Full Version: A Call To My Fellow Clyde Fans For Saturday
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Uncle Albert
Let's look at the facts here, we are in this situation for may reasons, we can't score goals, we can't hold on to a lead when we do actually go ahead, our defence is shipping goals, for half the season our manager was up and down the country...etc etc. not excuses just facts

Now

Saturday is simple, we have to win, by one more goal than Morton should they beat Thistle, or should they draw. It aint rocket science. If we stay up we will scarcely deserve it but I will gladly take it and look forward to next season and (hopefully) some new faces.
Some might say we ARE a Second Division team, that's as maybe but we have done so much over the last few years to try and establish ourselves as a First Division team, of course behind the scenes was a shambles but that is for another posting.....................................................

Let's get behind the team on Staurday and sing our hearts out, and if we go down let's go down with passion and pride and not a "ah well, that's that then!" attitude

I suggest we start praying to what ever god we have for some kind of result, failing that it's Queens Park next year (shiver!!!!) wink.gif

We shall find out Saturday
*bullywee*
Well said, Andy!

Get the proper Song of the Clyde on before the game!
badger_whacker
Clyde aren't a second division team. You certainly are favourites for Saturday though I'd prefer Morton to stay up.

I don't believe you've got much to worry about but Stirling may be more fired up than I can imagine.
Hebridean
And dying in your bed many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance, to come back here....
Bri RCFC
QUOTE (Uncle Albert @ Apr 23 2008, 09:23) *
Let's look at the facts here, we are in this situation for may reasons, we can't score goals, we can't hold on to a lead when we do actually go ahead, our defence is shipping goals, for half the season our manager was up and down the country...etc etc. not excuses just facts

Now

Saturday is simple, we have to win, by one more goal than Morton should they beat Thistle, or should they draw. It aint rocket science. If we stay up we will scarcely deserve it but I will gladly take it and look forward to next season and (hopefully) some new faces.
Some might say we ARE a Second Division team, that's as maybe but we have done so much over the last few years to try and establish ourselves as a First Division team, of course behind the scenes was a shambles but that is for another posting.....................................................

Let's get behind the team on Staurday and sing our hearts out, and if we go down let's go down with passion and pride and not a "ah well, that's that then!" attitude

I suggest we start praying to what ever god we have for some kind of result, failing that it's Queens Park next year (shiver!!!!) wink.gif

Queens Park are by far a more entertaining footballing side to watch than Clydes hoof it up the pitch and hope for the best style, ohh and beware of Alloa!! tongue.gif
Shawfield Stallion
Don't forget that we're the longest serving First Division club left. We're an institution!

I too call for the proper Song Of The Clyde to be played over the tannoy on Saturday. A few old favourites like Gypsies Tramps and Thieves and Design For Life wouldny go amiss either biggrin.gif

AAAAAAARRRRGGGHHHHHHHHHH! MONNA BULLY WEE!!!
revolvingduck
Should be a interesting day on Saturday. But I want Morton and Clyde and Rovers and Alloa in the 1st next season

Which I know can't happen but, oh well
Miles Brookeson
Some might say we ARE a Second Division team

you ARE a Second Division team

tongue.gif
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (revolvingduck @ Apr 23 2008, 10:00) *
I want Morton and Clyde and Rovers and Alloa in the 1st next season

talk about sitting on the fence tongue.gif
Uncle Albert
QUOTE (Hebridean @ Apr 23 2008, 09:49) *
And dying in your bed many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance, to come back here....

There's always one isn't there? laugh.gif

Looking forward to meeting up with you at the weekend mate and having a pint or two.
Shawfield Stallion
Are the stay-aways bothering their arse for this game?
Uncle Albert
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Apr 23 2008, 11:25) *

I hope so, the more folk we can get along the better.

Here's hoping for some kind of miracle.
Miles Brookeson

HMS Clyde FC prepares to slip under the water and join the seaside league.

*waves bucket and spade*
ClydeNewcomer

Now

Well said mate. Totally agree with that.

