Queensthroughandthrough
Jan 21 2008, 18:03
At Palmerston, I miss the old half-time score board that used to sit at the top of the open end. Also miss the old cushion hut that used to sit next to the hedge to the left of the main stand when you came in from the Tereggles Street end. And what about the old coo shed it's self?
I'm sure you all have parts of the ground that you fondly remember and are long gone now?
Mushroom
Jan 21 2008, 18:06
I miss having something that isn't a building site behind the open end at Broadwood.
Stu1874
Jan 21 2008, 18:07
hmmmmm ours hasnt changed much

if anything it would be the fence in the cowshed, so both home and away fans are in it instead of them being stuck in the stand
The south terracing. Its a pity our halfwited board decided to get it knocked down before we even got planning permission for a new stand. Its now a grassy knoll

You couldn't make it up!
The Phoenix
Jan 21 2008, 18:13
I miss everything about Annfield, especially the wooden Pie Hut that sold cold pies (by design).
At Forthbank nothing has changed so there is nothing to miss.
That said our team do a pretty good job of missing the goals on the majority of occasions.
capello
Jan 21 2008, 18:15
QUOTE (Stu1874 @ Jan 21 2008, 19:07)

I miss the fence in the shed,place is like a morgue now that there is no one across the way to get the singing/banter/fighting/obsenities/fireworks//launching of half eaten pies at etc going!!
One of my best memories was the time stirling were in there ,think they had already been relegated and they sang their hearts out the whole game -led by some mad man with a guitar and amp !!!
How the feck did he get that by the police?
Then there was the partick fans who always tried to have a pop !!
Bring back the fence!!!
Livi 293
Jan 21 2008, 18:16
I miss the good old days of terracing, the cowshed, manky wooden stands and such...
And then realise why I shouldn't every time I visit Cappielow...

Nah, in seriousness, there must be a pretty decent atmosphere in that place when it's full.
QUOTE (capello @ Jan 21 2008, 18:15)

Bring back the fence!!!

I have heard many legendary stories involving the seggy fence at Cappielow from my older mates.
QUOTE (Livi 293 @ Jan 21 2008, 18:16)

I miss the good old days of terracing, the cowshed, manky wooden stands and such...
And then realise why I shouldn't every time I visit Cappielow...

Nah, in seriousness, there must be a pretty decent atmosphere in that place when it's full.
Cappielow is one of my favourite grounds, as long as its not fucking raining
Livi 293
Jan 21 2008, 18:28
QUOTE (CRM @ Jan 21 2008, 18:19)

Cappielow is one of my favourite grounds, as long as its not fucking raining

Like it too.
Grant228
Jan 21 2008, 19:14
I guarantee some older pars fan will come along with "the cage" since ive started supported dunfermline nothing has changed.
AyrshireTon
Jan 21 2008, 19:18

I miss the fence in the shed,place is like a morgue now that there is no one across the way to get the singing/banter/fighting/obsenities/fireworks//launching of half eaten pies at etc going!!
The fence meant a bit of atmosphere which could reflect on the game. Memories of the Cowshed are many -
- winding up Fergie when Accies visited
- Morton fans ready to pull the fence down and wade into the Falkirk fans during the Marino Keith/Derek Collins game
- charging the fence when we scored against the skunks
- people spitting through the fence when the skunks scored
- skunks throwing ciggies through when they scored
- the girl in front of me being hit by a 2p by tight-fisted Dundee Utd fans
Garrowhillclyde
Jan 21 2008, 19:19
QUOTE (CRM @ Jan 21 2008, 18:18)

I have heard many legendary stories involving the seggy fence at Cappielow from my older mates.

The one at Firhill was better, as it was only about7ft or so high and therefore unlike Cappielow, Douglas Park, Brockeville, etc it didnt stretch right up to the roof, meaning you could hurl all sorts of stuff over it (Soap, pies, coins, etc). I managed to scud a jags fan right on the coupon with a half eaten pie there once.

Happy days.

I hope he was one of the lentil munchie veggie type luvvie fans, just to make it worse. (This was that long ago it was a Glasgow cup tie!)
Mr Cravat
Jan 21 2008, 19:25
I miss the Tereggles Street end being shut for years.
It just does not look right 3 sided grounds and the terracing is no worse than that at Alloa or E Stirlings grounds
Mushroom
Jan 21 2008, 19:35
QUOTE (Mr Cravat @ Jan 21 2008, 19:25)

It just does not look right 3 sided grounds and the terracing is no worse than that at Alloa or E Stirlings grounds
Alloa's been done up, its actually quite nice now.
capello
Jan 21 2008, 19:44
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Jan 21 2008, 20:19)

The one at Firhill was better, as it was only about7ft or so high and therefore unlike Cappielow, Douglas Park, Brockeville, etc it didnt stretch right up to the roof, meaning you could hurl all sorts of stuff over it (Soap, pies, coins, etc). I managed to scud a jags fan right on the coupon with a half eaten pie there once.

