Full Version: Willie Mclaren Is Back
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
A Broggie for me
After going AWOL during the festive period Willie McLaren has reported for training at McD this week.

Seemingly has been fined 'substantially' and warned of his future conduct!

Watch this space.......
Trevor the tractor
Nice to see him back, What a waste of talent
sconesjfc
Get him to f#ck, he is the worst player i have seen at Mcd for a while. If we continue to play 433 there surely is no room for him here anymore thumbdown.gif
SJFC1988
money grabbing basturde:(
The Arch
Is Willie McLaren "Savothegreat"? They seemed to return at the same time
sconesjfc
QUOTE (The Arch @ Jan 23 2008, 22:45) *

hhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Parscelona

laugh.gif...Bravo, Take a bow son! wink.gif
Exuberant

McLarenthegreat! come out come out wherever you are!
Ron Burgundy
how much did you lot donate to us for him? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
QUOTE (Ron Burgundy @ Jan 23 2008, 23:03) *
how much did you lot donate to us for him? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Speaking to Mr Sandy Stewart a couple of days after the transaction took place I can confirm it was enough to pay the few remaining Airdrie Utd players' wages for a couple of months... cool.gif

Do you want him back? huh.gif wink.gif
Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (1884 @ Jan 23 2008, 23:10) *
Speaking to Mr Sandy Stewart a couple of days after the transaction took place I can confirm it was enough to pay the few remaining Airdrie Utd players' wages for a couple of months... cool.gif

Do you want him back? huh.gif wink.gif

no.
supersaint44
Can I ask Any Airdrie fans or any one for that fact why was he so highly valued i didnt think he was that good at Airdrie??? I hear it was 75k we spent on him and i dont think there are many who deserve that value! no wonder Mr. Brown doesnt enjoy goin into his pocket for player any more after buying micheal moore and mclaren its the free bees that seen to to the business and that seems the many way we are gonna get players in the near future! sad.gif
Fife Saint
If he has been AWOL since before Xmas (in a training sense, he has been AWOL in a playing sense since he arrived) i as a paying consumer demand that he is given his jotters on the grounds of gross embarassment.
SaintSam
Link?

I had no idea he'd even gone AWOL.

Unless I've been wooshed.
Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (supersaint44 @ Jan 23 2008, 23:41) *
Can I ask Any Airdrie fans or any one for that fact why was he so highly valued i didnt think he was that good at Airdrie??? I hear it was 75k we spent on him and i dont think there areenjoy goin into his pocket for player any more aft many who deserve that value! no wonder Mr. Brown doesnt er buying micheal moore and mclaren its the free bees that seen to to the business and that seems the many way we are gonna get players in the near future! sad.gif

Owen Coyle obviously thought he could take Easterhouse out of the man, it always seemed to me he thought of him as his wee brother.........you lot got bumped but Copyle did win a cup for you so was it worth it?
A Broggie for me
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jan 24 2008, 10:19) *
Link?

No link, no official word - not the sort of thing they want to be made public. dry.gif
Ron Burgundy
Offical Club Statement in Pictures

Wee Willie +

Click to view attachmentClick to view attachment

= bad times

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Shaggy Jenkins
Hopefully he will bo told to get ta. He really is no very good, not that he lacks in tallent mind you just doesent want to apply himself.

He is constantly injured because of his teeth!!?? Must be the worst excuse for being injured ever mind you. He does have druggy teeth
Super_J
Link?

No whoosh, he literally had'nt turned up for trainig since before Christmas and had'nt told anyone where he was, they phoned his mum and everything! I don't think he should be allowed to play for the club again but mayb thats just coz he's shite!
Radford

Yes you did because I told you he was away! rolleyes.gif

There's no doubt OC thought he could mentor McLaren and get the best out of him and I do think we saw glimpses of it this season and last (4-3 vs Airdrie, 2-1 vs Gretna, 2-1 vs Motherwell, 3-0 vs Queens, 4-1 vs Accies, 2-0 vs Livi) but with the price tag around his neck, he was always going to need to do more.

