OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 11:49
With the prospect of pissing rain all night and day tomorrow,and the Glasgow rugger buggers are at Firhill on Friday night,how do you rate the chances of the game being on,on Saturday?
Miles Brookeson
Jan 17 2008, 11:53
It will be fine, the potatoes should be harvested by then and it should be fit to play on.
the rains not been that bad.
jags_man
Jan 17 2008, 11:54
QUOTE (hafc75 @ Jan 17 2008, 11:49)

With the prospect of pissing rain all night and day tomorrow,and the Glasgow rugger buggers are at Firhill on Friday night,how do you rate the chances of the game being on,on Saturday?
I think the game will be on however the Pitch will be an absoulute state not a day for good passing football.
Our pitch used to be 1 of the best before that mob

started using it.
Booker_d
Jan 17 2008, 11:59
I see Fudd Flynn was in the paper yesterday boasting about how he didnt bother switching the undersoil heating on because it wasnt worth the cost for playing Cowdenbeath. Wonder if thatll be in the SPL2's rules?
Was it the same situation at Firhill on Saturday or just simply sheer incompetence?
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 12:02
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Jan 17 2008, 11:59)

I see Fudd Flynn was in the paper yesterday boasting about how he didnt bother switching the undersoil heating on because it wasnt worth the cost for playing Cowdenbeath. Wonder if thatll be in the SPL2's rules?
Was it the same situation at Firhill on Saturday or just simply sheer incompetence?
Thistle blaming the rugger buggers and the rugger buggers blaming Thistle.
QUOTE (hafc75 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:02)

Have the SRU blamed us? I've yet to see that.
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 12:31
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 17 2008, 12:27)

Have the SRU blamed us? I've yet to see that.
Not sure,just read the Glasgow rugby's chief saying "it wisnae oor fault".
North-west-jag
Jan 17 2008, 12:40
QUOTE (hafc75 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:02)

Just a few points here.
1) The thread is titled Fao Jags Fans, so you are either stupid or just plain nosey.
2) The SRU have not blamed Thistle
3) If it is on, will you bring more than 200 fans?
4) I guess your name is your IQ HALF OF 75 !!!!!
Away and play on your plastic pitch.
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 12:41
Think it was on 1 of the other threads,coincidently,a mate of mine who follows thr rugby team says that they have now apologised to PTFC for the confusion.
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 12:46
QUOTE (North-west-jag @ Jan 17 2008, 12:40)

Just a few points here.
1) The thread is titled Fao Jags Fans, so you are either stupid or just plain nosey.
1)How is the question not directed to jags fans?
2)ok fair point
3)We will have 500(or thereabouts)
4)

Fanny

Just a few points here.
He started the thread you dong.
QUOTE (hafc75 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:41)

Think it was on 1 of the other threads,coincidently,a mate of mine who follows thr rugby team says that they have now apologised to PTFC for the confusion.

So, in other words, you were talking out of that perennially abused hole that nestles between your butt cheeks?
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 12:53
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 17 2008, 12:48)

So, in other words, you were talking out of that perennially abused hole that nestles between your butt cheeks?
Correct,
Anyway,this thread was about the weather for Saturday.
I think the game will go ahead, but I hate to think what state the pitch will be in. I was talking to someone the other day about who the first opposition manager to formally complain about it will be and we think, taking your plastic pitch into consideration, it'll be Billy Reid after Saturday's match.
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 13:01
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 17 2008, 12:56)

I think the game will go ahead, but I hate to think what state the pitch will be in. I was talking to someone the other day about who the first opposition manager to formally complain about it will be and we think, taking your plastic pitch into consideration, it'll be Billy Reid after Saturday's match.
Yip,that would probably be right.
third lanark
Jan 17 2008, 13:25
If the game is off I hope that the club makes sure both Jags and Accies fans are told as soon as possible rather than the disgraceful scenes last week where we actually had Dunfermline fans already in Glasgow befor they were told it was off. A decision will need to be made first thing in the morning.
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 17 2008, 13:44
QUOTE (third lanark @ Jan 17 2008, 13:25)

If the game is off I hope that the club makes sure both Jags and Accies fans are told as soon as possible rather than the disgraceful scenes last week where we actually had Dunfermline fans already in Glasgow befor they were told it was off. A decision will need to be made first thing in the morning.
Here here,10am should be fine to make a decision.
cdisaaccie
Jan 18 2008, 10:33
They could probably leave it to 11am-12noon. Our supporters buses aren't leaving til 1pm and anyone travelling in using the train, then subway, like me, shouldn't be leaving before 12.
Booker_d
Jan 18 2008, 10:40

What does our pitch have to with it?
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Jan 18 2008, 10:40)

What does our pitch have to with it?
Think about it, it's not hard.
Accies are used to playing on a smooth, flat surface. I don't think the players, or Billy for that matter, will be impressed by our tottie field.
Booker_d
Jan 18 2008, 11:17
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 18 2008, 11:01)

Think about it, it's not hard.
Accies are used to playing on a smooth, flat surface. I don't think the players, or Billy for that matter, will be impressed by our tottie field.
So are most clubs at this stage of the season. Ive yet to see one pitch so far on my travels this season so far that wasnt well maintained. Seems unreasonable that you single out BR.
Given your debacle on Saturday past and your own "tottie field" admission, , I dont see how that puts you in a position to pass comment on other peoples "plastic" pitches. Glass houses and all that.
Think about it beofre you type next time, its not hard.
Erm, I'm not having a go at Billy Reid. I'm suggesting that as Hamilton have a well-maintained plastic pitch (a compliment) that they will be particularly pissed off with the state of our park.
Has a siege mentality set in at Accies?
Booker_d
Jan 18 2008, 11:36
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 18 2008, 11:22)

