There's been a rumour doing the rounds for a while that Queen's Park's Paul Paton will be heading to Firhill in the summer. However, John Brown has stated that if Clyde maintain their First Division status then he's confident of securing the services of Paton and Stuart Kettlewell.
For me, it's a no brainer. The boy clearly has no ambition if he decides to choose the Bully Wee over the Harry Wraggs.
Sao Paulo
Apr 17 2008, 15:05
John Brown has stated that if Clyde maintain their First Division status then he's confident of securing the services of Paton and Stuart Kettlewell
Got a Link? (I have heard the same but I've never read/heard of Bomber passing comment on it).
Sao Paulo
Apr 17 2008, 15:16
I think you may find that Brown, in his wisdom, has already tied both players up on pre-contract agreements. Ergo, they will come to Clyde should we remain a first division club. If we become a second division club they'll remain at Queens Park. (So as not just to be making a side step).
Makes sense doesn't it? Perhaps we just got there first!

(I must admit I would be stunned if it came off, that would mean we actually did get to these players first, we don't often manage such feats)
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 17 2008, 16:16)

I think you may find that Brown, in his wisdom, has already tied both players up on pre-contract agreements. Ergo, they will come to Clyde should we remain a first division club. If we become a second division club they'll remain at Queens Park. (So as not just to be making a side step).
Any confirmation that this is true, or are you hazarding a guess?
Kirky Gypo
Apr 17 2008, 15:20
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 17 2008, 14:57)

There's been a rumour doing the rounds for a while that Queen's Park's Paul Paton will be heading to Firhill in the summer. However, John Brown has stated that if Clyde maintain their First Division status then he's confident of securing the services of Paton and Stuart Kettlewell.
For me, it's a no brainer. The boy clearly has no ambition if he decides to choose the Bully Wee over the Harry Wraggs.
And tell me how Thistle will make the way forward?
third lanark
Apr 17 2008, 15:21

Makes sense doesn't it? Perhaps we just got there first!

(I must admit I would be stunned if it came off, that would mean we actually did get to these players first, we don't often manage such feats)
I had heard Thistle had offered Paton a 3 year deal and he had accepted thats why I was surprised when I read this as didnt think Clyde would pay higher wages than us, though am aware they made quite a bit money from the sky cup game against Dundee United
Sao Paulo
Apr 17 2008, 15:25
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 17 2008, 16:18)

Any confirmation that this is true, or are you hazarding a guess?
Just a guess, but there's logic to it sure. If Brown has came out and spoke confidently about securing both players then I can only imagine there has been a pre-contract agreement made? I mean come on there aren't many player who would turn down Thistle for Clyde as you say. Moreover, the Clyde OS did have an article mentioning moves for 4-5 players on pre-contract deals. None have been confirmed publicly as of yet, but that may be due to players' preference or their clubs etc.
Seems likely. I know nothing for certain though.
Miles Brookeson
Apr 17 2008, 15:27
Are Thistle And Clyde Set To Battle It Out For Paton?
Surely it's an easy decision?
Go to Firhill and get paid the going rate for a first division football? or do voluntary work in Cumbernauld?
Now let me think.....
QUOTE (Kirky Gypo @ Apr 17 2008, 16:20)

And tell me how Thistle will make the way forward?
You don't seriously think Clyde are going to make massive strides forward do you? Well, in saying that, you couldn't get much worse.
Sao Paulo
Apr 17 2008, 15:35
I see what you're saying, Indeed if I was either player I would just keep my options open and probably not commit to anything. Both players deals are up in the summer. Perhaps I'm being hopeful in my guesswork.
I've heard rumours of considerable financial clout being available to Brown in the summer too by the way. We've heard the same stuff before mind.
Although Billy Gibson did intimate on the radio that money would be coming into the club. Look at our first team squad actually! It's massive, 30 odd players AFAIK. I personally wonder how we can afford such a large squad. Particularly when taking into account all these additions in January and afterwards as well.
Mysterious!
Clyde4life
Apr 17 2008, 15:50

How can someone sign a pre contract based on divisional status?
They either have or they havent.
BullyWee1878
Apr 17 2008, 15:52
I heard back in january that we were after Paton but never heard anything after that. If the lad has any sense he will be signing for Clyde
Sao Paulo
Apr 17 2008, 15:54
QUOTE (Clyde4life @ Apr 17 2008, 16:50)