He's not the only player that's been told he's free to leave but the others haven't reacted in the same manner as McLaren.

Someone will take a chance on him and maybe with the right manager he could still make a success of things. That isn't a criticism of McInnes as manager's shouldn't need to be able to deal with guys like McLaren.
SavotheGreat
Is Willie McLaren "Savothegreat"?

He wishes.

palmy_cammy
QUOTE (Radford @ Jan 24 2008, 12:07) *

There's no doubt OC thought he could mentor McLaren and get the best out of him and I do think we saw glimpses of it this season and last (4-3 vs Airdrie, 2-1 vs Gretna, 2-1 vs Motherwell, 3-0 vs Queens, 4-1 vs Accies, 2-0 vs Livi) but with the price tag around his neck, he was always going to need to do more.

He's not the only player that's been told he's free to leave but the others haven't reacted in the same manner as McLaren.

Someone will take a chance on him and maybe with the right manager he could still make a success of things. That isn't a criticism of McInnes as manager's shouldn't need to be able to deal with guys like McLaren.

As a fan of a team desperately lacking a left midfielder, I would be more than happy to give the lad a chance at Queens.

Willie Gibson was very inconsistent and was also known to be temperamental from time-to-time (granted he never went AWOL) and he hasn't been replaced since leaving a year ago. I think consistent 'wingers' are hard to come by at this level, but if he can create goals on a fairly regular basis he would justify inclusion in any team in the league bar St Johnstone where there has obviously been some sort of fall-out.
Dev Alahan

Who are the others?
hazel1884
QUOTE (Dev Alahan @ Jan 24 2008, 15:01) *
Who are the others?

Would imagine there will be no surprises and will be a few fringe players.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (palmy_cammy @ Jan 24 2008, 14:48) *
As a fan of a team desperately lacking a left midfielder, I would be more than happy to give the lad a chance at Queens.

Willie Gibson was very inconsistent and was also known to be temperamental from time-to-time (granted he never went AWOL) and he hasn't been replaced since leaving a year ago. I think consistent 'wingers' are hard to come by at this level, but if he can create goals on a fairly regular basis he would justify inclusion in any team in the league bar St Johnstone where there has obviously been some sort of fall-out.

If you took him on you would need a better motivator than Coyle (not many kicking about IMO) in charge. The guy just looks like he wants to be somewhere else a lot of the time.

Might be worth if he knows its last chance saloon.
SaintSam

If you did, I have no recollection of it!
Fife Saint
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jan 24 2008, 20:15) *
If you did, I have no recollection of it!

The rohypnol kid strikes again!
Diamonds are Forever
QUOTE (supersaint44 @ Jan 23 2008, 23:41) *
Can I ask Any Airdrie fans or any one for that fact why was he so highly valued i didnt think he was that good at Airdrie??? I hear it was 75k we spent on him and i dont think there are many who deserve that value! no wonder Mr. Brown doesnt enjoy goin into his pocket for player any more after buying micheal moore and mclaren its the free bees that seen to to the business and that seems the many way we are gonna get players in the near future! sad.gif

