Full Version: Haig Gordon Cup Final
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > South of Scotland League
man in the know
Can anyone confirm where the final between Annan Athletic and Saint Cuthberts will be held and the kick off time. Will Annan field their East team or will it be their Youngsters who will face the Saints .

saintslad
QUOTE (man in the know @ Apr 20 2008, 21:27) *
Can anyone confirm where the final between Annan Athletic and Saint Cuthberts will be held and the kick off time. Will Annan field their East team or will it be their Youngsters who will face the Saints .

St Mary's Park tomorrow night 7.30 Kick Off
Galabankie
QUOTE (man in the know @ Apr 20 2008, 21:27) *

Annan will be fielding whoever Woody decides. Anyone interested in who has played where and when can view the stats at our website www.annanathleticfc.com Go to squad then apperances use the filter to seperate East and South Appearances.
Hoss
QUOTE (Galabankie @ Apr 20 2008, 21:52) *
Annan will be fielding whoever Woody decides. Anyone interested in who has played where and when can view the stats at our website www.annanathleticfc.com Go to squad then apperances use the filter to seperate East and South Appearances.

Heard it was half and half,south and east boys
saint scoop
QUOTE (Hoss @ Apr 21 2008, 23:12) *
Heard it was half and half,south and east boys
eight east players! is it fair east teams can put players into their south teams like last nights final and south teams cant bring anyone in except goalkeepers after 31 March fair think not!!! Sproules and linesmens performance shocking Saints played well only to br robbed annan and officials lost a lot of respect after last night at least several Annan players said stone wall penalty and alleged offside goal wasnt not sour grapes but must be same rules for all teams if you play east after 31 March you cant play south !
creetown17
QUOTE (saint scoop @ Apr 22 2008, 14:08) *
eight east players! is it fair east teams can put players into their south teams like last nights final and south teams cant bring anyone in except goalkeepers after 31 March fair think not!!! Sproules and linesmens performance shocking Saints played well only to br robbed annan and officials lost a lot of respect after last night at least several Annan players said stone wall penalty and alleged offside goal wasnt not sour grapes but must be same rules for all teams if you play east after 31 March you cant play south !

it is fair mate, because the south is only like a second string. although did hear goal was clearly onside and saints shouldve won it. huh.gif huh.gif
Cyber_soccer
Which 8 players... ?

FC_1919
Stranraer could turn up against you with there full first team, them, Annan and Dalbeattie are reserve teams so they have every right to play who they want!
boyfaethetoon

Sounds like sour grapes old boy i was at the game as a neutral and i cant comment on the linesman on dressing room side but the goal was offside and the challenge i think your talking about was just outside the box i was standing in line with it and there really didn't look much in it i thought the ref handled it well some of the lesser experienced refs would prob had a few more bookings and prob a couple of red cards. The dissappointing thing for me was the abuse the officials and Annan players recieved i have never heard as bad maybe saints should learn to lose with dignity instead of blaming others after all in football we all have to lose sometime and the goals you lost weren't they're fault so lets look at the big picture you lost live with it and move on to your next game
DG6
boyfaethetoon..... you sure you were at the game, offside goal clearly onside as linesman admitted after the game to saints players but as he had raised flag left it up to be chalked off, admitted to player that the scorer was not offside........ beats me because scorer was only player to follow the shot in. And Raymond Gordon was clearly a yard inside box when taken down from behind as about to shoot, definite penalty and its about time Sproule admitted his inconsistencies in his decisions.
drs
Why is the cup named after the STV newsreader of days gone by?
saintslad
Sproule is a spineless cheat as is his linesman, Annan players threw the balls away in dissent if any decision was against them and he never he spoke to them.
The penalty claim was a stonewaller the man must have felt Shaws eyes burning a hole in his back(cant have his Annan team getting beat in a final). Shaw also never shook one Saints players hand last night after the game even though he was presenting the trophy, as SoS head man he is a joke.
Hoss
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 22 2008, 17:27) *
Sproule is a spineless cheat as is his linesman, Annan players threw the balls away in dissent if any decision was against them and he never he spoke to them.
The penalty claim was a stonewaller the man must have felt Shaws eyes burning a hole in his back(cant have his Annan team getting beat in a final). Shaw also never shook one Saints players hand last night after the game even though he was presenting the trophy, as SoS head man he is a joke.

