Full Version: Dundee 3-0 Stirling Albion
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Ludo *1
Piss poor first half, in what I can say Stirling dominated possession wise!
Second half another piss poor half although we did put the ball in the back of the net 7 times overall so can't be too gloomy, VERY pleased with the result considering the performance we put in.
Great goal by Scott Robertson, just walked through the Stirling defense and calmly slotted it past the 12 year old keeper. Nice to see Scotty back biggrin.gif

Next week a tough game and obviously a must win, although it's more hope than belief, Clyde CAN easily get points from Hamilton, the league isn't over until the final whistle of next week, where it MIGHT JUST MIGHT go to the last day!

Dundee always do things the hard way, we done that today and I hope that they do it until the end of the season!

Credit to the Accies as they haven't been as jubilant as I thought they would, but then the days not over tongue.gif
Juan Sara
well that was shit.....
HulltoonClock
One blunder by Accies will be FATAL, we are waiting on the slip up next week. wink.gif
Muggy
A good win considering we were under intense pressure to win this one. Great result for Accies, who have been phenominal all season. But so have Dundee, and it's a shame only 1 can go up. Both teams have now surpassed Gretna's total last season, which just goes to show how good both teams have actually been, leading the top two spots from start to finish. It's not over yet, although it will take a minor miracle for Dundee to take it to the last game. Clyde will not be easy opponents for Hamilton next week, and wont want to contribute to a championship party, as i'm sure most Accies fans will agree. If Hamilton go up, i'll certainly be wishing them all the luck!

We Believe
The Arch
QUOTE (HulltoonClock @ Apr 12 2008, 17:44) *
One blunder by Accies will be FATAL, we are waiting on the slip up next week. wink.gif

I think one blunder would be delaying the inevitable. Every chance Dundee have had to make ground in the past month or two, they haven't taken it.

I think Dundee have an impressive central midfield, but Hamilton are so strong in all positions and deserve to be champions.
Ludo *1
QUOTE (The Arch @ Apr 12 2008, 17:46) *
I think one blunder would be delaying the inevitable. Every chance Dundee have had to make ground in the past month or two, they haven't taken it.

I think Dundee have an impressive central midfield, but Hamilton are so strong in all positions and deserve to be champions.

So you think if Hamilton got beat by Clyde, the inevitable is that Hamilton would beat us at home blink.gif
I'm not saying they wouldn't but that's an awful confident comment to make!
I also think we have just as good a defense as them and perhaps now that Offiong's forms dipped and we have brung in MeMenamin + Curier our strike-force is just as good!
Muggy
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 12 2008, 17:49) *
So you think if Hamilton got beat by Clyde, the inevitable is that Hamilton would beat us at home blink.gif
I also think we have just as good a defense as them and perhaps now that Offiong's forms dipped and we have brung in MeMenamin + Curier our strike-force is just as good!

Im sure he means that Dundee have a very arduous game away at Q.O.S. that we need to win, aswell as haing to defeat Hamilton on the last day of the season. We can do it, but it's not in our hands.

We Believe
billyg
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 12 2008, 16:49) *

Accies have led from the front all season , the finishing line is in their sights . They will romp to victory next week , of that I have no doubt ! wink.gif

McMenamin and Curier are proven failures at SPL level , but I think you'll find that at least half the SPL would take Offiong in a heartbeat !
Tubbs
QUOTE (HulltoonClock @ Apr 12 2008, 17:44) *

I think you will find it would need 2 blunders by Accies - unless you think our chances would be zero at Dundee blink.gif

The Arch

A blip for Hamilton would be conceding a goal at home considering they've only conceded 3 all year, and this is against a team with only one striker befitting of the name.

A major blip would be losing to Clyde, and then Dundee would still have to win that day. Again, Dundee would have to win at home against Hamilton, and Hamilton have never really let down in the big game. An awful confident comment to make would be that made by "Hulltoon Clock". I'm not even an Accies fan so I'm not sure what makes you think I'm overly confident.
Tubbs

He scored today, dummied the ball for the second and had 2 round him when Mensing scored today. i hope he is off form like that next week.
EastFootball
Good result.

First half was pretty rotten, with several sitters missed. Second, we upped our game and it was good to see big Gary get his first goal of the season; the second was a delightful shot from Sw@nkie which looked like it was in the side-netting, but it had a real bend on it which meant it sneaked inside the post.

The final goal was a great run and shot from Robertson having been played through by McDonald.
Tubbs
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Apr 12 2008, 18:05) *
I think you will find it would need 2 blunders by Accies - unless you think our chances would be zero at Dundee blink.gif

In fact it needs 2 blunders by us and Dundee to at least draw with the Scottish Cup finalists...............away !
EastFootball
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Apr 12 2008, 18:42) *
In fact it needs 2 blunders by us and Dundee to at least draw with the Scottish Cup finalists...............away !

Queens players will be too concerned about picking up injuries, so won't play well wink.gif

I hope ph34r.gif laugh.gif
Tubbs
I recognise that to be honest but it was just to highlight that we are far far away from one blunder away for losing it.

PS just vhad a wee peek at the Dundee official site and someone is going on that Radio Scotland were spending too much time on the goal diffference.

