highlander
Mar 9 2008, 18:59
If the SFL were to allow another HL team into senior Scottish Football, Who would it be ??
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 9 2008, 19:02
Locos, but as a league I think we've had our lot for the time being. The southern end of the country might get the nod ahead of the HFL.
Soccer Trendie
Mar 9 2008, 19:16
Don't think anyone will take the step up.
Don't see the point. We are the biggest club in the league but i think most of our fans would rather stay put.
Cove_Ranger
Mar 9 2008, 21:36
Soccer Trendie
Mar 9 2008, 21:41
thegoalie1976
Mar 9 2008, 22:03
In terms of behind the scenes , i think Vale would be favourites , with Locos just behind them
apart from those 2 i don't think any of the other HFL clubs have the set up to take the SFL forward , of course the chances are it would probably go south , politics and all that , but if it had to be a HFL team then Vale or Locos
i think the Vale youth set up is what would give them the nod as long as the could put up an enclosure
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 9 2008, 22:30
I think another team from up here might just be the straw that finally breaks the camels back. Theres only a finite pool of players in the area, and competition for them is fierce in Aberdeenshire. I don't think theres the capacity for another league club in with Peterhead, Elgin, and the four league outfits further south, not to mention the strength of the HFL in Aberdeenshire, and the Aberdeen juniors.
A team from the EoS League would surely be favourites. Spartans always seemed interested, but I'm not sure how they are ggetting on with their ground developments.
QUOTE (thegoalie1976 @ Mar 9 2008, 22:03)

In terms of behind the scenes , i think Vale would be favourites , with Locos just behind them
apart from those 2 i don't think any of the other HFL clubs have the set up to take the SFL forward , of course the chances are it would probably go south , politics and all that , but if it had to be a HFL team then Vale or Locos
i think the Vale youth set up is what would give them the nod as long as the could put up an enclosure
I don't think Vale would apply, to be honest. Quite happy being a big fish in a small pond.
Edit: You're right, though. Being a Quality Mark club would definitely give them an advantage.
highlandcowden
Mar 10 2008, 09:30
are nairn included in the survey as a joke?fridge can barely handle mid table mediocrity in the HFL.
RayBees
Mar 10 2008, 09:52
I pipped for Buckie as i'm hearing a lot about their alledgedly large support but, like others, i don't believe it will be an HL team this time.
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 10 2008, 13:00
I can't see any reason for any club to step up at the moment.
RayBees
Mar 10 2008, 17:34
QUOTE (highlandcowden @ Mar 10 2008, 09:30)

are nairn included in the survey as a joke?fridge can barely handle mid table mediocrity in the HFL.
Good point. Highlighted by the fact that he picks marshmallow men to star in his midfield.
HibeeJibee
Mar 10 2008, 20:02
I think Annan, Spartans, Preston, Gala + Edinburgh City (maybe Whitehill...) will apply from EOS.
Buckie Arab
Mar 11 2008, 10:32
Having seen hElgin City flop so spectacularly since they "moved up" i could see no benefit for Buckie or any ither HFL team moving to the Scottish league.
An appearance in the League and Challenge cup disna do it for me and league trips tae Berwick, Brechin Alloa etc well yi can keep them.
We had 1200 at our derby v Deveronvale 3 weeks so we wid certainly not be better off crowd wise. I am sure if yi ask the officials and fans o hElgin City if theyd known how it would have turned for them i doubt theyd have left the Highland league.
The grass is certainly not greener on the ither side .I wid think if Gretna go itl be a south team that comes in maybe Spartans
QUOTE (Buckie Arab @ Mar 11 2008, 10:32)

<br />Having seen hElgin City flop so spectacularly since they "moved up" i could see no benefit for Buckie or any ither HFL team moving to the Scottish league.<br />An appearance in the League and Challenge cup disna do it for me and league trips tae Berwick, Brechin Alloa etc well yi can keep them.<br />We had 1200 at our derby v Deveronvale 3 weeks so we wid certainly not be better off crowd wise. I am sure if yi ask the officials and fans o hElgin City if theyd known how it would have turned for them i doubt theyd have left the Highland league.<br />The grass is certainly not greener on the ither side .I wid think if Gretna go itl be a south team that comes in maybe Spartans<br />
<br /><br /><br />
Spartans a SOUTH team? They're from Edinburgh and play in the East of Scotland league.
Suppose it is south for you.
Anyway, their park is nowhere near a decent standard. Spartans have a good team but a poor club structure.
HibeeJibee
Mar 11 2008, 16:06
Spartans are soon moving into a new arena with 500 seats, 3000 standing, lights, + training pitch.
Anyway, their park is nowhere near a decent standard. Spartans have a good team but a poor club structure.
[/quote]
We have a 1sts, 2nd , 3rd and 19s squads, a youth set up all the way down, the admin of which is currently being revamped.
From next season we will have a senior ladies team which will only help with the further development of the girls section.
To add to facilities described by HJ, we will also have club rooms which will accommodate up to 100 people.
Granted we currently don't have a pie oven which I regard as big omission and which it is my personal mission to put right for next season.
So what are we missing or are you just widening your fishing trip?
Even if you are, I wouldn't regards this as a bite. I am very proud of what my club is doing and happy to spout off at any opportunity.
PS are Threave interested in the idea of amalgamation of EoS and the SOS (Apologies to the HL posters for dragging that last bit onto your board)
Anyone but Inverurie w**kstains.
Buckie Arab
Mar 12 2008, 13:48
QUOTE (drs @ Mar 12 2008, 13:10)

drs unfortunatle for you i think they might. They are an ambitious team and have a good support and wid probably be well backed by sponsors etc.
They have a bit of a reputation up here of being a bit arrogant but as yet no Highland league titles to back that up.
It sounds like you dinna get on very well wi the Locos so do you come fae huntly by any chance
Bollock Gristle
Mar 12 2008, 15:13
An amalgamated Caithness & Sutherland team based in Thurso.
With automatic entry now for the Highland League clubs in the Scottish Cup will the bigger clubs want to join the SFL? Some will be just as happy where they are. Deveronvale have a great setup though.
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 12 2008, 18:18

