Twiggy
Jan 18 2008, 16:43
He is currently at NDP for talks and should hopefully be available to play tomorrow.He made a difference whilst on loan so hopefully he could continue that form till end of season.Good signing IF he signs.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Jan 18 2008, 16:44
Sign him.
Should mean that Allan Jenkins isn't signing, ensuring he comes to us
Heard from a reliable source (a well connected Accies fan) that he won't sign permanently as his wage demands are through the roof.
Radford
Jan 18 2008, 16:50
Has he negotiated his release from Motherwell then?
Jan 18 2008, 16:51
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 18 2008, 16:49)

Heard from a reliable source (a well connected Accies fan) that he won't sign permanently as his wage demands are through the roof.
He can't sign on loan as he's previously been an emergency loan, or so I understand it, so would have to be a permanent deal.
port-ton
Jan 18 2008, 16:55
QUOTE (Twiggy @ Jan 18 2008, 16:43)

He is currently at NDP for talks and should hopefully be available to play tomorrow.He made a difference whilst on loan so hopefully he could continue that form till end of season.Good signing IF he signs.
where did he play for yous anyway? i cant see where he fitted into your midfield. was it for mcarthy?
Accies1
Jan 18 2008, 17:12
badger_whacker
Jan 18 2008, 17:14
Right, how are we to make arrangements to get the league trophy to New Douglas Park?
Excellent signing which has just won us the title.
"Badgering" from the Badger makes it happen.
Quality stuff.
Jan 18 2008, 17:17
Great signing, play him in the middle of the park and he'll be one of the best in the division.
Hopefully this signing should ensure that we sign Allan Jenkins, as you were our only competition for his signature as far as I know
badger_whacker
Jan 18 2008, 17:20
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Jan 18 2008, 17:17)

Great signing, play him in the middle of the park and he'll be one of the best in the division.
Hopefully this signing should ensure that we sign Allan Jenkins, as you were our only competition for his signature as far as I know

I didn't even know we were in for Jenkins.
Even after signing Mensing, I wouldn't be so sure he still would attempt to get Jenkins if he was in for him. I think Reid has seen the performances the past few weeks and thought it was time to "beef up" a bit.
Radford
Jan 18 2008, 17:21
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 18 2008, 17:14)

Excellent signing which has just won us the title.
Hasn't he finished second over the past five seasons?
I don't have any problem with Mensing chosing Accies, it was a sensible option on several counts. I do have a problem with him going on record only
yesterday as saying:
"I want to be playing football but nothing can happen until it is sorted out at my end.
"Hopefully we can get the ball rolling and then I can look at the options. I’m told there has been some interest. But I’m not in a position to discuss potential deals with managers because I’m contracted to Motherwell. I’m sure Derek McInnes, and any others, understand how it is.
"As I say, I want to get my future sorted out because I want to be playing football. Right now that isn’t happening. But my hands are tied.
"If we can get things sorted out with Motherwell I will be open to offers. I would be more than happy to have a chat with St Johnstone. Just because I was there before wouldn’t stop me thinking of returning. I wouldn’t rule it out."He mucked us around in the summer and has done so again. Clearly he has always been intending to sign for Accies. Excellent signing for Accies though.
badger_whacker
Jan 18 2008, 17:24
QUOTE (Radford @ Jan 18 2008, 17:21)

Hasn't he finished second over the past five seasons?
I don't have any problem with Mensing chosing Accies, it was a sensible option on several counts. I do have a problem with him going on record only yesterday as saying:
"I want to be playing football but nothing can happen until it is sorted out at my end.
"Hopefully we can get the ball rolling and then I can look at the options. I'm told there has been some interest. But I'm not in a position to discuss potential deals with managers because I'm contracted to Motherwell. I'm sure Derek McInnes, and any others, understand how it is.
"As I say, I want to get my future sorted out because I want to be playing football. Right now that isn't happening. But my hands are tied.
"If we can get things sorted out with Motherwell I will be open to offers. I would be more than happy to have a chat with St Johnstone. Just because I was there before wouldn't stop me thinking of returning. I wouldn't rule it out."
He mucked us around in the summer and has done so again. Clearly he has always been intending to sign for Accies. Excellent signing for Accies though.
Mensing made such a huge difference to us means he will win us the title. I am absolutely certain that our title bid hinged on him resigning.
And how can you be certain that Mensing has been "mucking" you about. We heard from a reliable source just a couple of days ago that Accies could not afford his wages along with all the other clubs in question. Clearly it was just down to whoever got close enough first.
Accies1
Jan 18 2008, 17:28
Surely we'll go back to the way we played against Morton, ne of our most impresive performances for a while
................Halliwell.......................
Parrat...Elebert...McLaughlin...Easton
......Neil......McArthur......Mensing....
McCarthy...........................Graham
..................Offiong......................
Jan 18 2008, 17:28
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 18 2008, 17:20)

