Only coo in the village
Apr 24 2008, 22:36
Cowdenbeath are in the play-offs at the wrong end of the table. It would be interesting to hear from other clubs supporters about our chances of survival based on what they have seen of Cowden this season . I have been named as a negative person on our fans website due to my unfounded criticism of our manager and would therefore welcome others more positive and objective thoughts on our team.
Stevo Fife
Apr 24 2008, 22:40
QUOTE (Only coo in the village @ Apr 24 2008, 23:36)

Cowdenbeath are in the play-offs at the wrong end of the table. It would be interesting to hear from other clubs supporters about our chances of survival based on what they have seen of Cowden this season . I have been named as a negative person on our fans website due to my unfounded criticism of our manager and would therefore welcome others more positive and objective thoughts on our team.
Your pish. Now do us a favour and get tae f**k!
Only coo in the village
Apr 24 2008, 23:08
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Apr 24 2008, 23:40)

Your pish. Now do us a favour and get tae f**k!
Aye!, kick a poor man while he is down why don't you?, Cowden worse than East Fife, exposed as a boo boy!, the pound at an all time low against the Euro and Raith going for promotion with a huge flag that cost ten million squid

!. Anyone got a Hamlet???

St. Starko
Apr 24 2008, 23:13
In relation to the topic title. I hope not, but you deserve to go down because you haven't got enough points to finish 8th or above
Stevo Fife
Apr 24 2008, 23:17
Coo, in all honesty (if you check the 3rd forum you'll see i tipped Cowdung to stay up) from what i`ve seen of Arbroath, Stranraer and Montrose, you should stay up. Arbroath are the better side out of the 3 but i think you'll have enough in the tank to see them off.
Big G...
Apr 24 2008, 23:51
Well to be honest, take the top 4 and the Berwick train wreckage out of the equation, you are probably the worst of "the rest" that I have seen this season, home and away. As to whether you stay up or not, that depends on whats coming through from Div. 3.
Good luck anyway guys.
Only coo in the village
Apr 25 2008, 00:26
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Apr 25 2008, 00:17)

Coo, in all honesty (if you check the 3rd forum you'll see i tipped Cowdung to stay up) from what i`ve seen of Arbroath, Stranraer and Montrose, you should stay up. Arbroath are the better side out of the 3 but i think you'll have enough in the tank to see them off.

Appreciate your thoughts Stevo and trust your judgement. Only problem is that you ain't seen how crap Cowden have been recently. We make East Fife look like Halifax Town

??.OOOOOH BEHAVE!

vince sinclair
Apr 25 2008, 07:32
I'm really worried coo, we've no confidence and don't look like scoring.
Mr Welsh should have been sacked ages ago. He's just not up to the job.
If we go down it will set us back 10 - 20 years.
One Rovers home game alone will probably equal our season total in gate income back in Div 3.
My honest opinion is that if we had kept 3 or 4 key players fit at the right times we wouldnt be 2nd bottom HOWEVER no excuses we have made signings of good quality (well by reputation) when the going got tough but still we are in this mess. Results agains QP And Berwick at home mean we deserve to be where we are.
I honestly believe that Cowden must stay up through these play offs otherwise i foresee doom and gloom for quite a while in the 3rd div.
we should have enough to see off Arbroath but it will be a battle.
mone the cowden
QUOTE (vince sinclair @ Apr 25 2008, 07:32)

One Rovers home game alone will probably equal our season total in gate income back in Div 3.
Keep the faith Vince.I reckon and hope you do stay up.
Having said that,read in one of the rags today that you could be missing 8-10 players for the Play offs
i still wonder whether starting pre-season 2 months or 1 month early has maybe fcuked us?
dudley
Apr 25 2008, 09:32
QUOTE (vince sinclair @ Apr 25 2008, 08:32)

When we played you at Central Park the last game I thought that you played very well from the back through midfield. You seemed to lack a cutting edge up front. That said I am sure that your players will take confidence from as many supporters that can go to urge them on. Plenty of encouragement and no negativity.
You have a team that play some good stuff and I for one really hope you stay up. Good luck on Wednesday. I am actually thinking about going to this game.
davidy233
Apr 25 2008, 10:32
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Apr 25 2008, 00:17)

