Full Version: Old Games Thread
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Mr X
Continuing the current retro theme on e-chat, and as an alternative to the New Games thread, post on here when you play something you hadnt played for years. Whether it be on an emulator or the real thing, let us all know how it was for you.

Last night, I managed to get It Came From the Desert running nicely on an Amiga emulator. Didnt play for very long, but the memories came flooding back and I think I'll have another play later.

I managed to shoot the antaenee off the first ant, and then totally forgot that they then chase you, so I ended up in hospital. Cue my gf saying "oo this was my favourite bit" and trying to talk me through escaping - which I totally ballsed up laugh.gif
MarreZ
QUOTE (andycqos @ Jan 17 2008, 10:27) *
Continuing the current retro theme on e-chat, and as an alternative to the New Games thread, post on here when you play something you hadnt played for years. Whether it be on an emulator or the real thing, let us all know how it was for you.

Last night, I managed to get It Came From the Desert running nicely on an Amiga emulator. Didnt play for very long, but the memories came flooding back and I think I'll have another play later.

I managed to shoot the antaenee off the first ant, and then totally forgot that they then chase you, so I ended up in hospital. Cue my gf saying "oo this was my favourite bit" and trying to talk me through escaping - which I totally ballsed up laugh.gif

I think you posted this site before, just found it again. http://c64s.com/ Play c64 games through java.

Going to play bounder at lunchtime smile.gif
staggy4life
played pokemon on the PC the other week. laugh.gif
i miss the gameboy.
qos_75
Does anyone know the name of the 80's karate, arcade game?

One bloke in a red karate suit and one in the a white one. It was best of three and then, there was a bonus round where you had to stop a charging bull or kick and dodge plates and plants being thrown at you. It sounds bizarre but it was highly addictive.

There was nothing like putting together a combination of moves, culminating in a roundhouse kick to your opponents dish. biggrin.gif
DarkBlue62
I Might Play My Mega Drive Or Atari Tonight Now cool.gif
qos_75
QUOTE (DarkBlue62 @ Jan 17 2008, 15:02) *
I Might Play My Mega Drive Or Atari Tonight Now cool.gif

The PGA Golf II on the Mega DRive is supreme. I hunted out my old mega drive a few months ago to have a game of it and the fucker does not work any more. sad.gif

That said I could buy an old one for about a fiver. biggrin.gif
MarreZ
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 17 2008, 14:57) *
Does anyone know the name of the 80's karate, arcade game?

One bloke in a red karate suit and one in the a white one. It was best of three and then, there was a bonus round where you had to stop a charging bull or kick and dodge plates and plants being thrown at you. It sounds bizarre but it was highly addictive.

There was nothing like putting together a combination of moves, culminating in a roundhouse kick to your opponents dish. biggrin.gif

It was called Karate Champ.
FilthyMack
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 17 2008, 15:11) *
The PGA Golf II on the Mega DRive is supreme. I hunted out my old mega drive a few months ago to have a game of it and the fucker does not work any more. sad.gif

That said I could buy an old one for about a fiver. biggrin.gif

I hunted out the Megadrive a couple of years ago and all the PGA saves were still on the cartridge, I was amazed to notice that even my mum had played it. laugh.gif
qos_75
QUOTE (Metalface Mark @ Jan 17 2008, 15:11) *

You are the man!

I will track this treasure down, right away biggrin.gif

Click to view attachment

Check that for verucas!

Dundee Par
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Jan 17 2008, 11:00) *
played pokemon on the PC the other week. laugh.gif
i miss the gameboy.

Where did you get that from? I loved that game! ph34r.gif
jay_7
Can't beat Duke Nukem 3D for the PC!

Or indeed the PSone as it was released on as well with a bonus scenario... can't quite remember the name of it but I remember the level "Faces of Death" It was nails...
MattBairn
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 17 2008, 15:46) *
You are the man!

