Full Version: Raith Rovers 1 - 0 Airdrie Utd
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Enigma
A much needed win! Could not make the game today, but delighted at the 3 points! So how did we play!?
staggy4life
Well done Raith! biggrin.gif
Scary Bear
We needed that. Great result and most of the other results went for us, although we could have done with Alloa drawing with Peterhead.
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 17:04) *
We needed that. Great result and most of the other results went for us, although we could have done with Alloa drawing with Peterhead.

Bizzare post to say the least. If we take away the Alloa/Peterhead result (which you admit a draw would have suited you). You are left with three other games. Granted, Queens Park beating Brechin "went for you" but how can you possibly say that Berwick beating Cowdenbeath or Ross County winning at Ayr benefits you in any way? Please explain as I am baffled by your "logic".
Scary Bear
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 17:24) *
Bizzare post to say the least. If we take away the Alloa/Peterhead result (which you admit a draw would have suited you). You are left with three other games. Granted, Queens Park beating Brechin "went for you" but how can you possibly say that Berwick beating Cowdenbeath or Ross County winning at Ayr benefits you in any way? Please explain as I am baffled by your "logic".

There were two other games which mattered to us. Brechin lost. Peterhead lost. Not really that difficult to comprehend.

If Alloa and Peterhead had drawn, it would have been better. One of them losing was still ok.

There were only four games in this division. Two of them mattered to us.

You've a wee bit to go before you're Paxman.
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 17:29) *
There were two other games which mattered to us. Brechin lost. Peterhead lost. Not really that difficult to comprehend.

If Alloa and Peterhead had drawn, it would have been better. One of them losing was still ok.

There were only four other games in this division.

You've a wee bit to go before you're Paxman.

So how is that "most" of the other results then? Arithmetic not one of your strong points?
Scary Bear
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 17:34) *
So how is that "most" of the other results then? Arithmetic not one of your strong points?

50% of the other results then. Pardon me if my use of English on a football forum offends you. Anyway get it up you. 1-0 to the good guys.
Michael W
A great 3 points for us today, and also I good game of football I thought. I actually enjoyed the game for the first time in a while. We clung on at the end, and Fahey had a fantastic save right at the death, but I thought we were well worth the win today. A good performance from the lads.

We played really well today. Fahey dealt with everything very well, and produced a fantastic stop right at the end to save the three points. I thought the defence looked better today, more stable and more confident than it has been in recent weeks. The midfield was also good, I thought Sloan was fantastic today, and deserved his MOM. Sloan put in a few excellent challenges today, I hope he's found his form again and has a good run in the team.

Also very good to see Borris getting a start today. I feel he's long overdue it, and he had a good game today. Tempeleton was OK, he had good moments, but he needs to stop running into players, and his movement off the ball can be poor. On a side note, he appeared to shit out of challenges with Lovering, who was on a yellow card.

Upfront, I think Goody had a great game. He always looked threatning when going forward. Hislop was poor in front of goal. He really should have scored that header, and he wasted another good chance later on. I still think that if he gets a goal, he will become more confident, and hopefully have a wee scoring run. I honestly believe we could/should have scored 3 or 4 today.

In the first half, I thought we were quite lucky not to concede a penalty when Davo held the boy back. In honest truth, I probably would have gave it. We survived the "handball" claim to, but I don't think that was anywhere near as strong a claim as the first. The referee was crap as usual, but I'm not going to complain, as I think Airdrie should have had a penalty.

A good three points today. I hope McGlynn sticks with the 4-4-2 next week, and hopefully we can take something from Ross County.

smile.gif
rw89
Good result. Brilliant save from Fahey at the end and a good finish by Goodwillie. Decent performance though Russell was suspended. Airdrie probably have the most moany players in the division outwith Hislop and Davo. Seemed to spend half the time complaining. Referee was a bit dire but what changes. Very happy overall!
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 17:36) *
50% of the other results then. Pardon me if my use of English on a football forum offends you. Anyway get it up you. 1-0 to the good guys.

I see that 50% includes the Alloa Peterhead result, which, as you have already admitted, didn't really suit you. Just stick with the abuse, you're better at that.
Dunc
Rovers deserved the points today, no doubt about that.

Really should've scored four, Hislop should've buried that header, Goodwillie really should've scored another when he had an open goal, and Davidson snatched at the volley that he put over.

