Full Version: Accies 2-0 Clyde
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Accie1
Penalty and sending off in the first half sealed it. Queens scoring and then us making it two was just icing on the cake. Second half was all about keeping the ball and we never came out of first gear again ( sorry Morton).
Best home record
Best away record
Most goals scored
Least goals conceeded

Ladies and Gentlemen I give you the First Division Champions

Hamilton Accies. biggrin.gif
Dee4Life1893
At the final whistle did all the Accies players slump to their knees and give the'turf' a wee kiss?? biggrin.gif

I'm sorry, I couldn't resist.

Well done.
Sao Paulo
Bloody typical.

Before the early penalty incident there wasn't all that much in it. Stupidity from McGregor, mimicking Rangers' Carlos Cuellar's antics of midweek. It was a purely instinctive reaction though and I for one forgive him. Straight red however & Stevenson converted from the spot.

Shoddy defending leading up to the penalty incident, Accies' physical power coupled with the awkward bounce on the Hamilton pitch made it harder than we would have liked to clear our lines. Offiong, Mensing etc. making real nuisances of themselves. Messy stuff but it boded well for the champions.

From there on in Accies really just played with hapless Clyde, Offiong added another and it really became take the piss time. Good football for Accies second. Clyde couldn't get the ball off of Accies & the game played out.

Miserable from us, well deserved Accies win. Can't be bothered adding anything further.

Congratulations to Accies on winning the title. Worthy winners. smile.gif
CK
I listened to it on the radio, by the sound of it we were quite happy losing two nil and made no attempt to get the ball in the last 20 minutes - typical gutless display I've been used to this season. McGregor can take himself to f**k - useless twat.
Mushroom
Stupid thing for McGregor to do, which could ultimately relegate us. Not only will he be out of the Stirling game but he's over a points threshold so could miss one or both legs of a potential playoff (be it a tie-breaker v Morton or the semi-final)

Brown really has lost the plot with his team selection - Bradley over McKay?! Smith over Masterton AND Jimmy Gibson, (and anyone else for that matter)?! Arbuckle replacing McSwegan at half time?!

Just as bad as Hendrys love in with Div McGowan dry.gif

A few players managed to do OK under the cirumstances - McSwegan did get clean through but the ref thought he had fouled McLaughlin, bizarre decision. MacLennan did do well to break up one of Accies long keepball spell.
Sao Paulo
The second half was one of the few occasions this season where it's been apparent that aside maybe a few individuals, there's been little passion on part of the team and next to no effort. Disgraceful is the word.

Ten men is bad, ten effortless men is as good as none. Lucky Accies were content to play keep ball.

There are genuine guys in the Clyde squad, who gave a damn today but you got the sense some were simply just there to see out their contracts before they bugger off in the summer.

I didn't agree in full with Brown's selection today but I don't think my own alterations would have changed a great deal in all honesty. Bringing on Arbuckle was something I would have done, I called for it prior to half time. Simply because McSwegan couldn't pressure the Accies back line whilst they were in possession, because he's fat, old & not exactly captain fitness. The ten men thing obviously influenced that change.
snorkie
Well played the Accies...certainly would not have predicted you lot winning the league but their ye go,worthy winners over the season
Kirky Gypo
Well done McGregor! Not only have you sent them up, you've also thrown us back into the dogfight.

Wee question

Where were you when you were shite!!!!???
Sao Paulo
I think Higgins, most notably, is one of the only players in that Clyde squad who can come away with some credit today. There's a few others too, but Higgins in particular.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Kirky Gypo @ Apr 19 2008, 20:01) *
Well done McGregor! Not only have you sent them up, you've also thrown us back into the dogfight.

Wee question

Where were you when you were shite!!!!???

Whoever made the Alan Carr comment is a legend laugh.gif
GypsyTillIDie
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 19 2008, 20:04) *
Whoever made the Alan Carr comment is a legend laugh.gif

That was Duffman I think. My hat off to you sir. I gave him a wee clap for it. I had a look at his profile to see if it was the same bloke shouting it. Top stuff.
Ya Bezzer!
Since the Mighty 'Well weren't playing today (at least I hope not!) I went along to see the game.

