Tuffey

Mackay McLaughlin Elebert Easton

Dorrans McArthur McDonald Gilhaney

Dobbie Offiong

Subs:
Gallagher
Palenik
Neil
Snodgrass (I put him there because he can play left and right midfield, as well as up front)
Buchanan

I'll update this as the votes change.

Feel free to post you alternatives.
Nizzy
I'd have went for:

Tuffey

McPake McLaughlin Elebert

Neil

Dorrans McDonald McArthur Gilhaney

Dobbie Jackson

Subs:

Gallagher
Big JT
Irvine
Rowson
Offiong
Radford
My own side would be:

P Gallacher

D Mackay - M Palenik - M McLauglin - B Easton

K McDonald - A Neil - J McArthur

A Jackson - S O'Connor - S Dobbie

Subbies: J MacDonald, D Elebert, S Tosh, G Dorrans, L Buchanan.
King Kozma
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 13 2008, 10:57) *
Tuffey

Dobbie Offiong

Subs:
Gallagher
Palenik
Neil
Snodgrass (I put him there because he can play left and right midfield, as well as up front)
Buchanan

Well I suppose that saves me the bother!

Add a list of subs.
Dunning1874
That team would easily survive in the SPL IMO.

Anyway, mine would be:

Hutton

McKay - McLaughlin - Elebert - Easton

Tosh - McArthur - McDonald

Dobbie - Offiong - Buchanan

Subs:

Gallacher
Malone
Neil
Bell
Jackson

Went for a midfield three as no one on the right has impressed me.

I don't really rate Jackson, but put him in as he had a good game yesterday and he knows how to score, and no strikers other than the three in the team have really impressed me.

josecomehome
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Apr 13 2008, 12:25) *
That team would easily survive in the SPL IMO.

Anyway, mine would be:

Hutton

McKay - McLaughlin - Elebert - Easton

Tosh - McArthur - McDonald

Dobbie - Offiong - Buchanan

Subs:

Gallacher
Malone
Neil
Bell
Jackson

Went for a midfield three as no one on the right has impressed me.

I don't really rate Jackson, but put him in as he had a good game yesterday and he knows how to score, and no strikers other than the three in the team have really impressed me.

When you say no-one on the right impressed you I'm a bit suprised from a Morton fan. David Graham has scored two peaches against you both times he's played. He also set one up and was pretty much man of the match in the 3-1 game at Cappielow.

I'm not saying that he deserves to be in a team of the season- just that he has played his best games against Morton!
Dunning1874
QUOTE (josecomehome @ Apr 13 2008, 12:38) *
When you say no-one on the right impressed you I'm a bit suprised from a Morton fan. David Graham has scored two peaches against you both times he's played. He also set one up and was pretty much man of the match in the 3-1 game at Cappielow.

I'm not saying that he deserves to be in a team of the season- just that he has played his best games against Morton!

Oh aye, you're right actually. We've been so mind numbingly bad against you I've tried to erase Hamilton games from my mind. sad.gif

That said, I didn't pick him because I didn't think he was getting a game every week. How often has he played? A player I've always rated highly.
josecomehome
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Apr 13 2008, 12:45) *
Oh aye, you're right actually. We've been so mind numbingly bad against you I've tried to erase Hamilton games from my mind. sad.gif

That said, I didn't pick him because I didn't think he was getting a game every week. How often has he played? A player I've always rated highly.

Played most matches since he signed in January and a few in late 2007 as a loan player. Contributes just as much as Gilhaney on the opposite wing. However, he has only played half the season. He is a great dribbler. The ball just seems to stick to his foot. Pacey as well. I feel that he has the potential to do so much more as well.

As I said- his best performances have been against Morton so I thought he might have impressed at least them.
Nizzy
No change, I see. I'd imagine Jonny will have cemented his place with yesterday's penalty save.
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 11:08) *
No change, I see. I'd imagine Jonny will have cemented his place with yesterday's penalty save.

and that save from the freekick, infact he had 5 or 6 good saves, unlucky with the goals
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 13 2008, 10:57) *
Tuffey

Dobbie Offiong

Subs:
Gallagher
Palenik
Neil
Buchanan

Would agree with most of that, but I'd switch around Gallacher and Tuffey. No surprise I'd say that though.
Todd_is_God
A.N.Other - McLaughlin - Elebert - Easton

And that, my friends, is one of the reasons as to why we are top of the league!

