Full Version: Brian Wake
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
FTOF_PTFC_1
Is he actually THAT bad ?
webeatleeds
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Apr 18 2008, 20:23) *

No, never got a consistent run in the Accies side, could never be faulted for effort wink.gif
badgers apprentice
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Apr 18 2008, 21:23) *

john mcgachie was better and jim liddle dry.gif
lithgae
In my opinion not as bad as made out. He was anything but great but his inabilities were shown up by the rest of the Accies team. In years gone by he wouldn't have been as conspicuous.
kilbrideton
Very Bad..............Hairdo. Very odd but gets unfair rep at Ton after few games there have been worse but not many to be fair. One of those that you can`t help but laugh at.
Tonsilitis
He came on second half last week and played well apart from scoring his first goal. A number of Morton fans got their eyes opened (including this one) and maybe with a wee run in the team he could do even better. Irons thinks that he has yet to produce the form he had at Gretna.
kilbrideton
Could turn into the kind of player that you love but still laugh at all clubs have one. Ton fans will remeber Mel B who had no pace whats so ever but you couldn`t dislike him.
Sao Paulo
Very little in terms of ability. He is very hard working and does put a lot of effort in though, to his credit.
David W
He's awful. Truly dreadful.

Exactly the sort of rubbish player that scores a last minute goal to relegate Clyde though dry.gif
Fife Saint
Wake being the operative word. He is a corpse on the field. Although he did score the greatest pinball wizard effort i've seen in the last few years at McD recently.
Moan Gils...skin him!!!
hes shite but he doesnt know he is laugh.gif

port-ton
Brian Wake is a god amongst men. He will save our season, jut watch.

save our season, save the world.
bartman
Yes, he is.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Apr 18 2008, 21:27) *
john mcgachie was better and jim liddle dry.gif

Away and wash that mince oot yer mooth,Badger.Wake isnae any worse than them.Jim Liddle was a big coo while McGachie had no redeeming qualities whatsoever.Even though Wake isnae great,he would still get about 10 goals a season if he played in a half decent side for a full season.

I've even paraphrased it in yer ain Larky tongue for ye.That's awfy nice of me.

Scotty Tunbridge
Can we have him Back please ?
I miss him James Grady has nothing on him
Nairnite
Wakie - a "Leg End" in his own life time. Not much finesse . 100% effort. Guarenteed to rummel up any defense. Had some great battles with Eddie Malone when M was at Clyde.
Rasta Ton
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Apr 18 2008, 16:23) *

You'll get the chance to see for yourself next week.
badger_whacker
I was fully expecting to come in here and it to be a question if big Wakey is sexy.

Yes....yes he is!

Stevie Aitken's Love Child
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Apr 19 2008, 11:09) *
I was fully expecting to come in here and it to be a question if big Wakey is sexy.

Yes....yes he is!

If you're gonna show a pic of him then surely it has to be THE picture biggrin.gif

For what it's worth, it's fair to see that he holds the ball up well and is decent in the air but doesn't look like he'll score many goals. If he can put in some more showings like the one in the 2nd half against St Johnstone then he's well worth a place in the squad.
badgers apprentice
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Apr 19 2008, 00:51) *
Away and wash that mince oot yer mooth,Badger.Wake isnae any worse than them.Jim Liddle was a big coo while McGachie had no redeeming qualities whatsoever.Even though Wake isnae great,he would still get about 10 goals a season if he played in a half decent side for a full season.

I've even paraphrased it in yer ain Larky tongue for ye.That's awfy nice of me.

have you ever heard of sarcasm? away n grow some hair, yer acting like you look ...wee boy.
PTFC27
QUOTE (Moan Gils...skin him!!&# @ Apr 18 2008, 22:51) *
hes shite but he doesnt know he is laugh.gif

And he's in your signiture.
Skyline Drifter
I've always thought Wake gets a bad press on here undeservedly. There are worse strikers playing in this division. I saw him a few times with Gretna and when he first joined Accies and he was a handful. He's obviously not the most skilled footballer in the division but he's physical and when I saw him fairly direct.

Not the right partner for Weatherson though.
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Apr 19 2008, 11:09) *

Yes....yes he is!

Greasy, Greasy hairdo
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Apr 19 2008, 11:25) *
have you ever heard of sarcasm? away n grow some hair, yer acting like you look ...wee boy.