For his info, the GD is vital if we lose and Dundee only draw next week as we would be 3 points clear and would at least have lost 2 goals from our current 4 goals to the good ie dundee win by 1 we loose by 1. This would mean a Dundee single goal win would level points and GD ! and a 2 goal win would leave them clear.

not sure what happens if the points and GD are the same ? goals scored ? in which case its neck and neck and in order to over come the points Dundee would be ahead in that regard.
kullibino
Get your own thread about the diffy run in tongue.gif
EastFootball
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Apr 12 2008, 18:49) *
For his info, the GD is vital if we lose and Dundee only draw next week as we would be 3 points clear and would at least have lost 2 goals from our current 4 goals to the good ie dundee win by 1 we loose by 1. This would mean a Dundee single goal win would level points and GD ! and a 2 goal win would leave them clear.

If we draw, it means we haven't made up any goals wink.gif

So if GD does come into play, the maximum winning margin we'd need on the last day would be 2. (Currently at 4; if Accies lose 1-0 it would be down to 3; 2-goal margin for Dundee = swing of 4 in Dundee's favour.)
not sure what happens if the points and GD are the same ? goals scored ? in which case its neck and neck and in order to over come the points Dundee would be ahead in that regard.

It's goals scored...then a play-off ph34r.gif
Tubbs
Sorry, keyboard plus lager = school boys errors !

It could still come down to goals ph34r.gif
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Apr 12 2008, 16:33) *
Piss poor first half, in what I can say Stirling dominated possession wise!
Second half another piss poor half although we did put the ball in the back of the net 7 times overall so can't be too gloomy, VERY pleased with the result considering the performance we put in.
Great goal by Scott Robertson, just walked through the Stirling defense and calmly slotted it past the 12 year old keeper. Nice to see Scotty back biggrin.gif

Next week a tough game and obviously a must win, although it's more hope than belief, Clyde CAN easily get points from Hamilton, the league isn't over until the final whistle of next week, where it MIGHT JUST MIGHT go to the last day!

Dundee always do things the hard way, we done that today and I hope that they do it until the end of the season!

Credit to the Accies as they haven't been as jubilant as I thought they would, but then the days not over tongue.gif

What, at dominoes!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif It's over. Dundee are a spent force with even Morton nicking players from you! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
vikingTON
How did Stirling play in general?
kalamazoo
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Apr 12 2008, 20:41) *
How did Stirling play in general?

Better than Morton when they came a calling, The Binos were very creative however the lack of finishing let them down as usual.
vikingTON
QUOTE (kalamazoo @ Apr 12 2008, 20:48) *
Better than Morton when they came a calling, The Binos were very creative however the lack of finishing let them down as usual.

Excellent - they'll be good enough to horse Clyde on the final day, we'll somehow scrape three points together, we'll stay up and you'll be staying down.
Seriously I'd like to go back to dens next season as I'm sure it will be a good day out.
Although obviously you'll be looking for more exotic away fans...
kalamazoo
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Apr 12 2008, 20:50) *
Excellent - they'll be good enough to horse Clyde on the final day, we'll somehow scrape three points together, we'll stay up and you'll be staying down.
Seriously I'd like to go back to dens next season as I'm sure it will be a good day out.
Although obviously you'll be looking for more exotic away fans...

away fans, whats that?
Ludo *1
QUOTE (billyg @ Apr 12 2008, 18:04) *
Accies have led from the front all season , the finishing line is in their sights . They will romp to victory next week , of that I have no doubt ! wink.gif

McMenamin and Curier are proven failures at SPL level , but I think you'll find that at least half the SPL would take Offiong in a heartbeat !

Curier had only 8 games at SPL level and scored in 4 of them, that's hardly a failure!
McMenamin played in undoubtedly the worst team in the league, so couldn't get good service, plus the fact he was only in the SPL for about 14 games as I believe he was injured and the arrival of Yantorno limited his chances to get back in the squad.
Juan Sara
Curier was fucking gash the day
BigAl024
Who cares about goal difference. If Hamilton win next week its all over.

Lets be honest. We needed to beat Partick, and we didnt.
the-dee
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Apr 12 2008, 23:19) *
Who cares about goal difference. If Hamilton win next week its all over.

Lets be honest. We needed to beat Partick, and we didnt.

totally agree with you on that!, losing to patrick has fucked us up big time, was a good result today tho!, should of scored more goals, but we never, pish first half i must say!, great goal for robertson, what a cracker, got to win against QOS! and hope clyde take something from hamilton, they will be fighting hard, so hope they draw or even beat hamilton biggrin.gif
Ludo *1
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Apr 12 2008, 22:24) *
Curier was fucking gash the day

Well he did have the ball in the back of the net three times laugh.gif
Curier I thought had done quite well though, just because he doesn't score doesn't mean he has had a bad game, showed neat touches and quick passing, although the whole team in general played poor, I wouldn't single him out far from it!
Noubissie springs to mind dry.gif
EastFootball
Twice.

The third time was Lyle.
TheDee
Hopefully Albertz will unleash a thunderbolt and Clyde win 1-0 next week. I live in hope!
Arcadia_Shepard
I don't think goal difference is a factor here, St. Johnstone can't overhaul you into second place. Well done on a good season though, you had us worried their for a se.... oh no you didn't, my mistake. Enjoy another year in oblivion.
excoriate
I wouldn't be gambling against a team who were top of the league for most of the season, in favour of a side who are flirting with administration.

Anyone who is, good luck wi your double giro!
StirlingScott
Match video is now available at
The Stirling Albion Official Website
Juan Sara
QUOTE (StirlingScott @ Apr 13 2008, 17:56) *
Match video is now available at
The Stirling Albion Official Website

cheers that was quick!