joke now. As i mentioned on the other thread i was witness to a steward physically dragging a younger guy down the stairs before ejecting him. Someone over there should have made a complaint.
I am continually depressed by these ridiculous draconian attitudes shown. Like Sam says rules are rules but for the sake of our game something has to be done about this.
You consistently see games down south or OF games where large proportions of the stand are up out of their seats for prolonged periods and nothing is done.
The Police will trot out time honoured excuse that its a bigger safety issue to start removing people from a larger crowd but i'm sorry that just doesn't wash with me. Either do your jobs with parity or make a public statement about why there are different rules for different fans.
As taxpayers we are perfectly entitled to ask why some Police forces act and some don't and its time someone took action to get equality.
Well done the Livi fans who brightened up my day for one.
SaintSam
Apr 26 2008, 17:19
I think it may well need to be us, Saints fans, who appeal to the club and Tayside Police/Rock Steady for something to be done about the way they control the crowd. It's embarrassing.
Deestruction
Apr 26 2008, 17:39
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Apr 26 2008, 17:19)

I think it may well need to be us, Saints fans, who appeal to the club and Tayside Police/Rock Steady for something to be done about the way they control the crowd. It's embarrassing.
Dundee fans have already pleaded (I use the word loosely) with TP about the crowd "control". Obviously they just explain for Health and Safety reasons they must follow these procedures etc. To make a point, us Dundee fans take the exact same shit as you get at Dens and when we're at McDiarmid too. Load of pish if you ask me about this H&S gash. We in the Derry have 1 regular steward who has no problem with you standing if your singing or need a strech for a few minutes, but ocassionaly and at the start of matches, we get some ginger fud who insists on being the Ginger Nazi.
http://www.standupsitdown.co.uk/ is a good site to show support fir standing at games.
Deestruction
Apr 26 2008, 17:52
QUOTE (livifan06 @ Apr 26 2008, 17:48)

I got kicked out (dragged down the stairs by my sleeve) by the police, just for standing, and singing :| wtf. Wasnt even abusive or anything, got my details taken for breach of the peace
Mate, I've had that happen to me too, it's embarassing to be thrown out for standing supporting your team (afterall, the turnstyle does say Away SUPPORTERS doesn't it?)
I advise you and your friends to join up with SUSD and get your supporters club involved. Try and arrange talks with your club about compliance etc and just put your views across. Don't let the corporations win!
EdinburghLivi
Apr 26 2008, 17:56
QUOTE (livifan06 @ Apr 26 2008, 18:48)

I got kicked out (dragged down the stairs by my sleeve) by the police, just for standing, and singing :| wtf. Wasnt even abusive or anything, got my details taken for breach of the peace
Breach of the peace! AT A FOOTBALL GAME?!
themuzzle
Apr 26 2008, 17:56
QUOTE (livifan06 @ Apr 26 2008, 18:48)

bad crack. good crack you boys today. in fact, in about 7-8 times i've seen livi, its the 1st ive heard you's sing
The Arch
Apr 26 2008, 18:11
Are the rules somehow different in the Perth/Dundee area? All the complaints about stewards or police are always regarding games at Dens or McDiarmid.
load of morton fans standing up today , i saw the srewards and police looking up , have a wee discussion , laugh and walk away whats so hard about acting like that ?
Fife Saint
Apr 26 2008, 18:28
QUOTE (Torro @ Apr 26 2008, 19:18)

load of morton fans standing up today , i saw the srewards and police looking up , have a wee discussion , laugh and walk away whats so hard about acting like that ?
It makes a mockery of the whole thing when different forces have more lenient upholdings of the rules.
This is not so much a police/stewards issue as they are only doing their job to the letter of the law. The rules have to be looked at rather than the people enforcing them (as long as they are following their own code of practice, unlike that steward today).
Forza Livi
Apr 26 2008, 18:28
last game of the season, fiver to get in, crowd in good mood and a bit of banter. KO and then all fcukin hell breaks loose. two maybe three Livi out by 10 past andmore following every five minutes. Head Steward says the Match Commander is telling him to get us out one by one but it got to the stage where they were grabbing unsuspecting fans as they passed. they were prepared to take the whole corner out and then start in the next section. Manhandling & over zealous yet when I questioned the way one plod grabbed someone, he asks me if I want his job. WTF is that about?
Some lads who were kicked out tried to complain at the reception and were met with hostility by some suits. bad atmosphere all round.
Saints, these clowns are getting you a bad name and travelling support just wont come. we had traffic cops watching us today and they seemed to be making their quota for the day by fining Livi fans for breach of the peace rather than catching speeding motorists etc
absolute joke
webeatleeds
Apr 26 2008, 18:35
Accies fans were getting the same crap at Dens today - Dear football fan thanks for your money and now we'll treat you like shit !!! Keep this up and include tanks in George Square and we could be awarded the Olympic Games
silvery tay
Apr 26 2008, 19:16
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Apr 26 2008, 17:31)