Jealousy,jealousy my old scrote.Now,will that Mrs of yours allow you out.
sixx
To be honest he always gave 100% and considering he made nearly ALL of his appearences in the last 10-20 mins of a game he did get a few goals.

He scored two good goals against Berwick Rangers in the cup, but missed a sitter as well.

He didn't really have much balance though, which always resulted in him ending up on his arse lol.

heres a more recent picture of him to try and do him some justice tongue.gif

HardingsHamstring
Dear God, he is Jaws.
Web
Exuberant

Football's a funny old game.
ExxyJj

Obviously not.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
QUOTE (ExxyJj @ Apr 19 2008, 15:29) *
Obviously not.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Nowhere near as bad as Stevie Crawford is anyway.
GreenOak_Ton
Hes our saviour.Scored a great goal today to send us on our way to 3 points.Nice one Wakey laugh.gif
vikingTON
Er, single handedly keeping us up. blink.gif biggrin.gif
That says a lot about this division. tongue.gif
BluebirdTon

Don't be so stupid,this man has "the force" with him !

He started off well but as the game progressed we got constant reminder of who he really is i.e hitting the bar from about 2 yards out and the ball was running along the ground. laugh.gif
GypsyTillIDie
I hate Brian Wake...
bouncer
I've nothing but respect for Wake. Gets a lot of stick but always gives 100%. Did ok coming on for us earlier in the season to hold up the ball. Hope he gets given a championship medal
steveoath
Wake is the saviour haha :-)

Steve
C B
You are all jealous now !

boldblue.gif

please no random drug tests - he IS that good all of a sudden cool.gif
badgers apprentice
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Apr 19 2008, 12:40) *
Jealousy,jealousy my old scrote.Now,will that Mrs of yours allow you out.

laugh.gif let him out! free ye olde!!!! what a disgrace her majestys is!!
badgers apprentice
QUOTE (sixx @ Apr 19 2008, 12:48) *
To be honest he always gave 100% and considering he made nearly ALL of his appearences in the last 10-20 mins of a game he did get a few goals.

He scored two good goals against Berwick Rangers in the cup, but missed a sitter as well.

He didn't really have much balance though, which always resulted in him ending up on his arse lol.

heres a more recent picture of him to try and do him some justice tongue.gif

that is never wake!!!! was that you in the eighties? which was acceptable at the time?
Denji
2 goals in his past 2 games.

WHAT A PLAYER.
Sandy Hodge
QUOTE (David W @ Apr 18 2008, 22:29) *
He's awful. Truly dreadful.

Exactly the sort of rubbish player that scores a last minute goal to relegate Clyde though dry.gif

truly the worst accies player of the last 10 years and hopefully he will score the goal that relegates Clyde to there rightful place in the second division.
port-ton
QUOTE (Sandy Hodge @ Apr 20 2008, 01:47) *
truly the worst accies player of the last 10 years and hopefully he will score the goal that relegates Clyde to there rightful place in the second division.

He is the messiah and you will go to hell for your insolence my friend.
steveoath
Quickly gaining cult status at Cappielow. If he bags the winner next week then the cult of wake will only grow stronger.

Steve
badgers apprentice
accies signed wake as in we have a goal scorer? he did do well when he was on loan with us the season we did have a good season when we finished third in the league, reached the quarters of the scottish and the final of the challenge.
badgers apprentice
QUOTE (Sandy Hodge @ Apr 20 2008, 01:47) *

what aload of shite, he was no worse than sandy.
sixx
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Apr 20 2008, 01:29) *
that is never wake!!!! was that you in the eighties? which was acceptable at the time?

nah mate thats his bebo picture biggrin.gif
RyanT
Wake will be a Morton legend. He will single handedly ensure the right results and Morton will NOT be relegated no matter what. Mark my words!!

Honestly, speaking as someone who has absolutely zero value to his opinion as he has never actually seen wake play, I think Wake just might not have gelled with Accies style of play. But if given the right support, encourangement, and opportunity to shine.... then maybe he can prove his worth?

He was knocking the goals in regularly for Accies during his loan period. I am not sure what went wrong when he actually signed though, but from what I have read it certainly wasn't failure due to a lack of effort.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Apr 20 2008, 01:25) *
laugh.gif let him out! free ye olde!!!! what a disgrace her majestys is!!

Thanks for that Badger.
Bryan

did you get your answer tongue.gif
JFK
Man of the Match by a country mile today, Pulled the Thistle defence all over the place and scored 2 decent goals....

Irons is a w**k though......