Full Version: Morton Support At Firhill On Saturday
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
CRM
To stop the match thread getting overwhelmed with posts about how many fans Morton will bring on Saturday, ive started this thread. So how many fans do you think Morton will take? I personally say around 2000 and not much more. Ive heard people on other forums mentioning figures of around 3500-4000 which is just ridiculous in my opinion. I'd love to be proved wrong, but I just can't see it. So Morton fans, lets hear your predictions (realistically speaking). Look out the Seville calculators!!
MacLeantonboy
QUOTE (CRM @ Apr 21 2008, 14:04) *
To stop the match thread getting overwhelmed with posts about how many fans Morton will bring on Saturday, ive started this thread. So how many fans do you think Morton will take? I personally say around 2000 and not much more. Ive heard people on other forums mentioning figures of around 3500-4000 which is just ridiculous in my opinion. I'd love to be proved wrong, but I just can't see it. So Morton fans, lets hear your predictions (realistically speaking). Look out the Seville calculators!!

I'd say about 2000-2500 seeing as its the last game and if we match Clyde's result we will stay up.
M0rtonfc
I think your spot on with around the 2000 mark.
Steak & Barley
I'd be surprised (pleasantly) if we took 2000.
gmfc

Not that I think we will but we did take 5000 to Motherwell for a far less important game than this one so 2500-3500 is not out the question
CRM
QUOTE (gmfc @ Apr 21 2008, 14:33) *
Not that I think we will but we did take 5000 to Motherwell

We have the first use of the Seville Calculator in this thread laugh.gif
Exuberant
But I heard that the Seville Calculator, regardless of how many fans you take, makes it out to be 3 258 475 fans every time huh.gif
gmfc
QUOTE (CRM @ Apr 21 2008, 14:46) *
We have the first use of the Seville Calculator in this thread laugh.gif

We did fill the away end at Motherwell according to them the only club outwith the bigoted brother's to do that.
HardingsHamstring
Well, it was really 4700 wink.gif

I think we'll take roughly 2000.
third lanark
Will be fantastic if Morton take 2000.

Remember Morton fans its also under 16's free.

Also before the game the Aitken Suite at the front of Firhill Stadium is open from around 12pm or 12.30pm onwards. You can get your beers, drams, cokes etc there as well as lunch. Its also open after the game for a bit.
CRM
QUOTE (third lanark @ Apr 21 2008, 15:00) *
You can get your beers, drams,

CODE
Buckfast

C'mon, it is Morton fans we're talking about here wink.gif
RosscoTon

I can't wait for this. Could see our entire home support going to this one to be honest, the game is that important. It's only up the road aswell so people finishing work early etc have no excuses. I like Thistle and like going to Firhill, hopefully this doesnt change on Saturday.

Probably around the 2500 mark imo, I can't see that being topped. Like yourself though I'd love to be wrong.

Some buses are filling up really quickly and some are already on the second bus and it's only Monday.

Will be updated on http://www.greenockmorton.org/forum/index.php?showforum=11
port-ton
im glad this deserves a thread of its own, any old excuse for us to talk about crowds biggrin.gif wub.gif
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
If the away stand gets full just come in the JH stand and we can have a big laugh at Clyde love in. Either that or we just let you all in the North Stand 2 to a seat to try and replicate the discomfort we all felt in your feckin stand last time. As a reward for helping you stay up I want a promise of the WDE being open for BOTH of our visits next season. Deal?

midTONs
QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Apr 21 2008, 15:22) *
Some buses are filling up really quickly and some are already on the second bus and it's only Monday.

We're now onto our 3rd bus.

I think we'll take around 2500
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
I must admit I do love a good crowd w**k tongue.gif

Morton to take 2,000 tops on saturday, but that stand behind the goal will be fairly heaving.
SimonLichtie
How much does the away stand at Firhill hold?

I'm guessing that the Jackie Husband will also have Ton fans in it?
H Wragg
QUOTE (SimonLichtie @ Apr 21 2008, 16:11) *
How much does the away stand at Firhill hold?

2000 (or 2007 to be exact).
H Wragg
QUOTE (third lanark @ Apr 21 2008, 15:00) *
Also before the game the Aitken Suite at the front of Firhill Stadium is open from around 12pm or 12.30pm onwards. You can get your beers, drams, cokes etc there as well as lunch......

........and then get papped oot by the polis at 2.30. mad.gif

Paco
Morton brought about 3000 through to Kirkcaldy for their league clincher against us last season.

I don't know if that really has any relevance, I just thought I'd say.
BasraTon

QUOTE (midTONs @ Apr 21 2008, 15:53) *
We're now onto our 3rd bus.

I think we'll take around 2500

CRM wont be far of it, agree with midTONs above ie between 2000-2500, couldnt give a feck anyway, going to get sozzled no matter what cool.gif
kirkcaldybanjo111
I cant see firhill being big enough for this one
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Apr 21 2008, 15:41) *
1) If the away stand gets full just come in the JH stand and we can have a big laugh at Clyde love in.