I will track this treasure down, right away biggrin.gif

Click to view attachment

Check that for verucas!

Didnt it have 2 joysticks per player?
I think I remember it smile.gif
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Not that old but Fifa 04 ohmy.gif
qos_75
QUOTE (MattBairn @ Jan 17 2008, 16:15) *
Didnt it have 2 joysticks per player?
I think I remember it smile.gif

Yes that's the one. I am trying to find out if it is on any acrade compilations for the PS II.

MattBairn
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 17 2008, 17:21) *
Yes that's the one. I am trying to find out if it is on any acrade compilations for the PS II.

I spent hours playing that in our local arcade place. biggrin.gif

Quality game smile.gif
StewartyMac
I often play either Phoenix, River Raid, or Demon Attack on my Atari VCS emulator.

I've also got those Midway Treasure arcade compliations for the PS2, with the likes of Paperboy and Defender on them. Oh, and Spy Hunter too, how good was that?

And of course, I play loads of games on the Spectrum emulator also, particularly old text adventures, most of which never date. Love the Level 9 ones like Red Moon, and Lords of Time.
Ric
QUOTE (Metalface Mark @ Jan 17 2008, 15:11) *

I just wrote about that in your other thread!
staggy4life
QUOTE (Dundee Par @ Jan 17 2008, 15:52) *
Where did you get that from? I loved that game! ph34r.gif

you need to download a emulator which then means you can play any nintendo/gameboy game you want on your PC.

just type pokemon emulator into google and you should be there or there abouts. smile.gif
Dundee Par
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Jan 17 2008, 21:50) *
you need to download a emulator which then means you can play any nintendo/gameboy game you want on your PC.

just type pokemon emulator into google and you should be there or there abouts. smile.gif

Cheers. I have a Gameboy Advance emulator. Will it work on that?
staggy4life
QUOTE (Dundee Par @ Jan 17 2008, 22:03) *
Cheers. I have a Gameboy Advance emulator. Will it work on that?

should do, but only one way to find out wink.gif
Javier Mascherano
www.abandonia.com

Came across this site the other day. Magic stuff.
Xbass Threepwood
Not played it yet, but I just remembered Shadow of the Beast 3 from my old Amiga days. Im playing that tomorrow night! biggrin.gif
Mr X
Played a bit of Dune on the amiga emulator at the weekend. Quality biggrin.gif

Although I did have a bit of problem with the text not looking right when people speak, anyone know the best settings for WinUAE to get it running right? (And by anyone I, of course, mean xbl wink.gif)
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (andycqos @ Jan 21 2008, 11:02) *
Played a bit of Dune on the amiga emulator at the weekend. Quality biggrin.gif

Although I did have a bit of problem with the text not looking right when people speak, anyone know the best settings for WinUAE to get it running right? (And by anyone I, of course, mean xbl wink.gif )

My Dune worked without a problem...have you got the latest WinUAE? I just upgraded mine, and its much more advanced...there is an auto configuration option there. I set it to A500 (just the standard one), and then changed the display to be full screen, with H and V centreing.

A few years back when I was more into fannying about with winUAE, I had to create a number of different configs to get it to work properly, the autoconfig makes it much easier.

At some point, Ill have to get my full hard drive amiga system set up again, with 3 drives ,Workbench 3.1, printer drivers, and WHDload. I used to be a bit of a geek. ph34r.gif
MarreZ
Ive queued up every c64 game ever - amazingly it only will take 55 minutes to download them all biggrin.gif
Michael W
I played Fifa 2001 not that long ago. The fun went out of Fifa when the removed the "deliberate foul" button sad.gif .
Lordofthewing
QUOTE (MW RRFC @ Jan 21 2008, 15:30) *
I played Fifa 2001 not that long ago. The fun went out of Fifa when the removed the "deliberate foul" button sad.gif .

laugh.gif Reminds me of when I had World Cup '98 on the N64. Playing with 7 men at the easiest level was quite entertaining biggrin.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (MW RRFC @ Jan 21 2008, 15:30) *

