veteran
Jan 17 2008, 16:45
A match with draw written all over it.
Morton have added Jenkins and McMenamin to their squad and Queens are back to fielding a settled team so I don't think there's much to seperate them apart from 'Lady Luck'.
How is the pitch bearing up under the rain?
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Jan 17 2008, 16:51
QUOTE (veteran @ Jan 17 2008, 16:45)

A match with draw written all over it.
Morton have added Jenkins and McMenamin to their squad and Queens are back to fielding a settled team so I don't think there's much to seperate them apart from 'Lady Luck'.
How is the pitch bearing up under the rain?
There is no official confirmation to say that either player has put pen to paper so I wouldn't go jumping your guns yet, especially on the case of McMenamin. Anyway, as long as we can keep O'Connor and Dobbie relatively quiet, and close down Tosh quickly enough then I would say we have the forward players to cause you plenty of problems at the back.
Pitch is in excellent condition, seriously haven't seen as much as a puddle on it and it hardly cut up at all against Gretna
garymcc1874
Jan 17 2008, 16:54
We might actually see a bit of effort from Peter Weatherson, since it's against his old club.
veteran
Jan 17 2008, 17:23
QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Jan 17 2008, 16:54)

We might actually see a bit of effort from Peter Weatherson, since it's against his old club.

Didnae try a leg in the last game.
Jan 17 2008, 17:25
QUOTE (veteran @ Jan 17 2008, 17:23)

Where he scored the first goal and was generally one of the better players on the pitch...
Aye, can see where you're coming from
Twynholm
Jan 17 2008, 17:33
Jenkins, McMenamin? f**k sake gonna have a field day with those arseholes if there playing! Cant see anything but a 1-1 draw and a draw i would be happy with! Bring it on!
Skyline Drifter
Jan 17 2008, 17:53
Pretty big game again (aren't they all these days?) against a team we are to all intents level with in the division. Victory would be great to continue our move away from the play-off spot. Defeat would put us right in the midst of it again. I think away to Morton you'd take a point and be pretty happy about it, particularly with them having the boost of new signings, albeit I do think we can win obviously.
I thought we earned our win at Cappielow last time even if the Morton fans don't but there's no doubt that for an hour or so of the game at Palmerston Morton played the best football I've seen in the league this season. Quite the little Gretna reunion too with Jekins, McGuffie and perhaps McMenamin for Morton meeting Tosh, Aitken and McQuilken for us.
I wouldn't think we'll change things too much. We've been pretty settled for a while now. Midfield and forward line pretty much pick themselves. Goalkeeper and centre backs don't really have any options to change anyway so the only question marks are at the two full back slots. Looks like Chisholm has settled on Harris ahead of McQuilken at left back for now so I don't expect a change there. Only question then would be whether or not Eric Paton returns at right back in place of Ryan McCann who got his first game there on Saturday past. Eric hasn't been at his best defensively this season but McCann isn't really a right back (neither was Paton when he arrived mind you) and there's a big difference between facing a junior side and a decent first division one. I'd hope Eric is back in but wouldn't like to second guess the manager's thoughts.
Bench presumably from the players who were there on Saturday (Grindlay, McQuilken, O'Neill, Paton / McCann, Stewart) with Robertson and Campbell back in the mix potentially too.
Palmerston_1919
Jan 17 2008, 18:08
Tough game but one we can take something from if we play to our strengths and can keep it relatively tight at the back. We need to deal with Nellie better than we did at palmerston where he gave JT a tough examination.
Team should remain the same with the execption of McCann who you'd think would drop out for Paton to return. For me its an absolute no brainer as to play right back, Eric is one of the best Right backs in the league in my opinion and Chisholm would be crazy to stick with McCann there (admittedly he did ok against Linlithgow but id rather see him in Midfield beside tosh).
Does anyone know where Chisholm intends to use Campbell? I notice he was considered a winger/forward, would he be a viable option for left mid? I still feel we need to strengthen there in this window as Gilmour still isnt cutting it for me.
Can see this ending 2-2.
veteran
Jan 17 2008, 19:44
Paton has always been weaker on the defensive side of his game but for me he always provides attacking threat down the right , especially with burns in front of him.
The team pretty well picks itself.
McDonald
Paton JT Aitken Harris/McQuilken
Burns Tosh McFarlane Gilmour
O'Connor Dobbie.
I'm not a great McFarlane fan.He had a good game against Rose but that was because the time and space he got was unbelievable - he won't get that against Morton.
The combination of Tosh and McCann might be worth considering in mid-field.
Our form of late has been pretty good, with some good improving signs. I feel we can get the win in this one, Tosh, Dobbie & O'Connor are all hitting some good form, if we can get some good width from Burns & Gilmour i think we will be hard to beat.
Mak QOSFC
Jan 17 2008, 21:08
QUOTE (veteran @ Jan 17 2008, 19:44)