Wasnt at the game so can,t comment on decisions made but i heard today Saints ex chairman(is that right?) let the club down really badly.....is this right?
Hoss
QUOTE (Hoss @ Apr 22 2008, 18:03) *
Wasnt at the game so can,t comment on decisions made but i heard today Saints ex chairman(is that right?) let the club down really badly.....is this right?

sorry not ex chairman....secretary....my appologies! unsure.gif
annanchamps
QUOTE (Hoss @ Apr 22 2008, 17:05) *
sorry not ex chairman....secretary....my appologies! unsure.gif
if tht was the old men next to the "stand" thn yeah. yes have a liitle bit ov say about the football but when it becomes racial like you english so and so os a shame to the club. also the youths throwing stuff sorry saints you lost the players where great bunch ov lads but the fans shamed you, i also heard so called fans wer abusin a 17yr old playn fae annan not on nt atall, a ken you lost the game it was a gd game of fitba bt ruined by holligans,yobs and thugsxx
man in the know
Travelled down to this final last night and was not dissapointed with the game and commitement from both teams great advert for non league football.

Must say however I agree with the comments from the previous post, some of the abuse directed at the Annan team and contingent was almost racial abuse, to their credit the Annan team in particular never rose to the bait and as a result the game never suffered.

Do the Saints fans act and shout abuse like this at every home game, the committee should take action before individuals or officials take action against them.

For whats is worth as aneutral i thought the referee had a good game .
saintslad
QUOTE (annanchamps @ Apr 22 2008, 18:12) *
if tht was the old men next to the "stand" thn yeah. yes have a liitle bit ov say about the football but when it becomes racial like you english so and so os a shame to the club. also the youths throwing stuff sorry saints you lost the players where great bunch ov lads but the fans shamed you, i also heard so called fans wer abusin a 17yr old playn fae annan not on nt atall, a ken you lost the game it was a gd game of fitba bt ruined by holligans,yobs and thugsxx

I totally disagree with your comment on youths throwing things the linesman at the time said he never saw anything then after the game said he thinks he saw something. Annan were getting noised up and the east fannys didnt like it.
annanchamps
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 22 2008, 17:18) *
I totally disagree with your comment on youths throwing things the linesman at the time said he never saw anything then after the game said he thinks he saw something. Annan were getting noised up and the east fannys didnt like it.

4 east players pal
u dont deny the actions of the fans which is good ov you......the officals wer diar for both teams 2 b fair. great game tho
annanchamps
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 22 2008, 17:18) *
Galabankie
Let's get a couple of home truths out here.

1. The game was a cracking tie, it was an exciting cup final with plenty of passion.

2. Annan players were continually subjected to racial abuse (English b*****ds, etc,) not only from the youngsters in the stand but the older guys standing beside the stand.

3. Someone from this group of youngsters threw a coin at the Annan full back before Martin Sproule had to demand their removal from the stand.

4. Calls of cheats were heard all night, even before kick-off in reference to Annan playing 'East' players. These calls were also heard from the Saints management team. I was less then 3 feet from Jazza when seconds after shaking the hands of all the Annan players as they left the field he went into a tirade shouting amongst other things cheating b*****ds, these finals should be on a saturday, Annan have never won anything in the South without their East players.

5. Tweedie Cup Final last year 2-0 down to St Ath on same day Whitehill Welfare were gubbed 5-0 at Rosewell. Some acheivement that 'South' team beating WW and 'East' coming back to beat St Ath.

6. The Saints chairman did not even witness the Trophy being handed over, he was standing at his car door shouting obsceneties before the winning penalty went into the net. 'Cheating b*****ds, Don't shake hands with them'.

7. When the Annan players went back on the park to do some stretches, a sensible thing to do when you have a game on wednesday night, the floodlights were switched off and the players left completely in the dark, to their credit they just laughed it off as bad sportmanship.

8. Annan did not field 8 East players - this pish is getting boring. Only 4 players from the starting line-up against Star last saturday were among the 15 listed players.
We left the others out to make the game more competitive [ only joking ].

9. The winners of the Haig Gordon Cup were all signed players, quite simply Annan Athletic FC fielded 15 signed players. Annan Athletic FC are members of the Southern Counties Football Association and accordingly enter the south cups. As members of the Southern Counties Annan Athletic have every right to field whoever they wish as long as the player is signed by the club.

10. Annan did attempt to gain entry to the East of Scotland Association to enable participation in East Cups, but this was not permitted by the governing body, the Scottish FA. We will continue to field whovever we wish in South Cup games. When we come up against Stranraer, Queens etc we always hope to be playing against their top players.

11. The next few posts might be interesting....

Hoss
QUOTE (man in the know @ Apr 22 2008, 18:13) *
Travelled down to this final last night and was not dissapointed with the game and commitement from both teams great advert for non league football.