Erm, I'm not having a go at Billy Reid. I'm suggesting that as Hamilton have a well-maintained plastic pitch (a compliment) that they will be particularly pissed off with the state of our park.
Has a siege mentality set in at Accies?
Ha ha, yeah pretty much. We get the same abuse the whole year, and the pitch is one of the ones we have to put up with every week, so usually the best form of defence is attack.
If only Billy Reid felt the same at home against the wee teams....
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Jan 18 2008, 11:36)

Ha ha, yeah pretty much.
I'll take that as an apology.
Booker_d
Jan 18 2008, 11:47
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 18 2008, 11:39)

I'll take that as an apology.

Its most certainly not an apology as the terminology you were looking for is Fieldturf and not "plastic".
As I suspect you chose your terminology knowingly.
So apology, no. More of a realisation that I was perhaps a little over-zealous in making my point.
But there are alot of whingers on this forum, as you will know yourself, so its very easy to get defensive. Personally this season I have found Morton and, suprisingly, Stirling Albion to be especially bad.
Like I say, attack is sometimes the best form of defence. And I quite like seige mentatlity. Hasnt done Alex Feguson any harm in his career.
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 18 2008, 13:11
Thread on accies forum saying there is a doubt and inspection arranged.
QUOTE (hafc75 @ Jan 18 2008, 13:11)

Thread on accies forum saying there is a doubt and inspection arranged.
Nothing emanating from Firhill and there's nowt in the Evening Times. Is there a source, or is it scare mongering?
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 18 2008, 13:39
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 18 2008, 13:31)

Nothing emanating from Firhill and there's nowt in the Evening Times. Is there a source, or is it scare mongering?
As i said,just a thread on the accies forum stating this,nothing confirmed!!
You could make a career out of talking shite. Is your name Mark Lawrenson, by any chance?
Billy Reid in today's ET: "Holding a rugby match the night before our game will be detrimental to our chances of playing decent football. But there's nothing we can do about it.
"Whenever we play on our artificial surface at New Douglas Park we know we can get the ball down on the deck and pass it, so it's a real shame that isn't always the case elsewhwere."
OneJamesMcCarthy
Jan 18 2008, 14:10
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 18 2008, 13:42)

You could make a career out of talking shite. Is your name Mark Lawrenson, by any chance?
Come on now Nizzy boy,you are the captain of talking shite.
accies
Jan 18 2008, 14:34

Just a few points here.
1: He started the thread.
2: Who cares.
3: Yes.
4: You seem like an intelligent fuckwit yourself

Nice first post, please dont make a second.
Stewartl
Jan 18 2008, 14:37
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 18 2008, 13:31)

Scare mongering. Full expect the game to be on although i reckon the pitch might well be in some state
Booker_d
Jan 18 2008, 14:59
Is this to become the pre-match thread?
If the game is on, then I have seen nothing from Thistle this season to suggest anything other than an away win. HOWEVER, I have seen plenty from Accies in the last few weeks which might throw a spanner in the works.
Whereas playing with one striker at home against the diddy teams has seen us drop unnecesary points and forced us into a 5 hour round trip for a mid-week cup replay, perhaps it will work again away to a team like thistle.
We shall see.
Trevor the tractor
Jan 18 2008, 16:15
If this game is called off because of the rugby then questions must be asked.
If the pitch is going to be ruined for the sake of one rugby match then that match should be postponed . Football should come first at Firhill or are Thistle really that desperate for money? It might end up costing more to lay a new pitch.
If Thistle cant fulfill fixtures because their tenants have ruined the pitch then Thistle should be docked points.
I agree that a good grass pitch is the proper surface for football but with the weather in this country Fieldturf (or similar) is a much better option . How can you teach kids to play football on a mud heap in the middle of winter. Summer football should be introduced to this country but the OF would only block it as they would be out of sync with the European big boys. Yet again the OF are holding back the development of Scottish youngsters to look after themselves
EastFootball
Jan 18 2008, 20:08
Watching the rugby now and the pitch is already looking unplayable.
Have to laugh at Sky referring to it as "Firhill Arena"...
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jan 18 2008, 20:08)

Watching the rugby now and the pitch is already looking unplayable.
Have to laugh at Sky referring to it as "Firhill Arena"...
9.30 will be a good time to see what its like
zutons
Jan 18 2008, 20:14
The game will be on
looking at the pitch the goal mouths are ok, the midfield area is a mess

...but I hate to think what state the pitch will be in. I was talking to someone the other day about who the first opposition manager to formally complain about it will be and we think, taking your plastic pitch into consideration, it'll be Billy Reid after Saturday's match.
Hmmm, I wonder if the state of the pitch will be used as an excuse for Accies' poor first half showing.
EastFootball
Jan 19 2008, 22:31
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jan 19 2008, 16:07)

Hmmm, I wonder if the state of the pitch will be used as an excuse for Accies' poor first half showing.
I suspect after consultation with experts, it won't.
The irony would be so large, it would tear a hole in the fabric of reality. About the size of Belgium. The only solution would be a supernova and black hole at the same instant, so that explosion cancels out implosion.
Yes, I am a nerd.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.