Full Version: Colin Hendry
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Mushroom
Surprising after the players put in a superb performance v SPL opposition but here's why I think Hendry should go.
  1. He is never at training leaving Dougie Bell and two under 19's coaches to do his work. The most qualified person at training is Craig McKeown. Surely him not being there is breach of contract anyway?
  2. His awful team selections, possibly an offshoot of him never being at training. Div McGowan for example, we can all see from just matches hes not a striker, why can't he? Also, if he's never at training how does he know if McKenna and Valentim aren't good enough to start?
  3. Tactical mishaps - He is generally very reluctant to make substitutions, and occasionally makes a much needed attacking switch - 20 minutes too late.
  4. Combative personality - He spends far too much time arguing with officials and sometimes fans, he spends little enough time in the country, should he really be wasting it arguing with people over very little.
  5. Lack of local knowledge - He quite clearly knows nothing about the Scottish game and has no contacts north of the border. He gets loan signings from mediocre English teams rather than the SPL, where everyone else at this level looks.
  6. Lack motivation - The last game the players were clearly up for it, they looked interested (except Imrie) and were playing for pride. Why do they always look dejected in the league then? Coudl it be because their clubs in a mess and the man supposed to keep the morale up isn't even in the country.
Feel free to argue, but I feel its time to go, sack him for breach of contract and get someone like John Brown in (if only we'd chosen him in the first place)
MTJ
The amount of Hendry must go threads make Dick Campbell look Competent.

FTR, I haven't been impressed with his transfer dealings and his lack of subs against us, but hes actually got them more points so far than I actually expected even though they are struggling.
Exuberant
Those are all the reasons why we want you to keep him wink.gif

Seriously though, he's probably achieving what most Clyde fans would expect to achieve this season deep down.
Mushroom
Actually, his signings have been OK, the likes of Bestvina, Wilson and Smith can all do a job, buts thats still 6-1.

The reason we're not doomed is the great defence and decent midfield he inherited.

I wouldn't be like this if I didn't get the feeling that some very small changes and 1 or 2 signings could propel the team into the top half.
Mr Roberts
what did you expect? perhaps next time you'll go for an actual manager, rather than a PR coup with no experience other than taking a reasonably well positioned club down the shitter.

you'd have been better off with Gazza.
MTJ
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 17 2008, 19:11) *
Actually, his signings have been OK, the likes of Bestvina, Wilson and Smith can all do a job, buts thats still 6-1.

The reason we're not doomed is the great defence and decent midfield he inherited.

I wouldn't be like this if I didn't get the feeling that some very small changes and 1 or 2 signings could propel the team into the top half.

Not saying they are exactly bad players, but even non Clyde fans know that their problem is scoring goals, and even more specifically strikers scoring goals, which he hasn't even attempted to address.
Mushroom
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 17 2008, 19:17) *
Not saying they are exactly bad players, but even non Clyde fans know that their problem is scoring goals, and even more specifically strikers scoring goals, which he hasn't even attempted to address.

Yeah, I get the feeling his desperate attempts to get Grady are just so that there is someone to take training.
faircityboy1884
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 17 2008, 19:06) *
Surprising after the players put in a superb performance v SPL opposition but here's why I think Hendry should go.
  1. He is never at training leaving Dougie Bell and two under 19's coaches to do his work. The most qualified person at training is Craig McKeown. Surely him not being there is breach of contract anyway?
  2. His awful team selections, possibly an offshoot of him never being at training. Div McGowan for example, we can all see from just matches hes not a striker, why can't he? Also, if he's never at training how does he know if McKenna and Valentim aren't good enough to start?
  3. Tactical mishaps - He is generally very reluctant to make substitutions, and occasionally makes a much needed attacking switch - 20 minutes too late.
  4. Combative personality - He spends far too much time arguing with officials and sometimes fans, he spends little enough time in the country, should he really be wasting it arguing with people over very little.
  5. Lack of local knowledge - He quite clearly knows nothing about the Scottish game and has no contacts north of the border. He gets loan signings from mediocre English teams rather than the SPL, where everyone else at this level looks.
  6. Lack motivation - The last game the players were clearly up for it, they looked interested (except Imrie) and were playing for pride. Why do they always look dejected in the league then? Coudl it be because their clubs in a mess and the man supposed to keep the morale up isn't even in the country.
Feel free to argue, but I feel its time to go, sack him for breach of contract and get someone like John Brown in (if only we'd chosen him in the first place)

hendry must stay.
but got to admit he does spend to much time arguing with fans as i found out.he wanted a fight cause i said his broon leather jaykit was fae matallan tongue.gif .got to admit the new clyde wan he got fur his xmas it a little better.canny wait till he back at mcdairmid.enjoyed the banter wi goldielocks himself. laugh.gif
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Ave been at every single game this season and in ma opinion hes hapless. I agree wae mushroom that he has to go at least at the end of the season. I dont think wel get relegated this year but I can tell that were on a slippery slope under him.
David W
To be honest, I wouldn't have appointed him in the first place but the middle of the transfer window isn't the right time to get be demanding that the manager should be sacked.