I didn't even know we were in for Jenkins.
Even after signing Mensing, I wouldn't be so sure he still would attempt to get Jenkins if he was in for him. I think Reid has seen the performances the past few weeks and thought it was time to "beef up" a bit.
yesterday's Greenock TelegraphSeems he had talks with you lot before we even got a chance to speak with him. Apparently he is keen to come to us though
Trevor the tractor
Jan 18 2008, 17:39
Whoever gets Jenkins will have a very good player on their hands, For now i'm more than happy with Mensing...Superb!
Accie1
Jan 18 2008, 17:45
Good signing and hopefully give us a few more goals from Midfield.
Glad we weren't prepared to break the bank for him.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 18 2008, 17:49
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 18 2008, 17:24)

Mensing made such a huge difference to us means he will win us the title. I am absolutely certain that our title bid hinged on him resigning.
And how can you be certain that Mensing has been "mucking" you about. We heard from a reliable source just a couple of days ago that Accies could not afford his wages along with all the other clubs in question. Clearly it was just down to whoever got close enough first.
Your a idiot. He didnt exactly get St johnstone promoted. sssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!
Pompey_Par
Jan 18 2008, 17:51
Good signng for you and hats off to the club for getting him longer than on loan. A player i would have loved to have seen coming to East End because he is exactly what we need.
You are certainley looking good for the titled, you are getting stronger and it's yours to throw away now
badger_whacker
Jan 18 2008, 17:53
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 18 2008, 17:49)

Your a idiot. He didnt exactly get St johnstone promoted. sssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!

You get more hilarious and idiotic with each post. What an intelligent come back, in keeping with the rest of your posts when you have no idea what to contribute.
The ssssshhhh part is my favourite. Put me right in my place
academical
Jan 18 2008, 17:55

Excellent signing
Agreed!

... which has just won us the title
I wouldn't go that far. Or are you trying to confirm the stereotype some posters have that Accies fans are getting too cocky?
Hopefully Mensing will make a crucial difference, but Dundee are still very much in this title race (even without Lyle) and there's still quite a way to go. I'm confident we'll win the league; I predicted we would as far back as last February; but at no point this season have I said "right, that's it - the league's ours" or anything like that. We've done well enough so far to be entitled to gloat a little, but the league's not over yet - far from it.
badger_whacker
Jan 18 2008, 17:59
QUOTE (academical @ Jan 18 2008, 17:55)

I wouldn't go that far. Or are you trying to confirm the stereotype some posters have that Accies fans are getting too cocky?
Hopefully Mensing will make a crucial difference, but Dundee are still very much in this title race (even without Lyle) and there's still quite a way to go. I'm confident we'll win the league; I predicted we would as far back as last February; but at no point this season have I said "right, that's it - the league's ours" or anything like that. We've done well enough so far to be entitled to gloat a little, but the league's not over yet - far from it.
This is not gloating, it's my opinion. If we had not signed Mensing the title would still be in the balance. For me, with Mensing in the squad, we're a far better team with his physical presence.
The only reason I say it because he WILL make such a huge difference to our team.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 18 2008, 18:09
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 18 2008, 17:59)

This is not gloating, it's my opinion. If we had not signed Mensing the title would still be in the balance. For me, with Mensing in the squad, we're a far better team with his physical presence.
The only reason I say it because he WILL make such a huge difference to our team.
Backtracking a wee bit there?? You said that signing has just won them the league!!!
Your a disgrace of a reprentative for your club.
For the record, i would be happy if Dundee signed mensing but at the same time hes not that great and def not the difference between Dundee and Hamilton.
badger_whacker
Jan 18 2008, 18:12
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 18 2008, 18:09)

