Full Version: Who Will Be The Next Clyde Manager ?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Trevor the tractor
I'm a bit fed up at work at the moment, I would take it for a laugh.
badger_whacker
QUOTE (Trevor the tractor @ Jan 18 2008, 18:01) *
I'm a bit fed up at work at the moment, I would take it for a laugh.

Are you THAT fed up? laugh.gif

I guess Clyde fans will just have to accept that no one can compare to the great Billy Reid's tenure. wink.gif
Trevor the tractor
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 18 2008, 18:05) *
Are you THAT fed up? laugh.gif

I guess Clyde fans will just have to accept that no one can compare to the great Billy Reid's tenure. wink.gif

I agree, The boy seems to be doing a good job at Hamilton AcademicalS rolleyes.gif

CRM
Dick Campbell! Campbell for Broadwood!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (CRM @ Jan 18 2008, 18:09) *
Dick Campbell! Campbell for Broadwood!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif

No chance we couldnt afford to give him the £85k a year he got at Fissal laugh.gif
Scofield
Craig Robertson laugh.gif
monthebullywee
Jose Mourinho still looking for a job?
Trevor the tractor
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Jan 18 2008, 18:11) *
No chance we couldnt afford to give him the £85k a year he got at Fissal laugh.gif

You've got the SKY money.......Oh sorry, Thats already spent laugh.gif
Steve McQueen
& we get accused of going through loads of managers!
Pompey_Par
I'm afraid it's going to be a lower league manager, although i can't think who, or Dick Campbell for Clyde.

I'd do it for a Pie and a Bovril at half time though

Dunning1874
No doubt the press will link Stuart Baxter with it, as he is linked with every single job that becomes available.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jan 18 2008, 18:20) *
No doubt the press will link Stuart Baxter with it, as he is linked with every single job that becomes available.

who's he?

I would say the obvious candidate is John Brown myself.
port-ton
John brown id say.

btw didnt hendry resign? meaning he gets no compensation so the sky money isnt spent?
Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 18 2008, 18:28) *
John brown id say.

btw didnt hendry resign? meaning he gets no compensation so the sky money isnt spent?

ssssshhhhh....hush money.
Denji
Take JM.
Mr Roberts
La- La Lahhh.......
Mushroom
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jan 18 2008, 18:28) *
John brown id say.

I think the SKY money is going/gone on other things.

QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 18 2008, 18:32) *
La- La Lahhh.......

We're set for ball-boys, but thanks.
Fireball
Maybe they'll get Graham Roberts back ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
CK
I'd like Dougie Bell. I'd think he will take charge of the next few games, if he gets some good results, it certainly won't do his chances any harm, though he does have a good job outside the club.
Ludo *1
Jim Duffy
Feckaye
I'd like to see John Brown he has a good standing in the game here, although I'd be interested in his reasons in not taking the Dumbarton job after saying he would.
The Umbrella
QUOTE (CK @ Jan 18 2008, 18:36) *
I'd like Dougie Bell. I'd think he will take charge of the next few games, if he gets some good results, it certainly won't do his chances any harm, though he does have a good job outside the club.

Ridiculous - have you ever seen him - nice guy, couldn't motivate a nympho to shag!!
The Umbrella
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Jan 18 2008, 18:45) *
Jim Duffy

Could do worse!
mfc123
What about Rowan Alexander ? He knows the league well and has CV second to none at that level .... he's also looking to get back to football.
LiviClyde
QUOTE (mfc123 @ Jan 18 2008, 18:52) *
What about Rowan Alexander ? He knows the league well and has CV second to none at that level .... he's also looking to get back to football.

Not even if he brought Mileson with him!!
monthebullywee
QUOTE (mfc123 @ Jan 18 2008, 18:52) *

f**k no
GloryGloryGypsyArmy
Would love Ian Durrant, can't see it happening though.
Mushroom
People mentioned on the thread (seriously or not)

Dougie Bell - no, wouldn't do it anyway, has no qualifications at all (Craig McKeown has more), and has only worked as an under 19 coach.
Rowan Alexander - no, without money he'll be useless.
Jim McInally - laugh.gif
Roberts/Miller - after last time - naw.
Jim Duffy - not the worst shout, but not ideal
Ian Durrant - Doubt he could be prized away from Rangers.
Dick Campbell - laugh.gif

and that still leaves my favourite, John Brown
The Diddy Man
Joe McLaughlin or Alan Maitland

Cannot see any other diddies interested.