The stupid thing was that Coyle seemed to be the only guy who valued him at that price. Most Airdrie fans couldn't believe their luck when you bought him off us. Although having said that he did score 11 goals from midfield in his last full season with us, and while Bryan Prunty took a lot of the credit for being the divisions joint top scorer, McLaren was responsible for a lot of his goals too. So he was an important part of the team, but he still wasn't the most popular, mainly because he looked disinterested a lot of the time and also because very big things were expected of him after his first season with us, and he never came close to getting near those expectations. To put it in some perspective, in our 2nd Division winning season, McLaren only played half the season and won player of the year, that team included Alan Gow and McLaren looked a far better player than Gow at that time. McLaren now looks like his career at St Johnstone is over, while Gow is playing (or not playing I suppose laugh.gif ) with Rangers. McLaren is a ned, Gow is a really focused guy. Ever needed proof of how commitment and dedication are important in football then you have it right there. A really sad waste of talent.
Baiggers
QUOTE (Diamonds are Forever @ Jan 24 2008, 23:51) *
The stupid thing was that Coyle seemed to be the only guy who valued him at that price. Most Airdrie fans couldn't believe their luck when you bought him off us. Although having said that he did score 11 goals from midfield in his last full season with us, and while Bryan Prunty took a lot of the credit for being the divisions joint top scorer, McLaren was responsible for a lot of his goals too. So he was an important part of the team, but he still wasn't the most popular, mainly because he looked disinterested a lot of the time and also because very big things were expected of him after his first season with us, and he never came close to getting near those expectations. To put it in some perspective, in our 2nd Division winning season, McLaren only played half the season and won player of the year, that team included Alan Gow and McLaren looked a far better player than Gow at that time. McLaren now looks like his career at St Johnstone is over, while Gow is playing (or not playing I suppose laugh.gif ) with Rangers. McLaren is a ned, Gow is a really focused guy. Ever needed proof of how commitment and dedication are important in football then you have it right there. A really sad waste of talent.

Spot on. Martin Hardie got a bit of stick from the fans when he first arrived as things just weren't going for him. He managed to turn it around due to his desire and commitment. Coyle kept using it as some sort of comparison saying give McLaren time and he will come good. As far as I'm concerned he lacks the effort and attitude and should be punted. We'll just have to take the loss of money from his transfer fee on the chin sad.gif
SQUIDGER
FOR SALE
MIDFIELD PLAYER
2 CAREFULL LADY OWNERS
GOOD RUNNER
FULL MOT AND SERVICE AT 2000 MILES

DELIVERY NOT AVAILABLE - COULD BE USEFULL FOR SPARE PARTS OR ORNAMENTAL VALUE

NO RETURNS

£75K NEW
SPECIAL JANUARY SALE PRICE £5 + A PACK OF TENNENTS
supersaint44
i personnally dont rate Mclaren but i think he will stay at least until the summer and i am praying that mcInnes gives him a big boot up the arse and you never no miricales may happen and he may start to give a shit but i doubt it n think he'll leave in the summer for very little if nothing!
Sergeant Wilson
£75,000! Where did that come from? Are you including his wages?
supersaint44
QUOTE (Sergeant Wilson @ Jan 25 2008, 10:56) *
£75,000! Where did that come from? Are you including his wages?

no the figure quoted was 75k for his transfer so hence why he is so hated by our fans!
SaintSam
We paid £50,000 for Willie McLaren.

I've never heard of the £75,000 figure.
supersaint44
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jan 25 2008, 13:23) *

well i heard 75k but thts only wot i got froma source so it maybe wrong but ive heard others sayin it was 75k
SaintSam
"I got from a source"

john1962
Correcting the grammar on here could be a full-time occupation. laugh.gif
SaintSam
QUOTE (john1962 @ Jan 25 2008, 15:55) *
Correcting the grammar on here could be a full-time occupation. laugh.gif

Are you volunteering? wink.gif
saint_markperth
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jan 25 2008, 14:23) *

£75k was the price i thought he came for aswell
dirty dingus
just gie us 5 g and willie mclaren and you can have millar now. would be good for the individuals concerned in my eyes and I always thought he was good at airdrie. Chris has been consistant since forcing his way back in but if the gaffer is waiting for ten grand and sj want rid o mclaren then we could let a player go who has his mind set on a new challenge and might get one with something to prove.
Shaggy Jenkins
QUOTE (dirty dingus @ Jan 28 2008, 11:55) *
just gie us 5 g and willie mclaren and you can have millar now. would be good for the individuals concerned in my eyes and I always thought he was good at airdrie. Chris has been consistant since forcing his way back in but if the gaffer is waiting for ten grand and sj want rid o mclaren then we could let a player go who has his mind set on a new challenge and might get one with something to prove.

That is not a bad idea in my book