Must say however I agree with the comments from the previous post, some of the abuse directed at the Annan team and contingent was almost racial abuse, to their credit the Annan team in particular never rose to the bait and as a result the game never suffered.

Do the Saints fans act and shout abuse like this at every home game,
the committee
should take action before individuals or officials take action against them.

For whats is worth as aneutral i thought the referee had a good game .

Believe they were part of it...i have said before on here that a lot of the saints guys come on here and some of the football talk is good.........but sometimes they let themselves down by showing no class....talk of "English B's and East F****s and Cheats!" What do you guys expect the rest of the south to make of this?
saintslad
QUOTE (Galabankie @ Apr 22 2008, 18:33) *

1. The game was a cracking tie, it was an exciting cup final with plenty of passion.

2. Annan players were continually subjected to racial abuse (English b*****ds, etc,) not only from the youngsters in the stand but the older guys standing beside the stand.

3. Someone from this group of youngsters threw a coin at the Annan full back before Martin Sproule had to demand their removal from the stand.

4. Calls of cheats were heard all night, even before kick-off in reference to Annan playing 'East' players. These calls were also heard from the Saints management team. I was less then 3 feet from Jazza when seconds after shaking the hands of all the Annan players as they left the field he went into a tirade shouting amongst other things cheating b*****ds, these finals should be on a saturday, Annan have never won anything in the South without their East players.

5. Tweedie Cup Final last year 2-0 down to St Ath on same day Whitehill Welfare were gubbed 5-0 at Rosewell. Some acheivement that 'South' team beating WW and 'East' coming back to beat St Ath.

6. The Saints chairman did not even witness the Trophy being handed over, he was standing at his car door shouting obsceneties before the winning penalty went into the net. 'Cheating b*****ds, Don't shake hands with them'.

7. When the Annan players went back on the park to do some stretches, a sensible thing to do when you have a game on wednesday night, the floodlights were switched off and the players left completely in the dark, to their credit they just laughed it off as bad sportmanship.

8. Annan did not field 8 East players - this pish is getting boring. Only 4 players from the starting line-up against Star last saturday were among the 15 listed players.

9. The winners of the Haig Gordon Cup were all signed players, quite simply Annan Athletic FC fielded 15 signed players. Annan Athletic FC are members of the Southern Counties Football Association and accordingly enter the south cups. As members of the Southern Counties Annan Athletic have every right to field whoever they wish as long as the player is signed by the club.

10. Annan did attempt to gain entry to the East of Scotland Association to enable participation in East Cups, but this was not permitted by the governing body, the Scottish FA. We will continue to field whovever we wish in South Cup games. When we come up against Stranraer, Queens etc we always hope to be playing against their top players.

1.The ref said it was chewing gum that was throwing not a coin i asked Sproule himself.

2. Dick Shaw never shook one Saints players hand(a great man for the SoS)

3. If Annan wanted to do a warm down pay for the electrical bill or go a jog up the Castledykes road.

Still sad when you have to play east players to win cup though dont you think?
Galabankie
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 22 2008, 18:43) *

The winners of the Haig Gordon Cup were all signed players, quite simply Annan Athletic FC fielded 15 signed players. Annan Athletic FC are members of the Southern Counties Football Association and accordingly enter the south cups. As members of the Southern Counties Annan Athletic have every right to field whoever they wish as long as the player is signed by the club.
annanchamps
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 22 2008, 17:43) *
1.The ref said it was chewing gum that was throwing not a coin i asked Sproule himself.

2. Dick Shaw never shook one Saints players hand(a great man for the SoS)

3. If Annan wanted to do a warm down pay for the electrical bill or go a jog up the Castledykes road.

1.still throwing items which is a disgrace

2.nothing to do with annan fc

3.childish and jealousy to switch the lights off pathetic

the final has gone it wa a great game of fitba a ken u lost but move on.
DG6
I was at last nights game , and yes it was a cracking cup final, and both teams had spells dominating the game. But lets face it the ref had no control of the game in many places, especially in extra time when it was getting heated. Fair play to Annan they really went for it and pinned Saints back for last 20 mins of normal time, and probably got at least a deserved draw in 90 mins. But still cant believe him not giving a penalty in extra time. Just hope Saints get another crack at a final this year (cree lodge) and perhaps if final is away from home they will have a better chance, cos i believe 'excitable' fans influence some of these referees.
marco44

Well done Annan congratulations in winning the cup with players being signed for Annan Athletic FC.
Was not at the game on Monday night but we have heard teams complaining before when the reseve team play players that play for the East team.As long as they are signed for Annan Athletic FC they can play in the South and East League.
The Ghost
QUOTE (Galabankie @ Apr 22 2008, 18:33) *