Fifa 99 was the best one! Fast as f'ck, had professional foul and dive buttons, and you could clothesline the opposition! Nothing has come close since.
Michael W
QUOTE (Lordofthewing @ Jan 21 2008, 15:31) *
laugh.gif Reminds me of when I had World Cup '98 on the N64. Playing with 7 men at the easiest level was quite entertaining biggrin.gif

Me and my brother used to put the referee strictness way down, turn cards off then play hacking matches. The object was to injure as many of the oppositions players as possible. Great times biggrin.gif laugh.gif .
MrDust
Play sensible soccer often at the moment on the xbox live.....never been a game close to it

Track & Field in there too as well as frogger and jetpac....

I was more of spectrum 48/128 guy.....then the Amiga....
LoonsYouthTeam
QUOTE (MrDust @ Jan 21 2008, 15:59) *
Play sensible soccer often at the moment on the xbox live.....never been a game close to it

Track & Field in there too as well as frogger and jetpac....

I was more of spectrum 48/128 guy.....then the Amiga....

I've been playing SWOS 96/97 on my laptop and I recently got the playstation version of Track and Field for £1.99 in Gamestation so been playing that with the flatmates.

Both absolutely amazing! smile.gif
Xbass Threepwood
Ive played Dune, pretty much all night. It is possibly the most wonderful game ever made. smile.gif

Any luck with getting yours going Andy? I set mine to Amiga 1200 with extended ram, and its been working a treat. Im on day 17, and Ive got Chani, worm riding skills, decent spice production, and Ive freed my first Harkonen base. I love dune! biggrin.gif
Mr X
QUOTE (xbl @ Jan 22 2008, 00:22) *
Ive played Dune, pretty much all night. It is possibly the most wonderful game ever made. smile.gif

Any luck with getting yours going Andy? I set mine to Amiga 1200 with extended ram, and its been working a treat. Im on day 17, and Ive got Chani, worm riding skills, decent spice production, and Ive freed my first Harkonen base. I love dune! biggrin.gif

I havent tried again since I posted yesterday. I do have the latest version of WinUAE, as you say the pre-configured settings are a god-send! I had it set to the basic 1200, IIRC - it works, except that the background on the text is wrong. Not enough to stop me playing it later though smile.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (andycqos @ Jan 22 2008, 09:49) *
I havent tried again since I posted yesterday. I do have the latest version of WinUAE, as you say the pre-configured settings are a god-send! I had it set to the basic 1200, IIRC - it works, except that the background on the text is wrong. Not enough to stop me playing it later though smile.gif

Im in love once again, even though I have a ton of stuff to be doing, all I can think about today is going home and playing Dune! ph34r.gif

Ive just got the ecology discovered, and Im about to drink the water of life. 'citing times! Soon I shall be in contact with all the Fremen across the globe, and Ill be able to start growing vegetation. Bwahahahaha!
Vanquinho.
Can anyone remember the name of a Master System where ye run aboot wi a wee guy shooting people? I'm sure the name is only one word, you get to drive aboot in boats and that....
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (Vanquinho. @ Jan 23 2008, 07:25) *
Can anyone remember the name of a Master System where ye run aboot wi a wee guy shooting people? I'm sure the name is only one word, you get to drive aboot in boats and that....

You might have to be a bit more specific! You just described about 70% of early console games!
Vanquinho.
QUOTE (xbl @ Jan 23 2008, 09:29) *
You might have to be a bit more specific! You just described about 70% of early console games!

Yup, and after a lot of thinking I still can't think remember anymore to it, apart from at the start of one of the levels you need to run through a valley of water and shoot the wee guys when they jump out the water.

Bloody good game tae sad.gif
MattBairn
QUOTE (Vanquinho. @ Jan 23 2008, 12:20) *
Yup, and after a lot of thinking I still can't think remember anymore to it, apart from at the start of one of the levels you need to run through a valley of water and shoot the wee guys when they jump out the water.