New Douglas Park must be the coldest stadium in Scotland, I've been there twice and both times it was abosultely baltic! That's two stand stadiums for you, they have a wind chill factor!

The last time I saw Accies was against Brechin (I think) in the Scottish Cup and I thought they were very poor for a side that was at the top of their division and I didn't think they started well today but once they got the goal they started to play some decent football.

Second half was a non event with Queens beating Dundee and Accies two up at half time. I'd like to have seen Accies be a bit more adventurous, they had a two goal led and Clyde weren't threatening at all but I suppose it was understandable since a fluke Clyde strike would have caused some nerves.

Clyde I thought were absolutely shocking. Offered nothing and in the second half they apparently couldn't even be bothered to close down players or make a tackle while Accies played pass the ball. I don't know if goal difference is a factor at the bottom of the division but they seemed to have the mentality, "we can't score, we don't want to conceed another, let's just stand and watch them pass it around".
Mushroom
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Apr 19 2008, 20:09) *
That was Duffman I think. My hat off to you sir. I gave him a wee clap for it. I had a look at his profile to see if it was the same bloke shouting it. Top stuff.

What do Frankie Boyle and Jimmy Carr have to do with it tongue.gif
GypsyTillIDie
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 19 2008, 20:15) *
What do Frankie Boyle and Jimmy Carr have to do with it tongue.gif

Everything. laugh.gif
Radford
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 19 2008, 19:31) *
Arbuckle replacing McSwegan at half time?!

I listened to the first half on Radio Scotland and Bill Leckie and Jim "Relegation" Duffy were suggesting McSwegan was a red card waiting to happen. Both predicted he wouldn't re-appear for the second half.
GypsyTillIDie
QUOTE (Radford @ Apr 19 2008, 20:27) *
I listened to the first half on Radio Scotland and Bill Leckie and Jim "Relegation" Duffy were suggesting McSwegan was a red card waiting to happen. Both predicted he wouldn't re-appear for the second half.

McSwegan was never going to win a ball in the air against Mark McLaughin and, at one point, looked to have lost his temper when he pushed the Hamilton 'keeper into the stand.
queenslad
Well done Hamilton the best team over the season always wins the league.

I will miss my juants up to Hamilton as it is always a nice place to visit, have a few beers and our closest away match.

Good luck next season
David W
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Apr 19 2008, 20:09) *

Duffman shouted it audibly but the guy a couple of rows in front of me shouted it first. Absolutely cracking shout either way.

QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Apr 19 2008, 20:29) *
McSwegan was never going to win a ball in the air against Mark McLaughin and, at one point, looked to have lost his temper when he pushed the Hamilton 'keeper into the stand.

I thought he could have conceivably have received a red card for that. Very dangerous play and I was astonished he didn't at least get a yellow card. Definate red card waiting to happen and he was rightly subbed.

I thought it was a reasonably even game up until the red card/penalty - they'd had a couple of close things with the ball dropping loose in the penalty area and we'd had a cracking volley from Clarke that was well saved by Cerny. McGregor was badly at fault (cracking save though!) and he needs to take a good look at himself for the number of goals he's cost us this season - not through lack of ability but through sheer stupidity. He's been excellent in the past few games but today was a moment of stupidity that was beyond belief. That said, the whole situation was caused by Hutton coming for and missing a cross into the box so he must take some blame as well.

After that, we were never likely to take anything from the game and quite rightly set about limiting them to as few goals as possible. Offiong scored a good finish following a cracking burst forward by Easton (what was the point of Bradley being on the park today?) and fortunately for us, they decided not to bother and try to score further goals.

Higgins and Clarke are the only two to get pass marks from me today. I was dismayed that we stuck Smith at centre half when sticking Higgins into the middle was clearly the right thing to do.

I got the feeling that our failure to take a point from a Dunfermline team who didn't appear to care less last week would be our downfall and I can't see us staying up now. The depressing thing is that relegation would be entirely our own fault.
badgers apprentice
mcswegan has been working out
Sandy Hodge
QUOTE (snorkie @ Apr 19 2008, 19:54) *
Well played the Accies...certainly would not have predicted you lot winning the league but their ye go,worthy winners over the season

Are you the tosser with the Albertz shirt? unfortunately i had to sit in the spice of life stand due to the massive accies crowd today. Clyde are a great wee club and i hope they do well in the future.