I've seen all four teams and Stranraer were by far the pick of the bunch (only saw them once though and they convincingly won at Montrose that evening) - Arbroath and Montrose have both been OK in the other games I've watched them in - Cowden were awful the night I saw them lose to ten man Queens Park.
QUOTE (davidy233 @ Apr 25 2008, 11:32)

I've seen all four teams and Stranraer were by far the pick of the bunch (only saw them once though and they convincingly won at Montrose that evening) - Arbroath and Montrose have both been OK in the other games I've watched them in - Cowden were awful the night I saw them lose to ten man Queens Park.
Had to be that game you were at eh

it couldnt have been emm..... cant think of a good game
lzreid
Apr 25 2008, 11:21
I've been negative about Cowden in the past so I'm gonna try and be objective.
In the games I've seen Cowden in this season they've been poor, the loss of Buchanan and Clarke means that there doesn't seem to be a natural goalscorer at the club. Sadly, the defence seems like it isn't up to the job either.
From what I've seen of Arbroath - the only other team in the play offs I've seen - they are peerhaps the worst footballing side I've seen thgis season including yourselves. That said, they are bloody effective. I can't see Cowden statying up without a bit of luck.
jack_bauer
Apr 25 2008, 11:43
Hope Cowden stay up for the simple fact that 8 Fife derbies a season are better than 4

Even if that does mean risking my life by going to Central Park
boardroomshuffler
Apr 25 2008, 13:27

The youth set up at cowden will probably suffer,which is touted as one of the best.Most that don't support Cowden realise how badly it will effect the club.The possibility that Rovers may still be in the second,and East Fife will be,is crippling financially.It would not have happened under Mixu.
centralparker
Apr 25 2008, 14:31
Mixu Pataalainen built the best Cowden team since 1970. Welsh has dismantled the whole thing in less than 2 years, a frightening statistic which does not augur well for the future.
QUOTE (centralparker @ Apr 25 2008, 15:31)

Mixu Pataalainen built the best Cowden team since 1970. Welsh has dismantled the whole thing in less than 2 years, a frightening statistic which does not augur well for the future.
Whatever happens at the end of the season it surely is the end for Welsh.
Tactically he's hopeless and fills you with no confidence at all.
Cowden were a delight to watch 2 years ago under Mixu and under Welsh they've gone backwards.
QUOTE (centralparker @ Apr 25 2008, 15:31)

I think that's what has made it more difficult for Welsh, the fact that Mixu was always going to be a tough/impossible act to follow. There is also the fact that Cowden aren't a big enough club to hold on to the likes of Markus P, Gomis, Buchanan, Clarke etc.
I thought Cowden were still a good side earlier in the season and contributed well to an entertaining 3-2 Alloa win at the Recs - at a time when Alloa were flying - but last time I saw them they looked poor (though we weren't any better that day either). I haven't seen enough of the 3rd division sides to comment, but I can't see them being much better, if at all, than Cowden. The main telling factor could be confidence, or rather lack of it.
Only coo in the village
Apr 25 2008, 17:49

I agree with every word Vince. I feel extremely worried about our prospects as we have nobody to stick the ball in the net and as you say,confidence is at an all time low. It should be intersting to see what size of gate we will get for the home game against Arbroath as i know a few Pars fans who plan on coming. Thanks for your words of support on the Cowden forum Nelly which i appreciated. I will give it a miss from now on and concentrate on posting guff on here instead

brazilnut
Apr 25 2008, 17:57
QUOTE (AndyM @ Apr 25 2008, 15:49)

Whatever happens at the end of the season it surely is the end for Welsh.
Tactically he's hopeless and fills you with no confidence at all.
Cowden were a delight to watch 2 years ago under Mixu and under Welsh they've gone backwards.
Agree with you we have completely lost the attacking flair we had under Mixu and which struck fear into opposition team's defences. Welsh's tactics are totally negative in that the team spend most of a game in their own half of the park and even when the ball breaks into the opposition's half our strikers haven't a clue what to do with it. Maybe when we come up against a Third Division side like Arbroath next week they might find the scoring touch which has eluded them all season. I certainly hope Welsh isn't going to Gayfield to play a defensive game or Arbroath will hammer us.
Juninho
Apr 25 2008, 18:48
Yes, because they hate Andy Barrowman for no reason.
The Minertaur
Apr 25 2008, 18:49
Train tickets down to Arbroath came through today