Mushroom
John Coughlin has been linked - did he not seriously mess up at St. Mirren.
Clyde01
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 18 2008, 19:30) *

In short, yes, he would be a pathetic choice, cue the Clyde board to give him the job.

Or

Maybe this is why Billy Davies ruled himself out of the Scotland job! wink.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE (Clyde01 @ Jan 18 2008, 19:41) *
In short, yes, he would be a pathetic choice, cue the Clyde board to give him the job.

Or

Maybe this is why Billy Davies ruled himself out of the Scotland job! wink.gif

You listening to revival too then? laugh.gif
Dunning1874
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 18 2008, 18:23) *
who's he?

I would say the obvious candidate is John Brown myself.

He's been manager of a few different countries, and seems to get linked with every job that comes up. And never ever actually gets one.
Kevin Mckee is god

I know a couple of chaps called, Gerry and Del that fit the bill perfectly.

Clyde for the 2nd. laugh.gif

I also know a man that knows a man that knows a man thats quite good at pro evo on the xbox 360. Could be the man for the joke team. wink.gif
Sao Paulo
Hendry's departure comes as a shock, and at an extremely inconvenient time for the Club.

Nonetheless the big man had to put his family first. I'd like to thank Colin for his efforts, despite our indifferent form on the pitch. All the best.

Moving on...

Who do I think should get the job?

Well in the summer I wanted Brown, and I still think he would do a good job here, but there are now more names in the hat. So to speak. I'll have to take some more time to think it over.

One man who I would not like to get the job is Dougie Bell. Don't get me wrong here, I've nothing against him I just think that it would be too much of a risk. And really if he did have managerial potential, it would be rubbing off on the team already. It blatantly isn't.

We could do worse than Bell, but he's not the best man for the job.
Nizzy
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Jan 18 2008, 20:28) *
Who do I think should get the job?

I'll have to take some more time to think it over.

I'm sure the BoD at Clyde and your fellow fans will thank you for not rushing into it.

Jesus, you're so far up your own arse at times it's unreal.
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 18 2008, 20:33) *
I'm sure the BoD at Clyde and your fellow fans will thank you for not rushing into it.

Jesus, you're so far up your own arse at times it's unreal.

What? huh.gif I'm simply saying I don't know who I'd choose to be the the next gaffer.

Get a grip.
scottp96
Big Sam to Broasdwood!!!!!! tongue.gif
CK
Names thrown about on the Clyde forum that haven't already been mentioned include Gary Bollan, Gordon Wylde, Andy Millen & Steve Evans.
Scotchpie
Billy Dodds
Mr Roberts
McVeigh rolleyes.gif wink.gif
Trevor the tractor
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 18 2008, 19:25) *
People mentioned on the thread (seriously or not)

Dougie Bell - no, wouldn't do it anyway, has no qualifications at all (Craig McKeown has more),

I heard he had o-grade woodwork.

Seriously though i'd want Alan Maitland if i were a Clyde fan (although he would fill the team with ex-accies who were already ex-clyde) wacko.gif
Portlander
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 18 2008, 19:30) *

You could do a lot worse. Worked wonders at Berwick on a virtual shoe string and he's pulling Stenny around now. Things didn't work out for him at St Mirren but wasn't all John Coughlin's fault.
EastFootball
Mr Roberts.
Marc

Please.
Mr Roberts
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 18 2008, 22:03) *
Mr Roberts.

with Miles as my Ass Manager. wink.gif

we couldn't be any less popular than Dick Campbell
Exuberant
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 18 2008, 22:07) *

wow, combining both roles are you? tongue.gif
The Umbrella
QUOTE (Trevor the tractor @ Jan 18 2008, 21:47) *
I heard he had o-grade woodwork.

Seriously though i'd want Alan Maitland if i were a Clyde fan (although he would fill the team with ex-accies who were already ex-clyde) wacko.gif

Yes, Maitland!! laugh.gif cool.gif

Alan -Ronnie, who should I pick for Clyde this week?

Ronnnie- who are you playing?

Alan - You

Ronnie - Oh OK then, everybody except Imrie then!

Alan - OK Boss!

Ronnie - Good lad - bonus for you next week.
The Umbrella
QUOTE (Mr Roberts @ Jan 18 2008, 22:07) *

You need an Ass Manager?

Didn't realise it was that big and uncontrollable!!
Div
Andy Millen ohmy.gif ?