ONE ROSS MCCABE!

ACCIES ARE CHAMPIONS GET OVER IT!
Günther
QUOTE (Sandy Hodge @ Apr 20 2008, 01:42) *
Are you the tosser with the Albertz shirt? unfortunately i had to sit in the spice of life stand due to the massive accies crowd today. Clyde are a great wee club and i hope they do well in the future.

I was the Tosser in the Albertz shirt laugh.gif

And Cheers mate. It's fans like you I'd wish the very best of luck next season. Just too many politics at the Club makes me say the opposite.

Also, It was me who shouted the Alan Carr comment laugh.gif. My mate said to me he looked like him, so I felt the need to let him know
Sandy Hodge
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Apr 20 2008, 02:03) *
I was the Tosser in the Albertz shirt laugh.gif

And Cheers mate. It's fans like you I'd wish the very best of luck next season. Just too many politics at the Club makes me say the opposite.

Also, It was me who shouted the Alan Carr comment laugh.gif . My mate said to me he looked like him, so I felt the need to let him know

i was the tosser with the hooded top and the beard! its good to put a name to the face and in reply to the question "where we u when u were shite?" i can honestly say that i was there at Cliftonhill/firhill in front of piss poor crowds(some of them in which a Brian Carrigan inspired Clyde team gave us a rudy good hiding!) I remember going to Clyde games at Douglas Park and had a genuine affection for yourselves before the Billy Reid/Dougie Imrie things happened. I am amazed at the vitriol that Clyde fans have towards us and can honestly say that i bear you no more ill-feeling than i do to any other middle ranking first division sides!
Arcadia_Shepard
Give sexual intercourse a chance Duff man. Albertz 10? You laugh in the face of natural selection, a no-frills advert for abortion. What makes you think the Accies care about you?? Bye bye forever! cool.gif
Todd_is_God
Clyde fans

After HT, Accies did nothing, apparently happy to win 2-0. A decision clearly made by Billy Reid. You may hate him, but he clearly made a decision today to settle for 2-0, giving you hope for survival.
victor mcdade
QUOTE (CK @ Apr 19 2008, 19:10) *
I listened to it on the radio, by the sound of it we were quite happy losing two nil and made no attempt to get the ball in the last 20 minutes - typical gutless display I've been used to this season. McGregor can take himself to f**k - useless twat.

You listened to it on the radio ?????????????????? what a wonderful supporter you are.
That will be why you know f**k all about it . If Hutton hadnt fucked up AGAIN this wouldnt have happened . Mc Gregor would walk into any team in the division , but you know f**k all about talent as you were mesmerised with BO BO BO BAWBAG
Steak & Barley
QUOTE (victor mcdade @ Apr 20 2008, 06:32) *
You listened to it on the radio ?????????????????? what a wonderful supporter you are.
That will be why you know f**k all about it . If Hutton hadnt fucked up AGAIN this wouldnt have happened . Mc Gregor would walk into any team in the division , but you know f**k all about talent as you were mesmerised with BO BO BO BAWBAG

McGregor makes his second P&B post rolleyes.gif

Glad to see you managed to select Clydebank in advance of moving to a level you'll be comfortable with.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Radford @ Apr 19 2008, 20:27) *

I couldn't say I'd thought of that, maybe they thought that he'd be more use next week than this week.
Booker_d
I was mortified at how gutless Clyde were, couldnt believe that they are a team supposedly fighting for survival. Someone might want to have a word with them before next week.

Thy only time they made an effort all day was when they were trying to move the car blocking the team bus in.

I cant remember the last time I saw us have such an easy game.