Backtracking a wee bit there?? You said that signing has just won them the league!!!
Your a disgrace of a reprentative for your club.
For the record, i would be happy if Dundee signed mensing but at the same time hes not that great and def not the difference between Dundee and Hamilton.
You honour your club also.
I'll not even justify the rest with a reply.
Up wi the bonnets
Jan 18 2008, 18:15
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 18 2008, 18:12)

You honour your club also.
I'll not even justify the rest with a reply.

ooooooooooo nooooooooo i missed out S and E,
You really need to get laid!!
Fife Saint
Jan 18 2008, 18:17
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Jan 18 2008, 17:24)

I'd be more inclined to suggest he could lose you it but we will see.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Jan 18 2008, 18:18
Good signing and a goal threat which was needed for midfield.Still short upfront as Twigg and Wake are not good enough back up strikers on the evidence shown so far.
Seems Billy Reid is signing the spine of his succesful Clyde team witth Halliwell,McLaughlin and Mensing and Wee Gilhaney also on the books.These are players who have proven they can do it at the upper echelons of the First,so Reid knows what he is getting/already has.
I still wouldn't rule out St.Johnstone as Accies and Dundee are still not potent up front.St.Johnstone have a better set of strikers collectively than the top two.
badger_whacker
Jan 18 2008, 18:20
QUOTE (Up wi the bonnets @ Jan 18 2008, 18:15)

ooooooooooo nooooooooo i missed out S and E,
You really need to get laid!!
Of course that must be the problem.
Just for reference, what age are you? If you are below 16 I really will feel stupid for worrying about a minor who found his daddy's password to to his computer and started slamming him firsts against the keyboard to see what the results were.
Fife Saint
Jan 18 2008, 18:28
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Jan 18 2008, 18:18)

Good signing and a goal threat which was needed for midfield.Still short upfront as Twigg and Wake are not good enough back up strikers on the evidence shown so far.
Seems Billy Reid is signing the spine of his succesful Clyde team witth Halliwell,McLaughlin and Mensing and Wee Gilhaney also on the books.These are players who have proven they can do it at the upper echelons of the First,so Reid knows what he is getting/already has.
I still wouldn't rule out St.Johnstone as Accies and Dundee are still not potent up front.St.Johnstone have a better set of strikers collectively than the top two.
I'm intrigued by this perception of SnM being a goal threat. I know he scored a couple in that loan stint but whenever he played with us he looked uncomfortable on the ball and certainly not a goal threat!
Shotts56
Jan 18 2008, 18:34
What is for certain is that the signing of Mensing gives us a stronger squad, if not team.
I don't know if we'll win the league, but having led it for the first half of the season and then added to our squad with quality the likes of Simon Mensing, Gary Twigg, David Graham & Xavier Barrau has to improve our chances.
Our intention to go for it has become clear, and the gauntlet has now been thrown down to Dundee. It promises to be a very interesting last 15 games.
Shotts56
Jan 18 2008, 18:37
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jan 18 2008, 18:28)

I'm intrigued by this perception of SnM being a goal threat. I know he scored a couple in that loan stint but whenever he played with us he looked uncomfortable on the ball and certainly not a goal threat!
Dont know the answer to that. He scored 3 in 5 games for us - a header from a corner and another two breaking forward from midfield. He certainly looked dangerous ... all I can think of is maybe the formation suits him. 4-5-1 does allow more scope for a midfielder to break from deep if he sees an opportunity, and if he times it right more often than not will find himself unmarked.
Maybe our game suits him a little more than St Johnstone's did. Just guessing.
dee4life
Jan 18 2008, 18:44
If you think signing mensing guarantees you the league I find that amusing,we have coped quite well with a small squad and your big squad has yet to pull clear.I am confident our young players will win us the league regardless of any motherwell reserve players you sign.We are operating with a small budget but I,m still confident,its down to what we do not hamilton.
Fife Saint
Jan 18 2008, 18:51
QUOTE (Shotts56 @ Jan 18 2008, 18:37)