I will be roarin the boys on

Really looking forward to this game
Pussy Finger
Maybe Duff Man will be handing out hymn sheets to the Clyde Choir Boys.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Apr 23 2008, 13:23) *

HMS Clyde FC prepares to slip under the water and join the seaside league.

*waves bucket and spade*

We are the clyde

that boat is stirling albion and we are sinking them

dear that was bad laugh.gif
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (Uncle Albert @ Apr 23 2008, 13:14) *
I hope so, the more folk we can get along the better.

Here's hoping for some kind of miracle.

I go to at least 50% of games throughout the season home and away. I know a few guys who hardly ever go but are not missing this one.

I think we will have a decent crowd
Nizzy
I might take this game in. We have nothing to play for and Clyde are my local team, after all.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 23 2008, 13:30) *
I might take this game in. We have nothing to play for and Clyde are my local team, after all.

Al get ye a pint
CRM
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Apr 23 2008, 13:29) *
I think we will have a decent crowd

I beg to differ.
Nizzy
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Apr 23 2008, 13:33) *
Al get ye a pint

That is a frightening, but strangely welcoming, offer. Put it this way, if you do, you won't be the first Clyde fan to have bought me one this season. wink.gif
Hebridean
QUOTE (Uncle Albert @ Apr 23 2008, 11:14) *
Looking forward to meeting up with you at the weekend mate and having a pint or two.

Likewise. I'm off for the ferry tomorrow morning so let me know if you're in Glasgow before Saturday.

Don't be afraid to start a few Thistle songs if the news from Firhill is good. I'm sure the less principled amongst us will join in! ohmy.gif

GeeJay
See you next season.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (GeeJay @ Apr 23 2008, 16:14) *
See you next season.

Rigging the cup draw?
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Apr 23 2008, 08:30) *
Clyde aren't a second division team. You certainly are favourites for Saturday though I'd prefer Morton to stay up.

I don't believe you've got much to worry about but Stirling may be more fired up than I can imagine.

Be fair, they are at best a Second Division team. laugh.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Apr 23 2008, 17:38) *

Yeah, you were there, last season, we've only been there for 5 months this millenium rolleyes.gif
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Apr 23 2008, 16:38) *

What are you basing that super intelligent statement on exactly. Weve not been in the Second Division for 8 years and that shower of wasters you call a team took years to get out of it. Were only behind you on goal difference and yous ain't winning on Saturday. So that coupled with you losing in the playoffs would make you erm...what were you for the 4 seasons before last again?

No relegation for the Clyde!
David W
Morton have also managed to be in the 3rd division. Oh dear laugh.gif
clyde til we die
QUOTE (CRM @ Apr 23 2008, 13:36) *
I beg to differ.

No you just beg, ya tramp.
clyde til we die
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Apr 23 2008, 11:25) *

Yes they are, we will be in Kilsyth from 11-30 for a wee pree match swally.
CK
QUOTE (clyde til we die @ Apr 23 2008, 22:31) *
No you just beg, ya tramp.

Nizzy
QUOTE (clyde til we die @ Apr 23 2008, 22:32) *
Yes they are, we will be in Mr Kilsyth from 11-30 onwards and he'll be having a wee pre-match swally

rolleyes.gif
clyde til we die

As long as you sit in the away end tongue.gif
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 23 2008, 13:38) *
Put it this way, if you do, you won't be the first Clyde fan to have bought me one this season. wink.gif

I'm the guilty party there. I just done it 'cos I was scared in case I caught the monobrow. wink.gif

Niz has another drink.

Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (clyde til we die @ Apr 23 2008, 21:32) *
Yes they are, we will be in Kilsyth from 11-30 for a wee pree match swally.

Whit ye on about?
scottp96
I'm not using this as an excuse for us being in this position because we'ever p**h poor all year but way back on the first day of he season if the referee had allowed mastertons free kick then we'd be in a slightly better position.

But mind you if Robinson hadn't gifted us a goal we wouldn't have drawn with morton so I suppose thats justice.