100% correct...Have these mini hitlers got fcuk all to do.?? The Livi fans at the game were great and harming nobody,just enjoying themselves.Was really funny when they all trooped down to the bottom of the stand then 5 minutes later all trooped back up again..Plenty of them and they gave their team great backing even when they were getting pumped.What exectly is the problem with them standing up anyway? If it,s an 'elf and saftey issue then how come everyone can stand up at half time??What we need to do is organise a national stand up at the game day.Keep the b*****ds busy and see if they can throw everyone out...As a Saintee I,m embarrased by the actions of the authorities,but to be fair it,s not just McD where it happens.
No smoking,no shouting,no swearing ,no standing...They,d be as well turning the seats round to face away from the pitch.....Whats the FUCKING point of going..
Arseholes, just mindless arseholes who get a hard-on with a wee bit of power..
Your meh mate ! Strange as it seems i have to agree with every sentiment in your post ...The sooner these jumped up fuckers realize its fitba' and not ballet the punters come to see the better........perhaps your idea of every chunt getting up at the same time in every stadia at a given time could be arranged it would give us a laugh and the jobsworths something to do for a change
lionel wickson
Apr 26 2008, 20:10
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Apr 26 2008, 19:16)

Your meh mate ! Strange as it seems i have to agree with every sentiment in your post ...The sooner these jumped up fuckers realize its fitba' and not ballet the punters come to see the better........perhaps your idea of every chunt getting up at the same time in every stadia at a given time could be arranged it would give us a laugh and the jobsworths something to do for a change
Sons fans (even the auld yins) did exactly that at St.Mirren in the cup this year, in response to over-zealous stewarding. When the stewards wanted the police to assist, the Match Commander just laughed at them !
Hen Broon
Apr 26 2008, 20:57
Never seen anything like it today . Yes the fans were standing and singing but then the steward alerted the police right away,a very serious case of enjoying yourself in a harmless way. Then it all got out of hand. Good day to speed or rob in Perth as the police were up to there necks in it . I have been to McD park many times and after today I will never be back.
RyanFerguson
Apr 26 2008, 21:34
Can't believe the police/stewarding today, about 15 all together got ejected, 2 were fined £40 i think it was, a further couple were put in the cells and had to wait until they were collected by a relative, wtf is that all about, i got no warning , the steward just grabbed my hand whilst i was in mid-song and i was hauled out, decent view from the car park
Big Col
Apr 26 2008, 21:36
And you can also add in the tw@t steward at Livi that was hired in from Parkhead who tried to throw out a Jags fan for having a container which was in actual fact a pouch of Lucozade that he had purchased at the pie stand in the ground!!!
Also reminds me of the to55er at Killie a few years ago who asked me to refrain my language but somehow could not hear the same songs coming frm the group of 50 or so fans a few rows in front!
I think they're all trying to make up for getting rejected from Tullyallan!
alittlescot
Apr 26 2008, 23:22
Appauled by the stewards and policing today. Could see from the start that they were out to kill the atmosphere.
Even before I entered the stadium, the police were talking about the large numbers of 'rowdy' livi supporters. Basically as soon as the game kicked off the police were up telling Livi supporters to sit down. The lads kept singing. All credit to them, someone needs to keep the atmosphere alive in games. So they flung 3 supporters out.
After that, anytime a Livi supporter was to stand up and sing they were dragged out. The LAC could have made it easier on themselves by not swearing at police, which is a criminal offense, this only enticed them further. Eventually leading to 15 fans being forced out.
Some innocent fans were forced out, some were rightfully flung out... but if the police were to let it go, none of this would have happened. Everyone would have been happy at a high scoring game with a great atmosphere.
badgers apprentice
Apr 26 2008, 23:24
stand up if you hate saintees!
TheBanter
Apr 27 2008, 00:14
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Apr 26 2008, 18:19)

All fans should be getting together and making their feelings known about this including the St Js fans. These wee fannies that don yellow jackets are ruining the game and none more so than in Tayside. It is only going to have an adverse effect on your club as away fans just won't bother trevelling if they know they are going to be subjected to this treatment.
I for one will be giving St Johnstone no more money after being frisked on the way in and seeing people being treated like shit on every recent visit.
Sandy Hodge
Apr 27 2008, 00:59
It always seems to be Tayside Police that are involved when these things happen , the St Johnstone and Dundee/ Dundee United games involving Accies this season have all included instances of fans being thrown out for behaviour that at all other grounds causes no reaction from the police - does Tayside police have some form of commission system to reward officers for taking spotty 15 year-old names at football grounds?
OneJamesMcCarthy
Apr 27 2008, 01:03
Harry Roberts hes our friend...
Today wasn't the best display from Tayside's finest IMO. It was kids they were dealing with not football hooligans.
I think the polis are going to kill the game
themuzzle
Apr 27 2008, 09:57
QUOTE (hafc75 @ Apr 27 2008, 02:03)