Good to see Fahey winding up the Airdrie fans. An excellent save at the end, and decent stops throughout the game.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 17:40) *
I see that 50% includes the Alloa Peterhead result, which, as you have already admitted, didn't really suit you. Just stick with the abuse, you're better at that.

Alloa beating Peterhead suited us just fine.

Let's include our result against Airdrie. There. Now three of the five results in this ten team division helped us out in some shape or form. That's 60%. Happy?

Right, I'll go and make a celebratory cup of tea.
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 17:46) *
Alloa beating Peterhead suited us just fine.

Let's include our result against Airdrie. There. Now three of the five results in this ten team division helped us out in some shape or form. That's 60%. Happy?

Right, I'll go and make a celebratory cup of tea.

Firstly, it was YOU who stated that a draw at the Alloa/Peterhead game would have suited you better.

Secondly, your use of the word "other" normally would suggest that you would discount the result of your own match.

Have you thought of taking up a post as a New Labour spin-doctor?
Martin Nelson
Good win for us today. I thought we played poorly in the 1st half and scored out of the blue, much like against Cowdenbeath in our last home game. We were better for most of the 2nd half though and missed 2 or 3 sitters before Airdrie penned us in for the last 5 minutes. Hislop did well at the back again. Maybe he should consider a positional change, because he certainly aint a finisher.
I was disappointed by McGlynn changing the goalkeeper yet again though. Not good management.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 17:55) *
Firstly, it was YOU who stated that a draw at the Alloa/Peterhead game would have suited you better.

Secondly, your use of the word "other" normally would suggest that you would discount the result of your own match.

You win, I apologise profusely for my poorly considered comments.

Anyway, what did you think of the result at Starks Park?
Steven

Yet people claim Raith fans are poor losers laugh.gif laugh.gif
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 18:02) *
You win, I apologise profusely for my poorly considered comments.

Anyway, what did you think of the result at Starks Park?

Thank you. Was disappointed by the result, but expected as much, hence why I didn't bother travelling through.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 18:10) *
Thank you. Was disappointed by the result, but expected as much, hence why I didn't bother travelling through.

Are you confident that Airdrie will get promoted via the play-offs?
No8.
Peterhead lost, Brechin lost and Airdrie lost so 3 results went in Raiths favour and the other 2 were insignificant .... I would say that was the majority. Have you not got a Klan meeting to attend?
R.R.FC
first game since the berwick game, good win. What was with the huddle have they been doing that the last few weeks or was today the first time?
Michael W
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Mar 15 2008, 17:56) *
I was disappointed by McGlynn changing the goalkeeper yet again though. Not good management.

Brown is injured and will be out for 8 weeks sad.gif The guy at the ticket office told me.
P.C
good result good and for quite i well i good performance as well, had to laugh at hissy and robertson in the first half chasing for the ball and after it going out of play hissy getting a piggy back laugh.gif thought that settled our nerves a little

we passed the ball well, but too often again wanted to hoof it up the park huh.gif

btw how the hell did sloan get mom????? he has been crap for months, it should have gone to Davidson, Fahey or Pelosi
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 18:14) *
Are you confident that Airdrie will get promoted via the play-offs?

Not really, as there is no depth in our squad and we have a powder puff midfield. Oh for the days of the "Beastie Boys".
Andy.C
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 17:24) *
Bitterness.........

QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 17:34) *
More bitterness..........

Fuck sake, even more bitterness.

The best team on the day won and I thought John McGlynn got it spot on today. Davo was fantastic and Goodwillie took his goal very well.
Raith nipped at Airdrie's heels all day and it payed off with Airdrie (One of the better footballing sides in my opinion) making mistakes all over the pitch. We were picking up almost everything in the midfield for most of the game too which was very pleasing to see.

3 points were vital today with our hard trip away to Ross County next week. Another 3 points up there would see us hopefully heading into the playoffs with a good bit of momentum behind us.

Well done Raith. thumbup2.gif
Scary Bear
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 18:17) *
Not really, as there is no depth in our squad and we have a powder puff midfield. Oh for the days of the "Beastie Boys".

If we meet in the play-offs it should be a pretty even match, injuries aside.