How can someone sign a pre contract based on divisional status?
They either have or they havent.
I mean like, player has signed a pre-contract deal (A pre-contract meaning he can only sign for one of two clubs when his deal runs out, his current club or the one he has made the pre-contract with. Or that's my understanding anyway), If we stay up he'll sign for us so as to advance his career (he hopes) but if we go down, he'll simply renew with QP so as not just to be making a side step.
It's all a tad ambiguous I must say.
For the record I've no idea if anyone has signed & am claiming nothing. Speaking hypothetically here.
attendant
Apr 17 2008, 16:01
As far as i know there is no need for him to sign any agreements as he is an amateur who will free to sign for whoever he wishes when his amateur contract is up with QP.No idea if players are able or willing to sign pre contract agreements while under this type of contract.Wherever he goes he decides to go he deserves all the success in the world and i'm sure he will be a great addition to any squad just a pity it probably won't be ours !!!!!
Bundesliga Boy
Apr 17 2008, 16:01
Hope we do get Paton as we desperately a right back - need a left back too in fact!!! Would absolutely love to get Alan Trouten of QP as well - undoubtedly the best right sided midfielder in division 2 and one of the 4 candidates for div 2 player of the year.(he's probably the least likely to get it however as he's up again Allan Russell, Andy Barrowman and Ryan Stevenson). Trouten is out of contract however is almost certain to sign for Thistle. (although if Brown can get Kettlewell and Paton to sign then maybe Trouten woud follow!).
Can't handle the thought of a cricket score for the Accies this weekend so instead I'm off to see Paton/Kettlewell/Trouten in action for QP at home to Ayr Utd instead. (which means I get to see Stevenson as well).
Here's hoping we stay up!
QUOTE (Bundesliga Boy @ Apr 17 2008, 17:01)

Would absolutely love to get Alan Trouten of QP as well
I've also heard rumours that we're after him, too. We need a right sided midfielder and, as far as I know, Trouten's a Thistle fan. Of course, that doesn't necessarily mean he'll sign for us.
Sao Paulo
Apr 17 2008, 16:04
What I had heard was basically that you can sign players from QP on pre-contracts but they wouldn't be allowed early release, i.e. to come in January. Down to some piece of legislation put in place by the SFA or something like that. Skyline Drifter's the chap who could tell us about this kind of stuff.
Clyde4life
Apr 17 2008, 16:13
QUOTE (attendant @ Apr 17 2008, 17:01)

As far as i know there is no need for him to sign any agreements as he is an amateur who will free to sign for whoever he wishes when his amateur contract is up with QP.No idea if players are able or willing to sign pre contract agreements while under this type of contract.
You are correct. As soon as May hits these players will move elsewhere
EastFootball
Apr 17 2008, 16:28
Bugger.
I was hoping this was going to be about Eric and I could come on here all clever-like and say he's already signed a pre-contract with Dundee
Squiggles92
Apr 17 2008, 16:38
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 17 2008, 15:35)

I see what you're saying, Indeed if I was either player I would just keep my options open and probably not commit to anything. Both players deals are up in the summer. Perhaps I'm being hopeful in my guesswork.
I've heard rumours of considerable financial clout being available to Brown in the summer too by the way. We've heard the same stuff before mind.
Although Billy Gibson did intimate on the radio that money would be coming into the club. Look at our first team squad actually! It's massive, 30 odd players AFAIK. I personally wonder how we can afford such a large squad. Particularly when taking into account all these additions in January and afterwards as well.
Mysterious!
Wheres the money coming from?, could be intresting..
Judge & Jury
Apr 17 2008, 16:48
QUOTE (Squiggles92 @ Apr 17 2008, 17:38)

Dubai Property.
No, wait...
Exuberant
Apr 17 2008, 17:11
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 17 2008, 15:57)

Causing a bit of Trouble at Palmerston were we
Enjoyed the fuz beside you
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Apr 17 2008, 17:24
If the boy simply has to choose between Firhill and Broadwood and if the wages on offer were the same he would be a total mug to move to Cumbernauld.
Mushroom
Apr 17 2008, 17:30
Faris Gypsy did claim we had signed Paul Paton in the transfer window on a pre-contract.
However he also claimed that we had signed Marc McCulloch who I get the impression is dreadful. I can see how he might have got some information and pieced it together wrongly as we did sign another Scottish player from Galway United.
and he was shite too.
SP, remember a few guys in there are amateurs, McKay definately then possibly Albertz and a few others.
edit - odd choice of smiley
third lanark
Apr 17 2008, 17:52
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 17 2008, 17:04)

