sanquhar_bay_rowdies
Apr 23 2008, 15:41
Just had a look at Queen of the South Mad, which usually is the lair of the troubled, sad and the downright peculiar - and have noticed their latest grip.
Apparently Queens have removed the link to their site from the club's official site. That seems a reasonable thing to me, particularly after some of the silly comments made by these 'fans' about people dying and being crap in general (astonishing after we're doing so well this year). This was the site wanted Chisholm sacked after 5 minutes, and called him a 'clown' - well, we're all laughing now!
So the posters on Queens Mad have all become outraged about this, and it seems downright laughable to me (as someone who never posts on these things, simply because of the 'flame wars' that result). I quote:
"This is a violation of the fans rights and needs to be fought by us all!!!!"
"Call on Queen of the South to restore the link on their OS to this website which, in the absence of any attempt to facilitate discussion amongst fans on the OS, provides an opportunity for REAL fans to express their right to free speech."
"This is pathetic."
"perhaps a volume of complaints will help them change their idiotic minds."
"This is sheer craziness and I think that the administrator (Shandy man) should be handed a written statement to exactly what has caused this stupidity."
"For Gods sake, somebody please sort this mess out NOW as it is doing by cucking heed in"
"Would have been nice if Pravda (sorry the OS) had the guts to explain themselves if they have genuine concerns rather than this unexplained bullying tactics."
Does this strke anyone else as odd? How many SFL clubs link directly to a messageboard where fans can slate the board, players and manager? I have done a wee check, and it's not many. Surely the whole POINT of being an unofficial website, is that it is UNOFFICIAL and not related to the club? You don't sell fanzines in the club shop! :-P
I think the real reason might be that the mods get paid by MAD network according to web traffice, and they think they're going to lose their £5 a week as noone will be able to find their site anymore.
Any other sites ever heard of anything like this before? The site is still up, noone's been stopped posting on there - so why all the outrage and cries of human rights violations? Unbelievable.
revolvingduck
Apr 23 2008, 15:53
I take it that my fav poster on this board, Skyline Drifter ,isn't one of these numpties?
Skyline Drifter
Apr 23 2008, 16:57
QUOTE (revolvingduck @ Apr 23 2008, 16:53)

I take it that my fav poster on this board, Skyline Drifter ,isn't one of these numpties?
Nowt to do with me. I don't (usually) use that site anyway. I didn't even know about this storm in a teacup until now as I've been away working for a couple of days.
It (and all the other unofficial sites) should never have been linked from the OS in the first place in my opinion. I'm also genuinely surprised anyone noticed. I don't know when I was last near the OS 'links' page. I would have thought anyone that uses the MAD site regularly would have it stored as a favourite anyway rather than messing about going through another site every time.
Toby Fair
Apr 23 2008, 17:58
I actually think it's regrettable that the link's disappeared.
In practical terms of course, it makes very little difference but it disrupts my usual tuning in routine, and much more importantly sends out a negative message at an otherwise incredibly upbeat time.
It probably is odd that the OS ever linked to an unofficial message board, but it dates back to the time when the OS's own version was ditched. The fact that the link's been removed, allegedly in reponse to perceived criticism, just seems petty, especially given that it makes so little real difference. Whether or not realistic, it sends out a message of division between club and fans when the relationship should probably be closer than ever.
I'm not pretending that this is any great tragedy, but I do think it's a shame and am very interested to learn precisely why it's happened.
port-ton
Apr 23 2008, 18:12
our last two chairman have threatened to close down the internet and called our unofficial forum a " rag ".
think yourself lucky.
I'm sure every unofficial club website owner has had a run in with either the club owners or the clubs official site.
I know I have had several over the years, albeit when you become older and wiser it seems pretty unimportant.
I have had a quick squint at the QoS offi-shell site and I love their "Scottish & Uefa Cup" section
Good on them. Milk it for all it's worth
All the MAD sites are crap, especially Stu Gillespies
I have signed up to this forum, although I very rarely post, it's only for reading purposes. I lost part of my interest in it with the thread about singing songs about Gretna at the Cup Semi Final - granted the posters were quickly shot down in flames.
As I mention to a couple of my friends, it's really a SAD board and that's how we refer to it now
FC_1919
Apr 23 2008, 21:05
I hate it, I think MAD sites are horribly set out. Would use it if it was on the P&B Network like St Mirren and whoever else is on it. If it was set out like this it would be far better.
Cargen Qos
Apr 23 2008, 21:14
What a carry on. I use the MAD site from time to time, it`s usually good for a laugh. Why there is such a drama about the link being removed I`ll never know. Admittedly there seems to be a multi-moniker idiot bad mouthing employees of Queens but these post are dealt with pretty well by the mods. As has been stated, why don`t the moaning posters have the site saved as a favourite if it`s that important.
Fuctifano
Apr 23 2008, 23:47
Bring back Rivals sites!
palmymole
Apr 24 2008, 06:29
QUOTE (revolvingduck @ Apr 23 2008, 16:53)