What a tremendous day. Couldnt have been scripted better.
Günther
QUOTE (Sandy Hodge @ Apr 20 2008, 02:46) *
i was the tosser with the hooded top and the beard! its good to put a name to the face and in reply to the question "where we u when u were shite?" i can honestly say that i was there at Cliftonhill/firhill in front of piss poor crowds(some of them in which a Brian Carrigan inspired Clyde team gave us a rudy good hiding!) I remember going to Clyde games at Douglas Park and had a genuine affection for yourselves before the Billy Reid/Dougie Imrie things happened. I am amazed at the vitriol that Clyde fans have towards us and can honestly say that i bear you no more ill-feeling than i do to any other middle ranking first division sides!

laugh.gif I know exactly who you were! That's funny as fuck actually laugh.gif. Was Alan Carr you're mate? I seen you clapping away when the comment was made! The reaction was quality though. But to be fair, it was my mate who was with me that said he looked like Alan Carr laugh.gif
The Banter at half-time and during the 2nd half was excellent!

There was a belter of a moment in the 2nd half where I started shouting at the Accies fans questioning their attendance during the season for about 20 - 30 accies fans to stand up and start shouting shit back laugh.gif
cdisaaccie
Far too easy yesterday, result never in doubt as soon as McGregor made his save; our squad with the determination they've shown throughout the season were never, ever going to lose it against 10 men.

Perfect day, made a bit sweeter with us ending the day 7 clear (Thanks QoS).

Onwards and upwards into the SPL, we've come a long way from finishing 8th in the 2nd Division the first season back at NDP. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Mon The Clyde
Clyde were absolute shite yesterday. And after that, we dont deserve to stay up.

It's easy to say why Hamilton are champions, easily the best team in the league.

Sad to see so many Hamilton 'fans' that left before they lifted the trophy! blink.gif

Anyway, all the best next season Accies.
sydney
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Apr 20 2008, 12:23) *
Clyde were absolute shite yesterday. And after that, we dont deserve to stay up.

It's easy to say why Hamilton are champions, easily the best team in the league.

Sad to see so many Hamilton 'fans' that left before they lifted the trophy! blink.gif

Aye, I noticed that too that quite a few fans left at the same time as me- a bit odd that. And when I got the pub, a Hamilton "fan" came in just after me and was deparate to know the Celtic score ! Mmmm

Anyway, unfortunately in the West of Scotland, that's the type of society we live in.

Good luck to the Accies- deserved winners.

Noticed incidentally that the Clyde directors left as soon as the final whistle went- I passed them outside when I was leaving. They were hurrying towards their car, obviously hoping to avoid any Clyde fans. I felt like making a comment about how crap and gutless we were, but to be honest, I just couldn't be bothered. I thought it may have been good form for them to stay a wee while and congratulate the Hamilton board and management team on their success. Or am I just being naive ??
YER SISTERS YER MAW
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Apr 20 2008, 12:23) *

It's only the true fans backing that matters and they are the ones who stayed behind.These glory hunters don't show their support every week unlike our core support so that will be the reason for the early departures.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (YER SISTERS YER MAW @ Apr 20 2008, 19:14) *
It's only the true fans backing that matters and they are the ones who stayed behind.These glory hunters don't show their support every week unlike our core support so that will be the reason for the early departures.

You dont say ohmy.gif
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (victor mcdade @ Apr 20 2008, 06:32) *

I agree to be honest. To tell McGregor to beat it after his handball on the line is just nonsense! I think he's been very, very hard done by. I don't necessarily condone what he done, but I think some people fail to appreciate that his actions could well have been a simple knee-jerk reaction - figuratively speaking. I'm certainly inclined to believe they were.

Anyone wanting rid of Neil is simply ignorant.
David W
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 20 2008, 23:29) *
I agree to be honest. To tell McGregor to beat it after his handball on the line is just nonsense! I think he's been very, very hard done by. I don't necessarily condone what he done, but I think some people fail to appreciate that his actions could well have been a simple knee-jerk reaction - figuratively speaking. I'm certainly inclined to believe they were.

I think it's more an accumlation of frustration after the penalties he conceded vs Stirling, Hamilton, St Johnstone, the slack goals conceded vs Dundee and Livingston.