I was in the stand with the "yobs" and it was a bit of chewing gum! and part of the reason was the cheek the left back was giving the youngester. fair enough throwing something at the player was a wee bit too far but shoutin at players, refs etc happens at every game players have to deal with it. and english b*****d was over the top aswell.
The youngsters are good fans - started singing to try and liven up the team, best in the league biggrin.gif haha
saintslad
QUOTE (The Ghost @ Apr 23 2008, 09:30) *
I was in the stand with the "yobs" and it was a bit of chewing gum! and part of the reason was the cheek the left back was giving the youngester. fair enough throwing something at the player was a wee bit too far but shoutin at players, refs etc happens at every game players have to deal with it. and english b*****d was over the top aswell.
The youngsters are good fans - started singing to try and liven up the team, best in the league biggrin.gif haha

Well said ghost nobody from Annan has mentioned the left back giving hand gestures to the supporters during the game
FC_1919
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 23 2008, 10:58) *
Well said ghost nobody from Annan has mentioned the left back giving hand gestures to the supporters during the game

I am sure the fans were blameless.... rolleyes.gif

If you cant take it dont give it out!
footie fan
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 22 2008, 17:27) *

Oh dear what bad loser's. Is it any wonder the youth's in the stand thought it was ok to throw object's at the player's, chewing gum or not, when you have club official's shouting racist abuse at player's and so called footie supporter's calling offical's names (see above ) what would you do if you didn have offical's to do your games. I just hope that no family member's of the player's of Annan or the offical's were there to hear such abuse. Maybe if you attented the referee class you would understand the offside rule they let anybody sit it laugh.gif
saintslad
QUOTE (footie fan @ Apr 23 2008, 15:48) *
Oh dear what bad loser's. Is it any wonder the youth's in the stand thought it was ok to throw object's at the player's, chewing gum or not, when you have club official's shouting racist abuse at player's and so called footie supporter's calling offical's names (see above ) what would you do if you didn have offical's to do your games. I just hope that no family member's of the player's of Annan or the offical's were there to hear such abuse. Maybe if you attented the referee class you would understand the offside rule they let anybody sit it laugh.gif

The linesman admitted he got the offside wrong at the end of the game maybe he needs a refresher. The quality of officials is getting worse and the price of them is going up overpaid is what they are.
saint scoop
QUOTE (marco44 @ Apr 23 2008, 08:09) *
Well done Annan congratulations in winning the cup with players being signed for Annan Athletic FC.
Was not at the game on Monday night but we have heard teams complaining before when the reseve team play players that play for the East team.As long as they are signed for Annan Athletic FC they can play in the South and East League.
w**ker! mad.gif
saint scoop
QUOTE (annanchamps @ Apr 22 2008, 18:57) *
1.still throwing items which is a disgrace

2.nothing to do with annan fc

3.childish and jealousy to switch the lights off pathetic

the final has gone it wa a great game of fitba a ken u lost but move on.
Aye good game that Saints should have won Mike Jack and the guy that tackled razor and other defender, and Henry Mclelland (Annan Chairman and gentleman) said stone wall penalty!!!!! so rest my case .surley you can see why people upset the way it finshed probably best final for long time though! shame about refs errors at end but now all must move on ! pity that annan could freshen up team with 4 top east players and south boys from annan left out of south final! sad.gif
footie fan
QUOTE (saintslad @ Apr 23 2008, 16:26) *
The linesman admitted he got the offside wrong at the end of the game maybe he needs a refresher. The quality of officials is getting worse and the price of them is going up overpaid is what they are.

If you can do better i suggest you sit the referee coarse it will no doubt be starting soon as for being over paid listening to the abuse and racist remarks hurled towards annan players and the officials there isn't enough money being paid to them to listen to that crap. And i doubt very much if a linesman would say anything to a bunch of nutters from kirkcudbright so why dont you just admitt you were beat fair and square instead of wingeing
Genesis
An absolute disgrace! why is it its always st.cuthberts who are involved! not the players fault, but a supposed committee! someone have a word!
Hugo Biano
Was told to look at this thread as it would be a good laugh. The only laughs i can see are that Saints got to a Cup Final laugh.gif laugh.gif and that they actually have computers to fill there spare time in Kirk Cud Bright.

Boy, those sheep must be awful lonley at night times now. tongue.gif

footie fan
QUOTE (Genesis @ Apr 23 2008, 22:22) *
An absolute disgrace! why is it its always st.cuthberts who are involved! not the players fault, but a supposed committee! someone have a word!

By the content of the forum i think it was the sheep on the computers ha ha biggrin.gif