The main problem for us is the current Rovers team have a penchant for bottling the really big games, so Airdrie should feel pretty confident.
Michael W
QUOTE (P.C @ Mar 15 2008, 18:17) *
btw how the hell did sloan get mom????? he has been crap for months, it should have gone to Davidson, Fahey or Pelosi

Sloan had a great game today IMO and deserved his MOM. He had some good passes, but I thought his challenges in particular were awesome today. I had never thought of him as being good at challenging.

Pelosi - Poor first half, especially with his passing, which I guess counted him out the running.

Davo - Done well, but nothing particuarly outstanding.

Fahey - Points saving save at the end, but that was after the MOM was announced. Before that, he hadn't done anything outstanding either.
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 18:22) *
If we meet in the play-offs it should be a pretty even match, injuries aside.

The main problem for us is the current Rovers team have a penchant for bottling the really big games, so Airdrie should feel pretty confident.

Agreed, but it's the team coming down from Div 1 that worries me. I honestly can't see us beating a Morton or a Clyde over two games.
MonTheRovers!!
Excellent win! They offered absolutely nothing and bar that mental last 5 mins, can't even remember if they had a shot on goal to note. Surprised just how bad they were actually - attrocious. Just shows you how much of a one man team they are.

Borris was excellent, as was Davo. I loved Fahey winding their lot up. Hook, line........

Mon The Rovers!!
renton
Good result today, performance was much more like what I'd expect from the Rovers, seemed low on confidence to start with, however, this grew as the game progressed, I'd agree that Sloan deserved his MoM, he totally got stuck in everywhere for a full 90 minutes, same with Goodwillie - he showed effort and passion which is a damn sight more than he has in many a week. We could have buried that game at several points, however, the Airdrie forwards found Fahey in outstanding form today biggrin.gif

That huddle and the subsequent performance showed the signs of a team that has been dragged up and down the grater by McG all week, got the right performance out of his team.

lzreid
Well I just saw Airdrie for the 3rd time and I saw our 3rd win.

First half was probably even possesion wise but we looked far more threatening. Airdrie knocked the ball sbout well in midfield but looked like they had nothing up front. Goodwillie took his goal well. Was unhappy with Airdries classic Kenny Black tactics, kick everyone and then hit the ground as soon as someone brushes past you. How it was Goodwillie that got booked for diving - after a stone cold foul - I'll never know.

2nd half was more of the same, we should have scored but we never, Airdrie looked decent in midfield and shite up front. They continued to dive around the box and other than one shot at the death never looked like scoring.

Deserved 3 points.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Mar 15 2008, 18:24) *
Agreed, but it's the team coming down from Div 1 that worries me. I honestly can't see us beating a Morton or a Clyde over two games.

To be honest, neither can I. Looking at what's happened to Morton and Stirling, I wouldn't fancy our chances. They were, and probably still are, better sides than us. Both of them have been found wanting in the 1st Division.

Then again, as Jimmy Greaves used to say 'it's a funny old game Saint'. I didn't think Barnsley would beat Chelsea.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (lzreid @ Mar 15 2008, 18:34) *
Well I just saw Airdrie for the 3rd time and I saw our 3rd win.

First half was probably even possesion wise but we looked far more threatening. Airdrie knocked the ball sbout well in midfield but looked like they had nothing up front. Goodwillie took his goal well. Was unhappy with Airdries classic Kenny Black tactics, kick everyone and then hit the ground as soon as someone brushes past you. How it was Goodwillie that got booked for diving - after a stone cold foul - I'll never know.

2nd half was more of the same, we should have scored but we never, Airdrie looked decent in midfield and shite up front. They continued to dive around the box and other than one shot at the death never looked like scoring.

Deserved 3 points.

Never a truer word spoken.
P.C
QUOTE (renton @ Mar 15 2008, 18:30) *
Good result today, performance was much more like what I'd expect from the Rovers, seemed low on confidence to start with, however, this grew as the game progressed, I'd agree that Sloan deserved his MoM, he totally got stuck in everywhere for a full 90 minutes, same with Goodwillie - he showed effort and passion which is a damn sight more than he has in many a week. We could have buried that game at several points, however, the Airdrie forwards found Fahey in outstanding form today biggrin.gif

That huddle and the subsequent performance showed the signs of a team that has been dragged up and down the grater by McG all week, got the right performance out of his team.

see your injury hasnt affected your typing wink.gif
Bri RCFC
I almost hope we win the league at Airdrie! what a numpty

Cmon Rovers wink.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Huge improvement - how we could and should have been playing all season. Until the last frantic few minutes Airdrie didnt look like scoring and they should have been buried by that time. How did we miss so many easy chances? When the team was read out I felt confident and we had the edge throughout the game. Well done McGlynn.