Paton has always been weaker on the defensive side of his game but for me he always provides attacking threat down the right , especially with burns in front of him.
The team pretty well picks itself.
McDonald
Paton JT Aitken Harris/McQuilken
Burns Tosh McFarlane Gilmour
O'Connor Dobbie.
I'm not a great McFarlane fan.He had a good game against Rose but that was because the time and space he got was unbelievable - he won't get that against Morton.
The combination of Tosh and McCann might be worth considering in mid-field.
Never!
FC_1919
Jan 17 2008, 21:31
I agree with keeping the same team but maybe bringing Paton back in.
I thought McFarlane had a great game on Sat, contoling the midfield. Not accroding to the sun tho, who thought it was that Bradley for them. Strange! Hope he can keep it going!
Mabawsa_Ritchie
Jan 17 2008, 21:41
QUOTE (veteran @ Jan 17 2008, 17:23)

You're clearly having a laugh. At the time even QoS fans were salivating over Peter's performance that day. Scored a great goal, made another and generally ran big Thomson ragged all day.
Lando Griffin
Jan 17 2008, 21:49
I think Morton may sneak this 2-1, hope I'm wrong.
MacLeantonboy
Jan 17 2008, 21:53
2-1 home win as if we play the same as we did last week against gretna then we should record a win
Skyline Drifter
Jan 17 2008, 22:32
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jan 17 2008, 21:41)

You're clearly having a laugh. At the time even QoS fans were salivating over Peter's performance that day. Scored a great goal, made another and generally ran big Thomson ragged all day.

Whoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooosh! x 1 million.
port-ton
Jan 17 2008, 22:35
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jan 17 2008, 22:32)

Whoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooosh! x 1 million.

to be fair he did say youre clearly having a laugh
HardingsHamstring
Jan 17 2008, 23:14
Morton 3 - 0 QoS
Might raise one or two eyebrows, but we're due a home win, surely?
veteran
Jan 17 2008, 23:47
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Jan 17 2008, 21:41)

Whit does salivating mean?
4-2 Morton. I can't see Morton keeping a clean sheet, but I think we will start taking our chances. Depends on who McInally picks though - Stevenson in midfield for the start would be nice.
Steak & Barley
Jan 18 2008, 10:34
Don't think they'll be much in this game, maybe an odd goal win for either side. Probably depends on which Ton team turns up but I expect Queens will say the same.
Tonsilitis
Jan 18 2008, 11:16
We will be missing Finlayson through suspension but I would hope that we have a debut player in midfield although the silence from Cappielow about that is starting to be a bit ominous. I hope we have not been gazumped again by someone (Hamilton?). I would also expect Chris Miller and Jamie Stevenson to start especially if we have'nt made a signing and that the 3-5-2 that work well against Gretna to be repeated:
McGurn
Harding Smith Mcgregor
Miller Stevenson McGuffie McLaughlin McAllister
Russell Weatherson
If we have signed Jenkins, I would put him in instead of McLaughlin. Either way, I'm hoping for a win, any kind of win.
palmy_cammy
Jan 18 2008, 11:33
Is this Queens fans favourite Allan Jenkins Morton have supposedly signed? This is my first time on P&B for a few days so I may of missed any rumours of this happening, but he was comfortably Gretna's best player against Rangers the other night so to say I'm surprised is an understatement.
Seems Gretna are keen to distance themselves from anything to do with the Supa Ro era despite that being their most successful, and that group of players having experience of the Scottish leagues.
Despite their best efforts to push him out the door they have finally seen sense with regard to Deuchar who after two very successful loan moves is now playing and scoring for Gretna. Still Gretna's loss is very much the gain of several First Division clubs picking up their more than capable "rejects".
Piehutt
Jan 18 2008, 13:10
Reasonably confident of a result tomorrow for the Ton.
Pitch is in excellent shape, only had one game on it this year and always been a decent pitch.
Not got a clue what the team will be. Keep hearing we've signed Jenkins, but never been confirmed.
If we don't have him then we will surely need to see Millar starting in place of Finlayson.
Also - if we have McMenamin - will be v interesting to see who gets the nod up front, or if Peter is placed in the midfield.
Not confident of a decent result as our away form is poor.
We've only scored in 4 out of 10 away games, winning 2 of them. Admittedly, one was against Morton, but that was real backs to the wall stuff for the last 15 minutes. Also, we seem to make more than our fair share of defensive mistakes away from home.
New signings will give Morton a boost and Weatherson is bound to score at least one.
Skyline Drifter
Jan 18 2008, 13:36
QUOTE (DEX_Doonhamer @ Jan 17 2008, 21:49)

I think Morton may sneak this 2-1, hope I'm wrong.