2) As a reward for helping you stay up I want a promise of the WDE being open for BOTH of our visits next season. Deal?

1) Sounds good. Actually that sounds quite sensible. We all want the same thing on the day, surely there wouldn't be any problems with both sets of fans sharing the stand if needs be? Everyone in attendance celebrating the same result would be tremendous. Or am I living in a dream world? unsure.gif

2) Deal.
H Wragg
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Apr 21 2008, 18:45) *
Sounds good. Actually that sounds quite sensible. We all want the same thing on the day, surely there wouldn't be any problems with both sets of fans sharing the stand if needs be? Everyone in attendance celebrating the same result would be tremendous. Or am I living in a dream world? unsure.gif

Yep. I'm only interested in Thistle winning. I'm not bothered either way how the Morton/Clyde thing pans out. In fact, it would probably be quite good to be responsible for condemning a team (in this case, Morton) to the play offs. bootyshake.gif

That said, I would have no problem with Morton fans being accommodated in the Jackie Husband if necessary so that all those that want to be at the game can be. wink.gif
CRM
QUOTE (SimonLichtie @ Apr 21 2008, 16:11) *

No. No away fans in the JH ever again according to our forum.
Exuberant
Our chairman confirmed to someone who asked about this in an e-mail that if required the North Section of the Main Stand will be opened to Morton Fans.
Hebridean
Tempted to go along myself to swell the home support!!

JVK
QUOTE (David Hasselhoff's Alias @ Apr 21 2008, 22:40) *
Our chairman confirmed to someone who asked about this in an e-mail that if required the North Section of the Main Stand will be opened to Morton Fans.

If Morton fans think they wil bring more than 2000 which is a possibility then it will need to be opened because there is no way the away stand holds any more than about 2000, if that.

As for the game I would like to see a thistle win and couldn't care less who went in to the play-offs. If I was being honest though I would probably rather Clyde went down.
Piehutt
I don't think we'll take much more than 2,000 - but if the stand only holds that much then an overfill will def be required, otherwise people will be running around finding seats on their own and kids won't be able to sit with their parents etc.

Hopefully Thistle can cordone off the end of the JH stand as an overspill? Just so we're all seated comfortably.

Thanks.
Uncle Albert
QUOTE (Hebridean @ Apr 21 2008, 23:46) *

huh.gif huh.gif huh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
third lanark
QUOTE (Hebridean @ Apr 21 2008, 23:46) *

You would be more than welcome. The more the merrier, dont think there is a team in the first division who could not do with extra people coming along on a saturday.

Whats that lovely badge in your avatar? wink.gif
jagtastic
QUOTE (Piehutt @ Apr 22 2008, 07:43) *
I don't think we'll take much more than 2,000 - but if the stand only holds that much then an overfill will def be required, otherwise people will be running around finding seats on their own and kids won't be able to sit with their parents etc.

Hopefully Thistle can cordone off the end of the JH stand as an overspill? Just so we're all seated comfortably.

Thanks.

Mentioned further up thread that the north end of the main stand will be open if required for an overspill as we're no sharin! tongue.gif Its a better option anyway as it can be accessed via the same turnstiles as the north stand.
Thistlefan
Sounds good. Actually that sounds quite sensible. We all want the same thing on the day, surely there wouldn't be any problems with both sets of fans sharing the stand if needs be? Everyone in attendance celebrating the same result would be tremendous. Or am I living in a dream world?

I honestly do not care who survives or who goes into the play-off position. As much as I dislike Clyde, taking the derbies away for a season would be a shame. Should I be wanting them to go down purely because it would be funny to see them relegated, or should I want them to stay up by the skin of their teeth so that the derby is still on for 08-09? I mean, Morton give us a tough game as it is so it would probably be beneficial to us for Clyde to stay up, considering how well we've done against them this season.

I would also expect Thistle to put a good fight up on Saturday, and think it will finish as a draw. I would not be 'celebrating' a Thistle loss.
theoceanfloor
I'll be surprised if we take more than 1500.
Hebridean
QUOTE (Thistlefan @ Apr 22 2008, 11:01) *
As much as I dislike Clyde, taking the derbies away for a season would be a shame.

Quite right. It's only a couple of years since we found ourselves in the same position. Even worse, it was ourselves who could have put the Jags to the sword! It has to be remembered that our support even went as far as to wear black armbands and release black balloons as a mark of respect. Indeed, the mourning might have been averted altogether given that Thistle got the three points from that game. Just a pity that any celebrations were stopped by results elsewhere going against us.

Next Saturday is a great chance to put that dark day behind us.

Piehutt
QUOTE (jagtastic @ Apr 22 2008, 09:32) *
Mentioned further up thread that the north end of the main stand will be open if required for an overspill as we're no sharin! tongue.gif Its a better option anyway as it can be accessed via the same turnstiles as the north stand.