I thought Airdrie looked a better passing team today than the three other times we've played, but lacked bite. I still think we'll meet them in the play-offs and I'll still take us to beat them over the two legs.

PS - I think ourselves and Airdrie, while not being favourites would have a good chance against Clyde or Morton - as would Brechin I might add.
Michael W
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Mar 15 2008, 19:34) *
I thought Airdrie looked a better passing team today than the three other times we've played, but lacked bite. I still think we'll meet them in the play-offs and I'll still take us to beat them over the two legs.

PS - I think ourselves and Airdrie, while not being favourites would have a good chance against Clyde or Morton - as would Brechin I might add.

We certainly have the psychological advantage over Airdrie, having beaten them 3 times this season. If we can consolidate our play-off place, I may fancy our chances, it all just depends on how we handle the pressure.

As for the team from division 1, I would fancy our chances against Clyde (If we have left our poor form behind), but I'm unsure about Morton tbh. I would much rather face Clyde.
Paco
QUOTE (P.C @ Mar 15 2008, 18:17) *
btw how the hell did sloan get mom????? he has been crap for months

You're quite right. Players who haven't played well in a while shoudn't be considered for a MOM award blink.gif

I really enjoyed the game today, and it was certainly a well deserved three points. Interesting to note that even with a centre forward and a central midfielder in defence they still rarely threatened, before Fahey's excellent save at the death. Davidson and Hislop were really good together at the back, but seriously, what are the chances of having all four centre half's injured? rolleyes.gif

We should have had the game wrapped up long before the nervy last few moments, but can't complain.With any luck, that will see the end of our bad patch and we can now go on and secure the play-off position. I've not enjoyed a match like that in a while. Hope to see more soon smile.gif

Edit- Paul Lovering is an absolute arsehole, although I enjoyed shouting at him! Seriously, is there a moanier player on earth? I thought Hislop and Davidson were bad...
P.C
QUOTE (Paco @ Mar 15 2008, 19:40) *
You're quite right. Players who haven't played well in a while shoudn't be considered for a MOM award blink.gif

i was including todays performance in that
Scary Bear

I really enjoyed the game today, and it was certainly a well deserved three points. Interesting to note that even with a centre forward and a central midfielder in defence they still rarely threatened, before Fahey's excellent save at the death. Davidson and Hislop were really good together at the back, but seriously, what are the chances of having all four centre half's injured? rolleyes.gif

We should have had the game wrapped up long before the nervy last few moments, but can't complain.With any luck, that will see the end of our bad patch and we can now go on and secure the play-off position. I've not enjoyed a match like that in a while. Hope to see more soon smile.gif

Edit- Paul Lovering is an absolute arsehole, although I enjoyed shouting at him! Seriously, is there a moanier player on earth? I thought Hislop and Davidson were bad...

I think that Davidson is better at centre half. He played there a few times during Dalziel's reign and never looked out of place. He's less of a headless chicken when he plays in defence and I hope he will eventually make that his permanent position.

We always seem nervy late on, which is why I don't hold much hope of us qualifying via the play-offs. Nervy teams tend to bottle big games.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops

He's been a cheating feigning basturt nearly everytime I've seen him.
Paco
QUOTE (P.C @ Mar 15 2008, 19:46) *
i was including todays performance in that

I thought he played well. Goodwillie would have been his major contender, with Davidson in third (if we're picking a top three). A lot of fans give Sloan a hard time as they see him as lazy, but that's something you certainly could not have said about him today. He got stuck in, and still picked out the passes when he neded to.

Scary Bear, I know Davdson can fill in there, but I personally still see him as a midfielder. He does have a bit of a tendency to wander while back in defence, and sometimes gets caught ball watching. No compaints about him though, he's not exactly my favourite player, but he's turned in a few good performances lately.
Ron Burgundy
weak.
P.C
QUOTE (Paco @ Mar 15 2008, 19:51) *
I thought he played well. Goodwillie would have been his major contender, with Davidson in third (if we're picking a top three). A lot of fans give Sloan a hard time as they see him as lazy, but that's something you certainly could not have said about him today. He got stuck in, and still picked out the passes when he neded to.