I like Neil but he's not had a good season.
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 20 2008, 23:29) *

I don't know if he is good or bad but it was a poor decision to handle it so early in the match. Keeping 11 men on may have made a difference but probably not as Clyde were very poor. Can't believe their apparent lack of effort. If they end up in the play offs by one goal of a difference they should look long and hard at themselves after that 2nd half.

Why did the ref not even speak to McSwegan for his push on Cerny. It should have been at least a booking but the ref was pretty poor for the whole game.

Accies never broke sweat. Pity really as i reckon that was a decent chance to score a lot of goals to entertain the glory hunters who then might have been tempted to come back.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (Accie1 @ Apr 19 2008, 18:46) *
Penalty and sending off in the first half sealed it. Queens scoring and then us making it two was just icing on the cake. Second half was all about keeping the ball and we never came out of first gear again ( sorry Morton).
Best home record
Best away record
Most goals scored
Least goals conceeded

Ladies and Gentlemen I give you the First Division Champions

Hamilton Accies. biggrin.gif

Couldn't make the game. Raging you won but over all you deserve to be in the big league.

How many Clyde fans were there?
academical
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Apr 21 2008, 13:22) *
How many Clyde fans were there?

Four.
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (David W @ Apr 21 2008, 10:29) *
I think it's more an accumlation of frustration after the penalties he conceded vs Stirling, Hamilton, St Johnstone, the slack goals conceded vs Dundee and Livingston.

I like Neil but he's not had a good season.

I agree & obviously I see why people might get slightly ticked off with him.

He hasn't had a good season, you're right. Has anyone though? (In defence of McGregor)
Mushroom
QUOTE (FuzzyBear @ Apr 21 2008, 12:42) *
I don't know if he is good or bad but it was a poor decision to handle it so early in the match. Keeping 11 men on may have made a difference but probably not as Clyde were very poor.

McGregor is a quality player, shame he's a complete tube.
bhoonaman
QUOTE (academical @ Apr 21 2008, 13:57) *
Four.

Pish - we had twice that.
Günther
QUOTE (academical @ Apr 21 2008, 13:57) *
Four.

I don't know how many we had exactly. But we certainly would've had more than a certain Promotion winning team did at Broadwood...
Accie1
Around 450 some of that total was Accies fans avoiding the queues though. biggrin.gif
GypsyTillIDie
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Apr 20 2008, 11:48) *
laugh.gif I know exactly who you were! That's funny as f**k actually laugh.gif . Was Alan Carr you're mate? I seen you clapping away when the comment was made! The reaction was quality though. But to be fair, it was my mate who was with me that said he looked like Alan Carr laugh.gif
The Banter at half-time and during the 2nd half was excellent!

There was a belter of a moment in the 2nd half where I started shouting at the Accies fans questioning their attendance during the season for about 20 - 30 accies fans to stand up and start shouting shit back laugh.gif

The wee wannabe casuals! That was hilarious and the man with the beard took the banter well, unlike the arse with the glasses. When someone shouted, "Where's yer season ticket?" it was hilarious that he sat down and didn't say anything laugh.gif.
Mushroom
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Apr 21 2008, 17:29) *
The wee wannabe casuals! That was hilarious and the man with the beard took the banter well, unlike the arse with the glasses. When someone shouted, "Where's yer season ticket?" it was hilarious that he sat down and didn't say anything laugh.gif .

I still don't get your sig should it not be...

Tubbs
The 2 teams Accies fans have had the most 'banter' with on here is Clyde and Dundee.

To win the league at home by dismantling Clyde was sweet, the chance to win the league by 10 points at Dens is just superb, a true win, win situation.
Tubbs
Cant help wondering how many pages this thread would have been if Clyde had won, the Dundee and Clyde fans would have been wetting themselves to post. The silence speaks volumes rolleyes.gif
Günther
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Apr 24 2008, 18:31) *
Cant help wondering how many pages this thread would have been if Clyde had won, the Dundee and Clyde fans would have been wetting themselves to post. The silence speaks volumes rolleyes.gif

You won the game, You won the league - All deserved so shut the fuck up and move on cool.gif
Tubbs
And with that attitude P&B would not have many discussions would it ?

Along the lines of

" Billy is our manager, it was 3 years ago, so shut the f**k up and move on cool.gif "