Anyway I think we will get a decent crowd and everyone should sing there hearts out for THEIR team!
Shawfield Stallion
I'd say that the defining moment of our season was when we capitulated against Hamilton, fucking up a 2-0 lead to lose 3-2
midTONs
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Apr 24 2008, 10:13) *
I'd say that the defining moment of our season was when we capitulated against Hamilton, fucking up a 2-0 lead to lose 3-2

I would say the defining moment in both our seasons was you lot scoring 2 goals in injury time at Cappielow to win 2-1. If that never happened we would have been home and dry.
MrX
QUOTE (scottp96 @ Apr 24 2008, 06:43) *
I'm not using this as an excuse for us being in this position because we'ever p**h poor all year but way back on the first day of he season if the referee had allowed mastertons free kick then we'd be in a slightly better position.

But mind you if Robinson hadn't gifted us a goal we wouldn't have drawn with morton so I suppose thats justice.

Anyway I think we will get a decent crowd and everyone should sing there hearts out for THEIR team!

QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Apr 24 2008, 09:13) *

Why are you bleating on about it then?

Every fan, of every team, in ever league in the world could harp on about missed opportunities, late goals conceded, poor refereeing decisions ect ect. The only thing that counts is where you stand in the league table.

Why don't Clyde try playing football for once? You greetin faced plebs.
Toma_BullyWee
I've not been to as many games as i would have liked to in the last few months due to me being incredibly smart and leaving my job with nothing lined up. But i'll be either getting saturday off or phoning in sick.

I can't wait for this game, I can't say i'm too optimistic though. We've been simply awful.

Anyway, hopefully my post match pint won't be downed in silence.

MON THE CLYDE!
Clyde01
Even an atmosphere like Anfield on a European night couldn't inspire some of the charlatans and wasters in our squad.
Too many players not playing to previous standards (Higgins, Mikey, Masterton, etc) or just not up to it at all (Smith, Bestvina, Campbell, etc).
The only thing I am looking forward to is a summer clear out and hopefully by some miracle of miracles still being in the 1st division.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (midTONs @ Apr 24 2008, 10:57) *
I would say the defining moment in both our seasons was you lot scoring 2 goals in injury time at Cappielow to win 2-1. If that never happened we would have been home and dry.

Not strictly true - we'd probably have picked up less points since then if McInally was still manager.
marty the bullwee man
Haven't been to a lot of games this season due to being on night shift. But i will be checking too see how clyde did in the sunday paper cause i'm very far away so I can't make the game.
bully-wee
hopefully the team will be up for it on saturday, they will need to be. I was told today by a source at the club that if they are to stay in the first divsion then they are going to Malaga for two weeks- there is good reason outside football to play for wink.gif

Im glad this thread has been started, we need our full support there from saturday and a vocal crowd right from before kick off (this always reminds a player the importancy of the game i feel).

Would be great if we can stay up as i have also heard, i think one or two of u guys have also mentioned it before, about the investment that will happen if stay up, that should help build the new team in the summer:)

mon the bully wee!
Günther
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Apr 23 2008, 17:38) *

Funny coming from a Ton fan. What leagues have you lot been in the last 10 years? 3rd Division??? laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif You lot are a Second Division team at best - We've been challenging for Promotion in recent years with the exception of the last 3. While we laughed at your pathetic mob trying to just get into Division 2. Watching shite like Brechin etc jump up in front of you laugh.gif

Diddy Team
Kirky Gypo
Exactly, this has actually been our only pish season since we came into this division back in '00
clyde til we die
QUOTE (Mr Kilsyth @ Apr 24 2008, 00:39) *
Whit ye on about?

Can't you read huh.gif
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (clyde til we die @ Apr 24 2008, 23:30) *
Can't you read huh.gif

Is it a dig at me?
clyde til we die
QUOTE (Mr Kilsyth @ Apr 25 2008, 00:58) *
Is it a dig at me?

What the fuck you on about huh.gif i don't even know who you are.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Look at Niz's post. Its quoted as you takin the piss out me but I guess he somehow changed it.