As an aside, the only goals we have conceded at home in the league have come down the right hand side, the weakest part of our defence (thought Tom Parratt, Tony Stevenson are by no means bad players - they're just not quite up to the same standard as the other three!).
Todd_is_God
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 11:08) *

unsure.gif Would you be saying that if he had saved a penalty against East Stirling?
Nizzy
QUOTE (Todd_is_God @ Apr 14 2008, 16:11) *
unsure.gif Would you be saying that if he had saved a penalty against East Stirling?

A penalty save is a penalty save, but this was in a fairly high-profile game. That's bound to bring him to the attention of those that don't know much about him in addition to firming up the ideas of those that do. Hence why I think it will cement his place as the division's top 'keeper in the eyes of those who post here.
Todd_is_God
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 16:15) *
A penalty save is a penalty save, but this was in a fairly high-profile game. That's bound to bring him to the attention of those that don't know much about him in addition to firming up the ideas of those that do. Hence why I think it will cement his place as the division's top 'keeper in the eyes of those who post here.

As much as i see your point, guessing the right way for a penalty hardly makes you the best goalkeeper in the league. He might be playing wee just now, but i don't remember anyone talking about him early on in the season.

David Hutton has probably been the most consistently good keeper this season. Judging by what i've seen, and what i've read.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Todd_is_God @ Apr 14 2008, 16:18) *
As much as i see your point, guessing the right way for a penalty hardly makes you the best goalkeeper in the league. He might be playing wee just now, but i don't remember anyone talking about him early on in the season.

I'd say he's Thistle's most improved player this season and can point to a number of occasions that he's kept us in a game. Can the same be said for Hutton, or is it a case, as in the games against Thistle, that he's helped keep scores down rather than ensure his team win, or take a share of, the points?

There's obviously a number of things that would determine who the best keeper is including shot-stopping, kicking, reaction time and how they cope with penalties. But, as I've said, saving a pen in a big game is going to sway opinions, which was my point.
Todd_is_God
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 16:25) *
But, as I've said, saving a pen in a big game is going to sway opinions, which was my point.

No i see your point. I just don't agree with it smile.gif
Sao Paulo
My team would be:-

Gallagher (GK); McGregor (SW), McLaughlin (CB), Palenik (CB); Malone (LWB), Parrat (RWB); McDonald (CM), Robertson (CM), MacFarlane (CM); O'Connor (FC) Dobbie (SC).

Nizzy
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 14 2008, 16:55) *
My team would be:-

Gallagher (GK); McGregor (SW), McLaughlin (CB), Palenik (CB); Malone (LWB), Parrat (RWB); McDonald (CM), Robertson (CM), MacFarlane (CM); O'Connor (FC) Dobbie (SC).

I'd like to hear your thinking behind some of those choices. Particularly your inclusion of McGregor and MacFarlane.
YER SISTERS YER MAW
QUOTE (josecomehome @ Apr 13 2008, 12:57) *
Played most matches since he signed in January and a few in late 2007 as a loan player. Contributes just as much as Gilhaney on the opposite wing. However, he has only played half the season. He is a great dribbler. The ball just seems to stick to his foot. Pacey as well. I feel that he has the potential to do so much more as well.

As I said- his best performances have been against Morton so I thought he might have impressed at least them.

Gilhaney and Graham are both great dribblers and can beat any player on their day,however i would like to see more end product from both of them.It does help when they are played on their stongest sides,Gilhaney on the left and Graham on the right but Billy likes to chop and change what side they play most games even during games but I think they are more effective on these sides but that is just my opinion for what it's worth.
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 17:00) *
I'd like to hear your thinking behind some of those choices. Particularly your inclusion of McGregor and MacFarlane.

McGregor for me is the best sweeper in the league. Reads the game like it were a book, very intelligent, excellent in the air, superb tackler, marking can seldom be faulted. For a defender, a great first touch and quite composed. Brilliant passer at times. Pacey as well. Everything about him lends himself to the sweeper role. With the tight back three I always prefer a sweeper rather than three orthodox centre halves. McGregors' pace would in theory allow the line to be pressed a bit further up the park so as to force the play if the team so wished. Pace of course offering some security from counter attacks with the high line etc.

MacFarlane is a great ball winner, strong, tenacious in style & most of all to put himself ahead of other I may have chosen experience which the rest of that midfield lacks.
Nizzy
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 14 2008, 17:14) *
Reads the game like it were a book, very intelligent, excellent in the air, superb tackler, marking can seldom be faulted. For a defender, a great first touch and quite composed. Brilliant passer at times. Pacey as well.