Dex! Where's the usual prediction? That could ruin everything. And it'll ALL be YOUR fault.
QUOTE (Flash @ Jan 18 2008, 13:23)

We've only scored in 4 out of 10 away games, winning 2 of them. Admittedly, one was against Morton, but that was real backs to the wall stuff for the last 15 minutes.
It was a defensive showing and Morton had a couple of near things late on but I wouldn't have said it was exactly the Alamo. Indeed the best chance in the game after O'Connor's goal was when Jamie Adams, in his 22 minute season, missed an absolute sitter with five minutes left.
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jan 18 2008, 13:36)

Dex! Where's the usual prediction? That could ruin everything. And it'll ALL be YOUR fault.
It was a defensive showing and Morton had a couple of near things late on but I wouldn't have said it was exactly the Alamo. Indeed the best chance in the game after O'Connor's goal was when Jamie Adams, in his 22 minute season, missed an absolute sitter with five minutes left.
Does Dex not just make THAT prediction for home games?
Even if it wasn't the Alamo, we spent the last 15 minutes booting the ball anywhere. You can't always get away with that. Even if you are right and it was a "defensive showing" it was one of the very few this season. Remember, too, that PW was playing out of harm's way at right back.
If we go there expecting a repeat of that defensive showing, we'll get humped.
As I said, our away form is poor and we give away far too many goals. I think Chisholm claimed that we had stopped making the defensive mistakes, yet we made one as recently as our last away game at Hamilton. There have been very few away games where we haven't gifted the opposition a goal by doing something stupid. Edited to add, we even did it in the last home game v Clyde when JT gave away an unecessary penalty.
Jan 18 2008, 13:47
QUOTE (Flash @ Jan 18 2008, 13:23)

We've only scored in 4 out of 10 away games, winning 2 of them. Admittedly, one was against Morton, but that was real backs to the wall stuff for the last 15 minutes. Also, we seem to make more than our fair share of defensive mistakes away from home.
New signings will give Morton a boost and Weatherson is bound to score at least one.
I'll just be happy to see the lazy cnut actually putting in effort
Skyline Drifter
Jan 18 2008, 14:06
QUOTE (Flash @ Jan 18 2008, 13:46)

Does Dex not just make THAT prediction for home games?
Even if it wasn't the Alamo, we spent the last 15 minutes booting the ball anywhere. You can't always get away with that. Even if you are right and it was a "defensive showing" it was one of the very few this season. Remember, too, that PW was playing out of harm's way at right back.
If we go there expecting a repeat of that defensive showing, we'll get humped.
As I said, our away form is poor and we give away far too many goals. I think Chisholm claimed that we had stopped making the defensive mistakes, yet we made one as recently as our last away game at Hamilton. There have been very few away games where we haven't gifted the opposition a goal by doing something stupid. Edited to add, we even did it in the last home game v Clyde when JT gave away an unecessary penalty.
On Dex, does he? I thought he did it for all of them.

Maybe I just don't pay enough attention to them.
I'm not saying the last one wasn't defensive and there undeniably was a bit of boot the ball anywhere stuff late on. All I'm saying is it wasn't exactly one way traffic. Our keeper never made a worthwhile save on the day (although Jim Thomson did head one off the line) and Jamie Adams missed an absolute sitter.
I can't recall seeing Chisholm say anywhere that we have "stopped making defensive mistakes" and I know for a fact he isn't happy with some of our defending. The one at hamilton was a goalkeeping error though, not a defensive one. Maybe that's splitting hairs but I don't think it was anything you could blame any of the defenders for.
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jan 18 2008, 14:06)

I can't recall seeing Chisholm say anywhere that we have "stopped making defensive mistakes" and I know for a fact he isn't happy with some of our defending. The one at hamilton was a goalkeeping error though, not a defensive one. Maybe that's splitting hairs but I don't think it was anything you could blame any of the defenders for.
From QOS OS 15 January 2008 - Gordon Chisholm
"We're playing with a much more positive attitude now
and have stopped leaking silly goals at the back".
I count the goalkeeper as part of the defence. It is even more important for him not to make mistakes.
Edited for typo
M0rtonfc
Jan 18 2008, 16:30
Jenkins is not playing tomorrow as he has not been signed in time and god knows what is happening with McMenemin!
I still think we will win 2-0 tomorrow and McGuffie will put in a big performance, i can't see QOS causing us too many problems.
I hope
steveoath
Jan 19 2008, 10:31
No Jenkins today, but still fancy a ton win.
2-1 to the Morton (Dobbie scoring first, Russell scoring 3... but typically offside for one of them).
Steve
Skyline Drifter
Jan 19 2008, 10:43
QUOTE (M0rtonfc @ Jan 18 2008, 16:30)

Jenkins is not playing tomorrow as he has not been signed in time and god knows what is happening with McMenemin!
For what it's worth, the rules are that he could sign up to noon and still be eligible to play.
Of course it may be McInally has decided he hasn't signed in time to include him in match plans etc but as a matter of fact he still has over an hour to "sign in time".
KingfaetheSooth
Jan 19 2008, 11:09
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jan 19 2008, 10:43)

For what it's worth, the rules are that he could sign up to noon and still be eligible to play.
Of course it may be McInally has decided he hasn't signed in time to include him in match plans etc but as a matter of fact he still has over an hour to "sign in time".
I think it is sensible for late signings to be included on the bench at best if they have not trained with the team. A good manager will have been working on formation and specific tactics to counter the opposition's strengths from Thursday onwards in training. It can be disruptive (IMHO) if a new player goes straight in to the team. Unless Morton have signed Ronaldo from ManYoo of course! I'd put him straight in. ;-)
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.