Bloody good game tae sad.gif

The best Master System game was Wonderboy 3: The Dragons Trap.
It was an absolute belter. But I doubt thats what you meant.
Stan-O
My mate pulled out an old SNES from the loft the other day and we had a game of MarioKart. Forgot how good that game was!

Yoshi rules.

wink.gif
Mr X
QUOTE (xbl @ Jan 22 2008, 11:56) *
Im in love once again, even though I have a ton of stuff to be doing, all I can think about today is going home and playing Dune! ph34r.gif

Ive just got the ecology discovered, and Im about to drink the water of life. 'citing times! Soon I shall be in contact with all the Fremen across the globe, and Ill be able to start growing vegetation. Bwahahahaha!

Dunno what I did, but it works fine now thumbup2.gif

Only on about day 7, I've just found the armoury.

Top, top game biggrin.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (andycqos @ Jan 24 2008, 09:09) *
Dunno what I did, but it works fine now thumbup2.gif

Only on about day 7, I've just found the armoury.

Top, top game biggrin.gif

I played it obsessively for 3 nights, 6pm - midnight+. ph34r.gif

Completed it last night! biggrin.gif
MarreZ
I played a full round of Winter games and World games on the c64 last night, ill need to drag round some of my mates and play world games again, we used to have 8 player games when i was a kid, fandabbydozie.
MattBairn
What was the 3d game for the Amiga where you ran about in snow and you could drive vehicles etc?
Something to do with Winter. Was the first 3D FPS game I can remember.

It was pretty crap and impossible to control but the idea was definitely there.
Mr X
QUOTE (xbl @ Jan 24 2008, 09:14) *
I played it obsessively for 3 nights, 6pm - midnight+. ph34r.gif

Completed it last night! biggrin.gif

Unfortunatly, I have a life sad.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE (Metalface Mark @ Jan 24 2008, 09:16) *
I played a full round of Winter games and World games on the c64 last night, ill need to drag round some of my mates and play world games again, we used to have 8 player games when i was a kid, fandabbydozie.

Both quality games. Although I always preferred California Games - the surfing was superb biggrin.gif

QUOTE (MattBairn @ Jan 24 2008, 09:24) *
What was the 3d game for the Amiga where you ran about in snow and you could drive vehicles etc?
Something to do with Winter. Was the first 3D FPS game I can remember.

It was pretty crap and impossible to control but the idea was definitely there.

Midwinter unsure.gif
MattBairn
QUOTE (andycqos @ Jan 24 2008, 09:43) *

Thats the one! Brings back memories.
http://amigareviews.classicgaming.gamespy.com/midwint1.htm

Also, I just noticed that you can get Wonderboy 3: The dragons trap on Wii Virtual Console, under the Japanese name Dragons Curse! smile.gif
http://vc-pce.com/usa/e/title/dragons_curse.html#game

I know what my next purchase is going to be then wink.gif biggrin.gif

Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (andycqos @ Jan 24 2008, 09:43) *
Unfortunatly, I have a life sad.gif tongue.gif

and now Ive completed dune again, I might be able to get mine back...my housemate has barely seen me all week! ph34r.gif
Swampy
I've been on Nethack again, good times.
Xbass Threepwood
Had a wee game of the Settlers last night...its so happy! biggrin.gif All those wee people cutting, fishing, building etc.
peteqos
I downloaded magicland dizzy which i played years ago for the spectrum! It's still pretty solid from what i remembered like! You get 3 lives and if you're nearly finished the game, and get killed then you have to start again! mad.gif Anyone remember this game? It's only 132 kb or something to download! laugh.gif
Mr X
QUOTE (xbl @ Jan 22 2008, 00:22) *

Im nearly on Day 17 and I havent got any of those things sad.gif

I also foolishly drank the water of life first time round laugh.gif rolleyes.gif