I notice the link for the p+b is still up even though there is much more evil crap posted on here slagging off Queens.
Of course if the Board removed the p + b link this would upset that old sad tosser SD
palmymole
Apr 24 2008, 07:01
"Would have been nice if Pravda (sorry the OS) had the guts to explain themselves if they have genuine concerns rather than this unexplained bullying tactics."
Another complete Public Relations Disaster from Queens with the run up to the Scottish Cup Final I would suggest they get their pathetic house in order.
Who exactly is the spokesman for Queens ? We have a Press Officer,Club Secretary yet neither apparantly knew of the Board decision to remove the link. A simple explanation by telephone,e-mail or letter to whoever runs the Mad Site would have avoided all this.
According to the MAD site the two sites have worked amiably together for 5 years exchanging stories and pictures etc... now it's all gone up in smoke.. a pity
Skyline Drifter
Apr 24 2008, 07:44
QUOTE (palmymole @ Apr 24 2008, 07:29)

I notice the link for the p+b is still up even though there is much more evil crap posted on here slagging off Queens.
Of course if the Board removed the p + b link this would upset that old sad tosser SD

Here's a thought, why don't you go feck yourself.
I don't run the OS and I didn't even know there WAS a link to P&B on there. And I've already said there should never have been links to any unofficial site on there.
Christ you'd think Queens had announced weekly executions of MAD site posters at 3pm on a Saturday the way some are going on.
palmy_cammy
Apr 24 2008, 07:53
I was half tempted to start a thread about this yesterday but decided against it as I didn't think it was really of interest to fellow "Pie People" on here.
I find it bizarre the things they get worked up about on there but people getting their knickers in a twist over nothing is fairly common, although granted this is probably the most worked up I've seen them, over the smallest matter.
It sums up the mental ability of most of the posters that they clearly go via the link on the OS because they are clueless about bookmarking and qosfc.com is a nice easy address to remember. It's an amusing mental image imagining them reaching the "messageboard" section and finding the mad link is missing and them having no idea what to do!
Perhaps the five hours spent trying to find the board is what fueled the rage that influenced the ranting threads!
Fifes Elite Force
Apr 24 2008, 07:56
QUOTE (Xenys @ Apr 24 2008, 00:47)

Bring back Rivals sites!

Don't even joke about that
qos_75
Apr 24 2008, 08:11
QUOTE (palmymole @ Apr 24 2008, 08:01)

