Full Version: And Then There Were 3?
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
TheBanter
Is this effectively the end of ScotlandFubbalClub's chance to get Burns from SellickFubbalClub?

Burns Panel Snub
doulikefish
souness is also out of the running so its been a good day already!!!
the jambo-rocker
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Jan 18 2008, 08:48) *

is he really? if so that has made my day
TheBanter

Where did you see that then?
dave258
What an arrogant fucking p***k of a scumbag. Why the hell should he not have to go through the interview process like everybody else? Does he think he's above it and should be given the job automatically?

The SFA should just punt him now, and get on with interviewing the other 3. No wonder it says that Souness is growing impatient, if I was interested in a job and it took near 2 months to even get round to the interview stage I'd be getting impatient as well.
doulikefish
QUOTE (TheBanter @ Jan 18 2008, 09:02) *
Where did you see that then?

was on five live wink.gif
dogma
QUOTE (TheBanter @ Jan 18 2008, 08:35) *
Is this effectively the end of ScotlandFubbalClub's chance to get Burns from SellickFubbalClub?

Burns Panel Snub

Good a man who failed so miserably with Reading despite having vastly more spending more than any other team around him should be nowhere near the Scotland job. Has he ever ahieved anything at all of note as a manager other than making some pals in the media ?
Ron Burgundy

scurrilous rumermongering...the Pness is very much alive int his fight and his rivals are dropping out for fear of Pness getting a hold of them and knocking f**k out of them for trying to gety his job.
glasnost
QUOTE (dogma @ Jan 18 2008, 10:15) *
Has he ever ahieved anything at all of note as a manager other than making some pals in the media ?

Well he won promotion to the Premier League with Kilmarnock in his first full season as manager, the first time they had won promotion to the top league since they get relegated 10 years earlier.

At Celtic he took over a club in a terrible position and made us into a force again where the supporters had realistic belief that we could win the league instead of struggling to get into Europe. He also, in his first season, won us our first trophy in six years. Sadly as a manager it went downhill for him in one month in mid March-mid April in his 3rd season but there is no doubt that the pressure of the 9 in-a-row nonsense affected everyone at the club which in part IMO led to him being axed by McCann. The other part? His very public fall out with McCann after the Scottish Cup win – McCann I believe was biding his time to get shot of him and no doubt took delight in it.

At Reading he was a disaster.
dave258
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jan 18 2008, 10:47) *
Well he won promotion to the Premier League with Kilmarnock in his first full season as manager, the first time they had won promotion to the top league since they get relegated 10 years earlier.

At Celtic he took over a club in a terrible position and made us into a force again where the supporters had realistic belief that we could win the league instead of struggling to get into Europe. He also, in his first season, won us our first trophy in six years. Sadly as a manager it went downhill for him in one month in mid March-mid April in his 3rd season but there is no doubt that the pressure of the 9 in-a-row nonsense affected everyone at the club which in part IMO led to him being axed by McCann. The other part? His very public fall out with McCann after the Scottish Cup win – McCann I believe was biding his time to get shot of him and no doubt took delight in it.

So are you saying that he has had a total of 3 and a half decent seasons as a manager in his career? Hardly world class credentials.
glasnost
QUOTE (dave258 @ Jan 18 2008, 10:52) *
So are you saying that he has had a total of 3 and a half decent seasons as a manager in his career? Hardly world class credentials.

Eh who said he had 'world class credentials'?
dave258
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jan 18 2008, 10:59) *
Eh who said he had 'world class credentials'?

Nobody did, I'm saying that he definitely doesn't though. Just wish the SFA would get their fingers out and hurry this along, they know the 4 (now 3 apparently) that they're gonna choose from, why not get on and do it already?
TheBanter
If it is the case that TB's not willing to go through the interview process then that should be him instantly out the frame.

Imagine anyone of us going for an interview and saying, eh I'm not willing to sit in front of the two of you but I'm happy to be interviewed by one of you.

dogma

Certainly isnt a CV which gives him a right to bypass an interiew process for a vital role which is a massive chance to take Scotland to the WC ( decent group considering the Euros and where our rankings were recently ). In fact I wouldnt have even shortlisted him on the basis of that CV
glasnost
QUOTE (dogma @ Jan 18 2008, 12:29) *
Certainly isnt a CV which gives him a right to bypass an interiew process for a vital role which is a massive chance to take Scotland to the WC ( decent group considering the Euros and where our rankings were recently )

Who said it did?