Happy days.

I hope he was one of the lentil munchie veggie type luvvie fans, just to make it worse. (This was that long ago it was a Glasgow cup tie!)
The one at scappaflow was about 5/6ft high before the final effort went into place and was made out of that netting type material the councils use for fencing off council house gardens etc,easy as fook to climb and grab hold of when we scored ,remember some thistle fan thought he was leading the charge only to discover the rest of the fans stayed at the other side,after being promptly dealt with
by the cowshed aggro,the cops threw him back in the thistle end ,mad cnut had the cheek to complain to the cops !!!
Thistle ,killie,st,mirren,clydebank,falkirk,airdrie,dunfermline,even berwick rangers all had similar
terracings and the fun exchanging banter coupled with a half decent side we had in the 80's will live with me forever!!
Ram the lego stadiums,the rest of you need to get back to basics!!
DA Baracus
Jan 21 2008, 19:45
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Jan 21 2008, 19:14)

I guarantee some older pars fan will come along with "the cage" since ive started supported dunfermline nothing has changed.
Correct! The cage was tremendous! And terracing.
DarkBlue62
Jan 21 2008, 19:47
Terracing
Garrowhillclyde
Jan 21 2008, 19:51
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 21 2008, 19:35)

You mean the town. Aye, someone dumped 3 million tonnes of toxic waste and needles there. It has now been upgraded to 'minging'
PaleGreySky
Jan 21 2008, 20:09
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 21 2008, 19:35)

that'll be nice for you next season
Larbert_Par
Jan 21 2008, 20:10
The cage/ terracing generally at EEP. What an atmosphere.
And the 007 Catering- Licence to grill.

A friend of mine was arrested at Cappielow for jumping on the fence and subjecting the Morton fans to some choice fingulatory gestures.
I miss the shed.
supersaint44
Jan 21 2008, 21:03
The old scoreboard! it was always ther not fully working but always part of the experiance now its gone and i miss it!
gingapar
Jan 21 2008, 21:04
not so much a specific place, more the routine. the walk all the way round from the corner next the main stand (where the fascia for the old turnstyles still stands) to the halfway line, weaving through the same familiar faces to take up the same usual place (much better than the modern awkward 'scuse me, 'scuse me, sorry, sorry, scuse me' past a row of disgruntled knees). running down front for the warm up then back up beside ma dad when the players went in before running back down for kick off (unless it was really busy and you couldn't get back, which wis also great!). standing on the lower bar hidden behind the advertising hoardings and reaching over to bang on them at corners and things was also good fun although because it was smaller than the upper one,ye had to lean back a bit and really hold on!
watchin the players run gingerly down the steps from the changing rooms was good for a laugh too!
Larbert_Par
Jan 21 2008, 21:12
QUOTE (gingapar @ Jan 21 2008, 21:04)

not so much a specific place, more the routine. the walk all the way round from the corner next the main stand (where the fascia for the old turnstyles still stands) to the halfway line, weaving through the same familiar faces to take up the same usual place (much better than the modern awkward 'scuse me, 'scuse me, sorry, sorry, scuse me' past a row of disgruntled knees). running down front for the warm up then back up beside ma dad when the players went in before running back down for kick off (unless it was really busy and you couldn't get back, which wis also great!). standing on the lower bar hidden behind the advertising hoardings and reaching over to bang on them at corners and things was also good fun although because it was smaller than the upper one,ye had to lean back a bit and really hold on!
watchin the players run gingerly down the steps from the changing rooms was good for a laugh too!
I loved the old changing rooms- the steps down to the pitch were fairly unique. My claim to fame is I was the last mascot to lead the teams out from there at a Pars St Mirren game in 2000.
I also miss the west end enclosure being full of home fans.
dirty dingus
Jan 21 2008, 21:33
The last time I remember a packed shed with the seggragation fence was at Elgin a few years ago it created a good wee atmosphere for only a 1000 folk being there with plenty of banter between fans, this was only spoiled by opening it up at half time to let us walk round behind the away goal. So the return of away fans to the cowshed would be much appreciated but I cant see it happening as I'm sure it would require more policing than they fork out for now and I doubt the police would be pleased as they wouldnt get to watch the game for f**k all and might have to earn their wages.
My favourite old style ground for this was the old rugby park with it being a bit of a derby, a night match with a big away support was electric.
QUOTE (Stu1874 @ Jan 21 2008, 18:07)

if anything it would be the fence in the cowshed, so both home and away fans are in it instead of them being stuck in the stand

One of my best memories was the time stirling were in there ,think they had already been relegated and they sang their hearts out the whole game -led by some mad man with a guitar and amp !!!
How the feck did he get that by the police?
Bring back the fence!!!