I've also heard rumours that we're after him, too. We need a right sided midfielder and, as far as I know, Trouten's a Thistle fan. Of course, that doesn't necessarily mean he'll sign for us.
Not just Trouten but his whole family are huge Thistle fans as well as he. If it was a straightforward choice for him between and Jags and Bully then this might be a big reason why he would go to Thistle.
TheLindauTurn
Apr 17 2008, 20:34
Heard from a friend of his that hes defo on the way to Thistle. Paton was apparently at the jags Huns game amongt the Jags support and was telling anyone who asked him that he was coming to Firhill.
Slightly worried now though
Mushroom
Apr 17 2008, 20:50
QUOTE (TheLindauTurn @ Apr 17 2008, 21:34)

Heard from a friend of his that hes defo on the way to Thistle. Paton was apparently at the jags Huns game amongt the Jags support and was telling anyone who asked him that he was coming to Firhill.
Slightly worried now though

Well, Jamie Mitchell did claim that he would never go to Thistle.
A bit of role reversal would be nice
McFarlane
Apr 17 2008, 21:09
Patons has signed for Thistle on a three year deal. McCall was dwn at Berwick on Tuesday lookin at Trouten. As for Ketts no idea if he moves to Clyde then dissapointed.
Virtual Insanity
Apr 17 2008, 21:44
Splendid.
TheBanter
Apr 17 2008, 23:40
Where's the 'battle' with this one...
THISTLE
or
CLYDE
campbell must go
Apr 18 2008, 05:37
QUOTE (Squiggles92 @ Apr 17 2008, 17:38)

Bombers mate Hughes?
The Arch
Apr 18 2008, 08:22
QUOTE (campbell must go @ Apr 18 2008, 06:37)

Bombers mate Hughes?
If you're talking about Barry Hughes, that would be hilarious.
Clyde do not want him anywhere near their club. He's an even worse version of Pearse Flynn. He will bring a bit of money in but that bad press will be way above Graham Roberts level.
Miles Brookeson
Apr 18 2008, 08:52
QUOTE (The Arch @ Apr 18 2008, 09:22)

If you're talking about Barry Hughes, that would be hilarious.
Oh please let it be so.
something like that could keep me going for seasons. there's TONs of stories about him.
sonofjenova
Apr 18 2008, 10:15
QUOTE (TheBanter @ Apr 18 2008, 00:40)

Where's the 'battle' with this one...
THISTLE
or
CLYDE

The fact that both teams are pish?
Mushroom
Apr 18 2008, 11:09
QUOTE (McFarlane @ Apr 17 2008, 22:09)

Patons has signed for Thistle on a three year deal. McCall was dwn at Berwick on Tuesday lookin at Trouten. As for Ketts no idea if he moves to Clyde then dissapointed.
I still don't get where Queens Park got this rivalry with Clyde from
Admittedly we've not met since 1993 - but I would have thought if we cared about you I would have found out from our own fans
Shame if he has signed for Thistle, I'd heard good things about Paton.
The Arch
Apr 18 2008, 11:15
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 18 2008, 12:09)

Admittedly we've not met since 1993 - but I would have thought if we cared about you I would have found out from our own fans

What in his post suggests a rivalry? I'd imagine he'd be dissappointed with Kettlewell joining Clyde because he would obviously no longer be at Queens.
Mushroom
Apr 18 2008, 12:12
QUOTE (The Arch @ Apr 18 2008, 12:15)

What in his post suggests a rivalry? I'd imagine he'd be dissappointed with Kettlewell joining Clyde because he would obviously no longer be at Queens.
You've obiously not dealt with QP fans that often
They despise us for some reason
johnstone bud
Apr 18 2008, 13:57
I work with Paul or i should say worked as he left today so he can start on his fitness for next season he has signed for Partick on a 3 year deal.
Good luck Paul from the boys at Chalmit but i dont think you`ll need it.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Apr 18 2008, 14:03
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 18 2008, 12:09)

Shame if he has signed for Thistle, I'd heard good things about Paton.
Shame if he signed for you, I'd heard BAD things about Clyde
third lanark
Apr 18 2008, 14:34
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 18 2008, 13:12)

You've obiously not dealt with QP fans that often
They despise us for some reason