Christ almighty, someone alert the world-wide footballing media, Clyde have the new Franz Bekenbauer in their ranks!!!!

That is, without a doubt, the most jizz-soaked piece of prose ever posted on this site.
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 17:21) *
Christ almighty, someone alert the world-wide footballing media, Clyde have the new Franz Bekenbauer in their ranks!!!!

That is, without a doubt, the most jizz-soaked piece of prose ever posted on this site.

You asked for an explanation! I appreciate you may not have been aware because you lot well & truly horsed us just about every time you played us this year & indeed McGregor wasn't at his best. Not been his best season either overall. I maintain though, great sweeper.

*Franco Baresi would have been my comparison. wink.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Apr 14 2008, 17:25) *
*Franco Baresi would have been my comparison. wink.gif

laugh.gif wink.gif
finnersaintee
Andy Jackson has got to be in there
Nizzy
QUOTE (finnersaintee @ Apr 14 2008, 17:37) *
Andy Jackson has got to be in there

Not according to the votes.
CK
I'd go with

Hutton
Woods Archibald McLaughlin Easton
McHale McDonald McArthur
Burchill O'Connor Gray

subs: MacDonald, Harris, Chaplain, Offiong, Dorrans
Nizzy
QUOTE (CK @ Apr 14 2008, 17:56) *
Gray

Jesus, is that based on the fact he scored a double against you? Believe me, he should be no where near the TotS.
MTJ
-----------------Gallagher-------------

Mackay---Palenik---McLaughlin---Easton

Dorrans---McDonald---Robertson---Gilhaney

----------Buchanan------Offiong----------

Would be my team.....
Grant228
QUOTE (CK @ Apr 14 2008, 17:56) *
I'd go with

Hutton
Woods Archibald McLaughlin Easton
McHale McDonald McArthur
Burchill O'Connor Gray

subs: MacDonald, Harris, Chaplain, Offiong, Dorrans

huh.gif
Dundee Par
For me it would be

Gallacher

Mackay
McLaughlin
McPake
Easton

Bell
McArthur
McDonald
Gilhaney

Dobbie
Offiong
CK
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 17:57) *
Jesus, is that based on the fact he scored a double against you? Believe me, he should be no where near the TotS.

Yes, he did look very good that day.

QUOTE (Grant228 @ Apr 14 2008, 18:24) *
huh.gif

What?
finnersaintee
QUOTE (Niz @ Apr 14 2008, 17:48) *
Not according to the votes.

i dont care laugh.gif

ph34r.gif
josecomehome
Tuffey
Irvine Elebert Marko Easton
Dorrans Neil McArthur
McDonald
Dobbie Offiong

Tuffey looks to be a class act of a young goalie.

Irvine should have been sent off against us a McDiarmid and needs to calm down a bit and stop going to ground for crazy tackles but I've been impressed.

Elebert has been a rock
Marko coming back this season has been key to Accies success. A leader at the back and the best defender in the league.
Easton has been a revelation at left-back this season. Getting better every week.
Dorrans was great against us in the first two matches of the season. He has tailed off as Livingston have lost players but he's still class.
Neil- should have been nominated for player of the year.
McArthur- class.
McDonald- not looked good against Hamilton, looked good against Celtic on the TV- apparently he performs like that more often than not- so he gets in the team
Dobbie- the most natural finisher in the league.
Offiong- Not the most natural striker in the league but he can create something out of nothing when the going gets tough.

I believe that the player of the year nominations should have included Neil and Marko ahead of either Dorrans and Dobbie as I believe Marko and Neil have been more influential in this league than either of the other two. I had to find a formation to fit in Neil, McArthur and McDonald.

josecomehome
QUOTE (Todd_is_God @ Apr 14 2008, 16:10) *
And that, my friends, is one of the reasons as to why we are top of the league!

As an aside, the only goals we have conceded at home in the league have come down the right hand side, the weakest part of our defence (thought Tom Parratt, Tony Stevenson are by no means bad players - they're just not quite up to the same standard as the other three!).

To be fair- Tom Parratt was out of position against Livingston for their first goal because he was taking a free-kick from the left hand corner of the Livingston box. We had no defenders back and Dorrans ripped us apart (it was a pish free-kick mind-you)

The Dunfermline goal was caused by an error from Swailles. Elebert was playing right-back that day and Parratt wasn't even on the pitch at the time.

The other goal against Livingston was a consolation goal when we were 3-0 up. I can't remember it because it was meaningless.