Crampt conditions and a restricted view. We may give the same conditions to fans at Scappa, but would prefer better when we are away from home!
jagtastic
QUOTE (Piehutt @ Apr 22 2008, 12:49) *
Crampt conditions and a restricted view. We may give the same conditions to fans at Scappa, but would prefer better when we are away from home!

Hard lines.
CRM
QUOTE (Piehutt @ Apr 22 2008, 07:43) *
Thanks.

Aye, that will be fucking right! laugh.gif There's no way the any part of the Jackie Husband Stand will be allocated to you soapdodgers. What a cheek, considering we were forced to sit in that farce of a Main Stand at Cappielow last month, with Thistle fans having to stand outside the stand as it was full. So im glad to say that should you fill the North Stand on Saturday you will be sluming it in our equally disgraceful Main Stand, with pigeon shit and cobwebs in abundance.smile.gif
ClydeNewcomer

A honestly couldny give a shi**
CRM
Well why bother opening the topic then, you imbecile? Honestly, are you really that stupid or are you just at the wind-up, im curious.
jagtastic
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Apr 22 2008, 13:12) *
A honestly couldny give a shi**

Exactly how so many Jags feel about your insignificant wee second team. Hun.
gmfc
QUOTE (CRM @ Apr 22 2008, 13:00) *
Aye, that will be fucking right! laugh.gif There's no way the any part of the Jackie Husband Stand will be allocated to you soapdodgers. What a cheek, considering we were forced to sit in that farce of a Main Stand at Cappielow last month, with Thistle fans having to stand outside the stand as it was full. So im glad to say that should you fill the North Stand on Saturday you will be sluming it in our equally disgraceful Main Stand, with pigeon shit and cobwebs in abundance. smile.gif

Every team has at least 1 fanny that follows it and you pal are Thistles.
CRM
QUOTE (gmfc @ Apr 22 2008, 13:32) *
Every team has at least 1 fanny that follows it and you pal are Thistles.

You cant really argue with anything I said in my post can you? No, you Sir are the fanny here.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (jagtastic @ Apr 22 2008, 13:30) *
Exactly how so many Jags feel about your insignificant wee second team. Hun.

Shut up you ya tramp.

slap
third lanark
QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Apr 21 2008, 15:22) *
I can't wait for this. Could see our entire home support going to this one to be honest, the game is that important. It's only up the road aswell so people finishing work early etc have no excuses. I like Thistle and like going to Firhill, hopefully this doesnt change on Saturday.

Probably around the 2500 mark imo, I can't see that being topped. Like yourself though I'd love to be wrong.

Will be updated on http://www.greenockmorton.org/forum/index.php?showforum=11

Mate, even if we beat you on saturday surely this doesnt stop you having a soft spot for Thistle or Firhill. I doubt we will be good enough to do so but if we do its hardly our fault you have been put into the play offs but rather the fact that Morton were second bottom as a result of their games over the season.

I will take no pleasure if you are relegated mate as I do like the Morton support. always a great support to bring.
jagtastic
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Apr 22 2008, 13:45) *
Shut up you ya tramp.

slap

gmfc
QUOTE (CRM @ Apr 22 2008, 13:42) *
You cant really argue with anything I said in my post can you? No, you Sir are the fanny here.

(1) I am not a soapdodger (2) If you brought enough fans to Cappielow you would not have to sit in the stand there was spare seats (3) If you do not like the stand don't come to Cappielow.
CRM
QUOTE (gmfc @ Apr 22 2008, 13:49) *
(1) I am not a soapdodger (2) If you brought enough fans to Cappielow you would not have to sit in the stand there was spare seats (3) If you do not like the stand don't come to Cappielow.

1) Your from Greenock, so the chances are you don't even know what soap looks like.
2) We did, thats the point im trying to make! Our support was too big for your Main Stand!
3) If I find we're in that Stand the next time, I shall be standing in the Cow Shed as I actually like Cappielow.
Nana Moon
QUOTE (CRM @ Apr 22 2008, 13:58) *
1) Your from Greenock, so the chances are you don't even know what soap looks like.

His what from Greenock? wink.gif

Presuming that you're making a reference to that fact that he lives in Greenock then may I suggest that
he COULD well live here --->A House in Greenock

and you may live here. --->A House in Maryhill

Now where's that soap?

Only here to help biggrin.gif
CRM
QUOTE (Nana Moon @ Apr 22 2008, 15:34) *
His what from Greenock? wink.gif

Presuming that you're making a reference to that fact that he lives in Greenock then may I suggest that
he COULD well live here --->A House in Greenock

and you may live here. --->A House in Maryhill

Now where's that soap?

Only here to help biggrin.gif

He more likely lives here:

And my profile clearly states im not from Maryhill laugh.gif Do pay attention!