I was merely answering your question.
Whistle Blower

He also lost a major cup final to a team from a lower league.
dogma
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jan 18 2008, 12:53) *
Who said it did?

I was merely answering your question.

I know you were I was making the point in general not to you personally. Nae offence intended
Robbo
Maybe 2 as McGhee has said he will not beleaving Motherwell this season
Supras
Good, lets hope souness follows him out the door leaving us with 2 good candidates. Still wish billy gets the job though
MC Pee Pants
good i don't want burns anyway.

souness will be last man standing.
the snudge
Mcghee out aswell if he's not leavin well this season???
JH1
QUOTE (the snudge @ Jan 18 2008, 16:12) *
Mcghee out aswell if he's not leavin well this season???

Given the circumstances at Motherwell, would expect the SFA to wait for McGhee if he's the man they want.
LoyalGer
good, dont care about scotland but wouldnt want to see that dirty wee tim be successfull
the snudge
QUOTE (LoyalGer @ Jan 18 2008, 18:11) *
good, dont care about scotland but wouldnt want to see that dirty wee tim be successfull

f**k off out the thread then
bluetooner
QUOTE (LoyalGer @ Jan 18 2008, 13:11) *

I'm sure all the decent Rangers fans are squirming after reading that.

All 3 of them wink.gif
Supras

Then why are you posting here, fud.
BadgersNadgers
QUOTE (Daily Record)
However, a Hampden source confirmed Burns does not appear ready to stand before the panel.

Why? Does he know he's not good enough to get past the interview stage?

I think McGhee could do the Scotland job part-time until the end of the season if he got a couple of people in to do the scouting etc for him.

Its going to be Souness... mellow.gif
Nizzy

So GlasgowJag, who do you really support?
The Arch
If he was Davie Moyes or Alex Ferguson he could almost get away with saying an interview was unnecessary

However, he's been out of management for ages, and was part of perhaps the worst management duo in our history. He also got one game as manager for a Sweden friendly at Easter Road and we lost 4-1. Thank f**k he's out the running
TheBanter
McGhee was also seemingly quoted today as saying that he was already 'planning how to spend the half a million that Well will be getting from the Faddy sale in the SUMMER'

..That says quite a lot to me and if I'd been one of the ones ploughing into him at the bookies today I'd be concerned.

Burley is now the odds on favourite.
BadgersNadgers
QUOTE (TheBanter @ Jan 19 2008, 00:48) *

I saw an interview with Burley on I think it was Sky Sports where he said he was quite happy at Southampton, not too fussed about the Scotland job but he'd speak to them anyway and see what they had to offer.

G.Smith had better get the chequebook out and persuade the man because I won't be pleased with Souness.
dave258
QUOTE (bluetooner @ Jan 18 2008, 18:58) *
I'm sure all the decent Rangers fans are squirming after reading that.

All 3 of them wink.gif

rolleyes.gif

Oh aye, we're all gutted that an alias has posted something so 'controversial'.
Jim Pansy

f**k off, Cosgrove.
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (TheBanter @ Jan 19 2008, 00:48) *
McGhee was also seemingly quoted today as saying that he was already 'planning how to spend the half a million that Well will be getting from the Faddy sale in the SUMMER'

..That says quite a lot to me and if I'd been one of the ones ploughing into him at the bookies today I'd be concerned.

Is that true or opinion? Out of the list that Smith somehow came up with, Burley would be my first choice by something approaching a gazillion bazillion miles. That isn't saying very much at all though.
dave258
McGhee is the favourite at 8/13, Souness 3/1. Can't remember what Burley or Burns were.
TheBanter
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Jan 19 2008, 10:38) *
Is that true or opinion? Out of the list that Smith somehow came up with, Burley would be my first choice by something approaching a gazillion bazillion miles. That isn't saying very much at all though.

There was a huge surge in betting for Burley last night. It's levelled itself out now and McGhee is back to being favourite with the odds for Tommy Burns now starting to shorten again.

Christ knows who it'll be...probably John Collins!
Severus Snape
I'd rather have Phil Collins than John Collins to the honest.

Out of the candidates, I'd like Burley to get the job.
Paisley Plumber
QUOTE (Severus Snape @ Jan 19 2008, 12:40) *
I'd rather have Phil Collins than John Collins to the honest.

yeah agreed .... very drole biggrin.gif