Scary Bear, I know Davdson can fill in there, but I personally still see him as a midfielder. He does have a bit of a tendency to wander while back in defence, and sometimes gets caught ball watching. No compaints about him though, he's not exactly my favourite player, but he's turned in a few good performances lately.

have to say when i first saw Davo play a few years ago as centre half i thought he was shite but he has really impressed me in defense and im one of his biggest critics
Michael W
QUOTE (P.C @ Mar 15 2008, 19:56) *
have to say when i first saw Davo play a few years ago as centre half i thought he was shite but he has really impressed me in defense and im one of his biggest critics

I wasn't a fan of him either. Last season, I saw him as a huge liability, and I questioned what he offered the team. This season, he has turned in some cracking performances, so my opinion is changing.

As to where his best position is, well, that's a long debate. He can be very effective in midfield, yet he can also be very effective at centre-half. I personally, don't know where I prefer him playing. However, If Davo playing at centre-half meant Winter would have to play in the middle, I would say midfield dry.gif
P.C
QUOTE (Michael W @ Mar 15 2008, 20:01) *
I wasn't a fan of him either. Last season, I saw him as a huge liability, and I questioned what he offered the team. This season, he has turned in some cracking performances, so my opinion is changing.

As to where his best position is, well, that's a long debate. He can be very effective in midfield, yet he can also be very effective at centre-half. I personally, don't know where I prefer him playing. However, If Davo playing at centre-half meant Winter would have to play in the middle, I would say midfield dry.gif

from what i have seen this season i think defence is the way forward for him and have heard thats the position he has been ear maked for next season. Winter hopefully will get punted at the end of the season and hopefully keep a hold of Niall and can build from there
jack_bauer
Everything that needs to be said about the game has already been said, thouroughly deserved 3 points, I was optimistic before the game but would you lot listen? dry.gif tongue.gif

Nice touch doing the huddle at the start, shows a real togetherness in the side and gets the crowd going. Don't think there was any bad performances today and everyone worked for each other, we looked very dangerous going forward but we just couldn't get the second goal.

As for the crowd, well done there was hardly any abuse or booing (except from when it was being aimed at the ref wink.gif ) but 1400 is pretty poor considering it was 2nd versus 3rd and at least 200 of that was Airdrie fans I would say

Click to view attachment

BRING ON THE COUNTY! biggrin.gif
CALDERON
Nae at all pretty, but a massive win.

Thought we were well worth the 3 points and had chances to make it more.

As for Airdrie - oh dear. They were brutal. Cant beleive they are above us!

Massive improvement in effort and commitment. Hats off to Fahey as well, good distribution out wide! ! !

Davo was solid as a rock as per. Dunno about Sloan being MOTM to be honest, I thought Goodwillie had a fairly solid game IMO.

5 golden chances in the 2nd half tho - Hissys header, Hissy forgetting how to kick the ball, Goodwillies miss, Davo's miss and Weir forcing a shot from their keeper. Airdrie had a sclaffed shot in the first half and that chance at the end- that was it. They were rotten.

Was also funny to see Hissy getting a piggy back from their goalie laugh.gif
Scary Bear
QUOTE (P.C @ Mar 15 2008, 19:56) *

I remember a game against QoS which we lost 1-0.

http://www.raithroversfc.com/cgi-bin/matchdetails.cgi?id=587

He cost us a goal, but up until that moment he had played really well. That's the only glaring mistake I can remember him making while playing in defence.

When he plays midfield he always looks like a yellow/red card waiting to happen.

Does anyone know what position he played before he played for the Rovers?
P.C
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Mar 15 2008, 20:24) *
I remember a game against QoS which we lost 1-0.

http://www.raithroversfc.com/cgi-bin/matchdetails.cgi?id=587

He cost us a goal, but up until that moment he had played really well. That's the only glaring mistake I can remember him making while playing in defence.

When he plays midfield he always looks like a yellow/red card waiting to happen.

Does anyone know what position he played before he played for the Rovers?

couldnt agree more, some of the guys were saying today when he was at sunderland he was a striker? huh.gif
Scary Bear
QUOTE (P.C @ Mar 15 2008, 20:27) *
couldnt agree more, some of the guys were saying today when he was at sunderland he was a striker? huh.gif

Striker! huh.gif

I can't get the guys who slag him off. You can see there's a player in there somewhere. It's just about finding his best position.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.