How many Cowden fans making the away game?
stockcar willie
Apr 25 2008, 19:12
not looking to good for the play-offs,what with all the injured guys and gilfillan swanning of to oz.looks like were gonna have to play a few of the youths for these games

(hopefully we can get a bit of luck)
basher brash
Apr 26 2008, 09:11
hope you s stay up 4 derbies to look forward too! cant see us going up via playoffs sorry fellow rovers fans. New year game cowden matched us until going down to 10 men so chin up guys there is still hope for you s
Teamwork Expresso
Apr 26 2008, 09:13
werent Cowden pushing for promotion under big Mixu ??
where did it all go wrong ??
edinbugercowden
Apr 26 2008, 09:17
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Apr 25 2008, 19:49)

Train tickets down to Arbroath came through today

How many Cowden fans making the away game?
Looks like im out for the 1st leg, Looks like wont finish work in time to make the train to Arbroath
bleubrazil
Apr 26 2008, 09:21
My head says we are up shit creek but my heart says Cowden can do it!
bleubrazil
Apr 26 2008, 09:27
QUOTE (Teamwork Expresso @ Apr 26 2008, 10:13)

Welshie or McDougall or the new owners sold our best four players and they have been replaced by talented kids not yet ready for Second Division football.
The Blue Brasilion
Apr 26 2008, 11:00
QUOTE (Teamwork Expresso @ Apr 26 2008, 10:13)

From the moment Welsh was announced as manager.
Yeah granted, we lost the likes of Buchanan, Markus P, Gomis and Garry Smith at the tail end of last season but even with these players you could see the difference in the way Mixu had the team playing to Welsh, ie: slick passing football to hopefull long balls.
Kierkegaard
Apr 26 2008, 16:04
Hallelujah! We've just won a fitba match. Very young team on the park. Good decision not to play Dougie Hill and Jay Shields and keep them for the play-offs.
stockcar willie
Apr 26 2008, 17:49
filled with renewed confidence now after today's performance,best weve played for a long time.queens did'nt start well and cowden should really have been 3 up at half time only poor finishing let us down.queens came more into it in the second without really making any clear chances.christ even kenny had a decent game,if we play like we did today i can't see any problems in the playoffs
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Apr 26 2008, 18:13
Arbroath will beat Cowdenbeath over 2 legs, Stranraer will beat Montrose and hen Stranraer will beat Arbroath...stranraer going up overall.......my thoughts no offence, good luck.
1320Lichtie
Apr 26 2008, 19:37
QUOTE (++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Apr 26 2008, 19:13)

Arbroath will beat Cowdenbeath over 2 legs, Stranraer will beat Montrose and hen Stranraer will beat Arbroath...stranraer going up overall.......my thoughts no offence, good luck.
Stranaraer had there strongest side out today while we were basically playing our subbies, reserves and youth and we got a draw and they didnt look any better than us. I expect us to beet cowdenbeath but itll be tough , hopefully this comment doesnt come back and bite me in the arse
The Minertaur
Apr 26 2008, 20:01
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Apr 26 2008, 20:37)

Stranaraer had there strongest side out today while we were basically playing our subbies, reserves and youth and we got a draw and they didnt look any better than us. I expect us to beet cowdenbeath but itll be tough , hopefully this comment doesnt come back and bite me in the arse
In all fairness Cowden had our youth team and reserves out today and we beat Queens Park so it should be an even couple of games! Finally we have won at home so hopefully that can help!
Any chance of someone telling me the Cowden line-up?
Cheers team.
Aberdeen Cowden
Apr 26 2008, 20:23
QUOTE (++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Apr 26 2008, 19:13)

If we cannot give Arbroath a right thrashing over the two games we don't deserve to be in the second division next season. They were beaten at home by East Stirling recently !!
Then it doesn't matter who wins the final.
ThirtySixNil
Apr 26 2008, 21:18
QUOTE (Aberdeen Cowden @ Apr 26 2008, 21:23)