Dont know the answer to that. He scored 3 in 5 games for us - a header from a corner and another two breaking forward from midfield. He certainly looked dangerous ... all I can think of is maybe the formation suits him. 4-5-1 does allow more scope for a midfielder to break from deep if he sees an opportunity, and if he times it right more often than not will find himself unmarked.
Maybe our game suits him a little more than St Johnstone's did. Just guessing.
May well be.
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jan 18 2008, 19:44)

If you think signing mensing guarantees you the league I find that amusing,we have coped quite well with a small squad and your big squad has yet to pull clear.I am confident our young players will win us the league regardless of any motherwell reserve players you sign.We are operating with a small budget but I,m still confident,its down to what we do not hamilton.
Interesting.
I thought the general consensus was that Dundee, St Johnstone and Dunfermline (and arguably, Partick and Morton) were the "big" teams in the league, with the rest of us being "diddy" teams (© Captain Sensible))
Certainly in terms of support, thats probably the case.
For what its worth, in my opinion, Accies are a small team who have improved steadily over the past few seasons, while the "big" teams are feeling the pinch of previous relegations.
As we all know, the signing of Simon Mensing wont guarantee us promotion, but it certainly helps.
I also have a feeling Dunfermline and St Johnstone will creep up on both the leaders by the end of the season.
Its certainly more interesting the the SPL.
Again.
Todd_is_God
Jan 18 2008, 19:11
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Jan 18 2008, 17:28)

Surely we'll go back to the way we played against Morton, ne of our most impresive performances for a while
................Halliwell.......................
Parrat...Elebert...McLaughlin...Easton
......Neil......McArthur......Mensing....
McCarthy...........................Graham
..................Offiong......................
And why have you dropped Cerny?
dee4life
Jan 18 2008, 19:40
QUOTE (ggr @ Jan 18 2008, 19:04)

Interesting.
I thought the general consensus was that Dundee, St Johnstone and Dunfermline (and arguably, Partick and Morton) were the "big" teams in the league, with the rest of us being "diddy" teams (© Captain Sensible))
Certainly in terms of support, thats probably the case.
For what its worth, in my opinion, Accies are a small team who have improved steadily over the past few seasons, while the "big" teams are feeling the pinch of previous relegations.
As we all know, the signing of Simon Mensing wont guarantee us promotion, but it certainly helps.
I also have a feeling Dunfermline and St Johnstone will creep up on both the leaders by the end of the season.
Its certainly more interesting the the SPL.
Again.
Depends on what you term a big club,yes we have the biggest support in the league but none of our board members put money in the club unlike other clubs,our budget is small compared to some other teams in the league hence why we lost out on McCafferty and why lyle will leave also queens were offering more money for a player than dundee.We are still feeling the effects of administration but we are getting there and still have a great chance of going up.I do agree of course than mensing does strengthen your squad.
Accies1
Jan 18 2008, 19:49
QUOTE (Todd_is_God @ Jan 18 2008, 19:11)

And why have you dropped Cerny?
I'd take either but I was stating the team that lined up against Morton, sorry if I didn't make that clear.
Kevin Mckee is god
Jan 18 2008, 19:50
CHAMPIONEES CHAMPIONEES
Firhill Dick
Jan 18 2008, 20:26
Excellent signing!! Another overpaid member of the Clyde runners up squad of yesteryear joins the free speading Hamilton FC squad.
It sounds like a great "Academic" plan.
Months of our run will never last, one man team etc etc blah blah blah
Now Dundee are doing well to keep up with our 'big squad'

we have certainly strengthened it recenly but we pulled ahead and stayed top of the league with a small and young squad.
We have stuttered and Dundee have been flying but still the lead is there ?
Good Signing for the Accies.
Lets hope we get Jenkins now
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Jan 18 2008, 22:27
Since when did Accies have a big squad?Prior to the window,our squad was threadbare.
Martins Hardies Love Child
Jan 18 2008, 22:49
A signing that will probably get the Accies over the line first this season.
Fair play you wanted him and paid the most, would love to know where the money is coming from.
I loved SM as a player when he was at Saints but his contract negotiations leave a bad taste in your mouth.
Maybe he's turning into a bigger mercenary than Anelka.
Fair play Hamilton good signing.
The money comes as a result of backing up the team that got us to the top. We have not spent our way there but we are spending to get over the line, which is justified in terms of the close opposition we have in Dundee. We have not until recently had a big squad and even now many are young not on fortunes.
Also not trying to deviate here but the whole club has been set up for this for the last 3 or 4 years with young players coming thro and the whole club on a firm footing. A big part of that has been the artificial pitch which opens up loads of potential for every squad at the club.
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Jan 18 2008, 23:04)