Another complete Public Relations Disaster from Queens with the run up to the Scottish Cup Final I would suggest they get their pathetic house in order.
Who exactly is the spokesman for Queens ? We have a Press Officer,Club Secretary yet neither apparantly knew of the Board decision to remove the link. A simple explanation by telephone,e-mail or letter to whoever runs the Mad Site would have avoided all this.
According to the MAD site the two sites have worked amiably together for 5 years exchanging stories and pictures etc... now it's all gone up in smoke.. a pity
Why don't you phone the club and ask? Of course that would mean looking up the phone number to do so. Well, worry not my good friend,
I have done the spadework for you. Let us know how you get on.
sanquhar_bay_rowdies
Apr 24 2008, 08:30
Quoth palmymole...
"Another complete Public Relations Disaster from Queens with the run up to the Scottish Cup Final I would suggest they get their pathetic house in order."
How is this a PR disaster? Unless the club want to have middle-aged moaners promoting their club by slating the volunteers, manager and board. There's only a few sad acts who post on QOS Mad - hardly representative of all Queens fans. This is good PR, as QOS Mad is a disgrace.
"Who exactly is the spokesman for Queens ? We have a Press Officer,Club Secretary yet neither apparantly knew of the Board decision to remove the link. A simple explanation by telephone,e-mail or letter to whoever runs the Mad Site would have avoided all this."
Why would the club even correspond with unofficial sites that slate them all the time? Who do you think you are??
"According to the MAD site the two sites have worked amiably together for 5 years exchanging stories and pictures etc... now it's all gone up in smoke.. a pity"
Yes, I'm sure that loads of valuable information was passed on from the Mad board - about who drunk what, who has slagged of who, and exactly what the fans think of the manager and board. I bet this gets passed on to all the staff at Queens regularly, and I bet they're all so grateful for it.
Self-important? Rattle? Pram?
Get me a loaf....
FC_1919
Apr 24 2008, 10:23
QUOTE (Penguin @ Apr 24 2008, 10:30)

Classic, its only a link. Only there out of goodwill with no conection to the club. I just made a post there for the first time in ages and had to sign in and it brought me ot the main MAD homepage. Horribly set out as I say, had to click about 10 links to get back to the thread I was originally in.
SHANTY TAM
Apr 24 2008, 10:49
QUOTE (sanquhar_bay_rowdies @ Apr 23 2008, 16:41)

Just had a look at Queen of the South Mad, which usually is the lair of the troubled, sad and the downright peculiar - and have noticed their latest grip.
Apparently Queens have removed the link to their site from the club's official site. That seems a reasonable thing to me, particularly after some of the silly comments made by these 'fans' about people dying and being crap in general (astonishing after we're doing so well this year). This was the site wanted Chisholm sacked after 5 minutes, and called him a 'clown' - well, we're all laughing now!
So the posters on Queens Mad have all become outraged about this, and it seems downright laughable to me (as someone who never posts on these things, simply because of the 'flame wars' that result). I quote:
"Call on Queen of the South to restore the link on their OS to this website which, in the absence of any attempt to facilitate discussion amongst fans on the OS, provides an opportunity for REAL fans to express their right to free speech."
"This is pathetic."
"This is sheer craziness and I think that the administrator (Shandy man) should be handed a written statement to exactly what has caused this stupidity."
"For Gods sake, somebody please sort this mess out NOW as it is doing by cucking heed in"
Does this strke anyone else as odd? How many SFL clubs link directly to a messageboard where fans can slate the board, players and manager? I have done a wee check, and it's not many. Surely the whole POINT of being an unofficial website, is that it is UNOFFICIAL and not related to the club? You don't sell fanzines in the club shop! :-P
I think the real reason might be that the mods get paid by MAD network according to web traffice, and they think they're going to lose their £5 a week as noone will be able to find their site anymore.
Any other sites ever heard of anything like this before? The site is still up, noone's been stopped posting on there - so why all the outrage and cries of human rights violations? Unbelievable.
Enough of this bloody nonsense - I as co-admin of the Queens MAD site have no problem if the Official Site wishes to sever links with us.
IF anyone has a problem do a search on Google for Queens Mad and you'll get there....
Meanwhile those who think Queens Mad is horribly set out well there is a complete revamp and rebuild planned for 2008...
QUEENS MAD
QUOTE (SHANTY TAM @ Apr 24 2008, 11:49)

Enough of this bloody nonsense - I as co-admin of the Queens MAD site have no problem if the Official Site wishes to sever links with us.
IF anyone has a problem do a search on Google for Queens Mad and you'll get there....
Meanwhile those who think Queens Mad is horribly set out well there is a complete revamp and rebuild planned for 2008...
QUEEN OF THE SOUTH MADGood that you're standing up for what you believe in, but a link that works might be handy
BigRubberFist
Apr 24 2008, 12:25
We're in the Cup Final for the first time - can we please have a bit of perspective as to whether or not there is a link to the Mad site on the OS? It's a force 9 in the proverbial hot beverage-holding receptacle.
Non-QOS fans reading this must be p-----g themselves reading this.
veteran
Apr 24 2008, 12:33
When the board is up-dated Tam , a separate European section might be included to cater for coming seasons.
FC_1919
Apr 24 2008, 12:52
QUOTE (veteran @ Apr 24 2008, 13:33)