My opinions on him have fluctuated throughout the season but I reckon he should be given until February to bring in players. The only thing we need to do is have more belief in our ability to attack sides, rather than relying on clean sheets to get us points.
CK
Click to view attachment

This rubbishes points 1, 6 and 2.2
Glasgowjag
Clyde were expected to finsih 2nd bottom by most people and they are on target to do so

so whats the problem? you could still stay up
Mushroom
QUOTE (David W @ Jan 17 2008, 20:42) *
To be honest, I wouldn't have appointed him in the first place but the middle of the transfer window isn't the right time to get be demanding that the manager should be sacked.

My opinions on him have fluctuated throughout the season but I reckon he should be given until February to bring in players. The only thing we need to do is have more belief in our ability to attack sides, rather than relying on clean sheets to get us points.

My worry is that if we wait till after the transfer window, a new man won't be able to fix it.

QUOTE (CK @ Jan 17 2008, 20:46) *
Click to view attachment

This rubbishes points 1, 6 and 2.2

OK, he turned up to training once - woop de doo!

but it proves nothing about team selection or motivation smile.gif

In fact, judging by Seans face...
Sao Paulo
Sacking him now would be lunacy.

Not the best appointment we could have made I feel, nor though was it the worst.

Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (São Paulo @ Jan 17 2008, 21:09) *
Sacking him now would be lunacy.

Not the best appointment we could have made I feel, nor though was it the worst.

So youve enjoyed the last 5 months a sittin in the freezin cold watchin us get beat. 5 wins all season!
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (Mr Kilsyth @ Jan 17 2008, 21:16) *
So youve enjoyed the last 5 months a sittin in the freezin cold watchin us get beat. 5 wins all season!

Of course I have! dry.gif

I don't think he's a great manager, and certainly we could have better, however sacking him now would (in all probability) simply serve to escalate the already difficult situation we find ourselves in.

FCUnited
if your boards anything like ours then im afraid to say you will still have him in the 3rd division!
David W
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 17 2008, 21:07) *
My worry is that if we wait till after the transfer window, a new man won't be able to fix it.

OK, he turned up to training once - woop de doo!

but it proves nothing about team selection or motivation smile.gif

In fact, judging by Seans face...

But there's two weeks until the end of the window - even if Hendry left this evening, it would take a good week to 10 days to appoint someone else.
famous_bullywee
[quote name='Mushroom' date='Jan 17 2008, 19:06' post='2146885']
[/quo

why hasnt ch not givin sean mckenna a chance?
after his outstanding performance against st j plus got man of the match! then the next week he is in stand!! i dnt understand does ch not like sean mckenna?
if givin the chance i think sean mckenna could do a job for us!
div gary and taz have had many starts but sean has only had 1 start and proved that he can play better than all 3 suposed forwards! sack ch now if we want 2 stay in 1st div!!!! mad.gif
Black and White Tragic
Hendry must stay....sorry I meant play!
Par
In fairness they pumped us this year dude
Eastwood
QUOTE (David W @ Jan 17 2008, 22:20) *
But there's two weeks until the end of the window - even if Hendry left this evening, it would take a good week to 10 days to appoint someone else.

Not necessarily but anyway I fail to see how a manager is good enough on the 31st January but not suitable on the 1st February. Either he is or isn't.

Club needs stability with right man in charge. My hope is the guy who is manager on the 1st February is our manager on the 1st August as the constant summer upheaval is a nightmare not only in the delay in settling the 1st team squad but also it takes time for the new guy to come in and make a judgement on others on the fringes.

For example, a manager who is at a club for more than a season will be able to judge who he thinks will prosper in the year ahead and who needs to be moved on just to freshen things up for both parties. Never mind linking the first team better with the U19s. we haven't had that since Reid was at the club.

After 18 months of innuendo and scandal I appreciate the reasons why he got the job ie a man with no "baggage", with great experience in the game and desperate to get back into football who moved his family back to Scotland as part of the agreement. But circumstances have since changed. His attendance at training is no where near as bad as some would like you to believe though granted that does mean that sessions are sometimes held in the afternoon but that I can live with.