You want to join the Lossie FC forum with that kind of attitude.
Waspie
Mar 12 2008, 20:50
What Spartans dont have is a support, thats all thats holding them back. Maybe with the new stadium they will be able to pull in better crowds and become more of a community club. I wouldnt mind seeing another HL club in but to be honest a border club would in an ideal world maybe be the best option...IF there was a strong enough candidate and at the moment that doesnt seem to be the case.
QUOTE (Waspie @ Mar 12 2008, 20:50)

What Spartans dont have is a support, thats all thats holding them back. Maybe with the new stadium they will be able to pull in better crowds and become more of a community club. I wouldnt mind seeing another HL club in but to be honest a border club would in an ideal world maybe be the best option...IF there was a strong enough candidate and at the moment that doesnt seem to be the case.
Waspie, you are right re the support but CP is a bit of a (romatic) shithole these days.
The new ground will be very much community focussed but we are not going to fill the ground ovenight.
Waspie
Mar 12 2008, 23:41
QUOTE (WJR @ Mar 12 2008, 22:17)

Waspie, you are right re the support but CP is a bit of a (romatic) shithole these days.
The new ground will be very much community focussed but we are not going to fill the ground ovenight.
It seems to me that there is still an element of the uni old boys side rather than local football club to Spartans, they didnt appear to ever have much local support at City Park?? Maybe they can now put down some real roots with the new ground.
Agree that CP is a dump but I always liked the place (with the exception of one cup tie

). A great natural arena and the old stand was a bit of history in itself. Shame it was bulldozed.
QUOTE (Waspie @ Mar 12 2008, 23:41)

It seems to me that there is still an element of the uni old boys side rather than local football club to Spartans, they didnt appear to ever have much local support at City Park?? Maybe they can now put down some real roots with the new ground.
Agree that CP is a dump but I always liked the place (with the exception of one cup tie

). A great natural arena and the old stand was a bit of history in itself. Shame it was bulldozed.
We are not likely to create the "natural amphitheatre" ambience at the new ground - the planners are worried about us having 7' plus supporters who can look in to neighbours' gardens so may not let us have grass banks behind the goals. We have loads of 7' supporters of course and most of them are only seven years old.
As for players, we have as many many jiners these days as students - but try and get one of the jiners to do a job in your house on a Saturday.
We'll work hard though
Graeme M
Mar 14 2008, 19:31

Just because you know we will come and put you wannabe Weedgies to shame in no time at all, but maybe next time it wont take you 90 minutes (60 of which against 10 men) to score
Nice ground, shit fans
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 14 2008, 19:43
QUOTE (Graeme M @ Mar 14 2008, 19:31)

Just because you know we will come and put you wannabe Weedgies to shame in no time at all, but maybe next time it wont take you 90 minutes (60 of which against 10 men) to score
You can't even beat Wick these days.
Graeme M
Mar 15 2008, 18:22
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Mar 14 2008, 19:43)

I know, but I console myself with the fact that we consistently give Lossie a humping
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 16 2008, 13:14
QUOTE (Graeme M @ Mar 15 2008, 18:22)

I know, but I console myself with the fact that we consistently give Lossie a humping
So do Rothes. Another team you can't beat often enough.
Bollock Gristle
Mar 16 2008, 19:28
It would be great if Cove were somehow punted out of the Highland League as they have no place in it.
Vintex
Mar 16 2008, 19:31
I gotta say, think its gonna be Keith.
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 16 2008, 19:58
QUOTE (Bollock Gristle @ Mar 16 2008, 19:28)

It would be great if Cove were somehow punted out of the Highland League as they have no place in it.
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah shut up.

They do have a place in it.
Jimmy Shaker
Mar 16 2008, 20:02
QUOTE (Vintex @ Mar 16 2008, 19:31)

I gotta say, think its gonna be Keith.

QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Mar 14 2008, 19:43)

In a Rob Maclean voice:
"BBBBBLUNDER by JARVIE"
Puffin
Mar 16 2008, 23:06
I voted for Fraserburgh, for no particular reason other than I thought nobody else would. Seems I was right!
EdTheDuck
Apr 1 2008, 15:48
...inverurie w**kstains? sounds like some wee stirling loonie got his lug skelped when we went doon there for the scottish a couple years ago...
Jimmy Shaker
Apr 1 2008, 16:21
Hedgecutter
Apr 2 2008, 18:39
QUOTE (Bollock Gristle @ Mar 12 2008, 16:13)

An amalgamated Caithness & Sutherland team based in Thurso.
By that I take it you mean merge Brora & Wick Academy... perhaps Golspie, or maybe just a North West Sutherland League select at a push? Think folk from Dornoch, Helmsdale etc are gonna travel up the A9 to watch a Far North super select???
SandyCromarty
Apr 4 2008, 18:22
It has to be Cove given that Dandies would use them as a feeder so money guaranteed.
highlander
Apr 6 2008, 17:30
you wouldn't of thought in Ross County's 500th league game they win the second Division and get promoted for the second time to the first Division.
I recommend getting out the HL.
Jimmy Shaker
Apr 6 2008, 18:07
QUOTE (highlander @ Apr 6 2008, 18:30)

I recommend getting out the HL.
I don't believe the SFL life for Ross Co has been entirely plain sailing, has it?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.