Your old ground was not to far from Hampden, so I guess there was a bit of a local rivalry thing.
Also heard Third Lanark had a bit of rivalry way back with both Clyde and Queens Park
Mushroom
Apr 18 2008, 14:44
QUOTE (third lanark @ Apr 18 2008, 15:34)

Your old ground was not to far from Hampden, so I guess there was a bit of a local rivalry thing.
Also heard Third Lanark had a bit of rivalry way back with both Clyde and Queens Park
Clyde - Thirds I heard was a fairly big rivalry.
Maybe Queens turned their attentions to us after Thirds went and we turned our attention to you? Which would explain the one-sidedness of the rivalries (although alot of Thistle fans have been seen responding in that kind of manner these days)
An older fan could of QP or Clyde perhaps enlighten us?
Sao Paulo
Apr 18 2008, 15:13
Clyde & Queens Park was the biggest rivalry initially I'm lead to believe. Bigger than Third Lanark or the Thistle (A relatively modern) 'kiddy-on' rivalry.
The potency or virulence of the rivalry has obviously dissipated considerably down the years (unsurprisingly) with the loss of Shawfield & move to Cumbernauld etc.
On Paton, it would seem that he's agreed a move to Thistle already. I'll obviously be disappointed if that's the case, heard a lot of good things, but there are plenty more fish in the sea.
With a bit of luck Kettlewell is still our man though. Given the choice of the two I certainly would have taken Ketts first, simply because I've never saw Paton play personally and haven't been convinced of his skill. Whereas I have saw the other several times. I was very impressed with him, particularly when Queens Park played East Fife in the first leg of the third/second play off final at Firhill it was actually. I couldn't name many players off the top of my head with an engine like his. The kind of player we have been sorely lacking in our midfield, so Ketts over Paton in order of priority but the latter still a dissapointing one to miss out on, if indeed we have.
*Edit to add, Paton may have played in the above mentioned game, I just can't remember his performance vividly.
qpsnapper
Apr 18 2008, 15:14
I've no time for Thistle, but if it was me with this choice then Thistle would win hands down.
Good luck to PP, he's been a really good consistent performer for us over the last two and half years, sorry to see him go but he's definitely ready for full time football, probably was last summer as well, we did well to hold onto him then.
qpsnapper
Apr 18 2008, 15:18
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 18 2008, 16:13)

With a bit of luck Kettlewell is still our man though. Given the choice of the two I certainly would have taken Ketts first, simply because I've never saw Paton play personally and haven't been convinced of his skill. Whereas I have saw the other several times. I was very impressed with him, particularly when Queens Park played East Fife in the first leg of the third/second play off final at Firhill it was actually. I couldn't name many players off the top of my head with an engine like his. The kind of player we have been sorely lacking in our midfield, so Ketts over Paton in order of priority but the latter still a dissapointing one to miss out on, if indeed we have.
You will have seen Paton, he was right back in the East Fife game at Firhill you mention.
Sao Paulo
Apr 18 2008, 15:22
QUOTE (qpsnapper @ Apr 18 2008, 16:18)

You will have seen Paton, he was right back in the East Fife game at Firhill you mention.
Aye. Sorry, I edited that in just before you posted there. My error.
(Last year) I also went to QP Vs. Berwick at Hampden, IIRC Berwick won 2/3-1 & QP Vs. East Fife where I genuinely can't remember the score, I think QP won 2-0 though.

He may have played in those two, I can't remember he was certainly reserved if effective. Not that I think he's anything less than a big potential & currently very able player by the way.
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 18 2008, 16:13)

I've never saw Paton play personally and haven't been convinced of his skill.
How does that work?
Sao Paulo
Apr 18 2008, 15:26
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 18 2008, 16:24)

How does that work?

I should have written something like '& hence I haven't been convinced of his skill myself/in person' whatever. My deepest & sincere apologies.
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 18 2008, 16:26)

I should have written something like '& hence I haven't been convinced of his skill myself/in person' whatever. My deepest & sincere apologies.

No need to get snippy with me. It's hardly my fault that you're unable to convey what you mean.
Sao Paulo
Apr 18 2008, 15:33
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 18 2008, 16:30)

No need to get snippy with me. It's hardly my fault that you're unable to convey what you mean.
I wish I had some piece of counter patter but I don't. I've been awake for 24+ hours you'll have to excuse my snippyness.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.