Harry Roberts hes our friend...
he kills coppers
sconesjfc
Apr 27 2008, 12:28
QUOTE (RyanFerguson @ Apr 26 2008, 22:34)

Can't believe the police/stewarding today, about 15 all together got ejected, 2 were fined £40 i think it was, a further couple were put in the cells and had to wait until they were collected by a relative, wtf is that all about, i got no warning , the steward just grabbed my hand whilst i was in mid-song and i was hauled out, decent view from the car park

What a load of sh1te, you were warned a least a couple of times before getting turfed out, kids and beer eh
QUOTE (sconesjfc @ Apr 27 2008, 13:28)

kids and beer eh
Aye, your posts are the perfect example.
sconesjfc
Apr 27 2008, 12:48
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 27 2008, 13:32)

no yours are
RyanFerguson
Apr 27 2008, 12:55

What a load of sh1te, you were warned a least a couple of times before getting turfed out, kids and beer eh
Ok im sorry my friend, next time we have St Johnstone away i will go to the local library
sconesjfc
Apr 27 2008, 13:10
QUOTE (RyanFerguson @ Apr 27 2008, 13:55)

Ok im sorry my friend, next time we have St Johnstone away i will go to the local library

The police and stewards are McD are total fannys, theres no denying that, however you were all told to sit a couple of times before they went in heavy handed so you were warned.

kids and beer eh
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 27 2008, 13:32)

QUOTE (sconesjfc @ Apr 27 2008, 13:48)

no yours are
INDICATOR
Apr 27 2008, 13:13
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Apr 26 2008, 23:24)

stand up if you hate saintees!
I'm standing. I HATE the term 'Saintees'. I much prefer 'Saints'.
Juan Sara
Apr 27 2008, 13:15
Aye they're utter arsehole the Tayside Police
Although we put the fear of god into them with a shower of seats
RyanFerguson
Apr 27 2008, 13:52
QUOTE (sconesjfc @ Apr 27 2008, 14:10)

The police and stewards are McD are total fannys, theres no denying that, however you were all told to sit a couple of times before they went in heavy handed so you were warned.
Im not complaining about getting thrown out, i am just wondering how someone can get a £40 fine for breach of the peace at a football game
Futhermore, throwing people in the cells for standing
jobsworth!
SaintSam
Apr 27 2008, 15:53
Is that not some sort of fixed penalty that they just issue you with for a minor criminal offence, to avoid taking you to the station, booking you in and all of the paper work that comes with it? You see them giving out fixed penalties in town centres for things like being drunk and urinating in the street.
maxwell5
Apr 27 2008, 16:10
It's all to do with the safety certificate as has been concluded in countless threads on this same topic.
SteamingparBoz
Apr 27 2008, 16:24
Same happened at East End Park yet again. My mate got thrown out because he was leaning back on his seat, and I was standing up but nothing said to me. It took 4 polis cants to take his name and he had his season ticket taken off him (ha!) all for leaning on the seat. The rest of us walked out in disgust and eventually frustration kicked in and swore like a tropper to the polis about it, probably lucky not to be locked up judging by past experience. F***** hate how this is such an issue to some folks.
Apparently we're replacing Rock steady next season, thank f***, shower of shite the lot of you.
Would be different if someone's view was getting blocked, would never do that to anyone.
SaintSam
Apr 27 2008, 16:32
QUOTE (maxwell5 @ Apr 27 2008, 17:10)

It's all to do with the safety certificate as has been concluded in countless threads on this same topic.
Then consistency throughout police forces is a major problem.
If it's a safety issue at McDiarmid Park, I struggle to see why it's not one at Old Trafford.
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Apr 27 2008, 17:32)

Then consistency throughout police forces is a major problem.
If it's a safety issue at McDiarmid Park, I struggle to see why it's not one at Old Trafford.
Hi Sam x x
SaintSam
Apr 27 2008, 16:34
QUOTE (WebbyDFC @ Apr 27 2008, 17:33)

Hi Sam x x

Hi Webby.
Been to the hairdresser yet?
SavotheGreat
Apr 27 2008, 16:34
I really would love to see Tayside Police try and police an Old Trafford crowd. They would literally be pissing themselves.
"Oi, YOU, row ZZZZ, sit doon or am coming to get ya!"
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Apr 27 2008, 17:34)

Hi Webby.
Been to the hairdresser yet?

Today!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.