If we cannot give Arbroath a right thrashing over the two games we don't deserve to be in the second division next season. They were beaten at home by East Stirling recently !!
Then it doesn't matter who wins the final.
You're talking like your a big club, 300 fan diddy club fae the arsehole of Fife.
We'll sort you out.
Kierkegaard
Apr 26 2008, 21:41
QUOTE (ThirtySixNil @ Apr 26 2008, 22:18)

You're talking like your a big club, 300 fan diddy club fae the arsehole of Fife.
We'll sort you out.
Bookmarked.
Aberdeen Cowden
Apr 26 2008, 22:21
QUOTE (ThirtySixNil @ Apr 26 2008, 22:18)

We'll sort you out.
Oh dear!!!!!
flyingscot
Apr 26 2008, 22:41
Last time I saw Cowden they were fine- nothing special, but really lacked some-one who could put a ball in the net. I've only seen Montrose this year of the others and Cowden should be better than them.
The Minertaur
Apr 26 2008, 22:46
QUOTE (Dunc @ Apr 26 2008, 21:02)

Cheers team.
From Sky Sports -
Davie Hay, Chris Shanks, Matt Lynch, Kenny Adamson, Scott Linton, Gary Tennerazzo (Daniel McCay 86), Pat Scullion (Mark Ramsey 60), John O'Neil, Martin McBride, Denis McLaughlin, Paul McQuade (John Ferguson 69). Subs Not Used: Garry Cennerazzo, Kyle Allison.
Is that right about the Tenerrazzo and Cenerrazzo?!
Cowden Cowboy
Apr 26 2008, 22:50
QUOTE (Dunc @ Apr 26 2008, 21:02)

Cheers team.
Hay; Shanks, Lynch, Adamson, Linton; Tomana, O'Neill, Scullion, McBride; McLaughlin, McQuade. Subs used: Ferguson, Mackay, Ramsay.
The Minertaur
Apr 26 2008, 22:52
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Apr 26 2008, 23:50)

Hay; Shanks, Lynch, Adamson, Linton; Tomana, O'Neill, Scullion, McBride; McLaughlin, McQuade. Subs used: Ferguson, Mackay, Ramsay.
Swap Tenerrazo with Tomana and my team was right
Kierkegaard
Apr 26 2008, 22:53
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Apr 26 2008, 23:46)

From Sky Sports -
Davie Hay, Chris Shanks, Matt Lynch, Kenny Adamson, Scott Linton, Gary Tennerazzo (Daniel McCay 86), Pat Scullion (Mark Ramsey 60), John O'Neil, Martin McBride, Denis McLaughlin, Paul McQuade (John Ferguson 69). Subs Not Used: Garry Cennerazzo, Kyle Allison.
Is that right about the Tenerrazzo and Cenerrazzo?!

Naw, Marek Tomana was in midfield, Gary C was on the bench. We had three teenagers in the back four, another two teenagers came on as subs, and yet another two were unused subs.
Cowden Cowboy
Apr 26 2008, 22:55
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Apr 26 2008, 23:52)

Who? Cennerazzo do you mean?
Ah right, thanks very much. I know a couple of lads who are with Cowden and was just interested to see if they managed a wee game.
They didn't.
The Minertaur
Apr 26 2008, 22:58
QUOTE (Cowden Cowboy @ Apr 26 2008, 23:55)

Who? Cennerazzo do you mean?
Nope sky sports had a Gary Tennerazzo playing in the team while Cennerazzo was on the bence.
How was the player of the year bash?
Cowden Cowboy
Apr 26 2008, 23:01
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Apr 26 2008, 23:52)

You'll want to know who won the awards tonight I assume.
Davie Hay was Player of the Year, Players' Player of the Year & Online Player of the Year
Dougie Hill was Fans' Player of the Year, Online Fans' Player of the Year, & Dublin Supporters Club Player of the Year
Mark Ramsay was Young Player of the Year
Jon Robertson was Online Young Player of the Year
Pat Scullion won Goal of The Season for his goal at Alloa
Denis McLaughlin won the Pollock Shield for best individual dispaly of the season with his 4 goals at Berwick.
Willie Nellies and Jimmy Scade won the Lord Ewing Shield as Supporters of the Year.
Hookey Leonard Trophy for top goalscorer not yet decided - Pat Clarke, Denis McLaughlin, John Dempster and Paul McQuade all in running at present.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.