When the board is up-dated Tam , a separate European section might be included to cater for coming seasons.
Or some sections so it is set up like a forum like this, its set up like a message board from the early days of the internet!
SHANTY TAM
Apr 24 2008, 13:33
QUOTE (Penguin @ Apr 24 2008, 13:08)

Good that you're standing up for what you believe in, but a link that works might be handy

Link now fixed...
Telboy
Apr 24 2008, 20:45
Would that be the same MADsite that at every opportunity promoted, advertised for the club and informed a vast number of QoS fans? Is it the same MADsite that the club has used as a vehicle on numerous occassions to advertise and promote functions?
sanquhar_bay_rowdies
Apr 25 2008, 08:38
This whole charade is the saddest indictment of some of the 'fans' who attend Palmerston. Reading their indignation online, after I stopped laughing, made me realise EXACTLY why Queens don't want to link to that site.
Ignorant, inflammatory nonsense.
Their reasons for the 'link' to be put back (which removal seems to have had no effect on the average meathead finding the site, so in effect makes no difference whatsoever):
Cos otherwise we'll remove a link to the Queens site (naa naa nu naa naa). Not that anyone can just use google to find it if they want.
Cos we're shareholders. I paid a one-off £15 several years ago for one share myself, and realise with the cost of keeping a book, I'm probably a BURDEN to the club rather than a help.
Cos we provide the club with valuable information. Like, erm, what fans think is an outrage this week, or couch expert opinions on what Queens should be doing financially.
Cos the club advertise on the site. Yeah, I bet that the combined retail power of googlewords and salespy software pale in comparison to some old blokes slagging off the new top cos they 'don't like the white bits'. Of course, the 20 or so people sad enough to post on their all day and night all look at the official site anyway, probably several times a day (so they can comment about it on their board).
Cos it creates a division between fans and club. Yeah - get real. A link's been removed, the site isn't shut down. Does it make them feel that unwanted?
Cos the volunteers won't do anything for the club again. I've volunteered a few times myself, mostly in the early days of the Queens Trust, and it's a slight on those volunteers to suggest that they are in anyway associated with Qos mad.
The real reason they're annoyed.....I can only imagine it's because they feel they've been disenfranchised in some way, BY THE REMOVAL OF A WEBLINK. Which beggars the question, why do they think they are the sole representative for Queens fans. Those with the loudest voices, etc.
The other reason is obviously that whoever moderates their board will receive fractionally less money now, as the link won't traffic people through to his site - and he loses a little bit of shine about being an 'insider' at Palmerston. Jezus, what plaudits he must get, I bet he never has to put his hand in his pocket in the town, this colossus of a man.
I've said my piece now, I'll retire back to laughing at these soapboxes rather than participating.
Remember that most Queens fans don't eat raw meat for breakfast and post online at 2 in the morning from their bedsit (apart from me and the idiots on the mad board :-P)
JessieField
Apr 25 2008, 14:33
You don't half spout some pish dickhead!
SHANTY TAM
Apr 25 2008, 19:05
We can all put this crap to bed now as a statement will appear on Queens Official Site explaining everything....Have a nice day
Telboy
Apr 25 2008, 19:47
QUOTE (sanquhar_bay_rowdies @ Apr 25 2008, 09:38)

Remember that most Queens fans don't eat raw meat for breakfast and post online at 2 in the morning from their bedsit (apart from me and the idiots on the mad board :-P)
Or perhaps work nightshift? That's what some people do when they have a job. A job is........ach forget it, you'll just get worked up again and think they are going to stop your benefits
JRS LEFT PEG
Apr 25 2008, 20:28
QUOTE (sanquhar_bay_rowdies @ Apr 23 2008, 16:41)

"This is pathetic."I suspect you are the latest wind up merchant.The MAD site has positive posters ,negative posters,intelligent ones and some (but not many) daft ones.The one thing that holds us all together is our undoubted passion for queen of the south fc.I dont agree with people but have to respect their views.So to call the site the lair of the sad is out of order sanquar boy.Stick to watching Nithsdale or whatever.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.