I miss the fence aswell

always remember playing against the likes of St Mirren with the fence there. Even playing against Hamilton with the older guy who used to be there because he was banned from home games (I think?) Fergie was it?
TeeMan
Jan 21 2008, 22:53
QUOTE (Mr Cravat @ Jan 21 2008, 19:25)

I agree. I also miss going to stand down the side when Queens are shooting towards the Terregles St end, it doesn't seem worth it since they stopped you being allowed to cross the dugouts to get to the far side of the enclosure

. I remember often standing down the opposite side (in the era post-cowshed but pre new stand and giving the opposition wide players some pelters in my younger days) and miss the change in perspective when I stay in the same spot in the terracing for the whole game. All-in-all I'm quite happy with Palmerston though - managed to maintain a bit of character and has something for everyone whether you want to sit or stand, admitedly it'd be nice to have the terracing open for away fans but I suppose finances make this a non starter.
Dunning1874
Jan 21 2008, 23:01
It's the way the dugout is now that bothers me, I miss having a competent manager in it.

But seriously, I would love the Cowshed fence back. I was too young to totally enjoy it when it was there. Can remember the atmosphere being absolutely fantastic though.
Latapy is god
Jan 22 2008, 00:07
mmmmmmmm hard question, looking at the road before the new north stand got built?
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Jan 22 2008, 00:21
Plenty old style grounds generated a good atmosphere.The young ones nowadays would be amazed at the passion,humour and occasionally hatred which emanated in many grounds.
I miss the away fans at Douglas Park engaging in "Fergie baiting".A full covered terracing of Morton/Thistle/Airdrie/St.Miren etc fans chanting at the great man who would reply in the only way he knew.
They don't make fitba fans like old Fergie nowadays.He wouldn't last 10 minutes with all the PC brigade or the yellow-jacketed jobsworths.If he wasn't so poorly,it would be fun to see him appear at the likes of sanitised Livvy.
Methinks,if he was still able to get to games,he would be in Section A at NDP giving and receiving some verbal sparring.
Steak & Barley
Jan 22 2008, 05:08
I miss being able to stand in the Wee Dublin End, changing ends at half time and the days of no segregation. I appreciate what the rest of the guys say about the fence in terms of atmosphere but nothing beats the buzz when you're young and you're waiting for the inevitable charge across 10 yards of no mans land'. I think I've still got the boot prints from a tsunami like charge from the Hibs hordes
Bring back the days when every other Saturday you could re-enact Zulu and get a fish supper for pain relief on the way home.
No specific bits really, jsut the old ground as it was. The old East End was just the perfect football ground, and it's a big regret that it's been totally destroyed. Actually there is one wee thing that I miss - those wee grassy bits behind both the goals, as the terracing curved slightly as it went round.
Grant228
Jan 22 2008, 09:21
QUOTE (DA Baracus @ Jan 21 2008, 19:45)

Correct! The cage was tremendous! And terracing.
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Jan 21 2008, 20:10)

i wish i was around to see those days
Shaggy Jenkins
Jan 22 2008, 09:42
The little yellow Kisok.
was just remanising about the old cage at EEP on saturday and some great times in there, was finding it hard to imagine but games between Saints and Pars used to mean you were packed in tightly in the cage and the standing behind the goals was full of fans also.
Other grounds I always remember fondly for large supports and a real buzz were behind the goal at Tannadice (('Alan Mains a horses arse'(sorry Alan!)). Up by the fence at Brockvile ('Crawford Bapties wives a whore'). Behind the goal at Tynecastle where you could shout abuse over the street to the folk watching from their tenament windows.
I miss the strange social club thing at Clydebank although not our record there and that weird wee stand at old Broomfield
ThePARadox
Jan 22 2008, 12:38
In my youth when I was a bit a ned, I mind standing agin the cage at a Pars v Falkirk game and hurlin abuse and coins etc at the Satanists. I turned round to face the pitch and was surprised to see no players on the pitch. I was so away with the GIRUYness of the occasion I had not realised it was half time, and had been for some time.
Chilled out now though.
Mr Cravat
Jan 22 2008, 12:42
QUOTE (TeeMan @ Jan 21 2008, 22:53)