What is key is the composition of the squad it wasn't right at the end of the last transfer window and is arguably weaker 18 days into the next one.

I understand for the majority of the time we can't compete with the financial investement offered to most of the teams in this division but although money helps alot it ain't the whole of the story. The Board has to have confidence that Hendry is the right fit for the job that is required at Clyde at the moment. If they believe he is then fine lets get on with surviving and getting the players we need in but if not, then it is wrong for all parties concerned just to procastinate.
sonofjenova
He is never at training leaving Dougie Bell and two under 19's coaches to do his work. The most qualified person at training is Craig McKeown. Surely him not being there is breach of contract anyway?

And go through another summer of court case and uncertainty? No thanks.
His awful team selections, possibly an offshoot of him never being at training. Div McGowan for example, we can all see from just matches hes not a striker, why can't he? Also, if he's never at training how does he know if McKenna and Valentim aren't good enough to start?

I'd agree with that.
Tactical mishaps - He is generally very reluctant to make substitutions, and occasionally makes a much needed attacking switch - 20 minutes too late.

Haven't been at enough games to comment!
Combative personality - He spends far too much time arguing with officials and sometimes fans, he spends little enough time in the country, should he really be wasting it arguing with people over very little.

Agreed - it's damn embarrassing. However, in Britain there isn't one coach who doesn't continually play the blame game.
Lack of local knowledge - He quite clearly knows nothing about the Scottish game and has no contacts north of the border. He gets loan signings from mediocre English teams rather than the SPL, where everyone else at this level looks.

Some of those "mediocre English teams" are better than our SPL sides, let's face it. And what the hell was wrong with Dan Kirkup?
Lack motivation - The last game the players were clearly up for it, they looked interested (except Imrie) and were playing for pride. Why do they always look dejected in the league then? Coudl it be because their clubs in a mess and the man supposed to keep the morale up isn't even in the country.

Maybe because they're young lads who aren't used to this type of thing before.

We couldn't afford it, which just serves to emphasise that the Board are far more culpable for our current poor League position than Colin Hendry is.
Günther
Bring back Graham Roberts!
Piehutt
Can't really comment too much as only seen Clyde in games v Morton, watched some of the Dundee Utd game but was bored sh1tless.

However - Clyde are probably the poorest resourced club in this division and I actually think Hendry is donig a reasonable job to keep them competitive. Considering the number of young players he has, and non-existant budget, Clyde have been punching above their weight for more than a few seasons.

I thought they may sink like a stone this season, but they are still in their fighting.
BullyWee1878
The reason McKenna doesnt play very often is that he is very poor in training and Hendry was saying he might try and get him loaned out and maybe that might give him the wake up call to make him realise what a good chance he has got at Clyde.
Clyde01
The timing is not ideal as has been mentioned but the guy is a total tool. Don't know why he was appointed in the 1st place. Obviously the small minded cretins on the board, who spend money we haven't earned yet, got abit star struck.
One of our best performances comes in a game live on sky, shows he is a crap motivator in my opinion as they look alot more flat at league games.
Would be aswell punting him and leaving Dougie Bell in charge till end of season as he is doing all the training and that anyway.
gypoarmy
I dont think the timing But i honestly think that Dougie Bell is the man for the job! But i know he has other commitments
Mushroom
QUOTE (sonofjenova @ Jan 18 2008, 12:16) *
And go through another summer of court case and uncertainty? No thanks.

My point is, with a breach of contract, surely we can sack him without compensation. Although, we may need to get a lawyer on to that one.

Agreed - it's damn embarrassing. However, in Britain there isn't one coach who doesn't continually play the blame game.

Aye, but Hendry does take the piss, certainly the first guy I've seen arguing with the fans

Some of those "mediocre English teams" are better than our SPL sides, let's face it. And what the hell was wrong with Dan Kirkup?

Kirkup and indeed Cardle were fine, but ultimately nothing better than what we had - SPL loan players often go on to be stars in the first, and theres the cross border beurocracy and delays we really could have done without.

Maybe because they're young lads who aren't used to this type of thing before.

Why did Roberts and Miller manage to get them fired up though

We couldn't afford it, which just serves to emphasise that the Board are far more culpable for our current poor League position than Colin Hendry is.

The board deserve to go far more, but getting rid of Hendry will give us a much better chance of survival.