The money comes as a result of backing up the team that got us to the top. We have not spent our way there but we are spending to get over the line, which is justified in terms of the close opposition we have in Dundee. We have not until recently had a big squad and even now many are young not on fortunes.
Also not trying to deviate here but the whole club has been set up for this for the last 3 or 4 years with young players coming thro and the whole club on a firm footing. A big part of that has been the artificial pitch which opens up loads of potential for every squad at the club.
I don't think anyone can take that away from Hamilton
dee4life
Jan 19 2008, 08:30
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Jan 18 2008, 22:02)

Months of our run will never last, one man team etc etc blah blah blah
Now Dundee are doing well to keep up with our 'big squad'

we have certainly strengthened it recenly but we pulled ahead and stayed top of the league with a small and young squad.
We have stuttered and Dundee have been flying but still the lead is there ?
We took 5 points from 12 from the festive period games so we have hardly been flying,but we had to play qos(a)thistle(h)st johnstone(a) and the pars(h) so it was a tough period and we are only 3 points behind so who is in the ascendancy?I expect both sets of fans to be confident accies dont lose at home and have a good team and have added to the squad while we have a solid defence a very good midfield but need more up front,cant see us losing many in the run in though and will would be looking to go top by end of febuary all going well.
There is just a bit of a contradiction among Dundee fans, they cant decide if they are a big club with a great fan base who will do well in the SPL or a small squad doing well to keep up with Accies
Trevor
Jan 19 2008, 09:15
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 18 2008, 16:49)

Once again proving that when it comes to Pie & Bovril the words 'reliable source' mean nothing at all!
I don't share the over optimism of some of my fellow Accies fans that this signing guarantees us the league trophy (I think you have to forgive what could be viewed as arrogance, it's been a long time since we found ourselves in this position and some fans are getting a little over excited, can you blame them?). I think this transfer window we have seriously strengthened our chances with the signings of David Graham, Xavier Barrau, Gary Twigg and now Simon Mensing, crucially all players who have experience at this level and who have played well at this level. Graham has started well at Accies, Mensing impressed on loan whilst Barrau and Twigg are still settling in but already I have seen enough from both to feel convinced they will make a positive contribution. Even though it seems highly unlikely, if Dundee were to release Lyle now I think that would significantly strengthen our campaign.
I am told the club may yet have a further addition to make to the squad but already I'd say we're looking really good squad wise, though I think we could do with off loading a couple of players, namely Brian Wake and Mark Gilhaney. The former no-one will be surprised about, the latter may seem a tad contreversial. Gilhaney has done nothing most of the season and frustrates more than anything else. We have other options on the wing and I would think of getting rid of him at the earliest opportunity.
Accie1
Jan 19 2008, 11:18
QUOTE (Trevor @ Jan 19 2008, 09:15)

I think we could do with off loading a couple of players, namely Brian Wake and Mark Gilhaney. The former no-one will be surprised about, the latter may seem a tad contreversial. Gilhaney has done nothing most of the season and frustrates more than anything else. We have other options on the wing and I would think of getting rid of him at the earliest opportunity.
I think you would get a few takers for Gilhaney. Have not seen enough from Barrau or Graham to justify selling one of our quickest, attacking, flair players. He hasn't been his best lately but now he has some serious competition we shall see if he will step up to the plate.
Tommy Burns
Jan 19 2008, 11:36
I'm surprised no other SPL clubs wanted him but out of the clubs that did want him he was never going to sign for anyone except Accies. I don't think he means we will win the league but he definitely gives us a massive edge over Dundee.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.