I agree. I also miss going to stand down the side when Queens are shooting towards the Terregles St end, it doesn't seem worth it since they stopped you being allowed to cross the dugouts to get to the far side of the enclosure

. I remember often standing down the opposite side (in the era post-cowshed but pre new stand and giving the opposition wide players some pelters in my younger days) and miss the change in perspective when I stay in the same spot in the terracing for the whole game. All-in-all I'm quite happy with Palmerston though - managed to maintain a bit of character and has something for everyone whether you want to sit or stand, admitedly it'd be nice to have the terracing open for away fans but I suppose finances make this a non starter.
Seems riduculous that just over a year ago when gretna played here on the 1st game of the year that they(gretna) were allowed to be on the other side of the Dugout and some even stood on the Terregles end as the away end overflowed.
I agree it's a shame as it has cost the club revenue over the years since its closure more than 10 years ago with visits from Hearts,Hibs(twice),Dundee Unt and"glory hunters" following gretna.
For all it's age and superb location I would not swap it for a new stadium like Stirling,Clyde, Hamilton or Airdie having visited all in their previous existance
Stan-O
Jan 22 2008, 12:50
I miss the toilet/urinal shed that used to be next to the turnstyles on Dens Road.
Think the constant smell of pish and general health and safety violations forced its closure.
standing up and the cage and an atmosphere
Demon Drawer
Jan 22 2008, 13:39
I miss the 3000 odd people who've stopped turning up at our place. Plus I miss sitting in my old seat behind the goal in the South Stand.
Larbert_Par
Jan 22 2008, 15:16
QUOTE (Socks @ Jan 22 2008, 07:32)

Actually there is one wee thing that I miss - those wee grassy bits behind both the goals, as the terracing curved slightly as it went round.
I used to believe that those bits made EEP the Scottish version of Wembley.
gingapar
Jan 22 2008, 15:55
ha, i mind when we won the first division, i was down the front behind the goals (as far round as we could get!) the players a coaching staff were going round giving high fives and the like, i tried to spin my scarf round Bert Paton's neck but i was wee and it was quite a wee scarf too so i ended up smacking him in the pus wi it three or four times before he took it off me!
DA Baracus
Jan 22 2008, 19:51
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Jan 21 2008, 20:10)

And the 007 Catering- Licence to grill.

007 Catering - Licence To Grill! Tremendous! Had forgotten about that!
Here's another old one I miss (although not strictly part of the ground);
Pies! And not the food, but the guy. Whatever happened to him?
The Pacey Winger
Jan 22 2008, 21:58
The covered end at Annfield, the name Annfield, the slope at Annfield, the old cinema seats in the stand
Just Annfield really
Mushroom
Jan 22 2008, 22:41
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Jan 21 2008, 19:51)

You mean the town. Aye, someone dumped 3 million tonnes of toxic waste and needles there. It has now been upgraded to 'minging'
Naw, the town is still a hole, but they've tarmaced alot of the terracing, meaning you don't get muddy.
QUOTE (PaleGreySky @ Jan 21 2008, 20:09)

that'll be nice for you next season

Don't tempt fate
Queensthroughandthrough
Jan 23 2008, 20:36
What a great wee stand the old Airdrieonians had in the corner of their ground. I don't like Airdrie United's stadium much these days as it has nothing on Broomfield.
I also loved that old stand at Newton Stewart's ground, it would have been well respected in this year's Scottish Cup run.
ginge123
Jan 23 2008, 21:32
At Almondvale I've got to say Bubble Hill and of course all the fans that used to go to the games.
Dalai_Lama
Jan 23 2008, 21:53

They were the days!

Storming the fence as we inevitably scored was brilliant!

One of my fav memories was some wee borstal runaway in the Morton end with a glass bottle which he was about to chuck over the fence. The security guy told him to beat it and go away. He argued that he should be allowed to chuck it before turning to move away. At that point he quickly turned and through it over the fence. Kind of. Thing was it hit the top, balanced there for a second before falling back into the Morton fans. Feckin brilliant.
The fence at Love St was great as well. Beating the Old Firm and running and shaking that fence when we scored was just electric. The tension was just indescribable at times.
Hoochthedrummer
Jan 24 2008, 02:31
QUOTE (Demon Drawer @ Jan 22 2008, 13:39)

I miss the 3000 odd people who've stopped turning up at our place. Plus I miss sitting in my old seat behind the goal in the South Stand.
agreed 100%
but i have to add that i miss the ruddy big open gap between the west and north stand where the office space is now...it was one of the factors for the money problems
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.