I still can't believe a club in our position gave ANYONE a rolling contract though mad.gif

BW1878 - Hendry is rarely at training, how would he know!
The Umbrella
  1. He is never at training leaving Dougie Bell and two under 19's coaches to do his work. The most qualified person at training is Craig McKeown. Surely him not being there is breach of contract anyway? Unfortunately for Clyde the answer to he last bit is NO. The person brought in to tighten up on contracts following previous problems, decided to give him a 1 year rolling contract with no clauses about attendance,performance, moving to Scotland or taking training.
  2. His awful team selections, possibly an offshoot of him never being at training. Div McGowan for example, we can all see from just matches hes not a striker, why can't he? Also, if he's never at training how does he know if McKenna and Valentim aren't good enough to start? Spot on
  3. Tactical mishaps - He is generally very reluctant to make substitutions, and occasionally makes a much needed attacking switch - 20 minutes too late. Spot on
  4. Combative personality - He spends far too much time arguing with officials and sometimes fans, he spends little enough time in the country, should he really be wasting it arguing with people over very little. Tends to
  5. Lack of local knowledge - He quite clearly knows nothing about the Scottish game and has no contacts north of the border. He gets loan signings from mediocre English teams rather than the SPL, where everyone else at this level looks. Shocking lack of preparation for the January window- watch Grady walk away and Plan B isn't in his head yet
  6. Lack motivation - The last game the players were clearly up for it, they looked interested (except Imrie) and were playing for pride. Why do they always look dejected in the league then? Coudl it be because their clubs in a mess and the man supposed to keep the morale up isn't even in the country. Patchy at best
Feel free to argue, but I feel its time to go, sack him for breach of contract and get someone like John Brown in (if only we'd chosen him in the first place) - Desperate to get a sensible person in following the idiocy of GR,lies of BR, and slieght of hand of JM

bully-wee
dont rate him as a manger at all. He dosent seem to motivate the players at all, i havent heard one player this season come out and say how great the training has been like they did under roberts and miller. Even at the side of the park he dosent seem to do much, makes a pointless sub with little time remaining- not letting the player have a chance to get into the game. The team has no depth at all and the midfield is a shambles, playing root 1 football to small strickers isnt the answer and i really feel sorry for the critism arbuckle has been getting. The signings imo have had no effect on the team, dusan is oryt at best, Smith isnt a footballer, Wilson is past his best and his disiplain is a disgrace and Val has had about 10 mins playing time all season.

football has been shite all season and its clear we need a stricker, fair play we got clarke but there's no point having him in july if we are playing 2nd division football.

Wee Bully
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jan 18 2008, 13:10) *
Bring back Graham Roberts!

How many Clyde fans agreed with this when you ran a poll? 20%?
sonofjenova
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Jan 18 2008, 15:47) *
My point is, with a breach of contract, surely we can sack him without compensation. Although, we may need to get a lawyer on to that one.

He would definitely be in a litigious mood if we did. Irrespective of whether or not we win the case, it'll still be more upheaval the club don't need.
Aye, but Hendry does take the piss, certainly the first guy I've seen arguing with the fans

I don't know enough to comment - but the amount of abuse managers get is appalling. What was the fan saying?
Kirkup and indeed Cardle were fine, but ultimately nothing better than what we had - SPL loan players often go on to be stars in the first, and theres the cross border beurocracy and delays we really could have done without.

We do have an excellent defence, I don't think Kirkup did any harm. One thing I will say is that instead of getting Cardle he could SURELY have got some young natural striker from the lower English leagues or, indeed, the SPL.
Why did Roberts and Miller manage to get them fired up though

We had a much better team back then sad.gif
The board deserve to go far more, but getting rid of Hendry will give us a much better chance of survival.

I still can't believe a club in our position gave ANYONE a rolling contract though mad.gif

Christ knows - might help, might not.

Of course we gave him a rolling contract - the board's ineptitude is really beyond reproach. Have they even attempted to sue Joe Miller yet?
McFarlane
Thats him away now according to real radio
M0rtonfc
Is Hendry still going for the old 8-2-0 formation?
McFarlane
Not anymore hes gone.
davidy233
QUOTE (McFarlane @ Jan 18 2008, 17:20) *
Thats him away now according to real radio

Looks like something is happening clyde website says

BREAKING NEWS

Club Statement will be issued shortly....

No wonder you've been watering the pitch ahead of tomorrow rolleyes.gif
EastFootball
QUOTE (davidy233 @ Jan 18 2008, 17:30) *
No wonder you've been watering the pitch ahead of tomorrow rolleyes.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif

You could just imagine the outrage if they were about to play Celtic or Rangers in a cup game. dry.gif
monthebullywee
theres now no point for this thread
Mushroom
If he has had to leave on compassionate grounds it explains everything - he clearly couldn't give his all to managing the team.

I will close the thread.

Hope he makes a successful return to management when he's ready.